kate spade new york

Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy
$398 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
458 reviews
Fit
Large
(51)
True to Size
(390)
Small
(14)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 137lbs
November 7, 2012
Wore this the day after my wedding!
This dress fit like a glove. It's a pretty light material so I would recommend it for warmer months. Don't forget the belt! I didn't see it in the bag until I was getting ready to return the dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 8, 2012
Dress fit well - very comfortable. Skirt a little more full than anticipated.
Cotton fabric - not fancy. Great first experience with Rent the Runway.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 9, 2012
Great dress when you want to be appropriate
I wore this for a Rehearsal Dinner and felt so comfortable. Flattering and current without over doing it. This was also great for a sit down event, I wasn't pulling at my dress to cover my legs. Material wasn't as thick as I expected, more a sateen cotton finish but looked great in pictures. Not a lot of size difference in 4-6.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 9, 2012
Perfect for my afternoon rehearsal!
This dress was beautiful. I got tons of compliments on it throughout the day! It's also very comfortable. I wore it to lunch, our afternoon rehearsal, and a manicure. It's very cute without being too over the top. Easy to dress it up or down!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 9, 2012
Wow. Just fantastic. Looked great/felt great. So flattering!
This dress would look great and many body types. I had RTR throw in an accessory and I got fantastic earring. Can't say enough good things...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 11, 2012
Loved this dress!
I got so many compliments all night long on this dress. It was a great fit, very flattering. I was worried about the length and that it would hit awkwardly since I am shorter, but it was actually just above the knee and the perfect length for elegant and fun! I would recommend this dress to everyone! I absolutely loved it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
November 11, 2012
Cute, but watch your waist size.
Really cute dress, but as a mom of three young kids I still have a little bit of extra bulk around my middle. Even with Spanx the waist was a little snug and by the end of the night was very uncomfortable. I usually wear a size 8, but ordered a 10, but it was still tight in the waist. Otherwise the perfect dress for a coctail gala event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 13, 2012
This dress was perfect! It's a great combination of stylish and sophisticated.
This dress fit exactly true to size. It was a little long for me (right at the top of my knees). but fine for a wedding. It was comfortable and very nice material. I loved it and got several compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 13, 2012
"You look like Jackie O"
I wore this for a friend's engagement party and it was a few days before my birthday so I also had some kate spade accessories that were gifts which I added as accessories. The dress fit well and the belt was a great touch. I wore black tights and heels as it was November but it could be worn without in a warmer month! Love everything except wish it had pockets!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 13, 2012
Audrey!
Got loads of compliments and really fell in love with this easy-to-wear and classic dress. I want to buy it! One of my favorite rentals. Love!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 15, 2012
The best!
Loved this dress for a fall wedding! Wore it with a chunky KS necklace and black pumps and loved every second of it. Very comfortable and easy to dance in. Runs like most KS dresses - a little big, so order a size down for your backup.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 18, 2012
I felt gorgeous and totally feminine in this dress. It was perfect for a fall wedding!
I loved the full skirt of this dress, and the length was perfect. I paired it with the kate spade new york gold bright spot necklace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
November 19, 2012
A truly beautiful and classy dress.
I love love loved this dress. Just a few minor details: the dress is true to size but if you are a little bigger up top, like I am, you might want to size up. I wore the 2 and it JUST fit - if it was any tighter it would have been too small. It was truly gorgeous and is a dress that can either be dressed up or down. Thank you so much RTR! I got lots of compliments and felt fantastic in it. My husband absolutely loved it. They sent me the wrong belt (for size 10) but luckily I had a back up dress so I just wore the belt for the other dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 19, 2012
This is a great dress for a wedding. It was super cute.
I liked this dress a lot. I would definitely recommend it. It was cute, but be prepared to ironing it because the fabric can tend to get wrinkled during shipping.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
November 21, 2012
Perfect for bridal shower - I received so many compliments! Cute, comfy and classic.
This dress was perfect. It can be dressed up and dressed down, but it fit like a glove! Very appropriate for both a bridal shower with moms (nude shoes) and an evening lingerie shower with the ladies (black peep toe pumps). The 2 had a little extra space under the arms, but the 0 fit perfectly. Loved the more flowy skirt and the included belt brought everything together. Great dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
November 26, 2012
My brother, the groom, complimented me...something he hardly ever does.
It was to my knee's which is a bit longer then I was use to. The fit was tight but I managed. Being my first RTR order I was confused about how to order but it did work well dress wise. I was comfortable and appropriate.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
November 28, 2012
Great fit and very comfortable.
The best part is this dress can be casual or formal! I wore it to a black and white ball. The stripes are actually more ecru than white. Great for dancing in as the skirt twirls beautifully. Normal bra can be worn. Nice material. Did need to be pressed before wearing but took to an iron no problem!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
November 28, 2012
Cute and classy!
This ladylike dress is fitted at the top and flares out at the bottom perfectly. It is so cute and comfortable. I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
November 29, 2012
"Of course you'd be wearing Kate Spade!" from a childhood friend I hadn't seen in ages.
