You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Mademoiselle Dress
Rental $45 Retail $470
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Feel fabulous and beautiful in this kate spade new york violet silk cocktail dress. Stick with a simple pump and and add the Kate Spade's Confectionary Multi Anastasia Clutch.
Chat with a Stylist
Heavier silk with subtle luster and lightly pebbled surface. Violet silk shantung(75% silk; 25% cotton; 100% polyester lining). Bateau neckline. Side bow at waist. Pleating detail at shoulders. Exposed back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos24

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 7434
Jan 20, 2014
Great color!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Sorry, the only clear photos were from the photo booth, so please excuse the hat :) This was probably my least favorite dress that I've rented from RTR. Neither size fit my proportions. The smaller had a better shape and fit well on top but it was a little too tight in the hip to get away with. The larger size had more room in the hips but it was WAY too big on top and the waist was a little too low. I had to pin it at the shoulders so the waist of the dress fell where it was supposed to. That said, the dress was a great color and ended up looking good, but I was a bit disappointed. RTR dresses are either really unique or fit really well, and I didn't feel either of those ways about it.
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3524
Nov 15, 2013
Gorgeous color, adorable shape! This dress is unmistakably Kate Spade!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this for my free birthday dress that came along with my RTR Pro subscription (which, by the way, has more than paid for itself after two rentals). It was a last-minute decision, but I was so excited when I saw it in person! The shade of purple is gorgeous, and the bow detail is so sweet!
Lindsey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4442
Nov 10, 2013
This was the perfect dress for a glamourous wedding!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color of this dress is so much more vibrant than the pictures let on. It's a head turner for sure! I'm 5'9" and the length was perfect (just above the knee). It was a bit roomy up top and a smidge too big under the arms, but the next size down would have been too small in the hips. Loved loved loved this dress!
Teal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2323
Oct 4, 2013
so chic! can dress it up or down!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for the Maryland Microbrew Festival (I had originally planned to wear it to the opening of the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, but I chose the wrong dates by accident!) it actually worked out perfectly. I rented the necklace, too, and wore black flats with a cropped yellow jacket. it was casual and chic, and wasn't out of character for the way I normally dress. it was a bit big, maybe if I had a larger chest it would have filled out a little more, but I don't think anyone could tell! fabulous.
Juanita
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Sep 14, 2013
Rent The Runway is the answer to my prayers!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Due to my recent travel schedule I did not have an opportunity to look for a dress to wear to a friend's wedding. I had heard about Rent The Runway and had been a member for a few months before deciding to give it a try last week. I ordered the Kate Spade dress and jeweled bag. I was extremely happy to find my package on my doorstep when it was promised! The box and packaging was also very professional and classy. I ordered a size 4 dress and a backup size 6. The size 6 was very big in the shoulders and bodice. The size 4 fit perfectly! The whole process was very easy. I am in love with this site and have already mentioned it to quite a few of my friends...... I will definitely rent again and again.......
Jovane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Aug 31, 2013
FIRST LADY ELEGANCE
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a wedding I coordinated, and it couldn't have been a better choice! The structure of the dress followed my curves, the color was amazing, the fit was comfortable for all the running around I had to do, and the bow detail kept the dress from being boring or average. It definitely felt like a dress Jackie-O would rick. I upped the edge with snakeskin pumps and a matching handbag, and got compliments throughout the night on the combo. Can't wait to pick out my next rental!!!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2432
Jun 19, 2013
I wore this to a formal wedding that I was doing a reading as part of the ceremony.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got lots of compliments on the color and it was perfect for the occasion.
Gayle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5632
May 25, 2013
Posh and elegant
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was perfect. The dress was elegant and so appropriate for my daughter's awards banquet. The color was one of my favorites and just gorgeous in person. So glad I tried RTR. I used my own accessories.
RP
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Apr 17, 2013
Beautiful dress, great quality and color!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
very comfortable fit, accentuates the waist, but definitely runs a bit large. I ordered the 4 and the 6 and ended up wearing the 4 as with most KS dresses
Katherine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Apr 16, 2013
So classy for the first time meeting all of my boyfriends family!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect! I wear a 34d and wasn't sure which fit (4 or 6) would fit better up top. The 6 allowed me to wear a better fitting bra where the 4 would have had me squeezing. Unfortunately I don't have a full length picture of the dress but it was a modest length and worked well for dancing and moving around comfortably. I highly recommend this dress!
