Rent the Runway

kate spade new york

Mademoiselle Dress

$45 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel fabulous and beautiful in this kate spade new york violet silk cocktail dress. Stick with a simple pump and and add the Kate Spade's Confectionary Multi Anastasia Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Heavier silk with subtle luster and lightly pebbled surface. Violet silk shantung(75% silk; 25% cotton; 100% polyester lining). Bateau neckline. Side bow at waist. Pleating detail at shoulders. Exposed back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

101 reviews

Fit
Small 17
True to Size 73
Large 9
Photos 34
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 5, 2011

I loved the color of the dress. It was vibrant and happy :)

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was gorgeous!!! I loved wearing it and received numerous compliments. It's flattering, comfortable, and just a beautiful dress all around. Sadly I don't have better pictures that show the full length, but will post them later if I come across some. I wore this to my post wedding brunch and it was perfect! Thanks RTR!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 26, 2011

Lots of confidence in the spotlight thanks to this dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved the color and flattering fit. It was perfect for my company christmas party -- conservative but not dull. I ordered the 4 and 6 and the 6 JUST fit, so I'd say it runs a little small.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 25, 2012

When I was opening up my shower gifts and I recieved a Kate Spade Vase to go with my Kate Spade dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved everything about this dress, the fit was great, the dress was very comfortable and the fabric held up really well even thought it was a very hot and humid day.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

Many compliments on this fun color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Although the dress is a beautiful color and very comfortable, there was too much space under the arms, even in the smaller size.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 19, 2012

Perfect fit, very comfortable, got lots of compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I can see how some other reviews say that it fits large in the chest but I am a 34C and it fit perfectly. So size down if you have a smaller chest and you should be good to go!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 30, 2012

The color was even more vibrant in person! Absolutely stunning.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I needed a dress for my Father's Presidential Inauguration garden ceremony at his work. This dress was absolutely perfect: classy, conservative, yet fun! The color was absolutely brilliant, looked fantastic against my skin tone, and looks great in pictures. I loved the length (the dress hit right above the knee), and the bow at the waist was a lovely touch. It was a fabulous choice for the occasion!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Color and fabric are beautiful and different from what anyone else was wearing.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I needed a dress for a Mad Men-themed holiday party. The RTR consultant recommended this dress and she was spot on. Its a really pretty dress. As for the fit, I am typically a 4 but in this dress, it was snug in the bosom area so I went with the 6. The 6 fit much better on the top, but was a bit loose in the skirt. Length was perfect for the 'mod' theme - just below the knee.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 11, 2013

Classic silhouette, fun color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size, although the back was a bit loose by the top of the zipper, but not gaping. Loved that it had snaps to hold bra straps in place---GENIUS!! When I first opened the box the dress had a bit of a weird smell, kinda like moth balls or possibly from the printing of the garment bag? I let it hang for about a day in the closet and didn't notice it when I wore the dress. Other than that, absolutely loved it, easy to dance in, felt great in it.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Feb 11, 2013

The perfect dress for my Bridal Shower!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was my first time using Rent the Runway and I am very happy with my overall experience. This Kate Spade dress fits very true to size (I rented a size 4 and 6 and wore my normal size 4), but the actual color is more of a bright grape/fuchsia than the featured lavender. There also was quite a bit of extra room under the arm-area. However, the exposed gold zipper in the back was beautiful as well as the big bow at the waist. Overall, I got many compliments on this gorgeous dress at my Bridal Shower!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 9, 2013

The color was amazing! Perfect for a daytime wedding, shower or corporate dinner.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The chest was a little snug and the hips were a little wide. Outside of that the fit was pretty much true to size.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 16, 2013

So classy for the first time meeting all of my boyfriends family!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect! I wear a 34d and wasn't sure which fit (4 or 6) would fit better up top. The 6 allowed me to wear a better fitting bra where the 4 would have had me squeezing. Unfortunately I don't have a full length picture of the dress but it was a modest length and worked well for dancing and moving around comfortably. I highly recommend this dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 17, 2013

