kate spade new york

Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy
$398 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
459 reviews
Fit
Large
(51)
True to Size
(392)
Small
(14)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 1, 2014
Elegant and classic, but unique-- I received so many compliments!
I wore this dress to my brother-in-law's wedding last year. The lightweight cotton-blend fabric and scoop back was perfect for an outdoor summer event, and I got compliment after compliment from other guests. (I actually loved this dress so much that I snapped up the navy version on sale at katespade.com; I've worn it to another wedding, as well as to the office.) In terms of fit: this dress, while cut close through the bust, has pretty generous waist proportions-- my usual 10 was large on me, and I'm no hourglass. My only complaint with the actual RtR dress I received was that the black fabric seemed a bit worn and faded. Other than that, everything was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
September 4, 2014
A super fun dress for a super fun - family - wedding. Evening affair in elegant tent
It ran a little bit to get the right fit up top - but I can't complain about having to wear a 0. Very comfortable to wear.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
October 19, 2013
Perfect for a wedding!
The 4 was little large and my backup size was a 6, so it would have been perfect at a size 2 if you're not too big up top and by that I mean chest size. The fabric is super comfy yet it looks like a million bucks. I got so many compliments. This dress stood out among all the girls wearing super short/skin tight dresses so you know that's a statement! I loved it, thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 20, 2012
Classy + Casual
This dress runs very large up top, and has plenty of fabric on the bottom. When choosing a size go with bust measurement. I am a full 34B and had plenty of space in the chest and waist section. If I were to choose this dress again I would rent a 2 and 4 (and contrary to my profile, right now I am a size 6, about 132 pounds). The material feels like a linen + cotton blend and isn't lined. I would recommend this as a daytime dress for sure.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 7, 2012
Too long!
the dress is much longer than it appears on the model
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 8, 2013
Very cute; longer than expected; runs big.
This dress was adorable but I ended up not wearing it as it was too big. Also, it is much longer on someone my height than it is on the model so just be aware!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 14, 2013
Fun and classy!
Loved this dress. As some of the other reviews say, it was a little wrinkled when it came to me. The material is cotton. This could definitely work as a sundress. I wore it with a cropped blazer and a necklace like the one in the model's picture, and I felt like it looked dressy enough for a rehearsal dinner at a country club. It definitely runs a little big, specifically, it has extra room in the chest area which is the only fitted part of the dress. If you are small on top definitely size down! It also is pretty long, so if you are shorter, be aware that it might hit your knees. I would definitely rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 25, 2013
Beautiful dress
I did not end up wearing this dress due to sizing but it was a beautiful dress. I usually wear a 2 in Kate Spade and this dress ran a little big. I would have needed the 0.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
June 11, 2013
Such a classic dress! Perfect for any occasion!!
Fits on the larger side so try going down a size. But worth every penny!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
June 18, 2013
Didnt really like the fit but the back of it was super cute!
I loved the back of this dress but the fit was a little off! I wore it for my sons baptism and I was less than thrilled with this dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
July 3, 2013
LOVE this dress. Too big :(
This dress is totally classy. Unfortunately the 0 was huge on me. Wish I could have wore it. RTR gave me a credit to rent my next dress :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 16, 2013
Runs a bit big, but was a really cute dress.
This dress was a bit worn, so it was stretched out on top, but overall it fit nicely. I wore it to a wedding and it was pretty classy. The length was really nice considering how short i am and the fit was really flattering. I would definitely go with another Kate Spade in the future.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 27, 2013
The renter before me damaged the larger size and RTR messengered me an extra dress of my choice!
The 2 ended up fitting so I didn't use the spare dress, but the gesture was very nice. Great customer service. As for the dress: very comfortable yet elegant!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 22, 2013
Great dress for wedding!
Great dress, just was a bit large... ordered the 4 & 6, but could have worn a 2... I would size down.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 16, 2012
Cute!
