Marilyn Bow Dress

$85 rental
$478 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Who says bow ties are just for the boys? Go for a bold, unexpected print for your next cocktail event in this adorably chic dress by kate spade new york! Finish off your party attire with a pop of color!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Pear, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Pear, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Bow printed mikado (55% Cotton , 45% silk).Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Pleated, full skirt.Open back with bow detail on back. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closures. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
65 reviews
Fit
Large2
True to Size42
Small20
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 20, 2015
Felt AMAZING! Got tons of double takes while wearing this!
AMAZING DRESS. Wanted to keep it! The back was my favorite part (it was low and had a sweet bow at the bottom). It did run a little tight, but not in an uncomfortable way. Held stuff together, lol.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 7, 2015
The back is beautiful and the front is modest enough where you can wear any where.
Fit perfectly everywhere.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
November 11, 2014
Too small, not the dresses fault :)
This dress was way too small! I was in between 14's and 16's and I knew I was taking a risk but I hadn't worn Kate Spade before so I gave it a shot. The dress was cute but much too small for me. It was also the first time I had rented a dress from RTR that looked worn out. The fabric almost looked dingy. Not my favorite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 30, 2014
I wish I owned this dress!
This dress was fun and flirty for a friend's bachelorette party! I LOVED the plunging back and full skirt (with pockets!). This is a perfect RTR dress because it's so memorable that you can't wear it regularly-so why buy it?!?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 19, 2014
such a fun night!
this dress was maybe a tiny bit small, but for my size I do have a large chest so I just taped up and went with it! It has such a fun shape and the back is fantastic. I was a little worried about the pattern but because the dress is silk it didnt make the bowties look too silly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
February 10, 2014
Fun and Flirty
I rented this dress for my engagement photos and it was just as adorable in person as it was pictured online. They only had a size 0 available and I am typically a size 2 but figured I would give it a try. Luckily I'm not busty by any means so I was able to squeeze myself into it. It is slightly off white/light greyish and my only complaint was that the liner underneath showed at some points. Overall such a great dress and would recommend it to anyone looking for a fun and flirty look.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 9, 2014
cute!
in one word, the dress is cute. i wore it for my wedding rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. there isnt much stretch to the fabric, so just keep that in mind when ordering. regardless, the size 2 fit well. like everyone else, i especially loved the back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
November 29, 2013
This cute little number was perfect for a polo match in Pacific Palisades!
Cute dress with fun little bow details in the back (too bad they were a little wrinkled). I received lots of compliments from total strangers! Pros: really fun pattern Cons: not really white as pictured, bows on the back of the dress arrived wrinkled, felt like the dress needed to be retired soon because of the wear, a tad short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 22, 2013
Big hit!
Everyone loved this dress. I wore this to my rehearsal dinner -- everyone loved it! I got compliments all night. I felt confident, and just the right amount of sassy. I love the pockets.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 13, 2013
The back makes the dress!
I loved this dress so much I didn't want to send it back! It was perfect for my boyfriend's launch party for his new iPhone application which uses a bow tie for the logo! The bow ties are super cute and the low cut back shows just enough skin. I typically wear a size 4 but the size 6 fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 6, 2013
The fit and style of this dress was so unique it made me feel special!
My typical clothes run between a 6-8 so I was a little nervous about this one. It was slightly snug, especially after dinner, but was never so tight I was uncomfortable. I did not wear a bra and felt mostly comfortable, but probably would go with cups next time.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
October 14, 2013
Eye catcher
This dress was amazing, i wore it for a date night with my hubby. Everyone complimented it i never wanted to send it back! it fit amazing, i am normal size 0-2 but with a size 34D chest, i finally was able to wear a dress with out a bra and i loved that!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
October 14, 2013
I received so many compliments in this fantastic dress!
The dress fit like an absolute dream and was the perfect length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 3, 2013
gorgeous dress!
i loved this dress! wish i could have kept it. i'm on the shorter side (5'4), so most kate spade dresses look overwhelmingly long on me if i'm not wearing heels, but this one was a little shorter than most kate spade dresses. i do think it ran on the smaller side... i easily fit into a kate spade size 2, but i had a bit of trouble zipping this one up! not small enough for me to warrant sizing up, but if you're in between sizes, definitely consider ordering a size up as a back up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
September 30, 2013
looked worn and discolored
Regarding the style, this is one of my favorite dresses ever. I wore it for my rehearsal dinner and party and it was so cute and everyone loved it (the back is the best). The main problem is the dress is supposed to bright white and should have a lovely silky texture...but the rented ones are not like this anymore. I tried this dress on several times in stores (when it was brand new) and it was white and crisp. However, both dresses that showed up for my rehearsal dinner (size 2 and 0) were discolored -- no longer white, more like an off-white dingy color, an even one looked more blush-like. There was no silky texture left either, it felt and looked much more casual and like it was just plain cotton instead of the cotton/silk mixture that it is made of. This is my first order from RTR when the dress looked anything other than brand new. It really showed its age and the number of times it had been cleaned.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 24, 2013
So cute!
