kate spade new york

Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy
$398 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
459 reviews
Fit
Large
(51)
True to Size
(392)
Small
(14)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 19, 2013
Simple but stood out
The fit was easy and the skirt laid nicely but was fun for dancing. I liked that it wasn't as white as the picture appeared online. Fit true to size.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
December 1, 2013
Classic, appropriate, comfortable dress!
I wore this dress for an engagement party. It was perfect. I could move in it easily and it covered up my boobs, so I did not have to check them all night. I got a lot of compliments on the dress. Would definitely recommend it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108lbs
December 4, 2013
Great dress.
Fit very well. This dress was very comfortable. Looked faded, but after my husband iron it. It looked fabulous. This was my first rental and I loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 6, 2013
Summer Sophistication!
This dress was perfect for my summer semi-formal affair. It's sleeveless, but the fabric is heavy and abundant, which I liked. If you are a "elegance through "abundanc-y" type of lady, this is for you ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 12, 2013
LOVE this dress!
So classic and elegant I received tons of compliments on the dress at my friend's wedding. I will definitely be renting this dress again! Wish I could buy it :(
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
December 17, 2013
Great experience! Amazing Customer Service! Will Rent Again!
I loved this dress!! I rented it for part of my engagement shoot! The only downsize is for me that any dress that can fit my bottom is too loose on the top. The length was perfect. I added an undershirt because I don't wear sleeveless clothing. The fabric was very thick and soft. I loved this dress so much I tried to get my fiance to find and purchase one for me. But these are no longer sold in retail. Wish I could own this dress!
AmyJanuary 14, 2014
YAY!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
November 4, 2012
Great fitting dress, needs a statement necklace to look complete
Great fitting dress, needs a statement necklace to look complete.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 29, 2013
Stunning!
I absolutely loved this dress! It was flattering but comfortable enough I was able to eat a big dinner and still feel beautiful. I got so many compliments on this dress throughout the night. The belt that came with the dress was broken but I substituted my own skinny black belt and no one could tell the difference. I would definitely rent this dress again (I even considered buying it!)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
July 23, 2013
This is a beautiful dress and perfect for a formal occasion.
The dress was true to size. I did wear a petticoat underneath it to make the skirt fuller.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 6, 2013
Perfect for my best friend's outdoor bridal shower
Super comfortable - great for hosting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 1, 2013
na
na
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
October 21, 2013
Beautiful!
Snug fit. Classy silhouette
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
January 8, 2014
So classy and fit like a glove!
I wore this for my law school graduation and I got so many compliments! It's very comfortable and long enough for a more sophisticated event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 8, 2014
Perfect for my Bridal Shower
I wore this dress for my bridal shower. I wanted something that wasn't the typical white bridal shower type dress, and I got so many complements on this dress. It was comfortable and fit me very well in the bust and waist. Overall a great dress!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
January 28, 2014
This was my first RTR experience and I will do it again.
I wore this dress to a black tie optional affair. The fit was good, but I am between sizes right now, so I probably could have worn a 10. I was worried the dress was too casual, but once I paired it with a black shrug sweater, it was fine. This is an easy dress to dress up or dress down. It was very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
January 31, 2014
Nice dress for an outdoor wedding
I wore this to an outdoor wedding in September and it worked out well, especially paired with a black jacket once it got a little colder out at night. Perfect to wear any type of bra and hit right above my knee - great for a conservative wedding.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
February 10, 2014
Great fit, super cute, appropriate for all types of events!
The dress was a huge hit! It was my first RTR experience and it went better than I could've hoped for! The dress was super comfy, a perfect length (hard to find for a tall girl like me at 5'-9"!) and a fun way to mix it up from my usual black dress wardrobe.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 17, 2014
Bridal Shower
The dress was beautiful. It arrived on time. I wore a size 2 because I was in a rush and I just put on the first dress I grabbed. My dress was winkled (and as I mentioned I was in a rush) so I didn't have time to iron it. There was a small ink stain on the bottom- not very noticeable. I thought this dress was a bit overpriced for the fabric and design.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 24, 2014
It was a great dress. Fun and just like the photo.