Beautiful dress, great quality and color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
very comfortable fit, accentuates the waist, but definitely runs a bit large. I ordered the 4 and the 6 and ended up wearing the 4 as with most KS dresses
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143 lbs
May 25, 2013

Posh and elegant

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was perfect. The dress was elegant and so appropriate for my daughter's awards banquet. The color was one of my favorites and just gorgeous in person. So glad I tried RTR. I used my own accessories.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106 lbs
Jun 19, 2013

I wore this to a formal wedding that I was doing a reading as part of the ceremony.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got lots of compliments on the color and it was perfect for the occasion.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 31, 2013

FIRST LADY ELEGANCE

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a wedding I coordinated, and it couldn't have been a better choice! The structure of the dress followed my curves, the color was amazing, the fit was comfortable for all the running around I had to do, and the bow detail kept the dress from being boring or average. It definitely felt like a dress Jackie-O would rick. I upped the edge with snakeskin pumps and a matching handbag, and got compliments throughout the night on the combo. Can't wait to pick out my next rental!!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 14, 2013

Rent The Runway is the answer to my prayers!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Due to my recent travel schedule I did not have an opportunity to look for a dress to wear to a friend's wedding. I had heard about Rent The Runway and had been a member for a few months before deciding to give it a try last week. I ordered the Kate Spade dress and jeweled bag. I was extremely happy to find my package on my doorstep when it was promised! The box and packaging was also very professional and classy. I ordered a size 4 dress and a backup size 6. The size 6 was very big in the shoulders and bodice. The size 4 fit perfectly! The whole process was very easy. I am in love with this site and have already mentioned it to quite a few of my friends...... I will definitely rent again and again.......
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Oct 4, 2013

so chic! can dress it up or down!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for the Maryland Microbrew Festival (I had originally planned to wear it to the opening of the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, but I chose the wrong dates by accident!) it actually worked out perfectly. I rented the necklace, too, and wore black flats with a cropped yellow jacket. it was casual and chic, and wasn't out of character for the way I normally dress. it was a bit big, maybe if I had a larger chest it would have filled out a little more, but I don't think anyone could tell! fabulous.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 8, 2013

Very cute dress and fit great! I felt so comfortable in it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding in October and it was great for eating, dancing, etc. I especially liked that there were snaps hidden under the straps of the dress so you don't have to worry about your bra showing :) I usually wear a size 6 but felt that the 8 was a bit roomier so I went a size up. Would definitely rent this dress again!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 10, 2013

This was the perfect dress for a glamourous wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color of this dress is so much more vibrant than the pictures let on. It's a head turner for sure! I'm 5'9" and the length was perfect (just above the knee). It was a bit roomy up top and a smidge too big under the arms, but the next size down would have been too small in the hips. Loved loved loved this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 15, 2013

Gorgeous color, adorable shape! This dress is unmistakably Kate Spade!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this for my free birthday dress that came along with my RTR Pro subscription (which, by the way, has more than paid for itself after two rentals). It was a last-minute decision, but I was so excited when I saw it in person! The shade of purple is gorgeous, and the bow detail is so sweet!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

Beautiful dress, fit very well.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered this as my "backup dress" and I'm so glad I did. I wore it for a work dinner and the dress I had originally picked would have been too short/revealing. This dress worked great. It was comfortable and I could wear a regular bra with it. The color is very pretty. It runs true to size.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 20, 2014

Great color!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Sorry, the only clear photos were from the photo booth, so please excuse the hat :) This was probably my least favorite dress that I've rented from RTR. Neither size fit my proportions. The smaller had a better shape and fit well on top but it was a little too tight in the hip to get away with. The larger size had more room in the hips but it was WAY too big on top and the waist was a little too low. I had to pin it at the shoulders so the waist of the dress fell where it was supposed to. That said, the dress was a great color and ended up looking good, but I was a bit disappointed. RTR dresses are either really unique or fit really well, and I didn't feel either of those ways about it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 18, 2014

great color

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
not as fitted in the waist as I thought
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 21, 2014

Valentines Day was saved by RTR (despite the snow)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress on a whim in hopes that we would go out for Valentines day. It is very nice and looked great, though not as fancy as I wanted for our date. This is a great bridal shower or modest wedding dress. would rent again for a different occasion.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 24, 2014

It was not a great hourglass dress...

