kate spade new york

Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy
$398 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
459 reviews
Fit
Large
(51)
True to Size
(392)
Small
(14)
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 98lbs
March 19, 2013
Fantastic dress; I received a ton of compliments!
I'm not a curvy person but this dress was still very flattering and the white/black detail really stood out. It was comfortable and easy to wear all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 21, 2013
I got so many compliments! this dress came on time, both sizes actually fit well!
The fit was great, the quality was fantastic, and I wanted to keep it for my own!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
March 21, 2013
Great party dress
A bit large in the chest but otherwise fit well. Wish I had rented the 0 and 2 I think the zero would have been perfect! Wore it to an evening wedding but could to any daytime event. Really fun to dance in. The skirt swung around beautifully. Would definately re-rent. Only rated 4 stars because of the wrinkle factor. Drove for 25 minutes to the wedding and the back of my dress was in shambles.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
March 25, 2013
Perfection. Covers imperfections while feeling very feminine and sweet.
Perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
March 29, 2013
Loved it.
This dress fit perfectly, and was so comfortable. I even thought about renting it a second time! Maybe better to just buy my own :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 1, 2013
Really Cute...Recv'd tons of compliments
I was really excited about this dress for a cocktail event. When I received it I was disappointed at the material as it is more of a daytime material as some of the other reviews had said. That being said I dressed it up with accessories/shoes and wore it. I received many compliments and it was a success. It is a little high waisted and I am 5'4" and it was right about knee level on me...I wish it would've been longer, but it was perfectly fine.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
April 1, 2013
I got a lot of compliments!
I loved the dress but I really wear a size 6, which fit perfectly but the hem was out when I received it so I could not wear it. There was also a clasp broken on the size 8. The dresses need to be looked at better before sending out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Body type: Pear
April 1, 2013
I felt so beautiful in this dress!
I ordered this in a 12 & 10 (my usual size) and though I could have worn the 10...I felt more comfortable in the 12. It really made me feel slim and beautiful. I got tons of compliments on this dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 2, 2013
Great for party
I ended up wearing it without the belt, but loved the dress and received a lot of compliments - was kind of stretchy so very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 7, 2013
Simple, elegant, and fun!
I wore this dress for nice daytime event. I was comfortable and very well-received. The shape is adorable and very flattering, especially for someone with slightly bigger hips but a small waist. Be warned that the white stripes are actually more of an ivory. Still beautiful though and could definitely be worn for day or night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 7, 2013
Perfect combination of class and comfort.
I wore this to a wedding rehearsal and dinner. The fit of this dress was perfect for my body type. The only reason I didn't rate it with 5 stars was because the skirt lacked a lining, so it felt a bit strange. I also didn't like how the skirt wrinkled easily. Definitely be prepared to iron this one! Also, because it looked more of an off-white online, be aware that the stripes are more of a dark cream/light tan color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 8, 2013
Easy efficient process, super happy with how it looked
RTR is so much fun! This dress fit me well, and was form fitting in the top half but not tight at all. The skirt is great for twirling. I felt sophisticated but comfortable, which made it easy to enjoy the evening. Since I am only 5'0" the dress came down past my knees, but with 4" heels the proportions were fine.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 11, 2013
This dress was absolutely perfect! I received more compliments from various guests!
The dress fit like a glove. I tend to go between a 4 or a 6 depending on the designer and the 4 was perfect for me. The bow belt gives the dress a fun little detail that definitely doesn't go unnoticed. It was also perfect for many hours of dancing and additional celebrations!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 15, 2013
I got almost as much attention as the bride wearing this dress!
This was my first RTR experience and it was just the best! I got the 00 and 0 sizes and I ended up wearing the 0, which is my usual size. The two sizes seemed like they had about the same amount of room in the waist, but my bust fit better in the 0. I wore my own accessories (J.Crew necklaces and belt). I felt super confident wearing this dress (no special bra or shapewear necessary) and danced for 3 hours straight! Just make sure you are ready for a lot of attention wherever you go because this dress commands it with its bold stripes and classic shape - I was getting compliments from everyone from close friends to complete stangers! I wish I owned this dress!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
April 19, 2013
Beautiful, classic dress that is very flattering!
