Rent the Runway

kate spade new york

Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy
$398 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

452 reviews

Fit
Small 14
True to Size 386
Large 51
Photos 241
Megan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 2, 2013

Perfect dress for my anniversary dinner date!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Comfortable, classy, and super cute! I wore this out to my anniversary dinner with my boyfriend, and I loved the way I felt in it.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 4, 2013

Gorgeous dress, maybe I just had a bad one

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I was in love with the idea of this dress. It looks gorgeous in the picture and I was very excited to rent it. The fabric is cotton-like and not very easy to keep wrinkle free. My dresses looked like someone had washed them in the washer. I wore it anyway, but it didn't look as great and I had hoped.
Tracy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 7, 2013

Cute dress and perfect for a casual wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a summer wedding (ceremony at a church, reception on a yacht). The dress runs a little big - I'm normally a 4 in RTR dresses and I fit comfortably in a 2. The pros - I got a lot of compliments on this dress (both in person and online when I posted photos); very comfortable for eating and dancing because it flares out; fun to dress it up with bold jewelry. One main con and why I didn't give it 5 stars - it skews more casual than I wanted because it's a cotton material and the bottom is prone to wrinkles. I wouldn't recommend for fancy gatherings. But overall, I was happy with the rental.
girlie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Aug 8, 2013

great dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
a little loose but overall great!
Rachel
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 8, 2013

Fun and classy!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress because it looked sophisticated and classy but was easy to dress up with your own style and personality. There didn't seem to be a lot of give in the upper part of the dress but the had a nice feel because it was able to move but not too light. I got a lot of compliments on the dress throughout the night!
Thuy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 12, 2013

Classy yet comfortable

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Goregous dress made with very durable material. It looks just as cute in person as it did online. It was a little bit long on me (to the knee) since I'm only 5'2. Overall great dress and I would definitely wear it again!
Karen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Aug 13, 2013

First time using RTR amazing and convenient. Loved the dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was true to size it was a little big but for a bustier woman it is best to size up.
Jae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 15, 2013

Sophisticated yet simple

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The biggest surprise about this dress was the material. I expected it to be more of a shiny satin-type finish. Instead, it was more like polished cotton. However, the material didn't take away from the sophistication of the dress. I wore this to a business-formal awards dinner with a black pashmina, strappy black heeled sandals and my surprise bling-- the Nicole Miller Star Light Star Bright bracelet. It was a great combination. I had lots of compliments, but I completely forgot to take a picture. : (
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Aug 19, 2013

Simple and elegant

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my second wedding shower at his very conservative parent’s house. I paired this with a black sweater. It was simple, elegant and everyone complemented how I looked. Great rental.
Dacia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Aug 20, 2013

Good looking simple dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress. Needed to be pressed and looked like it has been worn before but all in all a great dress! Good figure flattering fit and simple classic style.
Kari
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 24, 2013

Cute dress for a wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Definitely had to get the dress steamed prior to wearing... Arrived very wrinkly due to the fabric. Really cute paired with fun jewelry, but I didn't LOVE it. Would be cuter if the beige was white and if there was a little less material in the skirt. I wore the smaller size that I ordered and still felt that the dress was a tad big. Overall, it was cute and I got a bunch of compliments but I will order a different dress next time!
Kaylan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Aug 28, 2013

Classic!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to a friend's wedding rehearsal and dinner. It was classic and looked very elegant. I got complements all night! Great fit, very flattering. I am petite and this dress enhanced my figure well!
erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 3, 2013

my Fav RTR dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my 4th rental from RTR and bt FAR my favorite. SO comfortable and flattering. I still have my baby "pooch" from having my son a few months ago and this dress made me feel awesome! Would definately rent again.
Dawn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 4, 2013

Love the dress and can be dressed up with jewelry, purse and heels!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was 6 months postpartum and was very nervous about finding a dress that would not glaringly point out my left over baby weight. this dress worked perfectly because it flared out at the natural waist right above my problem area. I felt comfortable, fashionable and was easily able to dress it up with loose curls, jewelry and 4 inch nude heels! Great rental experience!
leslie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 11, 2013

Pretty but not as formal as I expected

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very pretty and I felt great in it, but the fabric was not as heavy as I expected - its just cotton and the dress didn't feel as special as I wanted to for the wedding I was attending. I ended up wearing this to services the day before the wedding and felt great in it. You could tell it had been worn - the black was slightly faded (even compared to the other size I got) and there was the telltale sign of deodorant fading at the arms.
MissBritt022
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 17, 2013

Classy and gorgeous!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got so many compliments on this dress! My second RTR rental. I tell all my friends about it! Thank you for making my day amazing! <3
Kasie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 21, 2013

The dress is so cute!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the fit, but didn't realize the white was such a darker off white then appears in the photo shown. Still a great dress!
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

Comfortable and stylish!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was flattering, comfortable, and concealed my belly weight. The dress was a more summery fabric than my previous rental of the similarly-styled Kate Spade Nantucket Party Dress, which was ok for September but not what I had expected. Overall, a comfortable and cute dress!
Veronica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

Great Dress, but loved the Pink more

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress in Black and the Pink options. The dress fits true to size, but for a Charleston Summer Baptism the Hot Pink worked out better.
Monaj
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Sep 23, 2013

Fun Casual Dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I preferred the size 2 as opposed to the 4. I ended up passing on this dress and wearing the other rental dress. The fabric is a little more casual than what I was looking for, but still this is a very flattering comfortable dress!
MelanyAlbany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 25, 2013

Great fit, classy, loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Ordered a 6 and an 8, the 6 fit perfectly, so it might run a smidge on the large size. If you have a smaller waist ...this is a perfect fit to emphasize. Loved it so much, considered buying it!
A
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 27, 2013

The renter before me damaged the larger size and RTR messengered me an extra dress of my choice!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The 2 ended up fitting so I didn't use the spare dress, but the gesture was very nice. Great customer service. As for the dress: very comfortable yet elegant!
Fatimah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 28, 2013

Wanted to like this dress but wasn't right for me.

