Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy
$398 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
456 reviews
Fit
Large51
True to Size389
Small14
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 24, 2014
Perfect for a wedding guest
This dress is beautiful and great for a wedding. I was worried about wearing it for a winter wedding but it was perfect. I put on black tights with a black jacket. I was disappointed that the dress no longer had the belt attached so I had to buy a separate one. Also the dress had been dry cleaned a few too many times because the black was fading so it was obvious that my black jacket was black and the dress was fading. Other than that it was a great dress...perfect for salsa dancing too!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 24, 2014
It was a great dress. Fun and just like the photo.
The fit was perfect. I am 5'2'' and about 110lbs. I got tons of compliments on the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 17, 2014
Bridal Shower
The dress was beautiful. It arrived on time. I wore a size 2 because I was in a rush and I just put on the first dress I grabbed. My dress was winkled (and as I mentioned I was in a rush) so I didn't have time to iron it. There was a small ink stain on the bottom- not very noticeable. I thought this dress was a bit overpriced for the fabric and design.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 11, 2014
Great Dress!
I wore this dress for a Mary Kay conference. It fit perfectly and was very comfortable. I love the hidden slit pocket detailing. It looked great with my Mary Kay red jacket.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
February 10, 2014
Great fit, super cute, appropriate for all types of events!
The dress was a huge hit! It was my first RTR experience and it went better than I could've hoped for! The dress was super comfy, a perfect length (hard to find for a tall girl like me at 5'-9"!) and a fun way to mix it up from my usual black dress wardrobe.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 6, 2014
The dress was stunning, and it photographed well! Very comfortable!
I wore this dress for prom, and i was surprised to find that the dress ran a bit large. I wish I had ordered a size down for my backup size, but the size 2 looked wonderful on me, despite feeling a bit roomy. The dress also felt a tad long, but that is more because I am so short. The fabric was much more comfortable and soft to the touch than i imagined, which was a pleasant surprise! I got plenty of compliments on the dress, and I loved my experience with RTR! I would highly recommend this dress, though I would suggest ordering down for your backup size.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
January 31, 2014
Nice dress for an outdoor wedding
I wore this to an outdoor wedding in September and it worked out well, especially paired with a black jacket once it got a little colder out at night. Perfect to wear any type of bra and hit right above my knee - great for a conservative wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
January 29, 2014
The dress was super cute and I wore it with red heels.
Cons: Size 2 (which I wore) seemed very worn. The bra strap concealer was broken so I wore stickies. The black is pretty faded. Don't rent if you want a popping black. It's a faded cotton black. Pros: Loved the fit, the flare. Was comfy and length was good even though I'm taller.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
January 28, 2014
This was my first RTR experience and I will do it again.
I wore this dress to a black tie optional affair. The fit was good, but I am between sizes right now, so I probably could have worn a 10. I was worried the dress was too casual, but once I paired it with a black shrug sweater, it was fine. This is an easy dress to dress up or dress down. It was very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 24, 2014
Very classy dress!!
This dress has a very classy look to it. I felt like the chest was stretched out a bit or maybe the top of the dress is made for someone more busty than myself. The skirt is very flattering to someone with wider hips but I did feel like it was a bit too big and wide. I would have preferred a slightly smaller flare on the skirt.I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner and it was comfortable, classy, elegant and beautiful. I really enjoyed the simple lines on the dress. I gave this dress 4 stars only because I felt like the top of the dress would have been better if it had been smaller. It wasn't large enough that anyone else noticed though. All in all, it was a beautiful and elegant dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
January 23, 2014
Perfect for a bridal shower!
Wore this for my bridal shower and it looked beautiful. Great fit and was extremely comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 8, 2014
Perfect for my Bridal Shower
I wore this dress for my bridal shower. I wanted something that wasn't the typical white bridal shower type dress, and I got so many complements on this dress. It was comfortable and fit me very well in the bust and waist. Overall a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
January 8, 2014
So classy and fit like a glove!
I wore this for my law school graduation and I got so many compliments! It's very comfortable and long enough for a more sophisticated event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
January 2, 2014
Great Dress!!
Wore this dress to a wedding. It was a fantastic dress. I got tons of compliments on the dress and I would definitely recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 23, 2013
Cute, but this dress should be retired.
