Rent the Runway

kate spade new york

Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy
$398 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

452 reviews

Fit
Small 14
True to Size 386
Large 51
Photos 241
Luann
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 10, 2013

The dress was a perfect choice for a wedding.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Just a tad bit tight in the bust area. I loved the dress it self. Needed to send it off to get pressed and I thought it was a somewhat worn looking.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 12, 2013

Elegant without being stuffy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to a friend's wedding. I was very pleased with the overall "look" but the dress itself was showing wear and tear. I wear a large cup size but there was enough room in the stretched-out top that I could have fit into a 2. (Although one wasn't available as a backup size.) Also, both of the loop/snap things at the shoulder to hold bra straps were broken. (I improvised with the fashion tape sample instead.) It was clean but needed ironing after shipping.
laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 19, 2013

Simple but stood out

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was easy and the skirt laid nicely but was fun for dancing. I liked that it wasn't as white as the picture appeared online. Fit true to size.
Rena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 22, 2013

Great dress for wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress, just was a bit large... ordered the 4 & 6, but could have worn a 2... I would size down.
G
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 1, 2013

First RTR dress and I loved it! I would rent this dress again or buy it if I could!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fabric is smooth, soft, and very comfortable. The length was just right - it hit just below my knee. I normally wear a size 2, but I also rented a size 4 just in case. The 2 fit perfectly. Size 4 would of worked too, it was just a bit more roomier in the chest area. As others have mentioned, the white area of the dress isn't as white as pictured. It's more light beige, which I didn't mind at all. Overall my first RTR experience was great and am looking forward to future rentals!
Alexa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Dec 1, 2013

Classic, appropriate, comfortable dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for an engagement party. It was perfect. I could move in it easily and it covered up my boobs, so I did not have to check them all night. I got a lot of compliments on the dress. Would definitely recommend it!
Ruth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 4, 2013

Classic Pretty!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Wore this to a friends Bridal Shower and it was the perfect dress. Received lots of compliments. It fit well, but was a little large around the armholes (though I'm sort of tiny on top). I did pair it with a black belt, and a belt really looks good with this dress.
Bruno
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108 lbs
Dec 4, 2013

Great dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit very well. This dress was very comfortable. Looked faded, but after my husband iron it. It looked fabulous. This was my first rental and I loved it.
Julie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 8, 2013

I wore this dress for my Brother's wedding.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 6 and 8. I wore the 6 and the dress fir perfect and photographs beautifully. My only complaint is that the fabric is cotton and wrinkles easily. I had to have it pressed out when I received it. Overall very happy with my rental. I received a ton of compliments.
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 23, 2013

Cute, but this dress should be retired.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress I rented seemed quite faded, and should probably be put out of rotation. It is a heavy material, so I wouldn't want to wear at an outdoor function. You can't go wrong with Kate Spade, and the style of the dress was great, but this particular garment had seen better days.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Great Dress!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to a wedding. It was a fantastic dress. I got tons of compliments on the dress and I would definitely recommend it.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

So classy and fit like a glove!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for my law school graduation and I got so many compliments! It's very comfortable and long enough for a more sophisticated event.
Shauna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

Perfect for my Bridal Shower

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my bridal shower. I wanted something that wasn't the typical white bridal shower type dress, and I got so many complements on this dress. It was comfortable and fit me very well in the bust and waist. Overall a great dress!
Taryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 23, 2014

Perfect for a bridal shower!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this for my bridal shower and it looked beautiful. Great fit and was extremely comfortable!
Carly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132 lbs
Jan 31, 2014

Nice dress for an outdoor wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to an outdoor wedding in September and it worked out well, especially paired with a black jacket once it got a little colder out at night. Perfect to wear any type of bra and hit right above my knee - great for a conservative wedding.
Chrystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 11, 2014

Great Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for a Mary Kay conference. It fit perfectly and was very comfortable. I love the hidden slit pocket detailing. It looked great with my Mary Kay red jacket.
Nicole
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

It was a great dress. Fun and just like the photo.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was perfect. I am 5'2'' and about 110lbs. I got tons of compliments on the dress.
Christy Michelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

Perfect for a wedding guest

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful and great for a wedding. I was worried about wearing it for a winter wedding but it was perfect. I put on black tights with a black jacket. I was disappointed that the dress no longer had the belt attached so I had to buy a separate one. Also the dress had been dry cleaned a few too many times because the black was fading so it was obvious that my black jacket was black and the dress was fading. Other than that it was a great dress...perfect for salsa dancing too!
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Wore this dress to my cousin's bridal shower. Everyone said I looked like a socialite!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit true to size with some room to spare. You could definately eat a full meal in it, it was very comfortable. Perfect with the RZ Graziano pearl necklace I ordered.
Miranda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