I would wear this dress for many events. I was surprised there wasn't a lining, but you didn't need one since the fabric was so thick. The small belt was a nice touch. I had a baby a couple of months ago and it concealed my little belly nicely. I don't wear Spanx (even though they are great) and with this dress you really don't need to. The length was good. I ordered a size 2 and 4 and the 2 was perfect! In the online photo the stripes look more white, but they are much more bone/off-white. It complimented my nude round toe pantent leather heels nicely.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 21, 2013
I knew this dress would be perfect for my engagement shoot and it didn't disappoint!
The fit was perfect and I loved how easy it was to get the dress and then return it. The small beauty products were a nice touch as well. There was some deodorant marks under the arms I noticed, but it wasn't even noticeable when I put the dress on.
Monica April 29, 2013
Lovely pic
TishMay 3, 2013
Thanks Monica!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 21, 2013
This dress was absolutely perfect for the black tie wedding I attended, so comfy and elegant!
I am usually a size 2/4 so I ordered both sizes, and the two fit me like a glove! I would recommend ordering your regular size and the next size down as your back up because KS seems to run a little large. This dress is amazing, it can be dressed up or worn in a more casual setting, all depending on your accessories! I received so many compliments on the dress and really loved my entire experience with RTR. I will definitely be back, no doubt about it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2013
I got tons of compliments! Everyone wanted to know where I to the dress!
Dress fit perfectly! Super comfortable! I danced all night and never had to worry about the dress! I have broad shoulders so i needed a little extra room there but ither than that it was great! I have already rented again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 23, 2013
cute dress!!
wore for my friend's black and white theme bridal shower. Wished that the dress was a bit shorter but it was still cute!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 25, 2013
Everyone loved this dress!
I wore this to my bridal shower! It was a huge hit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 26, 2013
Great dress
Classic style. This would be great for a cocktail party, I wore this for engagement pictures. Size 2 was tight in the chest (I'm in between B/C) so went with the size up. If you want a dress with a twirl, this is it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
April 28, 2013
great dress, but both sizes I ordered were missing the belt!
This is an elegant, ladylike, yet totally stylish dress. I felt like I walked more gracefully when I was wearing this. I was realllly disappointed that the belts were missing. I had read a couple reviews where this had happened before, and believe me I turned the box and all the bags inside out looking for them. Nothing. It still looked fine without, but a belt would have been a nice touch. Also, this dress has a puffier skirt, so if you are looking for something that has a slim silhouette from the side especially, this is not it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
April 30, 2013
Beautiful fit and perfect for the beach club wedding I attended. Received compliments all night!
I'm not as tall as the model shown, so the dress hit right at my knees, which I loved. Fit perfectly at my bust, and I'm not busty at all. I added a skinny belt black patent belt with a small boy and wore nude patent leather pumps. This dress was very comfy and looked great! I do not wear dresses often, but would love to wear this again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 30, 2013
Beautiful dress.
Very comfortable dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 1, 2013
A classy look perfect for an engagement party!
The dress ran true to size and fit great, but unfortunately the hem had dropped completely. The provided dress tape was not enough to fix the damage to the dress, so I was unable to wear it to my event. If it weren't for the hem, it would have been perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 1, 2013
Perfect for an 11am spring wedding!
The top is fitted, but the area around the shoulders/straps were loose. I loved the way the skirt bell-ed out (perfect for the brunch buffet). I also loved the snap buttons for your bra straps! Got lots of compliments :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
May 4, 2013
Loved this dress!
I got so many compliments on this. Very vintage hollywood.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 5, 2013
The process couldn't be easier and the dresses couldn't have been more perfect for the event!
This dress was gorgeous! I received several compliments on the dress. It ran a little large, but they only had a 4 available. I think the 2 would've been perfect, but the 4 definitely worked. My only gripe is that the belt many other referenced, did not come with mine!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 5, 2013
The size, shape and quality of the dress were great - the condition of the dress was not.
