Mademoiselle Dress

$141 to buy
$470 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel fabulous and beautiful in this kate spade new york violet silk cocktail dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Heavier silk with subtle luster and lightly pebbled surface. Violet silk shantung(75% silk; 25% cotton; 100% polyester lining). Bateau neckline. Side bow at waist. Pleating detail at shoulders. Exposed back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
102 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(74)
Small
(17)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
July 28, 2016
Beautiful color! I love renting dresses from Kate Spade.
A little larger in the bust. Overall, a great dress!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
May 21, 2015
Perfect dress for a circa 1962 cocktail party!
This was my first experience renting with RTR and it couldn't have been easier. For the most part I felt the dress ran true to size. It was a tiny bit loose on me in the top (I'm a 30DD) but other than that, I have zero complaints! It's a cute dress and could be accessorized to look completely retro!! I loved it! I will definitely be using RTR again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
May 12, 2015
The color really stood out at an outdoor, springtime wedding! It was great!
It was a little tight in the hips, but still comfortable for sitting and dancing. I thought the length was appropriate for a wedding (unfortunately I don't have any good pictures to show the length).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 9, 2014
Would have worn it if they had my back up size.
Fit ran small. I own a lot of KS dresses and her sizing can be all over the place.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 19, 2014
gorgeous
I wore this as my backup dress to an Indian wedding. I wore a saree to start with then changed into this before we went out after the reception. It's beautiful and was perfectly classy. If you have a smaller chest and a larger rear like I do It will be a little bit larger on top
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 9, 2014
didn't end up wearing
I wanted a 0 but it never came in so I received the 4 and it was way too big, cute dress though and would have been nice if it was the right size.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
November 9, 2014
The dress fit perfectly.
The 8 was too big on me
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 205lbs
November 9, 2014
Pretty dress, but too snug
I rented this dress for a wedding. It was a very pretty color (they've adjusted the online photo to more accurately reflect how purple it is -- when I rented it, the online photo was paler), but it just didn't fit. It was too snug, so I sent it back. I've tried on other Kate Spade dresses a 12 and they fit fine, but this one didn't. It was very tighter than I expected around the hips and bust. In particular, the bust line was so tight that you could see my roll of back fat through the dress -- yikes! I returned it and RTR was great about giving me a credit.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
October 5, 2014
Dress arrived on time. Customer service responded to any questions I had. The reviews helped a lot.
Both the 8 and the 10 fit but the 8 was just slightly tight in the bust. Ordinarily I would have worn it but I was singing in the wedding and needed the ability to take big breaths. I wanted something roomy. The 10 was roomy and so comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 25, 2014
Great material and color... Perfect for a rehearsal dinner
Wore to my boyfriend's brother's rehearsal dinner. Thought that it struck the right balance of dressy but not too formal. Loved the texture of the dress and purple color. Was pleased that the 6 fit like a glove, the 4 was too tight for my curves. Definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
September 18, 2014
Colorful frock wins the night's best dress!
Beautiful jewel tone, length was good but I may have been able to do the size down. The fabric was also a little hot on a humid, rainy day.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 147lbs
June 30, 2014
Perfect for a spring wedding!
Wore this dress for my cousin's wedding in late April. It was a bit snug in the hips but overall fit great and I was comfortable. Got many compliments.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
June 8, 2014
It was a cool and comfortable dress for an outdoor wedding.
Other than it taking two people to get the zipper up, everything was great about this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 25, 2014
Gorgeous dress but too small
Love the bright purple color of the dress. I was so bummed I wasn't able to wear it. I rent a 4 and 6 but the 6 was unavailable last minute. The 4 was too tight in the hips so I didn't end of wearing the dress. I would def rent again if a 6 becomes available.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 25, 2014
Vibrant purple, form fitting, conservative dress.
I rented this dress for a cocktail party and the color was much more vibrant in person vs online, which was great. The cut is feminine, but conservative.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 2, 2014
The color is amazing!
Such a pretty, classic dress! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner. I got a lot of compliments! It was a little tight in the rib cage area... But I wouldn't have gotten a bigger size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 24, 2014
It was not a great hourglass dress...
I hated this dress on my shape! It wasn't stretchy and bunched up over my hips.... It was not flattering to the hourglass shape and I even sized up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 21, 2014
Valentines Day was saved by RTR (despite the snow)
I rented this dress on a whim in hopes that we would go out for Valentines day. It is very nice and looked great, though not as fancy as I wanted for our date. This is a great bridal shower or modest wedding dress. would rent again for a different occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 18, 2014
great color
not as fitted in the waist as I thought
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 9, 2014
Great Dress
Loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
February 8, 2014
Gorgeous color but runs slim in hips
If you are a curvier gal, this dress may not be easy to pull off; it's a gorgeous color but a straight fit! Love Kate Spade New York :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
February 8, 2014
Color is vibrant and stands out in a crowd without being overwhelming
I probably should have ordered an 8 as the 6 was a little tight but it worked as the other dress highlighted my mom tummy so it went back in the bag right away. I received lots of compliments on the color and style of this dress and it was just right for this event which was a fundraiser for a local charity organization.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 21, 2014
Loved this dress! Fit true to size and was very comfortable. Great color too!
This dress fit true to size. Loved the color. I wore it to a wedding in NYC in August and I was glad that the material was not too hot.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
January 20, 2014
Great color!
