kate spade new york

Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy
$398 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
459 reviews
Fit
Large
(51)
True to Size
(392)
Small
(14)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 16, 2012
AWESOME! I had someone tell me I looked like Kate Middleton.
Fit perfect. I loved everything about the dress. I wish I owned it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34F
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
September 18, 2012
Delightful
I wore this dress for graduation from law school and it was perfect for the occassion. Classy and feminine.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
September 19, 2012
You can't go wrong with classy black and white and Kate Spade!
The style is a no brainer when it comes to fitting any body type. The cute black and white stripes are great for any occasion, and can take you from day to night.
Gillian October 23, 2012
I am 5'7, 125 pounds, 32A, but I usually wear a size 4. I see you usually wear a size 0. Is that because nicer/designer brands run smaller? You look great in this dress! : )
JacquelineOctober 27, 2012
Hey Hope! If you're normally a 4, I would suggest ordering a 4 and a 2 just to be safe. With the style of this dress you really only need to focus on waist and bust. I actually bought a Burberry London dress (on sale!) and it was a size 6! I think it just varies on designer and the cut.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
September 24, 2012
Loved it!,
The fit is true to size and is flattering for pear shapes. The fabric is a lighter weight cotton than I expected but was still substantial enough to give some fullness to the pleats. I paired it with a skinny black patent belt, black tights, and black suede booties. The tights and booties made it feel a bit more edgy than the classic lines of the dress. I received many compliments! I would love to have the dress as part of my permanent wardrobe -- I could get a lot of wear from it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 24, 2012
Yes! Majorly flattering
This dress is even cuter in person. I wore it with red wedges, and everyone loved it. The little patent leather belt dresses it up, and the length and material are perfect. The top is fitted and flattering, and the full skirt is great for hips/thighs. I loved this dress and was sad to mail it back.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
September 26, 2012
Comfort and sophistication!!!
I absolutely adore this dress. I rented it for a summer wedding and it was perfect. Super lightweight material and the dress was loose in the bottom so dancing was a breeze. I wasnt sure how tight the top part would be but it really does fit true to size. I'm flat on top but I've got some hips and the size 2 still fit since after the waist the dress just flares out and swings. I'm 5'6" and the dress came close to my knees- not as short as in the picture. It does wrinkle fairly easily (it's cotton after all), but I would totally recommend this to anyone looking for a simple, comfortable but stylish dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126lbs
September 26, 2012
I felt beautiful in this dress. It was wonderfully classic!
I absolutely loved this dress! It was perfect for a summer wedding at the Cleveland Botanical Garden. Highly recommended!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
September 27, 2012
Best Dress Ever!
I got this dress in both the 6 and 8 as other reviews said it ran a bit small. It fit completely true to size on me. I'm 5'9 (typically wear a 6) and the skirt hit just above the knee. The waist on this dress is lovely - it makes your waist appear tiny - especially with the belt. Honestly, I did not want to send this dress back! It was comfortable and incredibly flattering. My favorite part about the dress is how versatile it can be. I dressed it up with some jewelery, shiny clutch, and purple shawl...however, you could totally wear this to brunch too. It's a do over!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
September 29, 2012
I absolutely loved this dress thought it was so adorable and classy!
I unfortunately could not wear the dress because my event got canceled but I did try it on and loved it and so wished I could of worn it. The 0 ended up fitting and it was very comfortable. I would definitly reccomend this dress
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2012
Perfect for my event!
I had a Junior League event themed Parisian nights... this dress was perfect! Some other girl was even wearing it (which usually is no fun... but it turned out ok!) I'm on the shorter side and would say this dress would have been a perfect fit on me if it was a few inches shorter... but other than that the fit was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
October 1, 2012
Comfortable and Fun!
This dress was so much fun to wear. If you like to spin around and dance, it's perfection. The top is stretchy and the bottom is a heavier cotton fabric. I would recommend having an iron or steamer on hand as the bottom can get wrinkled in the bag.
