kate spade new york

Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
457 reviews
Fit
Large
(51)
True to Size
(389)
Small
(14)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 5, 2012
As soon as I took off my coat, a friend said, "I love your dress! Where did you get it?!?!"
This dress fir perfectly; it was very comfortable and made me feel fabulous! Plus, if you like to dance, the skirt has a great twirl...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 220lbs
December 5, 2012
Great fit, classy dress, but women with big hips beware.
This dress did get lots of compliments, but I didn't feel comfortable. The flowing shirt in theory is great to hide big hips, but the stripes only accentuate hips more. The size ran true to size and the little belt that came with it was very cute. Soft material with a little bit of stretch, easy to zip by self (underarm). can wear a regular bra which is a plus, but the stripes really made my butt look a lot bigger than it is.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 5, 2012
I was so busy dancing the night away I barely take any pictures! Love RTR, love the dress, AMAZING!
I absolutely loved this dress. It was comfortable, beautifully made and really fun to wear. The skirt had a really nice fullness to it that made it fun to dance in! I ordered the 2 and the 4 as the extra size, glad I did! The 2 was really tight in the chest (I am a bit busty for my size) but fit really nicely everywhere else. The 2 fit but the 4 looked and felt so much better. I received tons of compliments on the dress, it was perfect for the first holiday party of the season! I dressed it up with sparkly long necklace I have on hand from JCrew. You can definitely dress it up or down with accessories.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
December 5, 2012
Classy, stylish, well fitted dress perfect for a corporate party or date night.
This was my first experience using RTR and it turned out great! I have always coveted Kate Spade dresses and was happy to have such a great experience wearing one for a business holiday party. At the time or the rental there was only one size in my range available, so I didn't get to try the second size. A form fitting dress, so the second size could have been helpful just to compare fitting. Only complaint was the skirt portion of the dress was incorrectly sewn to the top a the factory -- there was a seam smack in the front of the dress. Luckily with the large pleating you couldn't tell. Great first time exprience with RTR -- will definitely recommend to friends and use again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 5, 2012
Flattering, chic dress.
Great dress. Runs large so size down. Very comfortable but chic. Does not come with a belt but doesn't need it. Got tons of compliments. I wish I owned it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 3, 2012
Perfect for a Mad Men party-loved the stripe detail. Many compliments on the dress!
Loved the fit, length, etc. I was hoping the fabric would have been a bit more stiff to let the skirt flare out a bit more but I ironed with with a bit of starch and it worked out nicely! Many thanks RTR!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
December 1, 2012
Cute and comfy!
Nothing bad
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100lbs
November 30, 2012
An all-occasion dress
I wore this dress for a conference during the day and a cocktail party at night. Basically just went from tights to hose. After seeing all the reviews from other RTR members, it was clear that this dress works for pretty much any body type. I received many compliments. The zero was just right. The giant stripes and the touch of poof in the skirt made this such a fun dress. I'd recommend it for everyone.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
November 29, 2012
"Of course you'd be wearing Kate Spade!" from a childhood friend I hadn't seen in ages.
The 4 fit very well - almost perfect - I could have used a little less fabric in the bodice, but I'm used to that. The fabric was amazing, very rich looking. I felt so glamorous even though it was a day wedding! I paired with my own belt because my shoes were gold and black suede and matched better than the little leather bow belt the dress came with (which was very cute - I just didn't have shoes that matched). I got so many compliments and per usual, did not want to return this dress on Monday...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
November 28, 2012
Cute and classy!
This ladylike dress is fitted at the top and flares out at the bottom perfectly. It is so cute and comfortable. I loved it!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
November 28, 2012
Great fit and very comfortable.
The best part is this dress can be casual or formal! I wore it to a black and white ball. The stripes are actually more ecru than white. Great for dancing in as the skirt twirls beautifully. Normal bra can be worn. Nice material. Did need to be pressed before wearing but took to an iron no problem!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 27, 2012
Wore to an art museum gala paired with a black leather jacket and loved it!