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I hated this dress on my shape! It wasn't stretchy and bunched up over my hips.... It was not flattering to the hourglass shape and I even sized up!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 2, 2014

The color is amazing!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Such a pretty, classic dress! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner. I got a lot of compliments! It was a little tight in the rib cage area... But I wouldn't have gotten a bigger size.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
May 25, 2014

Vibrant purple, form fitting, conservative dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a cocktail party and the color was much more vibrant in person vs online, which was great. The cut is feminine, but conservative.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
May 25, 2014

Gorgeous dress but too small

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love the bright purple color of the dress. I was so bummed I wasn't able to wear it. I rent a 4 and 6 but the 6 was unavailable last minute. The 4 was too tight in the hips so I didn't end of wearing the dress. I would def rent again if a 6 becomes available.
RTR Customer
Jun 8, 2014

It was a cool and comfortable dress for an outdoor wedding.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Other than it taking two people to get the zipper up, everything was great about this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Perfect for a spring wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress for my cousin's wedding in late April. It was a bit snug in the hips but overall fit great and I was comfortable. Got many compliments.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122 lbs
Sep 18, 2014

Colorful frock wins the night's best dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful jewel tone, length was good but I may have been able to do the size down. The fabric was also a little hot on a humid, rainy day.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 25, 2014

Great material and color... Perfect for a rehearsal dinner

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore to my boyfriend's brother's rehearsal dinner. Thought that it struck the right balance of dressy but not too formal. Loved the texture of the dress and purple color. Was pleased that the 6 fit like a glove, the 4 was too tight for my curves. Definitely recommend!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Oct 5, 2014

Dress arrived on time. Customer service responded to any questions I had. The reviews helped a lot.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Both the 8 and the 10 fit but the 8 was just slightly tight in the bust. Ordinarily I would have worn it but I was singing in the wedding and needed the ability to take big breaths. I wanted something roomy. The 10 was roomy and so comfortable!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 205 lbs
Nov 9, 2014

Pretty dress, but too snug

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding. It was a very pretty color (they've adjusted the online photo to more accurately reflect how purple it is -- when I rented it, the online photo was paler), but it just didn't fit. It was too snug, so I sent it back. I've tried on other Kate Spade dresses a 12 and they fit fine, but this one didn't. It was very tighter than I expected around the hips and bust. In particular, the bust line was so tight that you could see my roll of back fat through the dress -- yikes! I returned it and RTR was great about giving me a credit.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Nov 9, 2014

The dress fit perfectly.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 8 was too big on me
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 9, 2014

didn't end up wearing

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wanted a 0 but it never came in so I received the 4 and it was way too big, cute dress though and would have been nice if it was the right size.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

gorgeous

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this as my backup dress to an Indian wedding. I wore a saree to start with then changed into this before we went out after the reception. It's beautiful and was perfectly classy. If you have a smaller chest and a larger rear like I do It will be a little bit larger on top
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Would have worn it if they had my back up size.

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
Fit ran small. I own a lot of KS dresses and her sizing can be all over the place.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
May 12, 2015

The color really stood out at an outdoor, springtime wedding! It was great!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a little tight in the hips, but still comfortable for sitting and dancing. I thought the length was appropriate for a wedding (unfortunately I don't have any good pictures to show the length).
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119 lbs
May 21, 2015

Perfect dress for a circa 1962 cocktail party!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
This was my first experience renting with RTR and it couldn't have been easier. For the most part I felt the dress ran true to size. It was a tiny bit loose on me in the top (I'm a 30DD) but other than that, I have zero complaints! It's a cute dress and could be accessorized to look completely retro!! I loved it! I will definitely be using RTR again!!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×