GailOctober 8, 2012
Those shoes are perfect with that dress! Where did you get them?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 2, 2012
Great Dress--very Audrey Hepburn
I wore this dress for a pre-wedding event and it was very comfortable and perfect for a summer evening in Montana. I would note that it is a bit long for my 5'2" frame and the dress did arrive wrinkled. Because there is some stretch to the cotton fabric it was actually difficult to press so it did not look crisp. Had we not had the event to attend within an hour of our arrival, I would have had it pressed professionally. True to size. I am a curvy 4 and the 4 fit great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 2, 2012
Great dress, very happy with the fit. I had gotten many compliments on it.
The dess comes with a thin black belt which was a plus!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2012
Got lots of compliments on the dress
Very cute on, and super comfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
October 9, 2012
Classic and classy
I received this dress, brand new with the tags on, and immediately knew it would be prefect for my event - a movie premiere. It was dressy enough without being over the top, since I was not walking the red carpet. Would be perfect dressed up with jewelry for a cocktail attire wedding, but could also easily go to brunch with the girls, too. I love it, and actually wish I owned it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 9, 2012
it was perfect for the occasion!!
I wore it to a 50s party and it was perfect! The fit was great except for the top area. It was a bit loose because my chest isn't very large. It didn't really bother me as the night went on though. It was true to size everywhere else.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
October 10, 2012
Perfect birthday dress
I wore this dress for my birthday brunch and I loved it. It was sweet and girly. My only complaint was that it was a little large in the top for me but noticeable only to me. I threw a black cardigan on over it with black pumps and it was the perfect fall outfit that I could have easily worn out that night too. Length was great and the rest of the fit was perfect also. Would definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 12, 2012
10 stars!!!
I wore this dress to a private event and I was so sad when it was over and I didn't have a reason to wear the dress anymore. I told my sister that I wish I had worn it to something more public because this dress makes you want to be seen, by everyone! For the first time in my life it was fun to feel like people were talking aboout me haha. I loved it so so much that it was painful having to send it back. It was incredibly comfortable and easy to wear. I was one of 10 bridesmaids and I definitely stood out in the line-up. Heads turned in my direction for sure. This is my favorite rental to date. Definitely on the potential buy list.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
October 12, 2012
Such a cute, preppy dress!
I usually wear a 4, but only a 2 was available and it fit well. However, I still say that it runs true to size because while the top fit well, I have a narrow upper body, and I think on girls with broader shoulders or bigger chests, sizing down would not be good. The skirt is SO CUTE and the belt is adorable as well. I wore this for a bridal shower and got tons of compliments. Looks perfectly preppy with pearls :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
October 14, 2012
Chic, simple and comfortable
I wore this dress to a bridal shower outdoors and it was the perfect dress for the occasion: comfortable, classic style and true to size. I received compliments on the style and fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
October 15, 2012
Wore for an October wedding. Absolutely loved this dress and will be renting it again, for sure!
I ordered a 2 and 4. I tried the 4 on first and the bust fit perfectly, but the waist and length just felt a little too big. The 2 fit great around the waist and length wise, but the bust was a little tight. I made it work though, with a very think bra. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
October 15, 2012
Wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner
This dress was comfortable and the belt with the little bow on the front was very cute. There was a little iron burn on the front when I received it. I called only to make sure that I would not be charged for it and RTR refunded me 50% which I did not expect them to do. I would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 15, 2012
RTR makes dressing up for events so easy and fun. And better quality equals better fit!!
Fitted on top and flared at the waist - flattering for a pear shape. Really cute and comfortable. Many compliments throughout the night. But be prepared to iron this dress when it arrives!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 16, 2012
I was comfortable (no spanx!) and still felt like I was appropriately for this event. LOVED IT!
This event is a big deal in the Chicago theatre community-and people get DRESSED UP. While I was in a nominated show, I wasn't personally nominated so I wanted to be appropriately dressed, but not OVERLY dressed. This frock was perfect for the night-I was comfortable but felt cute and got so many compliments on my choice. Also-the little patent belt really completed the look!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 17, 2012
It was a perfect experience! It arrived right on time, so organized, clean, neat, and easy.
I got both 0 and 2. The 0 was a perfect fit. It was beautiful, clean, and pressed. I love the organization - both sizes came in a neat garment bag complete with accessories clearly marked in different bags. I couldn't have been happier. I got compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 19, 2012
One of a kind!
