kate spade new york

Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy
$398 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
459 reviews
Fit
Large
(51)
True to Size
(392)
Small
(14)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 5, 2012
As soon as I took off my coat, a friend said, "I love your dress! Where did you get it?!?!"

This dress fir perfectly; it was very comfortable and made me feel fabulous! Plus, if you like to dance, the skirt has a great twirl...

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 9, 2012
Great classic go to

Great classic style. The lighter part of the skirt is a little see through, makes the dress more casual but so perfect for a rehearsal dinner/wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 9, 2012
Everyone loved the dress, I felt so comfortable and classy at the same time. Thanks RTR!

It fit true to size, and I loved that I could wear my normal bra with it. Very comfortable. My backup size was the 6, and that fit, but was a little tight around the belt when I sat so I went with the 8 and it was perfect. I'm still loosing baby weight so I loved that this dress hides your tummy. I would love to rent this dress again, it was a hit.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
December 10, 2012
Compliments: jackie O

The fabric wrinkles so def STEAM THIS DRESS! fit greats bows a little wonkey but you could add any quite bow and it would be great.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2012
It was lovely but not as dressy as I was expecting.

Ended up returning this dress, but it would have been great for a more casual event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 15, 2012
Loved this Kate Spade dress!

This dress is very becoming and would be to any body type. I got tons of compliments on how great I looked. The top is slightly stretchy so it forms well. The skirt part of the dress does wrinkle easy but not enough for anyone to notice. I'm so happy with my first Rent the Runway experience; I will be back!!!

KristaDecember 15, 2012
Love it with tights!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2012
The black and white adds a little something special.

Wore this for my work holiday party and was overall satisfied with the dress. The white is more of an off-white rather than a winter white as pictured, and the bottom part of the dress flares out a bit and could make some girls look like they have bigger hips than the really do. Additionally, I’m tall and the dress was longer than I thought it would be. I should mention that the picture is shown with a black belt but it's not included with the dress even though there are belt loops.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2012
Great fit, but unlined

This is a beautiful dress and fit spectacularly, but I was disappointed that the fabric was cotton (I thought it would be silk) and that it was unlined and very wrinkly. I did not end up wearing this to the wedding because it arrived late.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 18, 2012
Very fun and cute! Though I didn't get a belt with it.

I really loved this dress, but there was no belt shipped with it. So I had to find my own. It's cute and flattering and made me feel like a lady!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 26, 2012
Absolutely loved this dress!

It was a bit longer than it looks on the model which makes it appropriate for many occasions. I fit into both the 4 and 6 but I went with the 6 since the hook and eye on the 4 was broken as well as the clips that hide bra straps. I guess with delicate parts, they tend to break easily with wear and tear.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2013
Dose not photograph well but great in person

This dress is perfect for a Hamptons or NYC charity event , dinner or lunch-in. Unfortunately unless you 90lbs it does not photograph well, but it was fabulous in person.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2013
Dress was a room-wow'er!

Loved wearing this!! Very forgiving and flattering. I sized up just in case, but did not need to go with the 8. The 6 fit perfectly!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 7, 2013
Wore this to my rehearsal/rehearsal dinner for my wedding. It was perfect - comfy and oh so cute!

Loved wearing this dress to my rehearsal dinner. It was the perfect shape for me and was great for one of those "have to look cute but still want to eat a lot" moments. Looks great alone or with a cardigan.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 12, 2013
Great fit, but didn't wear.

I was very excited to wear this dress for a work Christmas party, but when it arrived the 2 had a stain on it and the 4 was too big to wear. The stain was near the zipper on the cream part of the dress, so to me it was obvious and I felt like I didn't want to wear something that I knew was flawed. RTR was quick to assist though, which was awesome. I returned the dress and they refunded me the total for my order within days.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
January 14, 2013
Very flattering!

I wore this dress for my bridal shower, and the dress fit perfectly! It was girly and sophisticated at the same time. The material was thicker than I expected, which was a good thing.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
January 17, 2013
A lovely dress with a classic feel.

First off: the dress wasn't quite as formal as I expected from the photos. The skirt portion of the dress is more cottony than I expected, but I would easily have found that out if I had looked into the dress's details before ordering it. Also, the stripes are black and more of a linen, off-white color; they are not white. That said, the dress fit well in the smaller size I ordered and the top definitely had some stretch to it, so I think it would be flattering on many body types. I have am pretty curvy and I found it to be pretty flattering. As other reviewers noted, steaming is a good option before wearing as it may come a little wrinkly due to the nature of the fabric. I think it would be perfect to wear to an evening summer wedding or party, but is on the more casual side of cocktail in my opinion. An easy dress to accessorize!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 18, 2013
Beautiful Sun dress

This dress is beautiful, but the material of the dress is more casual. I did not wear this dress to the event. This dress w ould be better suited for a shower or formal Sunday brunch.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
January 18, 2013
So classy!

I received so many compliments throughout the night from perfect strangers. It was a beautiful dress and I felt like Audrey Hepburn!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 19, 2013
N/A

I rented the dress as a second option for my party, the dress is gorgeous, classic, and fits good. The only problem is i am not going to be able to ware it because it has light dark spots under waist line. Probably the previous renter spilled red wine on the dress and you guys were not able to remove it. My party is today and i will wear my first dress. Thank you

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
January 21, 2013
Beautiful dress. I received many compliments. Elegantly understated.

This dress is really gorgeous. It is subtle and understated but with some red lipstick helps you garner some killer attitude. The picture has a cute belt on it, but unfortunately, it was tucked in the return envelope so i ended up wearing my own. I would not wear this to a formal event, but for something semi formal it is great.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 27, 2013
I walked out and my fiancé said, "can you buy that" - enough said.