Its a silky material and a little shiny. I loved it and my bf and I looked great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 23, 2013
Unforgettable dress!
I wore this for our engagement party in mid-September. I am SO glad I went a size up for my backup size - I'd been considering going a size down. However, with the way the armpit-holes are cut, and the zip up on the side not the back, I couldn't even get the 0 to zip over my bust. So, I went up to the 2 and it fit perfectly. So if you bust is a bit disproportionate to the rest of you, maybe size up for your back up size. As a side note, it looks like it is stark white in the photo, but it's actually more of a parchment white and black. I ended up wearing it with some beige wedges and it was very cute. I am glad it was a bit off-white because it was not a formal affair, so I was able to dress it down (I felt if I'd worn black heels I would have been over dressed).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111lbs
September 19, 2013
Spectacular dress! Thank you RTR!!
I aboslutely LOVED this dress! I got so many compliments on it! So flattering and fun! You will not be disappointed! I was so sad to send it back.. .
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 17, 2013
Runs very small!
I rented this dress as my backup dress for my wedding anniversary. We were going to a really nice restaurant and I thought it'd look so cute as my "black tie" dress. Unfortunately, the dress runs way too small! I couldn't even zip up the size 4! I have full busts so I sometimes run into these problems, but usually have no problems fitting into a size 2 or 4 at the waist. I was bummed, such an adorable dress, cute print and it has pockets! I'm tempted to order a size 6 and 8 next time. Would look so great for a summer wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 12, 2013
Adorable, flattering, formal but still fun
This dress is more formal than it looks- it is a shiny material. But, the fun pattern and flattering cut still keep it looking young and fun. The bow detail and the low back are the perfefct fun touch in back. I have a very small waist, and the dress wasn't as snug as it could have been. But- it fit well enough and offered such a flattering shilouette overall that it still ended up looking raelly good. I am 5'4" and the dress came to a few inches above my knees and was a prefect lenght- classy without being dowdy. I wore the dress for a formal daytime event and it was the perfect choice since it was both formal and daytime appropraite. I would rent this one again! I only took off 1 star since hte fit was not as perfect as it could have been for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
September 8, 2013
The most perfect anniversary photo shoot dress! I felt like Audrey.
I normally wear 00 in Kate Spade, but I wore the 0 in this one due to the boob area being too tight in the 00. I felt AMAZING in this dress!
StacySeptember 14, 2013
this is adorable, love yours shoes!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 6, 2013
I got so many compliments!
Excellent fit, would rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 28, 2013
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner and absolutely loved it.
This dress fit true to size. It's tightest in the waist.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
August 20, 2013
Loved this dress for my Rehearsal Dinner!
The fit was dead on - I ordered a six and a four and went with the four.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 14, 2013
Great Dress for a Fun, Outdoor Wedding
My friends got married at Camp Wandawega, so I knew I wanted to wear a unique dress. This dress was *adorable*. It was comfortable, the perfect length, and I got a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 7, 2013
Thought I had found "The Dress."
The material is nice especially the flow of the dress. I absolutely loved the back of the dress which gave it that ultimate sophisticated sexy. However and even though, I did order two sizes, I was not able to wear the dress. It was a perfect fit up to the point, when it came to zipping. I am a tall woman and quite slender for my height and am big up top. This dress is a side-zipper and I could not get it zipped fully. I tried everything possible to squeeze my top half in but it was completely unsuccessful and a big disappointment. I did email RTR and they told me to have the dress delivered back to them immediately and they would credit my account - that did me no good, since I was rushed to go out that afternoon and buy another dress, which I will say, was a size 4 with a side zipper and had no problems with the fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 31, 2013
PERFECT dress for my Bridal Shower!!
Such a fun, playful, girly dress - absolutely perfect for my bridal shower. I was able to sit and open gifts without adjusting or pulling it down, because the pleated skirt fell over my knees. But when I was standing, the dress is short enough that I could show some leg. It was tight enough in the chest that I didn't need a bra and the open back was a fun, sexy little detail. The 6 fit perfectly, but did need a little help with the zipper. I would definitely recommend this dress - it's comfortable, flattering, sexy, girly, and fun! I got SO many compliments. Happy renting!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 28, 2013
I rented this dress for my bridal shower. This Kate Spade dress was perfectly adorable!
This dress is perfect for a day party. The fit is on the small side around the waist and larger around the bust. Size 4 fit perfectly around my waist, but as a 34A the bust was a little loose. I would definitely recommend this dress for any summer get together.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 27, 2013
AMAZING!
