kate spade new york

Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy
$398 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
459 reviews
Fit
Large
(51)
True to Size
(392)
Small
(14)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
March 12, 2014
Compliments every turn I made!
a little thinner material then I thought but it didn't matter. Great fit and I felt great. Great for big chest, felt classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 13, 2014
Classy and fun!
Loved the fit, the color was more of a cream. I added a thin coral belt and coral heals.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 17, 2014
I wore this dress for my engagement photos!
I love this dress. I wish I could find where to purchase it. its worth every penny. the skirt isnt as full as it looks on some, but it has plenty of flow. everything about the dress is flattering and classy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 3, 2014
Classic, stunning dress! I wore this for my engagement photos!
I rented a 4 and really needed a 2 but it wasn't available. It was a bit big but still fit. I had to iron the pleats on the skirt to make it appear like it does in the picture above. Otherwise, classic, pretty, great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 15, 2014
Loved renting a dress- it was my first time and it was so fun to have something new to wear!
It was beautiful, simple and classy. I wore a giant fancy necklace to dress it up. The material was much more informal than i thought it would be, and it needed steaming when I received it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 17, 2014
Flirty and fun!
I loved this dress! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and it fit perfectly and added just the right amount of flare. Wish I owned it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
April 24, 2014
More Casual Than I Expected
This dress is adorable, but it was more casual in person than I expected. There is no shine to this dress, it's almost a linen material. The "white" stripes are actually more of a tan color. The dress is super cute, but would be more suited for a casual lunch or a day out, as opposed to a cocktail event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
May 6, 2014
Worked perfectly for a Derby party.
The dress was casual, but elegant. Perfect for an outdoor Derby party and a good simple pattern made matching a hat easy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
May 10, 2014
The dress was beautiful and fit perfectly
The fit was great. The dress was perfect for my engagement pictures
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 30, 2014
Great dress, but beware the stretch factor!
I obsessed about this dress on RTR for months. It's so classic, but still so modern. When I finally had the opportunity to rent it for a friends wedding and received it I was a little discouraged by a few things. The fabric is very causal looking and what appears to be white in the photo is really a soft cream color. The size 4 fit me well enough at first (the size 2 wasn't available!), but after a few hours of dancing it began to sag and stretch-not what I expected from a Kate Spade dress. Still overall a good dress, perhaps better suited for a date night.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
June 12, 2014
I felt like Audrey Hepburn!
If I could afford to buy this dress, I would! The fabric did need to be ironed before wearing, it's the type that easily wrinkles when packaged up, but once it was straight the fabric draped beautifully. I wore this for my wedding rehearsal dinner, and it was classy and perfect, too bad no one got a picture!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
June 23, 2014
Beautiful wedding.
Fun, classy dress, easy to accessorize against.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 1, 2014
Elegant and classic, but unique-- I received so many compliments!
I wore this dress to my brother-in-law's wedding last year. The lightweight cotton-blend fabric and scoop back was perfect for an outdoor summer event, and I got compliment after compliment from other guests. (I actually loved this dress so much that I snapped up the navy version on sale at katespade.com; I've worn it to another wedding, as well as to the office.) In terms of fit: this dress, while cut close through the bust, has pretty generous waist proportions-- my usual 10 was large on me, and I'm no hourglass. My only complaint with the actual RtR dress I received was that the black fabric seemed a bit worn and faded. Other than that, everything was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 7, 2014
Classy dress! Perfect for rehearsal dinner!
Very classy dress. Simple but elegant.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
July 7, 2014
Received nothing but compliments all night. Perfect fit and completely comfortable
Classic look for a wedding
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 15, 2014
Reviews were spot-on...especially regarding the color which is much more of a cream.
Fit true to size and was very comfortable. Wore for a rehearsal dinner and was perfect paired with some chunky pearls.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 16, 2014
Wish I could have bought this dress!
This dress was amazing. Such a flattering fit and perfect for the rehearsal dinner that I wore it to. I wish this dress was still sold- I'd buy it in a heart beat.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
April 3, 2014
Absolutely perfect!
Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
September 4, 2014
A super fun dress for a super fun - family - wedding. Evening affair in elegant tent
It ran a little bit to get the right fit up top - but I can't complain about having to wear a 0. Very comfortable to wear.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 18, 2014
Wore to Black and White fundraiser for school.
Super flattering and comfortable dress. At first the dress arrived without the matching belt but RTR overnighted the proper belt in time for my event. I would recommend this dress and would definitely consider renting it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 7, 2013
Loved this dress!
I wore this for an event in DC and absolutely loved it! Fit very true to size and was so soft/comfy - the dress did come a little wrinkled and I had to iron it beforehand. Highly recommend this!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 16, 2013
Great dress, v. versatile, I received tons of compliments all evening long.
