kate spade new york

Mademoiselle Dress

$141 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Feel fabulous and beautiful in this kate spade new york violet silk cocktail dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Heavier silk with subtle luster and lightly pebbled surface. Violet silk shantung(75% silk; 25% cotton; 100% polyester lining). Bateau neckline. Side bow at waist. Pleating detail at shoulders. Exposed back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
102 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(74)
Small
(16)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
Perfect fit, very comfortable, got lots of compliments
I can see how some other reviews say that it fits large in the chest but I am a 34C and it fit perfectly. So size down if you have a smaller chest and you should be good to go!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 60
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 20, 2012
Perfect and classy dress for a special occasion
I wore this dress to a rehersal dinner for a wedding in Washington DC. It was at a more traditional venue and this Kate Spade dress was an excellent choice. It stood out becasue of the vibrant color but was still conservative. The size 2 fit perfectly without any need for modification. The dress was a little longer on me than the photo.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 2, 2012
This was the dress I was wearing when I got my bid from Delta Zeta!
Sisters couldn't stop complimenting me and it fit perfectly. It made my Rush Week that much easier, knowing that I looked great and no one else would have the same dress as me. I stood out and got bids from my Top 2 sororities! It was an appropriate length on me, since I'm 6 feet tall so I love this dress. It was a beautiful dress and I'd rent it again in a heartbeat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 9, 2012
Classic shape, gorgeous color made a perfect wedding dress!
I wore this for my boyfriend's sister's wedding - a big deal for meeting the whole extended family for the first time! The ceremony and reception were at very traditional spaces in Boston that the family had used for generations - it needed something traditional, not too trendy. This dress was the perfect mix - fit in all the right places. I am usually a 6 and this was very true to size. It was fitted at the waist and was the perfect length. The material was a beautiful rich color - perfect for Fall. The only downsides was that it kind of smelled like it had been worn a lot - I had to air it out over night - and there was a small stain on the front, bottom hem area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 30, 2012
The color was even more vibrant in person! Absolutely stunning.
I needed a dress for my Father's Presidential Inauguration garden ceremony at his work. This dress was absolutely perfect: classy, conservative, yet fun! The color was absolutely brilliant, looked fantastic against my skin tone, and looks great in pictures. I loved the length (the dress hit right above the knee), and the bow at the waist was a lovely touch. It was a fabulous choice for the occasion!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
November 3, 2012
This dress is amazing. Structures, Beautiful color, Simple and Chic!
Runs true to size. Wore this dress to a wedding and received tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 68
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
November 19, 2012
This was my back up dress from RTR. I did not wear it because I went with my first choice, instead.
I wish my event would have been 2 days because I definitely would have worn this one. It was such a beautiful color and fit nicely. But, because I liked my first choice better, it is the one I wore rather than this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2012
Not a bad dress, just not what I was looking for
The dress fit well across my big top and hips, however it was too long for a shortie like me! I could have taken 3-4 inches off the bottom without a problem
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 17, 2012
Color and fabric are beautiful and different from what anyone else was wearing.
I needed a dress for a Mad Men-themed holiday party. The RTR consultant recommended this dress and she was spot on. Its a really pretty dress. As for the fit, I am typically a 4 but in this dress, it was snug in the bosom area so I went with the 6. The 6 fit much better on the top, but was a bit loose in the skirt. Length was perfect for the 'mod' theme - just below the knee.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 11, 2013
Classic silhouette, fun color!
Fit true to size, although the back was a bit loose by the top of the zipper, but not gaping. Loved that it had snaps to hold bra straps in place---GENIUS!! When I first opened the box the dress had a bit of a weird smell, kinda like moth balls or possibly from the printing of the garment bag? I let it hang for about a day in the closet and didn't notice it when I wore the dress. Other than that, absolutely loved it, easy to dance in, felt great in it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
February 11, 2013
The perfect dress for my Bridal Shower!
This was my first time using Rent the Runway and I am very happy with my overall experience. This Kate Spade dress fits very true to size (I rented a size 4 and 6 and wore my normal size 4), but the actual color is more of a bright grape/fuchsia than the featured lavender. There also was quite a bit of extra room under the arm-area. However, the exposed gold zipper in the back was beautiful as well as the big bow at the waist. Overall, I got many compliments on this gorgeous dress at my Bridal Shower!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 9, 2013
The color was amazing! Perfect for a daytime wedding, shower or corporate dinner.
The chest was a little snug and the hips were a little wide. Outside of that the fit was pretty much true to size.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133lbs
March 21, 2013
Loved it!
Beautiful dress! Got lots of compliments. I would note that it is proportioned for more pear shape people. I was torn between the 6 and 8 because the bust was a little snug on the 6 but the 6 still worked best because the hips on the 8 would have been way big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 1, 2013
GREAT!
i love how classic this dress is. it has a great shape and is very well made. it might be hard to wear if your shape is bigger in the bust or hips and the fabric is not stretchy at all. but i definitely recommend this dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
April 7, 2013
A little loose in the chest
I ordered this as my backup dress and did not end up wearing it because my first choice worked. The dress was much prettier in person - more of a fuchsia color than the photo. I sized up because this style of dress is usually tight around my hips. The size 10 fit great in the hips, but was really loose/baggy in the top/chest. I felt frumpy when I tried it on because of the looseness. The dress was a good length, hitting right above my knees. Beautiful dress, but wish it fit better!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
April 30, 2013
Gorgeous Color and Shape
If you're looking for a classic shift with a pop of color, you can't beat this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 2, 2013
pretty color
the bow was wrinkled
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
May 25, 2013
Posh and elegant
The fit was perfect. The dress was elegant and so appropriate for my daughter's awards banquet. The color was one of my favorites and just gorgeous in person. So glad I tried RTR. I used my own accessories.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 9, 2013
The perfect blend of classy and fun!