Fit was true to size - I am 5'3, 115 lbs and usually wear size 2-4. This was small in waist but 2 fit comfortably.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 181lbs
November 26, 2012
My brother, the groom, complimented me...something he hardly ever does.
It was to my knee's which is a bit longer then I was use to. The fit was tight but I managed. Being my first RTR order I was confused about how to order but it did work well dress wise. I was comfortable and appropriate.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
November 25, 2012
Cute; not my favorite
This is one of my least favorite rentals from RR; the dress looked worn. I ordered the 4 and the 2. I ended up wearing the 2 - it fit the waist but was slighly tight around the arms. It is a flattering shape...just not my favorite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 29
November 21, 2012
Perfect for bridal shower - I received so many compliments! Cute, comfy and classic.
This dress was perfect. It can be dressed up and dressed down, but it fit like a glove! Very appropriate for both a bridal shower with moms (nude shoes) and an evening lingerie shower with the ladies (black peep toe pumps). The 2 had a little extra space under the arms, but the 0 fit perfectly. Loved the more flowy skirt and the included belt brought everything together. Great dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 19, 2012
This is a great dress for a wedding. It was super cute.
I liked this dress a lot. I would definitely recommend it. It was cute, but be prepared to ironing it because the fabric can tend to get wrinkled during shipping.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
November 19, 2012
A truly beautiful and classy dress.
I love love loved this dress. Just a few minor details: the dress is true to size but if you are a little bigger up top, like I am, you might want to size up. I wore the 2 and it JUST fit - if it was any tighter it would have been too small. It was truly gorgeous and is a dress that can either be dressed up or down. Thank you so much RTR! I got lots of compliments and felt fantastic in it. My husband absolutely loved it. They sent me the wrong belt (for size 10) but luckily I had a back up dress so I just wore the belt for the other dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 18, 2012
I felt gorgeous and totally feminine in this dress. It was perfect for a fall wedding!
I loved the full skirt of this dress, and the length was perfect. I paired it with the kate spade new york gold bright spot necklace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 15, 2012
The best!
Loved this dress for a fall wedding! Wore it with a chunky KS necklace and black pumps and loved every second of it. Very comfortable and easy to dance in. Runs like most KS dresses - a little big, so order a size down for your backup.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 13, 2012
Audrey!
Got loads of compliments and really fell in love with this easy-to-wear and classic dress. I want to buy it! One of my favorite rentals. Love!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 13, 2012
"You look like Jackie O"
I wore this for a friend's engagement party and it was a few days before my birthday so I also had some kate spade accessories that were gifts which I added as accessories. The dress fit well and the belt was a great touch. I wore black tights and heels as it was November but it could be worn without in a warmer month! Love everything except wish it had pockets!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 13, 2012
This dress was perfect! It's a great combination of stylish and sophisticated.
This dress fit exactly true to size. It was a little long for me (right at the top of my knees). but fine for a wedding. It was comfortable and very nice material. I loved it and got several compliments.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2012
Tons of compliments!
I wore this dress for my bridal shower luncheon and it was the perfect style I was looking to have! I received a ton of compliments on the dress! The fit was very flattering and ran true to size. The belt was missing with my order but I had another skinny black belt on hand to take its place.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
November 11, 2012
Cute, but watch your waist size.
Really cute dress, but as a mom of three young kids I still have a little bit of extra bulk around my middle. Even with Spanx the waist was a little snug and by the end of the night was very uncomfortable. I usually wear a size 8, but ordered a 10, but it was still tight in the waist. Otherwise the perfect dress for a coctail gala event!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 11, 2012
Loved this dress!
I got so many compliments all night long on this dress. It was a great fit, very flattering. I was worried about the length and that it would hit awkwardly since I am shorter, but it was actually just above the knee and the perfect length for elegant and fun! I would recommend this dress to everyone! I absolutely loved it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 9, 2012
Wow. Just fantastic. Looked great/felt great. So flattering!
This dress would look great and many body types. I had RTR throw in an accessory and I got fantastic earring. Can't say enough good things...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 9, 2012
Perfect for my afternoon rehearsal!
