kate spade new york

Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy
$398 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
459 reviews
Fit
Large
(51)
True to Size
(392)
Small
(14)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 22, 2013
I didn't wear it out to the party because I got two to try on, but loved it!
Fit very well... a little big in the bust area, but that's just my body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 28, 2013
Perfect!
I wore this dress to my cousin's wedding and am in love with it! I felt absolutely wonderful in it and everyone complimented me on it. People kept asking where I got it from and I was more than happy to tell them about Rent the Runway. I would definitely recommend it to everyone!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
May 29, 2013
Perfect Fitting Dress
This dress was perfect for the formal event I attended. It was also very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 29, 2013
This dress is so much fun!
Wore this for my engagement photos and LOVED it! Paired it with the Kate Spade "Hepburn" necklace which I also LOVED! Great rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 3, 2013
Flirty, Retro, Fun
This dress was perfect for a classy look at an evening wedding. I received so many compliments and was thrilled that I was able to size down into the 8. The color in the skirt is an off white cream and the material is very comfortable. This is a great dress for girls with a larger bust and it really accentuated my short waist.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
June 3, 2013
Classic and timeless
This dress is very classic. Very Jackie O. I loved the way that it fit and flared a the bottom. I received a tonne of compliments all afternoon at the event. Can't go wrong with this dress, although I must say it was a little bit longer than expected, but that may be my fault as I tend for forget that the models on here are 5' 10".
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
June 4, 2013
Rented the Hole in One Dress for my wedding rehearsal.
Perfect dress for the perfect occasion, my wedding rehearsal dinner! The dress was amazing and fit true to size. I received so many compliments about the dress, I would rent it again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 4, 2013
Beautiful and classy!
I loved this dress! It fit perfect, wasn't too short, didn't make me look chesty and was an extremely comfortable material. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 9, 2013
Classic, chic dress!
I wore this for my brother's wedding and loved it! I'm a 32B with a 27" waist, and the 2 fit fine. I paired it with a thin black belt, black velvet pumps, a pearl necklace, and a pearl bracelet. It was good for a more formal, but outdoor wedding in the summer on the beach (it isn't lined, which probably makes it a little cooler!) The dress I got was starting to fade a little - RTR needs to put out a new batch!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
June 9, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this dress, but it's the perfect classic look.
The cut of this dress is very flattering and it is true to size. My only complaint is the fabric. It is not as high quality as I had hoped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
June 10, 2013
I wore red pumps with this dress. LOVED the pop or color!
The fit was great! It came a little off the shoulders, so make sure that you have the right kind of bra. Perfect length and it gave me a 50's modern classy vibe. I did not want to send this back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 13, 2013
Wore this for a 1950's themed birthday party. It helped me channel my inner Holly Golightly!
Fit true to size. Not much stretch in the bust. The length was perfect! I have really long legs (37 in inseam) and dresses tend to look very short on me. This truly was tea length and perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 15, 2013
Awesome dress for a wedding.
This dress is so flattering. The skirt was so much fun to dance in. The fabric was light and easy to move it.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 17, 2013
Perfect Wedding Guest Dress!
I've loved this Kate Spade since i saw it on Pinterest MONTHS ago, and was thrilled to be able to rent it for this beautiful occassion! I got nothing but compliments all night- easy to accessorize or wear alone! PERFECT DRESS!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
June 17, 2013
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner for a friends wedding.
I loved the way I looked. The dress fit perfectly and I got compliments all night, it was a little big in the bust, but nothing a padded bra couldn't fix. Other than that the length was great and appropriate for the event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
June 21, 2013
It was the big day for me at work and I LOVED this dress!
This dress is gorgeous! I just bought it in navy at a big kate spade sale because I loved it so much! They did forget the belt so I improvised but I felt gorgeous and received compliments all day!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 22, 2013
Classy, yet fun!
The dress fit beautifully and gave me that elegant feeling without being over-the-top. Received a lot of compliments at the wedding I attended.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
June 23, 2013
Gorgeous summer wedding with great friends!
Great first experience with RTR! The dresses arrived on time and in good condition and I loved having the 2 sizes to try one. Got so many compliments on the dress and was happy to share that it was a RTR dress. It was my first, but definitely won't be my last time renting!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 23, 2013
Classic look, perfect for a summer formal affair!
This dress fit true to size and even had a bit of extra room, so I would have been able to size down in a pinch. I wore it to a formal event at a country club, so I paired it with my grandmother's pearls and a pair of red heels and it was perfect! The skirt arrived a little wrinkled, but that is unavoidable due to all the fabric. My steamer took the wrinkles right out. I was expecting the top to be more of a rounded neck, but the straps were wider on me and sat a little more boat neck and didn't lay totally flat, so i couldn't wear a regular bra even with the straps buttoned into the inside. The overall shape was lovely though and made me feel like I have a waistline. This was my first RTR experience and now I'm hooked!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
July 1, 2013
Fun little dress for an afternoon Summer wedding.