The dress I rented seemed quite faded, and should probably be put out of rotation. It is a heavy material, so I wouldn't want to wear at an outdoor function. You can't go wrong with Kate Spade, and the style of the dress was great, but this particular garment had seen better days.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
December 17, 2013
Great experience! Amazing Customer Service! Will Rent Again!
I loved this dress!! I rented it for part of my engagement shoot! The only downsize is for me that any dress that can fit my bottom is too loose on the top. The length was perfect. I added an undershirt because I don't wear sleeveless clothing. The fabric was very thick and soft. I loved this dress so much I tried to get my fiance to find and purchase one for me. But these are no longer sold in retail. Wish I could own this dress!
AmyJanuary 14, 2014
YAY!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 12, 2013
LOVE this dress!
So classic and elegant I received tons of compliments on the dress at my friend's wedding. I will definitely be renting this dress again! Wish I could buy it :(
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 8, 2013
I wore this dress for my Brother's wedding.
I ordered a 6 and 8. I wore the 6 and the dress fir perfect and photographs beautifully. My only complaint is that the fabric is cotton and wrinkles easily. I had to have it pressed out when I received it. Overall very happy with my rental. I received a ton of compliments.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 8, 2013
Perfect dress for a winter wedding!
This dress was absolutely beautiful and I chose it because of all the great reviews. This was my first time using RTR and I overall had a great experience. The dress fit true to size and was long enough for my height. I wore it to a co-worker's wedding so I wanted a more conservative look and this dress was perfect. It was very comfortable and I got compliments all night. The return process was painless and easy. I'll definitely be renting the runway again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 6, 2013
Summer Sophistication!
This dress was perfect for my summer semi-formal affair. It's sleeveless, but the fabric is heavy and abundant, which I liked. If you are a "elegance through "abundanc-y" type of lady, this is for you ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108lbs
December 4, 2013
Great dress.
Fit very well. This dress was very comfortable. Looked faded, but after my husband iron it. It looked fabulous. This was my first rental and I loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 4, 2013
Classic Pretty!
Wore this to a friends Bridal Shower and it was the perfect dress. Received lots of compliments. It fit well, but was a little large around the armholes (though I'm sort of tiny on top). I did pair it with a black belt, and a belt really looks good with this dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
December 1, 2013
Classic, appropriate, comfortable dress!
I wore this dress for an engagement party. It was perfect. I could move in it easily and it covered up my boobs, so I did not have to check them all night. I got a lot of compliments on the dress. Would definitely recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 1, 2013
First RTR dress and I loved it! I would rent this dress again or buy it if I could!
The fabric is smooth, soft, and very comfortable. The length was just right - it hit just below my knee. I normally wear a size 2, but I also rented a size 4 just in case. The 2 fit perfectly. Size 4 would of worked too, it was just a bit more roomier in the chest area. As others have mentioned, the white area of the dress isn't as white as pictured. It's more light beige, which I didn't mind at all. Overall my first RTR experience was great and am looking forward to future rentals!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 22, 2013
Great dress for wedding!
Great dress, just was a bit large... ordered the 4 & 6, but could have worn a 2... I would size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 19, 2013
Simple but stood out
The fit was easy and the skirt laid nicely but was fun for dancing. I liked that it wasn't as white as the picture appeared online. Fit true to size.
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
November 18, 2013
This dress was adorable, I got tons of compliments!
It wasn't the material I expected it to be. It wrinkles easily and the bottom of the dress didn't poof out as much as I expected so I bought a petticoat to go underneath it. Other than that it fit perfectly and was super cute!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
November 15, 2013
Gorgeous dress and very elegant.
