kate spade new york

Mademoiselle Dress

$141 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Feel fabulous and beautiful in this kate spade new york violet silk cocktail dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Heavier silk with subtle luster and lightly pebbled surface. Violet silk shantung(75% silk; 25% cotton; 100% polyester lining). Bateau neckline. Side bow at waist. Pleating detail at shoulders. Exposed back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
102 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(74)
Small
(16)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
May 23, 2013
Tight in the hips
Beautiful dress - fabric was not what I was expecting, but it's still really lovely. It's not shiny at all as it looks on the model, but rather it's more iridescent, which is what gives it its sheen. Unfortunately, it does not have ANY extra room through the hips, so it is NOT meant for pear-shaped women, which I am.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
May 25, 2013
Posh and elegant
The fit was perfect. The dress was elegant and so appropriate for my daughter's awards banquet. The color was one of my favorites and just gorgeous in person. So glad I tried RTR. I used my own accessories.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 9, 2013
The perfect blend of classy and fun!
Wore this for a daytime solo voice recital where I needed to go from classical opera to Broadway comedy, and it was just the right look to navigate that range as well as stand out at the after party! I should have ordered an 8, but I've just realized that I've lost enough weight to wear a standard 8 instead of a 10, so I would describe this dress as true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 12, 2013
Fabulous dress! Outstanding color!
I wore this dress to a Bat Mitzvah and it was perfect for the occasion. The color is so vibrant and it fit so well. I usually wear a size 4 and I wore the 4 and it looked like it was tailored for me. Of course I received tons of compliments as I usually do whenever I rent the runway. I can't say enough about this wonderful service!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
June 16, 2013
Didn't wear this dress.
I rented this for my sister's wedding - she asked us to get purple dresses. It arrived in pretty poor condition, extremely wrinkled and a bit beat up. The color purple is darker and has less of a sheen than in the picture. Then, I tried it on. The 10 was too small, and extremely tight around the hips. I was surprised because I own several Kate Spade dresses, and usually the 10 is just a bit too large on me. So, I did not end up wearing this dress to my sister's wedding. Bummer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
June 18, 2013
Didn't even bother to take a picture with this dress on.
I'm a petite girl and this dress did not fit me well at all. Thank goodness RTR had this one as a reduced price add-on because the dress I wanted wasn't available in the two sizes I wanted. I ordered a 6 and a 4. The 6 fit in some places, but bulged at the stomach and bulged above the butt. The color of the dress was the only good thing about it. I don't recommend it if you've got disproportionate (small) waist and (med-large) hips/thighs - not at all flattering for me. The other ladies that wore this wore it better. Kudos to them.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106lbs
June 19, 2013
I wore this to a formal wedding that I was doing a reading as part of the ceremony.
I got lots of compliments on the color and it was perfect for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
July 1, 2013
Great summer wedding dress - especially loved the color!
This dress fit perfectly for the occasion! I have an hourglass figure, and it highlighted my curves while not getting too risky. An absolutely classic dress. One thought to take into consideration - I have a lot of out of town weddings and this dress did wrinkle quite a bit and wouldn't be th best for travel. For additional accessories - I would recommend a classic bra (my straps did not show), kitten heels, and a simple neacklace or simple, long earrings. I also wore my hair down, but, in retrospect, this dress should have had a bit more manicured hair and I should have gone with either half or all the way up.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
July 15, 2013
Great fit and beautiful purple!
Fits true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 30, 2013
Worn to an upscale rehearsal dinner and color was a great contrast to the traditional black.
Fit is great for women who want to accentuate an hourglass figure. I have a long torso and was concerned how the bow would look, but it fell at the right spot. Felt and looked great.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 14, 2013
Rent The Runway is the answer to my prayers!
Due to my recent travel schedule I did not have an opportunity to look for a dress to wear to a friend's wedding. I had heard about Rent The Runway and had been a member for a few months before deciding to give it a try last week. I ordered the Kate Spade dress and jeweled bag. I was extremely happy to find my package on my doorstep when it was promised! The box and packaging was also very professional and classy. I ordered a size 4 dress and a backup size 6. The size 6 was very big in the shoulders and bodice. The size 4 fit perfectly! The whole process was very easy. I am in love with this site and have already mentioned it to quite a few of my friends...... I will definitely rent again and again.......
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
October 4, 2013
Cute dress, just didn't fit
Loved the color, but it was too narrow for my thick thighs and big butt. Ended up wearing a dress I already had. Wish it would have worked out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
October 4, 2013
so chic! can dress it up or down!
I wore this dress for the Maryland Microbrew Festival (I had originally planned to wear it to the opening of the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, but I chose the wrong dates by accident!) it actually worked out perfectly. I rented the necklace, too, and wore black flats with a cropped yellow jacket. it was casual and chic, and wasn't out of character for the way I normally dress. it was a bit big, maybe if I had a larger chest it would have filled out a little more, but I don't think anyone could tell! fabulous.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 8, 2013
Very cute dress and fit great! I felt so comfortable in it!
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding in October and it was great for eating, dancing, etc. I especially liked that there were snaps hidden under the straps of the dress so you don't have to worry about your bra showing :) I usually wear a size 6 but felt that the 8 was a bit roomier so I went a size up. Would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
November 1, 2013
BEAUTIFUL!
I wish this dress had worked out, but I give it high ratings for its style. It was a beautiful color, but the underslip appeared from underneath and was unable to be worn to my scheduled reunion. It's a pretty dress and RTR was wonderful in providing me another dress that did not show the underslip in time for my reunion. Thanks for wonderful service!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 10, 2013
This was the perfect dress for a glamourous wedding!