White stripe is definitely cream at best. No belt I closed which I thought came with it, but I didn't need it anyway. Top was stretchy and bottom was heavy, but laid beautifully looking crisp throughout the evening. I ordered 2 sizes and fit in both. So not much difference in top at least. Very comfortable all evening. I will do this again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 7, 2013
My first RTR dress
SO COMFORTABLE. Got tons of compliments. My only problem with the dress was that it arrived extremely wrinkled and almost dirty looking. The white is definitely more of a beige than anything..I had to have to dress steamed before the wedding because I didn't have any other options. However, the dress was awesome and I was sad to return it. I would rent it again as long as I were to get a different dress from the one I got.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
July 10, 2013
Loved the RTR experience. The dresses even arrived early! Overall I was happy with the dress and fit
Sizing: Ordered a size 4 and size 6. Size 4 fit but the size 6 fit better in the bust. I would recommend going a size up for larger busted women. I also used the RTR stylists and they were wonderful for making recommendations for dresses. The dress: The stripes look whiter in the picture but are really more of a beige/tan. I also thought the skirt would be fuller like in the picture on the website.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 13, 2013
Love the vintage cut.
Fit perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
July 16, 2013
Loved!
Perfect dress for a wedding! So flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 17, 2013
Perfect dress for a spring wedding.
It fit really well and looked very classy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
July 22, 2013
Perfect dress for a summer winery wedding!
This was my first experience with RTR and it couldn't have been more perfect! The dress was lightweight and comfortable with a great fit (I'm 5'8" and it hit right above my knee). Fabulous choice for a summer wedding in Virginia with a church ceremony and winery reception.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
July 22, 2013
Pefect for a outdoor wedding, simple but formal.
Fit tight up top and flowed down perfectly at the knee.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 178lbs
July 28, 2013
Great dress for a bridal shower! So many compliments!
This dress is great! Super flattering and showed off some recent weight loss without being super tight and uncomfortable. Super appropriate for showers because it hits right around the knees. Is light weight so is great for the summer. Paired it with a Kate Spade New York Cobblestone Bib Necklace and I thought it was the perfect accent! Would definitely rent again! Highly recommend!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 2, 2013
Perfect dress for my anniversary dinner date!
Comfortable, classy, and super cute! I wore this out to my anniversary dinner with my boyfriend, and I loved the way I felt in it.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
August 7, 2013
Great Party Dress
This was a great dress. Very comfortable, but classy at the same time. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 8, 2013
great dress!
a little loose but overall great!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 8, 2013
Fun and classy!
I loved this dress because it looked sophisticated and classy but was easy to dress up with your own style and personality. There didn't seem to be a lot of give in the upper part of the dress but the had a nice feel because it was able to move but not too light. I got a lot of compliments on the dress throughout the night!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 66
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
August 8, 2013
Cute and classic!
This dress fit perfectly! Being 5'4", I liked that the skirt came down all the way to the knee, made it perfect for a formal occasion. The Rent the Runway experience was wonderful and stress free, I highly recommend it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 12, 2013
Classy yet comfortable
Goregous dress made with very durable material. It looks just as cute in person as it did online. It was a little bit long on me (to the knee) since I'm only 5'2. Overall great dress and I would definitely wear it again!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
August 13, 2013
First time using RTR amazing and convenient. Loved the dress.
The fit was true to size it was a little big but for a bustier woman it is best to size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
August 14, 2013
I loved it to much I actually kept saying I wanted to keep it!
Material is amazing- it was super comfortable and so soft. Loved that it had pockets! And fancy hooks to keep those bra straps in place. Fit true to size (I am a 6). Pleats are a little tricky but for the most part it didn't wrinkle!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 15, 2013
Sophisticated yet simple
The biggest surprise about this dress was the material. I expected it to be more of a shiny satin-type finish. Instead, it was more like polished cotton. However, the material didn't take away from the sophistication of the dress. I wore this to a business-formal awards dinner with a black pashmina, strappy black heeled sandals and my surprise bling-- the Nicole Miller Star Light Star Bright bracelet. It was a great combination. I had lots of compliments, but I completely forgot to take a picture. : (
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 19, 2013
Loved the simple yet elegant look!
Classic and chic. Comfortable fit and fabric. I'm normally a 6 and this fit true to size (not tight or too roomy). Great dress. Many ways to dress it up or down with shoes or jewels. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
August 19, 2013
Simple and elegant
I wore this dress for my second wedding shower at his very conservative parent’s house. I paired this with a black sweater. It was simple, elegant and everyone complemented how I looked. Great rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 28, 2013
Classic!
Wore this dress to a friend's wedding rehearsal and dinner. It was classic and looked very elegant. I got complements all night! Great fit, very flattering. I am petite and this dress enhanced my figure well!
See more reviews:
7 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×