kate spade new york

Grape Soda Pop Dress

$75 rental
$448 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Do a little twist and twirl in this Kate Spade New York a-line dress! A great style for all shapes and sizes. Pair with earrings like the Oscar de la Renta's Beaded Tassel Earrings and the Anton Heunis Cerulean Orchid Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - very full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Purple silk mikado (74% silk, 26% cotton). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Open back with bow detail. Seamed flared skirt. Hidden side zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
111 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(88)
Small
(17)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 4, 2013
Perfect holiday or party dress - nice and bright!
While I did wear a size up, I still feel it runs rather large. I ended up being able to bring it in a lot by pairing a studded belt with it. Very fun party dress with a cute cutout back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
June 3, 2013
Beautiful color!
I really liked this dress in the pictures I had seen online. Unfortunately when I received the dress, it was very wrinkly and it seemed very worn. (Multiple dry cleans possibly). I had to iron it before my event (summer wedding). This seemed to help. No one really noticed the imperfections but me. I did receive numerous compliments on the dress, especially regarding how pretty the color was. I probably could have worn a 6 but I was nervous after reading the reviews that it would be tight in the chest. This wasn't the case for me, I wore a nicely padded bra and was still very comfortable. I will definitely rent again, I just hope the next outfit I choose looks fresher and newer.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 17, 2013
LOVED IT!
Really really fun dress. Definitely needs a belt - but lots of options to wear something fun with it. AND I loved a bright yellow necklace with this dress. Loved the skirt - super fun and twirly. Exactly what I wanted - wore with patterned black nylons - fantastic!! (I do think the 2 would have been a better fit...it was a little big)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 15, 2014
Beautiful Dress
This is a beautiful dress made out of beautiful fabric. This fits especially well on pear shaped girls because of the shape. My husband saw a woman at the wedding pointing it out at to her friend and complimenting it. My first experience with RTR was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
February 26, 2014
Classy - beautiful color
It fit a little big up top - wore a silver belt to bring the waist in. I got a lot of compliments on it - loved wearing it
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
November 20, 2012
Runs very large
I'm on the shorter side, so was expecting the skirt to longer and wider. However the nipped waist shown on the model was not to be found here. I would have loved this gown had it been more flattering on the top as it's very playful. Too large on top and needs a belt. Ultimately I wore my back up option.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
November 4, 2012
Great cut, great color, great dress!
This dress was a huge hit. I got lots of compliments all night, particularly on the color.This is a great dress if you are looking for something beyond the little black dress you always wear. Just a note, I usually wear a 10, which fit perfectly everywhere but the chest. If you are big busted, order the size up. It fit fine. It also had to be pressed when it arrived, so factor that into your time of delivery. Oh and it has pockets. Love it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 26, 2012
Ease of ordering, efficient delivery, great packaging and easy return.
I love this dress, it fits me because I'm tall, and they style is very classic yet sexy. However I have size 36D breasts and the top was super tight, almost uncomfortable. It mashed my boobs up. But the small waist is very flattering and the color is simply AMAZING. Looks great in photos, I got a lot of compliments on it!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 1, 2013
Perfect pop of color for a New Years Eve party!
After falling in love with the dress on the website I was so excited to try it on when it arrived on my doorstep. All the reviews were correct, the dress is VERY tight in the bust. I ordered my true size and it definitely showed off my waist. I would recommend getting an updo to show off the open back. I wore studded gold glitter heels and simple earrings. I received many compliments on my dress as a whole. If you are a typical 'basic black' girl, definitely rent this dress for your next special occasion for a fun splash of color!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2013
I loved this dress! So flirty and fun for a wedding.
I ordered both the 6 and the 8. I'm usually a true 6 but I'm glad I heeded the advice of the other reviewers and selected the 8 as my back-up due to complaints of it being tight in the chest. I'm newly pregnant and my chest is MUCH larger than usual so the 8 fit the bill :) I would definitely recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
January 14, 2013
Felt great all night!
I wore this dress to the Rent the Runway Anniversary party, and loved it. Such a beautiful color. For the fit...It definitely runs small in the chest, so if you have a large chest - size up. I ended up wearing the 10 instead of the 8, just because of the chest.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 11, 2013
Great color and the full skirt makes it fun.
I really wanted to love this dress, but it really is a bit bridesmaid-y - especially given the bow on the back of the neck piece. Also, I am typically a 6, and on a good day a 4, but even the 8 was snug here (at the bust). The color though was bright and fun - it would be a great dress for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
April 8, 2013
Such a fun party dress!