Compliments every turn I made!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
a little thinner material then I thought but it didn't matter. Great fit and I felt great. Great for big chest, felt classy.
Memorie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 13, 2014

Classy and fun!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved the fit, the color was more of a cream. I added a thin coral belt and coral heals.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

I wore this dress for my engagement photos!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I love this dress. I wish I could find where to purchase it. its worth every penny. the skirt isnt as full as it looks on some, but it has plenty of flow. everything about the dress is flattering and classy
shari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Mar 25, 2014

Beautiful

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit beautifully, I received many compliments.
Cynthia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

Absolutely perfect!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved it!
Michele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200 lbs
Apr 24, 2014

More Casual Than I Expected

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is adorable, but it was more casual in person than I expected. There is no shine to this dress, it's almost a linen material. The "white" stripes are actually more of a tan color. The dress is super cute, but would be more suited for a casual lunch or a day out, as opposed to a cocktail event.
Jaimie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

Beautiful dress! Perfect for a bridal shower!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Top was a little loose so size down!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
May 6, 2014

Worked perfectly for a Derby party.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was casual, but elegant. Perfect for an outdoor Derby party and a good simple pattern made matching a hat easy.
Megan
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190 lbs
May 10, 2014

The dress was beautiful and fit perfectly

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was great. The dress was perfect for my engagement pictures
Sonja Leela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
May 10, 2014

Cute meets Classy

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is the perfect combination of cute meets classy. I wore it for a work Holiday Party and received many compliments. (I'm 5ft4 and the length fell just above the knee)
LCP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
May 18, 2014

Wore to the tea for my bridesmaids luncheon before my wedding. Very sophisticated

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
tight in the shoulders
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
May 22, 2014

Got the dress as a free rental--glad I didn't pay for it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress fabric is much more thin than I anticipated which made for a less structured look. A comfortable dress that was fun for date night.
amakpaul
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 30, 2014

Great dress, but beware the stretch factor!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I obsessed about this dress on RTR for months. It's so classic, but still so modern. When I finally had the opportunity to rent it for a friends wedding and received it I was a little discouraged by a few things. The fabric is very causal looking and what appears to be white in the photo is really a soft cream color. The size 4 fit me well enough at first (the size 2 wasn't available!), but after a few hours of dancing it began to sag and stretch-not what I expected from a Kate Spade dress. Still overall a good dress, perhaps better suited for a date night.
Claire
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 12, 2014

I felt like Audrey Hepburn!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
If I could afford to buy this dress, I would! The fabric did need to be ironed before wearing, it's the type that easily wrinkles when packaged up, but once it was straight the fabric draped beautifully. I wore this for my wedding rehearsal dinner, and it was classy and perfect, too bad no one got a picture!
Melissa
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 1, 2014

Elegant and classic, but unique-- I received so many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my brother-in-law's wedding last year. The lightweight cotton-blend fabric and scoop back was perfect for an outdoor summer event, and I got compliment after compliment from other guests. (I actually loved this dress so much that I snapped up the navy version on sale at katespade.com; I've worn it to another wedding, as well as to the office.) In terms of fit: this dress, while cut close through the bust, has pretty generous waist proportions-- my usual 10 was large on me, and I'm no hourglass. My only complaint with the actual RtR dress I received was that the black fabric seemed a bit worn and faded. Other than that, everything was great.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

Classy dress! Perfect for rehearsal dinner!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very classy dress. Simple but elegant.
Raye
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Jul 7, 2014

Received nothing but compliments all night. Perfect fit and completely comfortable

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Classic look for a wedding
Lisa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 9, 2014

Wore it for engagements

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit great!
Kerrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

Reviews were spot-on...especially regarding the color which is much more of a cream.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit true to size and was very comfortable. Wore for a rehearsal dinner and was perfect paired with some chunky pearls.
Liz
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 16, 2014

Wish I could have bought this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was amazing. Such a flattering fit and perfect for the rehearsal dinner that I wore it to. I wish this dress was still sold- I'd buy it in a heart beat.
MK
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

Loved this dress! Got a lot of compliments on it.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size. Back was a little low for a couple of my bras but worked well with others.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×