The 4 fit very well - almost perfect - I could have used a little less fabric in the bodice, but I'm used to that. The fabric was amazing, very rich looking. I felt so glamorous even though it was a day wedding! I paired with my own belt because my shoes were gold and black suede and matched better than the little leather bow belt the dress came with (which was very cute - I just didn't have shoes that matched). I got so many compliments and per usual, did not want to return this dress on Monday...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100lbs
November 30, 2012
An all-occasion dress
I wore this dress for a conference during the day and a cocktail party at night. Basically just went from tights to hose. After seeing all the reviews from other RTR members, it was clear that this dress works for pretty much any body type. I received many compliments. The zero was just right. The giant stripes and the touch of poof in the skirt made this such a fun dress. I'd recommend it for everyone.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 5, 2012
Flattering, chic dress.
Great dress. Runs large so size down. Very comfortable but chic. Does not come with a belt but doesn't need it. Got tons of compliments. I wish I owned it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 220lbs
December 5, 2012
Great fit, classy dress, but women with big hips beware.
This dress did get lots of compliments, but I didn't feel comfortable. The flowing shirt in theory is great to hide big hips, but the stripes only accentuate hips more. The size ran true to size and the little belt that came with it was very cute. Soft material with a little bit of stretch, easy to zip by self (underarm). can wear a regular bra which is a plus, but the stripes really made my butt look a lot bigger than it is.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 5, 2012
As soon as I took off my coat, a friend said, "I love your dress! Where did you get it?!?!"
This dress fir perfectly; it was very comfortable and made me feel fabulous! Plus, if you like to dance, the skirt has a great twirl...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 9, 2012
Great classic go to
Great classic style. The lighter part of the skirt is a little see through, makes the dress more casual but so perfect for a rehearsal dinner/wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 9, 2012
Everyone loved the dress, I felt so comfortable and classy at the same time. Thanks RTR!
It fit true to size, and I loved that I could wear my normal bra with it. Very comfortable. My backup size was the 6, and that fit, but was a little tight around the belt when I sat so I went with the 8 and it was perfect. I'm still loosing baby weight so I loved that this dress hides your tummy. I would love to rent this dress again, it was a hit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
December 10, 2012
Compliments: jackie O
The fabric wrinkles so def STEAM THIS DRESS! fit greats bows a little wonkey but you could add any quite bow and it would be great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2012
It was lovely but not as dressy as I was expecting.
Ended up returning this dress, but it would have been great for a more casual event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 15, 2012
Loved this Kate Spade dress!
This dress is very becoming and would be to any body type. I got tons of compliments on how great I looked. The top is slightly stretchy so it forms well. The skirt part of the dress does wrinkle easy but not enough for anyone to notice. I'm so happy with my first Rent the Runway experience; I will be back!!!
KristaDecember 21, 2012
Love it with tights!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 17, 2012
Fun & Flirty
Really cute overall, fun and flirty to dance in. The dress itself fit wonderfully, but I'm a bit short so the dress ran long on me. The short skirt became more of a tea length with my height. But still, it was very cute and I received many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2012
The black and white adds a little something special.
Wore this for my work holiday party and was overall satisfied with the dress. The white is more of an off-white rather than a winter white as pictured, and the bottom part of the dress flares out a bit and could make some girls look like they have bigger hips than the really do. Additionally, I’m tall and the dress was longer than I thought it would be. I should mention that the picture is shown with a black belt but it's not included with the dress even though there are belt loops.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2012
Great fit, but unlined
This is a beautiful dress and fit spectacularly, but I was disappointed that the fabric was cotton (I thought it would be silk) and that it was unlined and very wrinkly. I did not end up wearing this to the wedding because it arrived late.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 18, 2012
Very fun and cute! Though I didn't get a belt with it.
I really loved this dress, but there was no belt shipped with it. So I had to find my own. It's cute and flattering and made me feel like a lady!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
December 19, 2012
fabulous
loved this dress
lindaJanuary 8, 2013
Awsome!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
December 25, 2012
LOVED this dress... I will rent it again for sure
The dress was big. I could have easily worn a 4 maybe even a 2
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 26, 2012
Absolutely loved this dress!
It was a bit longer than it looks on the model which makes it appropriate for many occasions. I fit into both the 4 and 6 but I went with the 6 since the hook and eye on the 4 was broken as well as the clips that hide bra straps. I guess with delicate parts, they tend to break easily with wear and tear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 2, 2013
Fun & Classy
I usually wear a size 4 but in this dress it ran a tad big, so a size 2 was perfect! It's a flattering shaped dress, comfortable and simple. I paired it with a big statement necklace (not pictured) which gave it an added glamor look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2013
Dose not photograph well but great in person
This dress is perfect for a Hamptons or NYC charity event , dinner or lunch-in. Unfortunately unless you 90lbs it does not photograph well, but it was fabulous in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2013
Dress was a room-wow'er!
Loved wearing this!! Very forgiving and flattering. I sized up just in case, but did not need to go with the 8. The 6 fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 7, 2013
Wore this to my rehearsal/rehearsal dinner for my wedding. It was perfect - comfy and oh so cute!
Loved wearing this dress to my rehearsal dinner. It was the perfect shape for me and was great for one of those "have to look cute but still want to eat a lot" moments. Looks great alone or with a cardigan.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
January 11, 2013
not for me
i sent this dress back, it was very unflattering on me. the top was too tight and i felt like the waist sat way too high. if you have a longer torso i bet this would be pretty. the fabric was ok, a little more casual than expected.
See more reviews:
3 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×