This dress was beautiful. I got tons of compliments on it throughout the day! It's also very comfortable. I wore it to lunch, our afternoon rehearsal, and a manicure. It's very cute without being too over the top. Easy to dress it up or down!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 9, 2012
Great dress when you want to be appropriate
I wore this for a Rehearsal Dinner and felt so comfortable. Flattering and current without over doing it. This was also great for a sit down event, I wasn't pulling at my dress to cover my legs. Material wasn't as thick as I expected, more a sateen cotton finish but looked great in pictures. Not a lot of size difference in 4-6.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 8, 2012
Dress fit well - very comfortable. Skirt a little more full than anticipated.
Cotton fabric - not fancy. Great first experience with Rent the Runway.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
November 7, 2012
Wore this the day after my wedding!
This dress fit like a glove. It's a pretty light material so I would recommend it for warmer months. Don't forget the belt! I didn't see it in the bag until I was getting ready to return the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 7, 2012
This dress made me feel classy and sleek.
I loved this dress. Simple and classy, like Audrey Hepburn! While it wasn't the right fit for the event I originally ordered it for, I ended up wearing it to work. The dress went down past my knees (I am only 5' tall), but it was still very classy with a set of pearls and a "messy" updo. This dress was perfect and comfortable for my curvy and busty frame.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
November 6, 2012
I loved the belt with the bow! And so did a lot of other people!
It fit true to size though it was a bit too long for me.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 5, 2012
I was very pleased with the whole RTR experience. Despite Hurricane Sandy, my dress arrived on time.
The fit was just a little tight through the chest and rib cage (but I have a large rib cage for my size), but would have been too big if I had worn the next size up. I love the length, because I'm 5'11" it's hard to find dresses that are long enough, but this dress was PERFECT! I loved this dress!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 5, 2012
Love the dress but not on me
I am hippy and the pleats on the skirt would not lay flat and made me look very wide. I didn't end up wearing it but it was a beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
November 4, 2012
Great fitting dress, needs a statement necklace to look complete
Great fitting dress, needs a statement necklace to look complete.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
November 3, 2012
Love this dress! I received tons of compliments. Classic & Chic!
Fit ran true to size, I'm 5'7 and I felt like the length was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 1, 2012
The little belt absolutely made this dress!
I am a 32D and I went braless with this. It was so comfy though! The weather was unexpectedly in the 30's, but I threw on a blazer and it worked perfectly. I received tons of compliments.
vanessaNovember 6, 2012
wow love the blazer !
KristaNovember 9, 2012
Love it with the blazer on top!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 30, 2012
It was fun turning heads on the Santa Monica Pier. I felt like a celebrity for a day!
I originally wanted to wear this dress to another semi-formal event I had that weekend, but ended up wearing my backup dress (the Kate Spade Mademoiselle dress) to the event. However, I loved this dress so much that I ended up just wearing it sightseeing around Los Angeles. I liked the simple elegance of the dress: classy and conservative. The length was perfect. The white is actually more off-white in person, so take note of that if you're looking for a pure black-and-white dress. The patent belt was a nice touch, and was easily adjustable (which was convenient, especially after eating Sunday brunch). I'd definitely recommend this dress to a friend!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 28, 2012
Lovely dress
I really loved this dress & wore it for a pre-wedding dinner. I'm a bit of a pear shape and it was very flattering. RTR forgot to send the belt but overnighted it in time for my event (THANK YOU!). The waist fit a little high on me but not quite under my bust. I am a 32C and filled this out just right. I'm not sure it would work well on larger busts. I wore this with bright pink earrings to give it some color. It feels very well made and lovely!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 28, 2012
I received many compliments, my favorite so far
Wore dress to a baptism, it was very comfortable. Material had a lot of stretch to it, I wore the 14, it was very roomy on top- I should've worn the 12, but didn't want to take a chance of it being too tight. Skirt is very flowy, will hide any trouble areas. Loved the style, simple and chic. This is my second dress I rent from RTR, this month. Looking forward to renting again.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
9 / 12
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×