Wore this for a daytime solo voice recital where I needed to go from classical opera to Broadway comedy, and it was just the right look to navigate that range as well as stand out at the after party! I should have ordered an 8, but I've just realized that I've lost enough weight to wear a standard 8 instead of a 10, so I would describe this dress as true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 12, 2013
Fabulous dress! Outstanding color!
I wore this dress to a Bat Mitzvah and it was perfect for the occasion. The color is so vibrant and it fit so well. I usually wear a size 4 and I wore the 4 and it looked like it was tailored for me. Of course I received tons of compliments as I usually do whenever I rent the runway. I can't say enough about this wonderful service!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
June 18, 2013
Didn't even bother to take a picture with this dress on.
I'm a petite girl and this dress did not fit me well at all. Thank goodness RTR had this one as a reduced price add-on because the dress I wanted wasn't available in the two sizes I wanted. I ordered a 6 and a 4. The 6 fit in some places, but bulged at the stomach and bulged above the butt. The color of the dress was the only good thing about it. I don't recommend it if you've got disproportionate (small) waist and (med-large) hips/thighs - not at all flattering for me. The other ladies that wore this wore it better. Kudos to them.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106lbs
June 19, 2013
I wore this to a formal wedding that I was doing a reading as part of the ceremony.
I got lots of compliments on the color and it was perfect for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
July 1, 2013
Great summer wedding dress - especially loved the color!
This dress fit perfectly for the occasion! I have an hourglass figure, and it highlighted my curves while not getting too risky. An absolutely classic dress. One thought to take into consideration - I have a lot of out of town weddings and this dress did wrinkle quite a bit and wouldn't be th best for travel. For additional accessories - I would recommend a classic bra (my straps did not show), kitten heels, and a simple neacklace or simple, long earrings. I also wore my hair down, but, in retrospect, this dress should have had a bit more manicured hair and I should have gone with either half or all the way up.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
July 15, 2013
Great fit and beautiful purple!
Fits true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 30, 2013
Worn to an upscale rehearsal dinner and color was a great contrast to the traditional black.
Fit is great for women who want to accentuate an hourglass figure. I have a long torso and was concerned how the bow would look, but it fell at the right spot. Felt and looked great.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 14, 2013
Rent The Runway is the answer to my prayers!
Due to my recent travel schedule I did not have an opportunity to look for a dress to wear to a friend's wedding. I had heard about Rent The Runway and had been a member for a few months before deciding to give it a try last week. I ordered the Kate Spade dress and jeweled bag. I was extremely happy to find my package on my doorstep when it was promised! The box and packaging was also very professional and classy. I ordered a size 4 dress and a backup size 6. The size 6 was very big in the shoulders and bodice. The size 4 fit perfectly! The whole process was very easy. I am in love with this site and have already mentioned it to quite a few of my friends...... I will definitely rent again and again.......
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 8, 2013
Very cute dress and fit great! I felt so comfortable in it!
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding in October and it was great for eating, dancing, etc. I especially liked that there were snaps hidden under the straps of the dress so you don't have to worry about your bra showing :) I usually wear a size 6 but felt that the 8 was a bit roomier so I went a size up. Would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
November 1, 2013
BEAUTIFUL!
I wish this dress had worked out, but I give it high ratings for its style. It was a beautiful color, but the underslip appeared from underneath and was unable to be worn to my scheduled reunion. It's a pretty dress and RTR was wonderful in providing me another dress that did not show the underslip in time for my reunion. Thanks for wonderful service!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 10, 2013
This was the perfect dress for a glamourous wedding!
The color of this dress is so much more vibrant than the pictures let on. It's a head turner for sure! I'm 5'9" and the length was perfect (just above the knee). It was a bit roomy up top and a smidge too big under the arms, but the next size down would have been too small in the hips. Loved loved loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
November 9, 2014
The dress fit perfectly.
The 8 was too big on me
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 22, 2013
Great dress for summer party
Fit was true to size and looks great. Best suited for a summer party/wedding.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 21, 2014
Loved this dress! Fit true to size and was very comfortable. Great color too!
This dress fit true to size. Loved the color. I wore it to a wedding in NYC in August and I was glad that the material was not too hot.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 8, 2014
Color is vibrant and stands out in a crowd without being overwhelming
I probably should have ordered an 8 as the 6 was a little tight but it worked as the other dress highlighted my mom tummy so it went back in the bag right away. I received lots of compliments on the color and style of this dress and it was just right for this event which was a fundraiser for a local charity organization.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
February 8, 2014
Gorgeous color but runs slim in hips
If you are a curvier gal, this dress may not be easy to pull off; it's a gorgeous color but a straight fit! Love Kate Spade New York :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 9, 2014
Great Dress
Loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 18, 2014
great color
not as fitted in the waist as I thought
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 21, 2014
Valentines Day was saved by RTR (despite the snow)
I rented this dress on a whim in hopes that we would go out for Valentines day. It is very nice and looked great, though not as fancy as I wanted for our date. This is a great bridal shower or modest wedding dress. would rent again for a different occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
May 25, 2014
Vibrant purple, form fitting, conservative dress.
I rented this dress for a cocktail party and the color was much more vibrant in person vs online, which was great. The cut is feminine, but conservative.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 25, 2014
Gorgeous dress but too small
Love the bright purple color of the dress. I was so bummed I wasn't able to wear it. I rent a 4 and 6 but the 6 was unavailable last minute. The 4 was too tight in the hips so I didn't end of wearing the dress. I would def rent again if a 6 becomes available.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
June 8, 2014
It was a cool and comfortable dress for an outdoor wedding.
Other than it taking two people to get the zipper up, everything was great about this dress.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×