I got both a 10 and 12 as someone warned me it ran small in the bust. I could fit into the 10 (my normal size) fine but because of the way it's cut under the arms my bra straps showed. So I ended up going up a size to allow more fabric to cover. Thankfully the cut of the waist and skirt is structured enough that it didn't look big on me. Got compliments all night! Back detail is great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
May 9, 2013
Beautiful dress, not for busty girls
I normally wear a 6 but got the 8 as well since I read it was fitted in the bust. While both dresses zipped fine they smashed my chest into the always unflattering uniboob. I fortunately brought a back up dress that I could wear but was disappointed I didn't get to wear this one. Such a lovely color with great details.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 7, 2013
The cut was conservative yet sexy, and the color was stunning!
As mentioned previously, the torso this dress is small. I'm not overly chesty, however I had a hard time getting the 4 (my regular size) over my rib cage. For the sake of breathing, I decided to wear the 6, and still did not need to wear a bra. The cut of the dress will accommodate a regular cut bra, but was unnecessary as the fabric is thick enough to not wear one. It was a little big in the waist area, but much more comfortable than spending a night in the 4. The color was stunning in person. The pockets are in a strange place in the front, however it's kind of nice as they don't add bulk to the hips of the dress. They are still usable for a small wallet or cell phone. The only surprise that I found was that the dress isn't as satiny as it appears in the photos. Its more a raw silk look than a sheen. All in all, it was perfect for the occasion, received a ton of compliments and was super easy to wear for the entire night with my mystery bling - the Kate Spade Peri to my Winkle necklace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 11, 2013
This dress was beautiful and perfect for a New Orleans summer wedding!
Normally I wear a size 6 in Kate Spade, but I had to size up because it was too small high up on my rib cage. It was a perfect party dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 30, 2014
Great dancing dress!
It's a bright fun purple that fits well except I thought the rib cage and chest area was pretty tight. The fabric has no give at all, so I'd suggest you pick your best fit based on your natural waist measurement. The keyhole back is super cute and still allows you to wear a bra. As far as length, it was just atop my knees, and the dress can flare out quite well when you twirl.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
December 11, 2012
Near-perfect party dress
I rented this for my office holiday party, and thought it was super festive and fun. The color is a gorgeous jewel tone and the fabric has a lovely sheen. It has a tailored and luxe feel. The top does run small (I ordered a 2 and 4 but my back-up never arrived, so fortunately the 2 fit). I was able to wear this with a normal strapless bra, but definitely check to make sure yours won't ride up. The overall sizing was accurate, but the top is definitely on the snug side, with less give due to the fabric. The back is incredibly eye-catching, and I found that with a sparkly belt, the ensemble really popped. A statement necklace or earrings would also do the trick. Lastly, given the fabric and time in transit, reserve time to press or steam the dress before wearing. Incidentally, because my back-up size did not come and the dress itself arrived a day late, I asked for 25% off of the rental fee (I only had three days of the rental period, not four). RTR kindly obliged and satisfied my customer service issue. A good reminder to give yourself padding on when the dress arrives and when you will actually wear it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 13, 2013
Gorgeous Dress! Fit like a glove!
I usually wear a two, but judging from other reviews I ordered a four as well. It was an absolutely gorgeous dress! I loved the color and the sheen it gave off! It matched perfectly with the Kate Spade necklace I ordered as well! I received compliments throughout the night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
March 18, 2013
Love the color!!!
Very tight in the bust as other reviews have stated. I ordered the 4 and didn't get a backup size; if I had gone with the 6 I would have enjoyed eating and drinking a bit more. Pockets in the front are fun and perfect for holding your cell phone.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2012
Beautiful dress but tight in the bust.
I loved the fit of this dress, but it was a little snug in the chest. I still would have worn it, but I had a faulty zipper so went with my back-up dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
September 17, 2013
Great dress! Loved the color! Was very happy with the choice! Wore it to a fancy evening wedding.
My regular size is an 8 and I had to do the 10 in this dress which was disappointing. That is my only complaint. Loved length. Loved it fit well so I didn't have to wear a bra. Wore it with Kate Spade black chunky necklace. Perfect accessory. Would rent dress again. Loved RTR process!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
January 21, 2013
I was getting compliments all night and it was super comfortable!
It was really comfortable, but on the larger size. I usually wear a zero but they only had the dress in a 2 so i just hemmed it myself. It was a tad bit long.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 24, 2012
Such a fun party dress!