Works well for hourglass/larger chests. Paired with cherry red pumps for a classic look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
March 25, 2014
Beautiful
It fit beautifully, I received many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
October 23, 2013
love it!
extremely comfortable dress. got lots of compliments. would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 7, 2015
Flirty and flattering.
Flattering fit, elegant, girlish. Loved it! Wore it to my son’s Bar Mitzvah.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 106lbs
June 28, 2015
Perfect for work holiday party
Very flattering for my pear shape, true to size. Comfortable and was perfect for dancing. Received several compliments over the course of the evening.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
April 25, 2015
Comfortable and flattering.
Comfortable and flattering. Loved the pattern with the stripes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
November 28, 2015
Dress was long
Fit was great and soft to wear. But dress was long for my height.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 9, 2016
I wore it before it was cool ;)
I wore this dress when I got naturalized as an American citizen and a photoshoot afterward. This was a few years ago, and I am convinced to this day that I am the person who brought this dress (solid color on top, white/color stripes on skirt) into style :P The fit-and-flare is very flattering, and a cute little patent belt came with my order. As you can see in my picture, the white is a little bit creamier than you might think from the website's photo, but that was no problem for me! Overall, this dress photographs very well because of its contrast!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 10, 2015
Classic dress!
Fit was flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 28F
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
January 23, 2014
Perfect for a bridal shower!
Wore this for my bridal shower and it looked beautiful. Great fit and was extremely comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 19, 2016
Cute, flattering, and compliment worthy.
I loved this dress. I wore it some time ago to a friend's evening wedding and I received a ton of compliments on it. It's comfortable, sassy, and very flattering. Great for a nighttime event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 30, 2012
I was at a fundraiser in Washington DC and everyone said I was "Michelle Obama approved" in this Kate Spade dress!
A really cute, simple and classic dress. The fabric defnitely looks nicer in pictures than in person, so that was the only draw back. Other than that, I loved the dress. Bow belt was a nice touch.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
September 21, 2012
The dress fit me like a glove! It was stunning and super comfortable. I wish I owned this dress.
The dress is absolutely amazing. It fit me like a glove. It is stunning, flattering on my figure and super comfortable. I didn't want to take it off it was so amazing. I got this for a Rehearsal dinner and I looked amazing. I was the most beautiful person there and I got a ton of compliments too. I highly recommend this dress for any one regardless of the body type. It's flattering on big girls and small girls.
SharynreneeSeptember 22, 2012
very daring nice touch
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
September 25, 2012
Classy, beautiful dress
My sister and I rented RTR dresses for her rehearsal dinner. I loved this dress. It fit great, was comfortable, super flattering and I received compliments all night long both at the event and on Instagram and Facebook.
AmandaNovember 28, 2012
Love this photo! I just rented both dresses! Great to see them on.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
October 14, 2012
A perfect dress for my husband's art show. I heard a shout "vintage classy"!
Both the 12 and the 14 fit well on me. The zipper on the 12 was making me nervous, so i went with the 14. Thanks for sending the little black belt. That was great. I was able to wear a bra with the dress and I like the long skirt. I love this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 19, 2012
Classy but fun!
This dress very flattering and I felt really classy and pretty wearing it. I'm tall so the waist was maybe a half inch to an inch too high on me, but the belt still cinched it in nicely. I wore a 6 and ordered an 8 as my backup size but would probably try a 4 and a 6 next time. The nicest thing was it wasn't fussy at all, which was good because I wore it to a Virginia Military Institute homecoming dance. My picture doesn't quite do it justice, but I got so many compliments on it.. it's probably my favorite of all the dresses I've ever worn and I didn't want to take it off. I know I'll be renting it again (or buying it!).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 21, 2012
Loved it! This dress was classy and comfortable for a fall New England wedding.
The previous comments were right. The top was slightly big around the shoulders, I'm glad I got the size smaller. Rent the Runway was fabulous to deal with. There was an issue with UPS and Rent the Runway customer service took care of it for me and Rent the Runway even called me back after it was settled to make sure things were okay. It was a very flattering dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 5, 2012
I was very pleased with the whole RTR experience. Despite Hurricane Sandy, my dress arrived on time.
The fit was just a little tight through the chest and rib cage (but I have a large rib cage for my size), but would have been too big if I had worn the next size up. I love the length, because I'm 5'11" it's hard to find dresses that are long enough, but this dress was PERFECT! I loved this dress!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2012
Tons of compliments!
I wore this dress for my bridal shower luncheon and it was the perfect style I was looking to have! I received a ton of compliments on the dress! The fit was very flattering and ran true to size. The belt was missing with my order but I had another skinny black belt on hand to take its place.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
9 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×