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm petite (5'0 and 100lbs). I rented the size 00 because I always have a hard time finding dresses that aren't too big on me. In this case, the 00 did not fit well. The top part was large in the shoulders, too tight in the waist, and the flared skirt overwhelmed my frame. Unfortunately, the dress also arrived smelling very strongly of mothballs and with a small stain on the skirt. I've always been pleased with the condition of other Rent the Runway dresses so this was a bit of a disappointment.
HP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 30, 2013

Classic silhouette

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a lovely dress, although repeated dry cleaning has turned the cream stripes to tan. There are tiny clasps to hold your bra straps in place, a great detail! It's a little awkwardly sized in the front, so I recommend this dress for A-C cups only - although my DD looked ok.
MelissaCoKo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 2, 2013

Very cute but too big

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Rented this to wear the day after my wedding. The dress was cute but much too big up top. The waste fit well and the skirt didn't fall long, however, I probably could have taken off two inches from the top (was able to pull the dress up about that high past my shoulders). I didn't end up wearing it because it bunched up so much in the chest due to how long the upper half of the dress was. If you have a long torso this will probably work well for you!
ellenic
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 4, 2013

Such a cute dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I planned to wear this for a work cocktail party but when it arrived I realized it was 100% cotton and not formal enough so I wore it to a less formal event. It was extremely comfortable, loved it! Fair warning though, it arrived very wrinkled but since it was cotton I was able to iron it.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123 lbs
Oct 5, 2013

Great dress, but different from picture

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I loved the fit and style of this dress, but a couple aspects are affecting my rating. First, the dress I received was so faded that it looked more like navy than black. Second, it came very wrinkled and I do not have the iron skills to tackle those pleats! I ended up wearing it and got compliments, but I didn't feel like it was the dress I signed up for. Still, I love RTR!
Mina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 6, 2013

I did not wear this dress and had to return it. Too plain for a wedding.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric looks a lot shinier and polished in the photos. In reality, it's a very plain heavy fabric that just didn't feel elegant to me. This would've been perfect for a day time casual wedding, not the fancy cocktail wedding we were attending. The fit was a little tight around my chest so that was another factor in the return of the dress.
PrettyinPink
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 9, 2013

A perfect Go-To dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I chose this dress after looking at the many reviews and pictures, and finding it to be flattering on pretty much everyone. This dress is so simple yet flattering. It's comfortable as well. I would definitely wear it again!
Emily
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200 lbs
Oct 10, 2013

Perfect dress for my 30th birthday party!!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I am usually a size 16, but after reading reviews that it ran big--I decided to give the 14 a try. I am so happy that I did! It fit perfectly. I received countless compliments on the dress all night. The only reason that I didn't give this dress 5 stars is because the off-white is almost tan... not that I was expecting bright white, but it is definitely darker than the picture. That being said, I would still rent this dress again!
Miz Finni
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Oct 21, 2013

Beautiful!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Snug fit. Classy silhouette
Maureen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Oct 23, 2013

love it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
extremely comfortable dress. got lots of compliments. would definitely rent it again.
Iwalani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 26, 2013

Great for a preppy, polished look

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great for a casual, country club wedding. However, I wish it came in a petite size because the top was a little too long for my shorter, petite torso. The skirt was fantastic and very full. I ended up wearing this with a big cluster of pearls and some cobalt blue heels to make it a little more modern. Overall, very cute dress, we'll made, and super easy to rent!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 26, 2013

Classic.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fun. Flirty. Classic. Great for dancing. Easy to wear.
G
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Oct 28, 2013

Favorite dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding, and it was perfect. It was comfortable to wear the whole night, and looked beautiful. I can see this dress being flattering on many different body types. This was one of favorite rentals from Rent the Runway!
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 30, 2013

Classy

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit perfectly! I had to wear it for a dinner event and it was classy black, but the stripes made it fun. I loved how the skirt flared out, so eating the dinner didn't make me feel self conscious. Would definitely rent again since I didn't get any pictures in it.
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Oct 30, 2013

Classic

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I worn this dress to a company party. It was a perfect classic fit. I also rented the necklace and it really dressed up the dress.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 30, 2013

Great, classic look!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for my family's annual Christmas Eve dinner. It is very figure flattering and also very forgiving after a several course meal! You can't go wrong with this Kate dress.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

Cute dress, but definitely not for all seasons!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered this as my backup dress, and ended up wearing my first choice. This dress is charming, but is a softer cotton than I expected - so arrived a bit wrinkly (understandable) and has NO LINING. I don't mind so much, except I was considering it for a November event in New England, and was worried about tights/hose causing static cling issues, as well as general thickness of the material. Also, because of the material, it didn't feel as appropriate for a black-tie optional event as I'd hoped (which is what I ordered it for). I realized I had another event a few days later that this might work for, but couldn't extend my rental. If I'd been allowed to extend to 8 days, I probably would've worn it because it's cute, fits great, and especially once I'd pressed it, would fall nicely and look sharp. But I was planning on putting a slip underneath, as well as tights - and once I found out I'd have to go through the process of re-renting it, I decided it wasn't worth the extra effort. Will keep an eye out for a spring/summer event though!
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Nov 8, 2013

Post-Wedding Brunch

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The material is really great. It's very comfortable to wear. I felt classic! Just like Breakfast at Tiffanys!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×