The dress was wonderful! I am typically a 4 or 6 and I went with the 4 on this one. It was a little tight around the bust, but the 6 was too big overall.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 25, 2012
Classic, Vibrent, Flirty
I received so many compliments on this dress. I have never worn thsi color before, but everyone loved it. The cut is so classic and elegant, I paired it with a touch of teaI and it really popped with teh purple. I am usually a 6 or an 8, but with a bit of a padded bra the 8 fit cormfortably.
CarrieNovember 7, 2012
So you were able to wear a bra with it even with the open back?
RTR CustomerNovember 8, 2012
Hi Carrie! We suggest wearing the Nu Bra or Braza Strapless Adhesive Bra with this dress. You can also wear a strapless bra if it goes low enough in the back.
RachelNovember 8, 2012
Hi Carrie, yes I wore a straples bra and you could not see the bra. The open back is pretty high.
LovingRTRMarch 11, 2013
I love the teal!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 29, 2012
When the caterer said "cute dress!".
Fit was great. The cut of the back really skims down a broad back. The only issue I had was that this dress is that the picture does not include a belt, but if you bought it from a department store, it includes the black belt. The black belt was ESSENTIAL for me to not look like a blob of grape. The belt loop holes were also cut from the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 30, 2012
What a beautiful color! I loved this dress
Pros - great for hourglass figures. Con - Bring wrinkle releaser!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 16, 2012
Amazing Color!
Perfect fit & flare - highlights your assets and hides the rest. I paired it with a chunky necklace, but it would be cute with a simple belt too. Make sure you show off the back!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
November 19, 2012
Sun a fun but classy dress
This dress, which I wore to a black tie late fall wedding, was so fun and flattering. Im generally between a 2 and 4 and the same was true for this dress. I could have worn the 4 but the 2 just looked that much better on, albeit a tad snug across the chest. It's a very rich purple and it can be paired with many different kinds of jewelry options. I chose turquoise chandelier earrings and I loved the contrast, it looked fab together. I highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 3, 2012
Perfect for a holiday party.
I wore this for a company holiday party - it is very festive, fun and the open back gives it a kick.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 3, 2012
Cute and fun dress!
I rented this for a group picture where we had to wear purple. This dress fit the bill! As the other reviews, it was a bit snug in the bust area. I probably would have gotten a 14 if it were available. I didn't even try on the back up size 10... I was able to wear a regular bra without problems. I liked it!
RTR CustomerDecember 7, 2012
Girl, you rocked this dress! You make it look better than anyone else thus far & that includes the model! Loved the belt too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
December 6, 2012
Perfect for a formal wedding!
I wore this dress to my stepbrother's wedding and got so many compliments. The fit and color was perfect and completely appropriate for an evening wedding. I would love to have kept this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 16, 2012
Compliments all night!
I did a reading at a friend's wedding and wanted something church-appropriate but fun. The 8 fit everywhere but my chest, so I went to the size 10. I added a thin black belt to it. It was comfortable to dance in, plus I didn't need to worry about wishing I had on Spanx after eating dinner. The best part- it had pockets! I loved it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
December 21, 2012
Wore this for a company holiday party. I LOVED the color, especially when most people were in black
Now I want to buy this dress!
DonnaFebruary 27, 2013
What waist would a size 4 and a size 6 fit?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 16, 2013
This dress was stunning and I got so many compliments on it at the rehearsal dinner I went to!
I probably could have gone a size smaller, but ordered up to be safe. The fit was comfortable and roomy without looking too big. I definitely felt amazing and LOVED this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 31, 2013
Loved it so much, I bought it from Neiman's!
If you have a true hourglass shape, this is the perfect dress!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 9, 2013
I didn't wear this one, it was my back up dress.
This is a beautiful dress. It fit very snug on my waist and it would have been a little uncomfortable for me to wear all night standing up straight with my stomach pulled in. I could have worn it though, it makes you look like you have a very tiny waist. My waist is about 31 inches so if you have 29 or 30 inch waist this would fit you comfortably in the size 10. The color is gorgeous and would look good on any skin type/coloring
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
February 13, 2013
Lots of Compliments!
This dress is a great color and fit nicely on me. I love the open back. I wore Spanx to try and streamline the look, but I probably would have been fine without them or sizing up one. I received tons of compliments and would definitely wear this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
February 20, 2013
The color POPS
its fun and flirty and you just want to dance the night away with this everybody commented on how the color was sooo lovely and fun
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 4, 2013
Fantastic fit, loved the back detail-although my hair is to long to see it. Beautiful color!!
I wore it for an audience view for the Katie Couric show as they asked for color and my entire wardrobe is black. Got seated second row center and mostly everyone I knew commented that I had never looked better. This Grape Soda color looked wonderful on me and the line od the dress gave me a waist. It was the perfect fit for me!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×