I rented this Kate Spade in a 4 and a 6 for the Gold Cup in VA (the 4 fit perfectly and I’m normally a 6). When the dress arrived I instantly noticed the color of the "white" stripes were more like a brown/beige which was unfortunate because I had selected a fascinator and accessories to match a cream/white and black dress…not a washed out brown/beige and black dress. I was so embarrassed because a woman at the horse races had the same exact dress…but hers was obviously brand new and a completely different color aka white and black. At the end of the day it was fine – and if I hadn’t known the original dress color I would have been happy with the product that was sent to me, but I don’t believe the dress should be rented any longer – it’s past its expiration date!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
May 5, 2013
Such a fun dress!
Very comfortable dress and very flattering. Only thing I did not like was I thought it was a black and white dress. The white on the dress was actually tan in color. Still looked good though especially with red lipstick! I also did not receive the belt that went with the dress. Luckily, I had a patent leather belt that worked well with the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 6, 2013
Off to the races!!
I'm in love with this dress!! I work for kate spade, and we currently have this dress in store in navy, and pink; however, the black was perfect for my Kentucky Derby viewing party! Traditionally, I wear a 0 or XS in ksny, but because the 0 wasnt available, I wore this dress in a 00 and felt great! As others have mentioned, the stripes are DEFINITELY not white, more of a dark cream or beige. Not the end of the world, just don't try to match it with any white accessories. Overall, LOVE it! Felt fabulous all day!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 8, 2013
Great classic look!
The dress was perfect for the 50's style wedding I attended, and was very comfortable as well as cute! High quality material too.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 16, 2013
Pretty, but underwhelming
I thought the dress was pretty, but underwhelming. I had to jazz it up by wearing a black skinny waist belt and a multiple strand pearl necklace. Also, I thought the white on the black and white striped skirt looked more yellowish-beige than white. The skirt texture was also much "softer" than the picture makes it look, so the skirt actually got a little crinkly as the evening wore on. I give it 3 stars for RTR's delivery policy and the fit was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 20, 2013
Great fit, great look.
I rented a size 4 and had a size 6 as a back up since I had not worn the Kate Spade brand before. The size 4 was perfect for my 5'5, 127 lb frame. I really should have found a thin belt to wear with this dress. It would have looked so much better. Although it didn't seem so in person, in photos I looked a little thick in the middle. A belt would have helped. I accessorized with the Kate Spade Cobblestone Bib Necklace, a bright cardigan and bright colored pumps. One of the lingerie straps was missing from the dress and the hook and eye closure under my arm was bent and really killed by the end of the night.. Overall, a great dress. I received a lot of compliments and actually want to purchase this dress from Kate Spade.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 21, 2013
I LOVED this dress.
My husband liked this dress so much, he suggested that I try to buy it. The fit was perfect and flattering, and the style was exactly what I wanted for a formal, Parisian-themed Valentine's Day party at a winery in Napa. One woman at the party told me that my dress was "perfection." Doesn't get better than that!
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 22, 2013
Rented this for a polo match and it worked perfectly!
Overall the dress was perfect! I ordered both the 2 and the 00, but ended up using the 00 due to the sizing running a little large. The lighter stripe is more of a cream than a white if you are choosing accessories. Great option to be more casual or dressy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 22, 2013
I didn't wear it out to the party because I got two to try on, but loved it!
Fit very well... a little big in the bust area, but that's just my body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 28, 2013
Perfect!
I wore this dress to my cousin's wedding and am in love with it! I felt absolutely wonderful in it and everyone complimented me on it. People kept asking where I got it from and I was more than happy to tell them about Rent the Runway. I would definitely recommend it to everyone!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
May 29, 2013
Perfect Fitting Dress
This dress was perfect for the formal event I attended. It was also very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 29, 2013
This dress is so much fun!
Wore this for my engagement photos and LOVED it! Paired it with the Kate Spade "Hepburn" necklace which I also LOVED! Great rental!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
5 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×