I was so sad to have to return this dress! I wore it to my bridal shower & everyone absolutely loved it - people were stopping me on the street to compliment it! The back is amazing - I wore the NuBra without a problem. Definitely no give to the fabric but the 4 zipped up perfectly - not for someone with a larger chest! Excellent first RTR experience - I recommend to all!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
July 22, 2013
Great party dress!
I wore this dress for my husband's 30th birthday party. I was extremely happy with the dress, although it was a bit loose in the waist and chest (I usually wear a size 2 in dresses, but it was only available in a size 4). Despite this, it was comfortable and I got TONS of compliments all night. It even has cute pockets! Will definitely use RTR again for another event!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 17, 2013
Flawless and beyond fabulous!
I am so in love with this dress! I wore it for my birthday, and I never wanted to take it off. I typically teeter between a 0 and a 2, but wore a 0 in this dress. The top was very tight, but a 2 would have been unflattering for my body type. The length was perfect for me (my legs are deceptively short, and this hits just above the knee). The material was so soft and not as heavy as I thought it would be. I wore it outside in 85 degrees and felt great. The back...is to die for. Doesn't scoop down too low. Just so classy! I felt like a million bucks in this dress and already want to rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 9, 2013
Best Dressed!
I wore this dress for a black and white themed formal party! I received so many comments on the dress, it almost became annoying, almost! The 00 was a little tight, a 0 would have been better, but it wasn't available. The back detailing was perfect, not to low, but just enough. Would rent this dress again in a heart beat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
July 3, 2013
Did not wear. :(
I needed a 2. The only sizes available were for a 00 & 0. I have rented Kate Spade before & she typically runs large so I thought I would wing it. Once I found out they didn't fit I called RTR & they overnighted me new Kate Spade dresses at no additional charge. A friend that is smaller than we was able to wear these & RAVED about the experience. All in all, this dress is ADORABLE--just wasn't available in my size. I may try to rent the 2 & the 4 in the future for a perfect fit. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
July 1, 2013
Cute, girly dress perfect for a cocktail party or date night!
I wore this dress for engagement photos and it was perfect! There is a little bow in the back that is such a cute detail. The only thing I had an issue with is it was a little tight around my chest. I am a 34B and normally size 4s fit fine. It was just a little tight, but fine to wear for photos. Another great RTR experience!
ElizabethOctober 18, 2013
Those red tights are so cute! Great choice. =)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 29, 2013
Perfect for best friend's bridal shower!
Felt beautiful in this dress and got a ton of compliments, both at the party and through social media after. It runs small and went with my back up size...could've probably squeezed in to my regular size, but wanted to feel more comfortable. The back detail of the dress really makes it--It's business in the front, party on the back. But, really it's just party all around!
BethanySeptember 17, 2013
Were you able to go braless?
AmyNGSeptember 18, 2013
Yes, I was. No issues at all!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 28, 2013
I got SO MANY compliments from girls, guys...everyone! The design makes it casual "black tie."
It is cut perfectly. The waist falls just above the belly bottom, so it perfectly conceals your belly and you can breathe, drink and move with ease! The fabric is also a softer, silk material and makes it look very expensive. Cannot stress enough how much I loved this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 24, 2013
Perfect for a wedding luncheon or graduation
This dress' print got lots of compliments and has a great '60s era full skirt with a dramatic back. It's great for a daytime occasion on the formal side. The front is conservative but the back livens it up. Stick-on bra only.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 23, 2013
I wore this dress to a fab gay wedding in Brooklyn and it was a hit!
Great fit and length!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
June 21, 2013
Felt like a LADY & a DOLL.
This dress is perfection. I ordered the 4 & the 6 since I have a smallish waist and bigger hips/butt. The 4 fit like a dream because the waist is really the only part that cinches in. The material has a little sheen so it's nice enough to wear to a cocktail party but casual enough for day. Pair it with a pair of retro inspired or bold colored heels (I chose fuschia retro ones). I didn't end up wearing the necklace I got with it because the bows by the neck made it seem too busy. I'd pair withe earrings/fun bracelet only. I wore this for my birthday party at a cupcake shop and it was better than I could have ever hoped. I wore it thinking it's my birthday so I can wear something fun, who cares, but it was crazy how even guys at the bars after the party ended kept saying how much they loved my dress. This is the kind of dress that's made for RTR. Really fun, stand out, and memorable to the point that if you take pics in it, you basically can't wear it again so there's no point in owning. If you have a body like mine (busty, hippy, booty with smaller waist), RENT. THIS. DRESS.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 19, 2013
UNFORGETTABLE GORGEOUS DRESS!!
Everything was absolutely perfect about this dress! I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner and I got millions of compliments on this dress! The back of the dress is adorable. The length is perfect for a more formal affair but the part backless dress makes it super fun and flirty! The material is so soft but can wrinkle easily! I did not want to take this dress off or send it back!
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×