The fit was perfect. I am 5'2'' and about 110lbs. I got tons of compliments on the dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 24, 2014
Perfect for a wedding guest
This dress is beautiful and great for a wedding. I was worried about wearing it for a winter wedding but it was perfect. I put on black tights with a black jacket. I was disappointed that the dress no longer had the belt attached so I had to buy a separate one. Also the dress had been dry cleaned a few too many times because the black was fading so it was obvious that my black jacket was black and the dress was fading. Other than that it was a great dress...perfect for salsa dancing too!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 2, 2014
It was the perfect outfit for my bridal shower.
Everything about the dress was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 3, 2014
I wore this dress to a friends wedding over Christmas.
The dress was really pretty but I didn't love the fit. I think it would have been better suited for someone taller than me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
March 12, 2014
Compliments every turn I made!
a little thinner material then I thought but it didn't matter. Great fit and I felt great. Great for big chest, felt classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 13, 2014
Classy and fun!
Loved the fit, the color was more of a cream. I added a thin coral belt and coral heals.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 15, 2014
Loved renting a dress- it was my first time and it was so fun to have something new to wear!
It was beautiful, simple and classy. I wore a giant fancy necklace to dress it up. The material was much more informal than i thought it would be, and it needed steaming when I received it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 17, 2014
Flirty and fun!
I loved this dress! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and it fit perfectly and added just the right amount of flare. Wish I owned it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
April 24, 2014
More Casual Than I Expected
This dress is adorable, but it was more casual in person than I expected. There is no shine to this dress, it's almost a linen material. The "white" stripes are actually more of a tan color. The dress is super cute, but would be more suited for a casual lunch or a day out, as opposed to a cocktail event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
May 6, 2014
Worked perfectly for a Derby party.
The dress was casual, but elegant. Perfect for an outdoor Derby party and a good simple pattern made matching a hat easy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
May 10, 2014
The dress was beautiful and fit perfectly
The fit was great. The dress was perfect for my engagement pictures
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 30, 2014
Great dress, but beware the stretch factor!
I obsessed about this dress on RTR for months. It's so classic, but still so modern. When I finally had the opportunity to rent it for a friends wedding and received it I was a little discouraged by a few things. The fabric is very causal looking and what appears to be white in the photo is really a soft cream color. The size 4 fit me well enough at first (the size 2 wasn't available!), but after a few hours of dancing it began to sag and stretch-not what I expected from a Kate Spade dress. Still overall a good dress, perhaps better suited for a date night.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
June 12, 2014
I felt like Audrey Hepburn!
If I could afford to buy this dress, I would! The fabric did need to be ironed before wearing, it's the type that easily wrinkles when packaged up, but once it was straight the fabric draped beautifully. I wore this for my wedding rehearsal dinner, and it was classy and perfect, too bad no one got a picture!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
June 23, 2014
Beautiful wedding.
Fun, classy dress, easy to accessorize against.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 7, 2014
Classy dress! Perfect for rehearsal dinner!
Very classy dress. Simple but elegant.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
July 7, 2014
Received nothing but compliments all night. Perfect fit and completely comfortable
Classic look for a wedding
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 15, 2014
Reviews were spot-on...especially regarding the color which is much more of a cream.
Fit true to size and was very comfortable. Wore for a rehearsal dinner and was perfect paired with some chunky pearls.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 16, 2014
Wish I could have bought this dress!
This dress was amazing. Such a flattering fit and perfect for the rehearsal dinner that I wore it to. I wish this dress was still sold- I'd buy it in a heart beat.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
April 3, 2014
Absolutely perfect!
Loved it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 18, 2014
Wore to Black and White fundraiser for school.
Super flattering and comfortable dress. At first the dress arrived without the matching belt but RTR overnighted the proper belt in time for my event. I would recommend this dress and would definitely consider renting it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 7, 2013
Loved this dress!
I wore this for an event in DC and absolutely loved it! Fit very true to size and was so soft/comfy - the dress did come a little wrinkled and I had to iron it beforehand. Highly recommend this!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 16, 2013
Great dress, v. versatile, I received tons of compliments all evening long.
Works well for hourglass/larger chests. Paired with cherry red pumps for a classic look.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
9 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×