The color of this dress is so much more vibrant than the pictures let on. It's a head turner for sure! I'm 5'9" and the length was perfect (just above the knee). It was a bit roomy up top and a smidge too big under the arms, but the next size down would have been too small in the hips. Loved loved loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
November 9, 2014
The dress fit perfectly.
The 8 was too big on me
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 22, 2013
Great dress for summer party
Fit was true to size and looks great. Best suited for a summer party/wedding.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 21, 2014
Loved this dress! Fit true to size and was very comfortable. Great color too!
This dress fit true to size. Loved the color. I wore it to a wedding in NYC in August and I was glad that the material was not too hot.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 8, 2014
Color is vibrant and stands out in a crowd without being overwhelming
I probably should have ordered an 8 as the 6 was a little tight but it worked as the other dress highlighted my mom tummy so it went back in the bag right away. I received lots of compliments on the color and style of this dress and it was just right for this event which was a fundraiser for a local charity organization.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
February 8, 2014
Gorgeous color but runs slim in hips
If you are a curvier gal, this dress may not be easy to pull off; it's a gorgeous color but a straight fit! Love Kate Spade New York :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 9, 2014
Great Dress
Loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 18, 2014
great color
not as fitted in the waist as I thought
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 21, 2014
Valentines Day was saved by RTR (despite the snow)
I rented this dress on a whim in hopes that we would go out for Valentines day. It is very nice and looked great, though not as fancy as I wanted for our date. This is a great bridal shower or modest wedding dress. would rent again for a different occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
March 24, 2014
It was not a great hourglass dress...
I hated this dress on my shape! It wasn't stretchy and bunched up over my hips.... It was not flattering to the hourglass shape and I even sized up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
May 25, 2014
Vibrant purple, form fitting, conservative dress.
I rented this dress for a cocktail party and the color was much more vibrant in person vs online, which was great. The cut is feminine, but conservative.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 25, 2014
Gorgeous dress but too small
Love the bright purple color of the dress. I was so bummed I wasn't able to wear it. I rent a 4 and 6 but the 6 was unavailable last minute. The 4 was too tight in the hips so I didn't end of wearing the dress. I would def rent again if a 6 becomes available.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
June 8, 2014
It was a cool and comfortable dress for an outdoor wedding.
Other than it taking two people to get the zipper up, everything was great about this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 147lbs
June 30, 2014
Perfect for a spring wedding!
Wore this dress for my cousin's wedding in late April. It was a bit snug in the hips but overall fit great and I was comfortable. Got many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 18, 2014
Colorful frock wins the night's best dress!
Beautiful jewel tone, length was good but I may have been able to do the size down. The fabric was also a little hot on a humid, rainy day.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
October 5, 2014
Dress arrived on time. Customer service responded to any questions I had. The reviews helped a lot.
Both the 8 and the 10 fit but the 8 was just slightly tight in the bust. Ordinarily I would have worn it but I was singing in the wedding and needed the ability to take big breaths. I wanted something roomy. The 10 was roomy and so comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 205lbs
November 9, 2014
Pretty dress, but too snug
I rented this dress for a wedding. It was a very pretty color (they've adjusted the online photo to more accurately reflect how purple it is -- when I rented it, the online photo was paler), but it just didn't fit. It was too snug, so I sent it back. I've tried on other Kate Spade dresses a 12 and they fit fine, but this one didn't. It was very tighter than I expected around the hips and bust. In particular, the bust line was so tight that you could see my roll of back fat through the dress -- yikes! I returned it and RTR was great about giving me a credit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 9, 2014
didn't end up wearing
I wanted a 0 but it never came in so I received the 4 and it was way too big, cute dress though and would have been nice if it was the right size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 19, 2014
gorgeous
I wore this as my backup dress to an Indian wedding. I wore a saree to start with then changed into this before we went out after the reception. It's beautiful and was perfectly classy. If you have a smaller chest and a larger rear like I do It will be a little bit larger on top
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
December 9, 2014
Would have worn it if they had my back up size.
Fit ran small. I own a lot of KS dresses and her sizing can be all over the place.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 18, 2013
Beautiful dress, fit very well.
I ordered this as my "backup dress" and I'm so glad I did. I wore it for a work dinner and the dress I had originally picked would have been too short/revealing. This dress worked great. It was comfortable and I could wear a regular bra with it. The color is very pretty. It runs true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
May 12, 2015
The color really stood out at an outdoor, springtime wedding! It was great!
It was a little tight in the hips, but still comfortable for sitting and dancing. I thought the length was appropriate for a wedding (unfortunately I don't have any good pictures to show the length).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
May 21, 2015
Perfect dress for a circa 1962 cocktail party!
This was my first experience renting with RTR and it couldn't have been easier. For the most part I felt the dress ran true to size. It was a tiny bit loose on me in the top (I'm a 30DD) but other than that, I have zero complaints! It's a cute dress and could be accessorized to look completely retro!! I loved it! I will definitely be using RTR again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 14, 2012
Many compliments on this fun color!
Although the dress is a beautiful color and very comfortable, there was too much space under the arms, even in the smaller size.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 31, 2013
FIRST LADY ELEGANCE
I wore this dress for a wedding I coordinated, and it couldn't have been a better choice! The structure of the dress followed my curves, the color was amazing, the fit was comfortable for all the running around I had to do, and the bow detail kept the dress from being boring or average. It definitely felt like a dress Jackie-O would rick. I upped the edge with snakeskin pumps and a matching handbag, and got compliments throughout the night on the combo. Can't wait to pick out my next rental!!!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×