Loved this dress! Since I am an 8, I ordered this in size 8 and 10 as my back up dress. The size 8 did not get returned in time so the RTR could not send that to me. (BTW, they were very helpful trying to find another dress for me). RTR sent the size 10 and it fit just perfect, especially for my body type since I am a 34D and have wide shoulders. The only issue I had with this dress is that it made my butt look big when I either bent over or moved to much. Trust me, I have some other issues but big butt is not one of them. I wore this dress anyway and made sure to walk and stand as straight as possible. Since the event was not a dancing one, it worked out just fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2013
Elegant without being stuffy
Wore this dress to a friend's wedding. I was very pleased with the overall "look" but the dress itself was showing wear and tear. I wear a large cup size but there was enough room in the stretched-out top that I could have fit into a 2. (Although one wasn't available as a backup size.) Also, both of the loop/snap things at the shoulder to hold bra straps were broken. (I improvised with the fashion tape sample instead.) It was clean but needed ironing after shipping.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 11, 2013
Very classy and fashionable dress
I wore this dress on Preference Night during Sorority Recruitment. I ordered a size 2, but i probably could have worn a 0. It was not baggy but a tad long. If you are going for a very classy and conservative look, this is the dress for you. It hit me right above the knee. I paired it with 5 inch black pumps so I think the two balanced out very nicely. Also, i recommend using a pop of colors with your accessories. Overall, very satisfied with Rent the Runway. Cant wait to order again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 10, 2013
The dress was a perfect choice for a wedding.
Just a tad bit tight in the bust area. I loved the dress it self. Needed to send it off to get pressed and I thought it was a somewhat worn looking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
November 8, 2013
Post-Wedding Brunch
The material is really great. It's very comfortable to wear. I felt classic! Just like Breakfast at Tiffanys!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 6, 2013
I loved having a unique dress for the night!
I wore the dress to a cocktail party. The fit was great and the dress was so comfortable. Loved the little snaps to keep bra straps in place. Wish I could buy this dress because it's so versatile!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
November 5, 2013
I was the perfect dress for my rehearsal dinner!!!!
I LOVED this dress!! I was a little nervous about the size because it was my first rental. I was a little tight in the top only because of my large boobs but the rest felt great! I was also surprised because i thought that it was going to be white and black and Its actually grey and black. It still looked great with my white neckless!!I got so many complements on the and how it looked on me! I wish I could own it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
November 4, 2013
When my husband wanted to take me out to more than just the Christening for looking so pretty.
I ordered this dress in a 2 and a 4. At the last minute i was told the 2 wasn't available which wound up working out just fine and RTR gave me 2 other options of dresses similar to what i had picked out just in case the 4 had not fit! What a brilliant idea! The 4 fit beautifully, it had a little "worn" feel to it but after ironing it and giving it some TLC, it really looked beautiful on. The staff was especially helpful to me upon getting that email that the size 2 dress wasn't in stock. Very friendly. The packaging the dresses came in was very organized as well. I appreciated that it wasn't just thrown together. Returning the dress was simple and i can say that i will absolutely be ordering a dress from RTR again. You now have a customer for lifes' special occasions!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
November 4, 2013
Cute dress, but definitely not for all seasons!
I ordered this as my backup dress, and ended up wearing my first choice. This dress is charming, but is a softer cotton than I expected - so arrived a bit wrinkly (understandable) and has NO LINING. I don't mind so much, except I was considering it for a November event in New England, and was worried about tights/hose causing static cling issues, as well as general thickness of the material. Also, because of the material, it didn't feel as appropriate for a black-tie optional event as I'd hoped (which is what I ordered it for). I realized I had another event a few days later that this might work for, but couldn't extend my rental. If I'd been allowed to extend to 8 days, I probably would've worn it because it's cute, fits great, and especially once I'd pressed it, would fall nicely and look sharp. But I was planning on putting a slip underneath, as well as tights - and once I found out I'd have to go through the process of re-renting it, I decided it wasn't worth the extra effort. Will keep an eye out for a spring/summer event though!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 3, 2013
Such an awesome dress!!
First dress I've rented from RTR. All pros for this dress. So lightweight and comfortable. It's a dress that can be used for many occasions. So fun and flirty! I will be renting from RTR again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 30, 2013
Great, classic look!
I wore this for my family's annual Christmas Eve dinner. It is very figure flattering and also very forgiving after a several course meal! You can't go wrong with this Kate dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
October 30, 2013
Classic
I worn this dress to a company party. It was a perfect classic fit. I also rented the necklace and it really dressed up the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 30, 2013
Classy
This dress fit perfectly! I had to wear it for a dinner event and it was classy black, but the stripes made it fun. I loved how the skirt flared out, so eating the dinner didn't make me feel self conscious. Would definitely rent again since I didn't get any pictures in it.
See more reviews:
2 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×