This dress was a hit! I felt beautiful, and received many compliments :) I wish I got the 4, but the 6 still fit well. I wore this dress to a wedding at a winery & it was perfect for the outdoor decor, worked very well for dancing, and didn't lose its shape all night. I had a blast & didn't want to take it off. The fabric is really comfy too! Can't wait to use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 19, 2012
Classic. This Kate Spade dress was perfect for a Bridesmaid luncheon.I loved everything about this
dress from the way it felt to the quality of the material. Great classic black and white dress that can be dressed up or down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
October 20, 2012
Classy dress and great first experience with RTR!
The dress was amazing and arrived on time. I typically wear an 8 but the 6 fit perfectly. I had so many people compliment the dress and felt great all night.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 21, 2012
beautiful dress, so fun!
this dress is very pretty, the belt is great and would love to own this one! very easy process - both dresses arrived, so simple to return with the pre-paid return envelope.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 23, 2012
ladylike chic
fit true to size, arm holes are a tiny bit snug. skirt is a little longer than usual, which makes it very feminine and pretty. color is a little more beige, is not bright white; black is a true black. love this dress- would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 24, 2012
I rented this dress for a rehersal dinner and it was perfect!
Conservative enough for a family event, but when paired with bright shoes and a bright belt (I didn't use the black one provided) it was sassy enough to get tons of compliments. A dress I'd love to own for multiple occations -- Highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
October 26, 2012
Loved the fit & all the compliments!
I wore this for my wedding shower and got lots of compliments! Great fit in the bust and waist. The only negative is the belt kept moving out of place.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 27, 2012
Beautiful and Classic Kate Spade Dress!
This dress certainly had the classic look I was going for. I wore it in late September to a mid-day event. Belt is included in a separate bag.Overall, very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 28, 2012
I received many compliments, my favorite so far
Wore dress to a baptism, it was very comfortable. Material had a lot of stretch to it, I wore the 14, it was very roomy on top- I should've worn the 12, but didn't want to take a chance of it being too tight. Skirt is very flowy, will hide any trouble areas. Loved the style, simple and chic. This is my second dress I rent from RTR, this month. Looking forward to renting again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 28, 2012
Lovely dress
I really loved this dress & wore it for a pre-wedding dinner. I'm a bit of a pear shape and it was very flattering. RTR forgot to send the belt but overnighted it in time for my event (THANK YOU!). The waist fit a little high on me but not quite under my bust. I am a 32C and filled this out just right. I'm not sure it would work well on larger busts. I wore this with bright pink earrings to give it some color. It feels very well made and lovely!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 30, 2012
It was fun turning heads on the Santa Monica Pier. I felt like a celebrity for a day!
I originally wanted to wear this dress to another semi-formal event I had that weekend, but ended up wearing my backup dress (the Kate Spade Mademoiselle dress) to the event. However, I loved this dress so much that I ended up just wearing it sightseeing around Los Angeles. I liked the simple elegance of the dress: classy and conservative. The length was perfect. The white is actually more off-white in person, so take note of that if you're looking for a pure black-and-white dress. The patent belt was a nice touch, and was easily adjustable (which was convenient, especially after eating Sunday brunch). I'd definitely recommend this dress to a friend!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 1, 2012
The little belt absolutely made this dress!
I am a 32D and I went braless with this. It was so comfy though! The weather was unexpectedly in the 30's, but I threw on a blazer and it worked perfectly. I received tons of compliments.
vanessaNovember 6, 2012
wow love the blazer !
KristaNovember 9, 2012
Love it with the blazer on top!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
November 3, 2012
Love this dress! I received tons of compliments. Classic & Chic!
Fit ran true to size, I'm 5'7 and I felt like the length was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 5, 2012
Love the dress but not on me
I am hippy and the pleats on the skirt would not lay flat and made me look very wide. I didn't end up wearing it but it was a beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 7, 2012
This dress made me feel classy and sleek.
I loved this dress. Simple and classy, like Audrey Hepburn! While it wasn't the right fit for the event I originally ordered it for, I ended up wearing it to work. The dress went down past my knees (I am only 5' tall), but it was still very classy with a set of pearls and a "messy" updo. This dress was perfect and comfortable for my curvy and busty frame.
See more reviews:
2 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×