Love this dress, might need to get it. Typically wear a 4 but looked better in the 6 so I went with that ( I do have broad shoulders). However, I loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 30, 2012
My building's concierge messed up and didn't accept my dress the day before my event, but RTR came to my rescue and got the dress to me with plenty of time the day of my event!
I absolutely loved wearing this dress! This dress is fun and has a classic look to it.. everyone complimented it! Its very comfortable to wear as well. I usually wear a 4 but I wore my backup size 6 since the 4 felt a little tight around the natural waist. Even one size up the dress wasn't too long on me (even though I am 5'4"). I felt great in this dress! If you are considering it for an event, I say go for it!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
July 9, 2012
I have another wedding in a few weeks and may rent this same dress.
I ordered a 6 and an 8 and while I think the dress runs small, I may have to admit that I am running a bit big. I went with the 8 and it was perfect. I am 5' 6' and the dress hit perfectly, just above my knee. I have broad shoulders but the scoop in the back provides lots of mobility. The skirt is also fun and twirly whirly when dancing. Heads up, it needed a press when it arrived and was an ironing challenge given the pleats. Downside: It's not lined. I would have expected a lining in a Kate Spade. I got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 1, 2012
Everyone wanted to know where I got this dress and how RTR worked! It was amazing.
I wore this dress for my Bridal Shower which had an English Tea theme. I ordered this dress in the 8 and the 10, knowing that designers of this caliber usually run small. The 8 fit fine but was a little tight around the waist area. The 10 was perfect. I loved all the little details in this dress. For example, the skirt is lined with lace on the bottom of the inside. Everyone kept asking me where I got it. I think RTR may be paying me some money for the amount of advertising they got from me wearing this dress! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 5, 2012
Love the dress but not on me
I am hippy and the pleats on the skirt would not lay flat and made me look very wide. I didn't end up wearing it but it was a beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
January 11, 2013
not for me
i sent this dress back, it was very unflattering on me. the top was too tight and i felt like the waist sat way too high. if you have a longer torso i bet this would be pretty. the fabric was ok, a little more casual than expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
March 18, 2013
My sister-in-law loved it so much she bought it after!
Rented for a wedding shower. Adorable, feminine, and preppy, exactly what I think about when I think Kate Spade!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2013
I got tons of compliments! Everyone wanted to know where I to the dress!
Dress fit perfectly! Super comfortable! I danced all night and never had to worry about the dress! I have broad shoulders so i needed a little extra room there but ither than that it was great! I have already rented again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
June 14, 2013
Fun dress for wedding!
I liked this dress and got lots of compliments on it. It does run a little small on top, so I had to go with the bigger size. Even that was a little tight. Love the Kate Spade dresses!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 28, 2013
Wanted to like this dress but wasn't right for me.
I'm petite (5'0 and 100lbs). I rented the size 00 because I always have a hard time finding dresses that aren't too big on me. In this case, the 00 did not fit well. The top part was large in the shoulders, too tight in the waist, and the flared skirt overwhelmed my frame. Unfortunately, the dress also arrived smelling very strongly of mothballs and with a small stain on the skirt. I've always been pleased with the condition of other Rent the Runway dresses so this was a bit of a disappointment.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 23, 2013
Cute, but this dress should be retired.
The dress I rented seemed quite faded, and should probably be put out of rotation. It is a heavy material, so I wouldn't want to wear at an outdoor function. You can't go wrong with Kate Spade, and the style of the dress was great, but this particular garment had seen better days.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
February 3, 2013
Got compliments, but have an iron handy
I ordered the 10 and the 12; the 12 was gigantic- a previous renter must have stretched it a bit. The 10 was a bit snug in the bust. The armholes were also cut a bit small; after a night of dancing I had rope burn-like marks by my armpits. The material is also a bit more "cottoney" and had less sheen than I thought it would. This also meant it arrived a bit wrinkled and needed touching up before the wedding. But, even with all those issues, it was a head turner for it's stunning simplicity.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 11, 2013
Dress was well worn
I rented this dress for a wedding and thought it was a very pretty style and it would've been awesome had it looked newer. Unfortunately due to the type of fabric the black on top looked like it had been washed/dry cleaned numerous times so it made the dress seem more casual, and I didn't feel as fancy as I was hoping. Also the fit seemed a bit small (I usually wear a 4 but had to go with the 6 on this one). However, the length was perfect on my 5'9" frame and I did receive a few compliments on it. I don't think I would rent it again though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 29, 2013
What a sleek dress!