Sorry, the only clear photos were from the photo booth, so please excuse the hat :) This was probably my least favorite dress that I've rented from RTR. Neither size fit my proportions. The smaller had a better shape and fit well on top but it was a little too tight in the hip to get away with. The larger size had more room in the hips but it was WAY too big on top and the waist was a little too low. I had to pin it at the shoulders so the waist of the dress fell where it was supposed to. That said, the dress was a great color and ended up looking good, but I was a bit disappointed. RTR dresses are either really unique or fit really well, and I didn't feel either of those ways about it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 22, 2013
Great dress for summer party
Fit was true to size and looks great. Best suited for a summer party/wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 3, 2013
Wore this dress for my niece's wedding. Very classy!
Ordered 6 and 8, both fit but the 6 was a little better quality.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
November 21, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I did not end up wearing the dress because it was too small. I normally wear a 6, but could not zip the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 18, 2013
Beautiful dress, fit very well.
I ordered this as my "backup dress" and I'm so glad I did. I wore it for a work dinner and the dress I had originally picked would have been too short/revealing. This dress worked great. It was comfortable and I could wear a regular bra with it. The color is very pretty. It runs true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 15, 2013
Gorgeous color, adorable shape! This dress is unmistakably Kate Spade!
I rented this for my free birthday dress that came along with my RTR Pro subscription (which, by the way, has more than paid for itself after two rentals). It was a last-minute decision, but I was so excited when I saw it in person! The shade of purple is gorgeous, and the bow detail is so sweet!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 10, 2013
This was the perfect dress for a glamourous wedding!
The color of this dress is so much more vibrant than the pictures let on. It's a head turner for sure! I'm 5'9" and the length was perfect (just above the knee). It was a bit roomy up top and a smidge too big under the arms, but the next size down would have been too small in the hips. Loved loved loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
November 1, 2013
BEAUTIFUL!
I wish this dress had worked out, but I give it high ratings for its style. It was a beautiful color, but the underslip appeared from underneath and was unable to be worn to my scheduled reunion. It's a pretty dress and RTR was wonderful in providing me another dress that did not show the underslip in time for my reunion. Thanks for wonderful service!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 8, 2013
Very cute dress and fit great! I felt so comfortable in it!
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding in October and it was great for eating, dancing, etc. I especially liked that there were snaps hidden under the straps of the dress so you don't have to worry about your bra showing :) I usually wear a size 6 but felt that the 8 was a bit roomier so I went a size up. Would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
October 4, 2013
so chic! can dress it up or down!
I wore this dress for the Maryland Microbrew Festival (I had originally planned to wear it to the opening of the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, but I chose the wrong dates by accident!) it actually worked out perfectly. I rented the necklace, too, and wore black flats with a cropped yellow jacket. it was casual and chic, and wasn't out of character for the way I normally dress. it was a bit big, maybe if I had a larger chest it would have filled out a little more, but I don't think anyone could tell! fabulous.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
October 4, 2013
Cute dress, just didn't fit
Loved the color, but it was too narrow for my thick thighs and big butt. Ended up wearing a dress I already had. Wish it would have worked out.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 14, 2013
Rent The Runway is the answer to my prayers!
Due to my recent travel schedule I did not have an opportunity to look for a dress to wear to a friend's wedding. I had heard about Rent The Runway and had been a member for a few months before deciding to give it a try last week. I ordered the Kate Spade dress and jeweled bag. I was extremely happy to find my package on my doorstep when it was promised! The box and packaging was also very professional and classy. I ordered a size 4 dress and a backup size 6. The size 6 was very big in the shoulders and bodice. The size 4 fit perfectly! The whole process was very easy. I am in love with this site and have already mentioned it to quite a few of my friends...... I will definitely rent again and again.......
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 31, 2013
FIRST LADY ELEGANCE
I wore this dress for a wedding I coordinated, and it couldn't have been a better choice! The structure of the dress followed my curves, the color was amazing, the fit was comfortable for all the running around I had to do, and the bow detail kept the dress from being boring or average. It definitely felt like a dress Jackie-O would rick. I upped the edge with snakeskin pumps and a matching handbag, and got compliments throughout the night on the combo. Can't wait to pick out my next rental!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 4, 2013
Loved it!
Another dress that I didn't want to return! The fabric and cut of the dress are great. I received a to. Of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 30, 2013
Worn to an upscale rehearsal dinner and color was a great contrast to the traditional black.
Fit is great for women who want to accentuate an hourglass figure. I have a long torso and was concerned how the bow would look, but it fell at the right spot. Felt and looked great.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
July 15, 2013
Great fit and beautiful purple!
Fits true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
July 1, 2013
Great summer wedding dress - especially loved the color!
This dress fit perfectly for the occasion! I have an hourglass figure, and it highlighted my curves while not getting too risky. An absolutely classic dress. One thought to take into consideration - I have a lot of out of town weddings and this dress did wrinkle quite a bit and wouldn't be th best for travel. For additional accessories - I would recommend a classic bra (my straps did not show), kitten heels, and a simple neacklace or simple, long earrings. I also wore my hair down, but, in retrospect, this dress should have had a bit more manicured hair and I should have gone with either half or all the way up.
See more reviews:
1 / 3
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×