Cate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Mar 9, 2013
The color was amazing! Perfect for a daytime wedding, shower or corporate dinner.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The chest was a little snug and the hips were a little wide. Outside of that the fit was pretty much true to size.
Lindsay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 4421
Feb 11, 2013
The perfect dress for my Bridal Shower!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was my first time using Rent the Runway and I am very happy with my overall experience. This Kate Spade dress fits very true to size (I rented a size 4 and 6 and wore my normal size 4), but the actual color is more of a bright grape/fuchsia than the featured lavender. There also was quite a bit of extra room under the arm-area. However, the exposed gold zipper in the back was beautiful as well as the big bow at the waist. Overall, I got many compliments on this gorgeous dress at my Bridal Shower!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3424
Feb 11, 2013
Classic silhouette, fun color!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size, although the back was a bit loose by the top of the zipper, but not gaping. Loved that it had snaps to hold bra straps in place---GENIUS!! When I first opened the box the dress had a bit of a weird smell, kinda like moth balls or possibly from the printing of the garment bag? I let it hang for about a day in the closet and didn't notice it when I wore the dress. Other than that, absolutely loved it, easy to dance in, felt great in it.
Nicole
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4624
Dec 17, 2012
Color and fabric are beautiful and different from what anyone else was wearing.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I needed a dress for a Mad Men-themed holiday party. The RTR consultant recommended this dress and she was spot on. Its a really pretty dress. As for the fit, I am typically a 4 but in this dress, it was snug in the bosom area so I went with the 6. The 6 fit much better on the top, but was a bit loose in the skirt. Length was perfect for the 'mod' theme - just below the knee.
amariecal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4532
Oct 30, 2012
The color was even more vibrant in person! Absolutely stunning.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I needed a dress for my Father's Presidential Inauguration garden ceremony at his work. This dress was absolutely perfect: classy, conservative, yet fun! The color was absolutely brilliant, looked fantastic against my skin tone, and looks great in pictures. I loved the length (the dress hit right above the knee), and the bow at the waist was a lovely touch. It was a fabulous choice for the occasion!
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5434
Sep 19, 2012
Perfect fit, very comfortable, got lots of compliments
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I can see how some other reviews say that it fits large in the chest but I am a 34C and it fit perfectly. So size down if you have a smaller chest and you should be good to go!
Lara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5421
Aug 14, 2012
Many compliments on this fun color!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Although the dress is a beautiful color and very comfortable, there was too much space under the arms, even in the smaller size.
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Jun 25, 2012
When I was opening up my shower gifts and I recieved a Kate Spade Vase to go with my Kate Spade dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved everything about this dress, the fit was great, the dress was very comfortable and the fabric held up really well even thought it was a very hot and humid day.
Patty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 139 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Dec 26, 2011
Lots of confidence in the spotlight thanks to this dress.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved the color and flattering fit. It was perfect for my company christmas party -- conservative but not dull. I ordered the 4 and 6 and the 6 JUST fit, so I'd say it runs a little small.
Krisztina33
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 3533
Dec 5, 2011
I loved the color of the dress. It was vibrant and happy :)
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was gorgeous!!! I loved wearing it and received numerous compliments. It's flattering, comfortable, and just a beautiful dress all around. Sadly I don't have better pictures that show the full length, but will post them later if I come across some. I wore this to my post wedding brunch and it was perfect! Thanks RTR!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6444
Mar 24, 2014
It was not a great hourglass dress...
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I hated this dress on my shape! It wasn't stretchy and bunched up over my hips.... It was not flattering to the hourglass shape and I even sized up!