Great for girls with a full bust. The cream color is a little darker than what I was expecting, but this dress is great for really ANY occasion. So sorry to see it go.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 28, 2013
I wore this Kate Spade number to a ball for my husband's company, overall, it was the perfect pick!

The only thing you should be mindful of is that the material is practically cotton, not a nylon/satin fabric, and I knew that when I rented it, but still thought the material would have a bit more sheen. That said, it's not SUPER dressy, so, if you have a very formal affair, this isn't the dress for you. However, a wedding, cocktail party, work event, etc...it'll do. Runs true to size, may actually run a little big. I'm typically an 8-ish, and I wore a 6, comfortable. Length is slightly above knee, wouldn't consider this "mini" at all.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 29, 2013
Great fit, tons of compliments!

If you are a pear shape, RENT THIS DRESS. It fits like a glove in all of the right places and is beyond comfortable and great for dancing. I am tall and this was still to the knee, hard to find!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 29, 2013
One of a kind look!

The minute I walked in the room, everyone made a comment about how beautiful my dress was. My husband and I were judges for Miss Vermont USA and I wanted a dress that was going to command attention. It definitely did!!! The top has just the right amount of stretch to it and the fabric is amazing. And I was nervous because I am a 36D. It comes with a thin belt, which was lovely, but I chose to wear my own. I am waiting for another opportunity to wear this dress. LOVED it!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 3, 2013
Fit perfectly and really made a statement! I wore with black wedges and it looked great!

Perfect for pear shaped bodies. Looks great if you are small waisted. True to size

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
February 6, 2013
Everyone called me Barbie!!!

Fit was true to size. It was very comfortable and I moved effortlessly in it. Loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 7, 2013
I love this dress! I got a ton of compliments on it.

I wore this to a day wedding. It was perfect! Comfortable, easy and cute.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
February 8, 2013
Perfect Dress for Bridal Shower.

True to size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 12, 2013
Super flattering and versatile.

This dress fit like a glove and was super flattering. I wore it for a rehearsal dinner with tights. You can totally dress up with statement jewelry or dress down for a day event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
February 12, 2013
I was sitting in my car with a coat on over this dress and still received a compliment!

I absolutely love this classic look and so did many other people. I felt stunning in this dress because of the slew of compliments that it provoked. I am between a 6 and 8 so I ordered both. Both fit well but the 8 was a bit loose in the top, I do not have the biggest chest area; however this is did compliment the girls too. This was perfect for my sister's bridal shower which I was hosting. I definately recommend this dress; plus its really fun to twirl in!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
February 13, 2013
Cute in theory - but I didn't wear it

I got this dress for an industry luncheon. I didn't end up wearing it. The skirt flares out a lot - which was not very flattering. It might be because I am super tall - the waist hit as an empire waist on me- which is wider than my true waist. I wanted it to be great, but the pleats in the skirt were just too stiff and flared.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
February 13, 2013
it made me look amazing!

i absolutely loved this dress. it was so pretty, girly, and fun to wear. I wore it during the day before a wedding. It was so perfect and fit true to size. I can't say enough good things about it!!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
February 19, 2013
Amazing dress that made me feel FABulous!

I absolutely loved this dress. The cotton was so soft. It fit like a glove and could be worn with my regular bra. Two random women on the street stopped me to say how much they adored my dress!! It was the perfect length and flare – definitely a good dress to dance and twirl in. I wore it with black tights and ankle boots. Perfect. Pair it with a chunky necklace and a bright colored purse and voila!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 20, 2013
Classic and chic style

I rented this dress for a wedding and absolutely loved it! It was very comfortable and flattering. I also liked the classic style, it was very appropriate for the event. The only thing I would suggest is leaving an extra day to have it steamed before wearing it. It was a bit wrinkled when I received it because of the cotton fabric.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 20, 2013
So cute for my bridesmaid luncheon!

This dress is so cute for a day party/ luncheon! I wore this along with some the Kate Spade Bryce Bauble Necklace (via "mystery bling", always my favorite accessories option) to a bridesmaid luncheon. Both the 4 and 6 fit great. I think the top runs a bit large, and the bottom is pretty forgiving, so definitely order down for a backup size. Thank you RTR for making my pre-wedding events outfits so much better!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
February 25, 2013
Close, but no cigar.

Unfortunately I didn't get to wear this dress. They didn't have my size so I ordered the smaller size hoping it would fit, but it didn't. It was really nice, soft fabric and the style is cute online and cuter in person. I will definitely try renting again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148lbs
February 26, 2013
Loved this dress!! Many Compliments!!! Would rent again!

The lighter colored stripes are more light taupe than white as they appear in the website model picture. I easily could have worn the sz 8, except I am quite busty (36 DD) and the top is not as forgiving as the bottom. Very comfortable and easy to dance in too!

View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 27, 2013
Excellent service, easy process. Great for special occasions!

Fit was true to size, very comfortable, VERY flattering. I got so many compliments on this dress! I wore my hair in a top knot and bright pink lips, which complimented the look well. I strongly recommend this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
March 3, 2013
This is a really fun dress to wear!

I rented this dress for a wedding, along with a RJ Graziano Dress Me Up Necklace. I recieved so many compliments and loved telling people it was a Kate Spade! Very fun dress to wear and I felt great in it. They were out of my back up size 8 at that time, but the 6 fit perfectly, so it didn't matter!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
March 10, 2013
Loved the dress & hated to return it. The fit was perfect & the look was very elegant.

True to size but the belt was not sent with the dress. Luckily I had the perfect black sweater to pair with the outfit so one would never know a piece was missing.

View photos (2)
See more reviews:
5 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×