This dress looks amazing on. Great, sleek and refined look. Wore it with a pair of nude pumps. Basic jewelry.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
May 9, 2012
Perfect Dress!
I rented this dress for an early Mother's day brunch in NYC. Was a total hit and looked great with a matching Kate Spade necklace. Fabric was very stretchy and the dress was comfortable and chic. LOVE RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
May 14, 2012
I wore this dress to my Mother's Day brunch. My mother loved the dress and was jealous I didn't rent it for her instead.
The dress was true to size but it was longer then I expected (slightly below my knees). I didn't mind it being slightly longer because it was probably more appropriate for my event. Overall, it was a beautiful dress and is one of my favorites. I would definitely rent this dress again.
RachelMay 20, 2012
I love how you paired it with that jacket and purse!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
May 19, 2012
Amazing
This dress is georgous. I would reccomend it to anybody looking for a classy yet playful dress. I loved it and I hope you will too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 21, 2012
As usual, I had strangers come up and ask where I got my dress! The answer is always RTR!
This is a beautiful dress and was a perfect choice for my brother-in-law's graduation brunch! The stripes are adorable, but the cut of the dress makes it sophisticated. The patent leather belt goes great with it. My only complaint is that I think it would fit someone with a shorter torso better as my natural waist was about two inches below where the belt hit. Overall, a wonderful summer dress for those special occasions where you want to look like a lady! Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
June 14, 2012
Comfortable and stylish.
This dress was comfortable while looking smart and stylish. The bottom is a poplin, the top is stretchy. Not very dressy like some Kte Spade dresses but gorgeous all the same.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 17, 2012
It's a very 1950s cut - I loved the fit on top and it definitely accentuated my waist. But the way the first cream-colored band drapes off the hips, I definitely would not recommend this dress for other full-hipped ladies. On the other hand, if you hips are less than full, wear with abandon!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
June 27, 2012
Adorable, classy dress
I LOVED this dress. I rented it for a friend's wedding and it was perfect. Tons of compliments, nice material, I felt very comfortable in it. Paired it with some pretty pearls.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
June 29, 2012
Great for a casual wedding
I wore this dress for an afternoon wedding, and it was perfect. The belt accentuates a small waist...always a plus. Also, I'm a few months postpartum and it was very forgiving in the hips/butt area. Great dress. Would totally rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
July 5, 2012
Loved everything about the dress from the fit, to the pockets and the adorable belt!
Absolutely loved this dress and will be renting again!! Many sorority sisters asked who was the designer - I am a huge fan of Kate Spades clothing line and people were impressed I rented it from RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
July 13, 2012
So Cute!!
Love it! The dress is fresh and totally flirty and cute. The fabric on the dress tends to be a bit more casual, like a linen on the bottom. Worked well for an outdoor wedding. Loved it, want to buy it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133lbs
July 24, 2012
Adorable
I would say I am usually an 8 petite, so I ordered the size 8 and 6. The 8 was too big on top. The shoulders did not fit me well, but the 6 fit perfectly. I loved the dress and received a lot of compliments on it. My first experience with RTR was a big success. I will be looking for another dress for a wedding in August. Thank you!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
July 24, 2012
Great Fit, Style and Fabric
I rented this dress for a convention I was going too. I had three dresses shipped to the hotel. They all arrived and it was so nice not to have to pack extra clothes. The dress was perfect for the closing evening dinner. I got tons of compliments and will certainly work with RTR in the future!
See more reviews:
2 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×