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Feb 21, 2014
Valentines Day was saved by RTR (despite the snow)
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress on a whim in hopes that we would go out for Valentines day. It is very nice and looked great, though not as fancy as I wanted for our date. This is a great bridal shower or modest wedding dress. would rent again for a different occasion.
jp
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Feb 18, 2014
great color
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
not as fitted in the waist as I thought
Andrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3522
Feb 9, 2014
Great Dress
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved it
SP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6531
Feb 8, 2014
Gorgeous color but runs slim in hips
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
If you are a curvier gal, this dress may not be easy to pull off; it's a gorgeous color but a straight fit! Love Kate Spade New York :)
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Feb 8, 2014
Color is vibrant and stands out in a crowd without being overwhelming
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I probably should have ordered an 8 as the 6 was a little tight but it worked as the other dress highlighted my mom tummy so it went back in the bag right away. I received lots of compliments on the color and style of this dress and it was just right for this event which was a fundraiser for a local charity organization.
Ashley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3421
Jan 21, 2014
Loved this dress! Fit true to size and was very comfortable. Great color too!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit true to size. Loved the color. I wore it to a wedding in NYC in August and I was glad that the material was not too hot.
Sue
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6643
Dec 22, 2013
Great dress for summer party
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit was true to size and looks great. Best suited for a summer party/wedding.
Mary
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4333
Dec 3, 2013
Wore this dress for my niece's wedding. Very classy!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Ordered 6 and 8, both fit but the 6 was a little better quality.
Carey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Nov 21, 2013
Beautiful dress!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I did not end up wearing the dress because it was too small. I normally wear a 6, but could not zip the dress.
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Nov 18, 2013
Beautiful dress, fit very well.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered this as my "backup dress" and I'm so glad I did. I wore it for a work dinner and the dress I had originally picked would have been too short/revealing. This dress worked great. It was comfortable and I could wear a regular bra with it. The color is very pretty. It runs true to size.
Ms.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5531
Nov 1, 2013
BEAUTIFUL!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wish this dress had worked out, but I give it high ratings for its style. It was a beautiful color, but the underslip appeared from underneath and was unable to be worn to my scheduled reunion. It's a pretty dress and RTR was wonderful in providing me another dress that did not show the underslip in time for my reunion. Thanks for wonderful service!
Sara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5431
Oct 8, 2013
Cute and simple dress- very mod look!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am usually a size 6 but the 8 fit perfectly- would highly recommend ordering one size up.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 7543
Oct 4, 2013
Cute dress, just didn't fit
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved the color, but it was too narrow for my thick thighs and big butt. Ended up wearing a dress I already had. Wish it would have worked out.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Aug 4, 2013
Loved it!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Another dress that I didn't want to return! The fabric and cut of the dress are great. I received a to. Of compliments.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Jul 30, 2013
Worn to an upscale rehearsal dinner and color was a great contrast to the traditional black.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit is great for women who want to accentuate an hourglass figure. I have a long torso and was concerned how the bow would look, but it fell at the right spot. Felt and looked great.
Martha
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6443
Jul 15, 2013
Great fit and beautiful purple!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Jul 1, 2013
Great summer wedding dress - especially loved the color!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly for the occasion! I have an hourglass figure, and it highlighted my curves while not getting too risky. An absolutely classic dress. One thought to take into consideration - I have a lot of out of town weddings and this dress did wrinkle quite a bit and wouldn't be th best for travel. For additional accessories - I would recommend a classic bra (my straps did not show), kitten heels, and a simple neacklace or simple, long earrings. I also wore my hair down, but, in retrospect, this dress should have had a bit more manicured hair and I should have gone with either half or all the way up.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5421
Jun 18, 2013
Didn't even bother to take a picture with this dress on.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm a petite girl and this dress did not fit me well at all. Thank goodness RTR had this one as a reduced price add-on because the dress I wanted wasn't available in the two sizes I wanted. I ordered a 6 and a 4. The 6 fit in some places, but bulged at the stomach and bulged above the butt. The color of the dress was the only good thing about it. I don't recommend it if you've got disproportionate (small) waist and (med-large) hips/thighs - not at all flattering for me. The other ladies that wore this wore it better. Kudos to them.
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7533
Jun 16, 2013
Didn't wear this dress.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for my sister's wedding - she asked us to get purple dresses. It arrived in pretty poor condition, extremely wrinkled and a bit beat up. The color purple is darker and has less of a sheen than in the picture. Then, I tried it on. The 10 was too small, and extremely tight around the hips. I was surprised because I own several Kate Spade dresses, and usually the 10 is just a bit too large on me. So, I did not end up wearing this dress to my sister's wedding. Bummer.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress