Grape Soda Pop Dress

$75 rental
$448 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Do a little twist and twirl in this Kate Spade New York a-line dress! A great style for all shapes and sizes. Pair with earrings like the Oscar de la Renta's Beaded Tassel Earrings and the Anton Heunis Cerulean Orchid Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - very full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - very full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple silk mikado (74% silk, 26% cotton). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Open back with bow detail. Seamed flared skirt. Hidden side zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
111 reviews
Fit
Large6
True to Size88
Small17
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 4, 2013
Fantastic fit, loved the back detail-although my hair is to long to see it. Beautiful color!!
I wore it for an audience view for the Katie Couric show as they asked for color and my entire wardrobe is black. Got seated second row center and mostly everyone I knew commented that I had never looked better. This Grape Soda color looked wonderful on me and the line od the dress gave me a waist. It was the perfect fit for me!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
February 20, 2013
The color POPS
its fun and flirty and you just want to dance the night away with this everybody commented on how the color was sooo lovely and fun
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
February 13, 2013
Lots of Compliments!
This dress is a great color and fit nicely on me. I love the open back. I wore Spanx to try and streamline the look, but I probably would have been fine without them or sizing up one. I received tons of compliments and would definitely wear this dress again!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 9, 2013
I didn't wear this one, it was my back up dress.
This is a beautiful dress. It fit very snug on my waist and it would have been a little uncomfortable for me to wear all night standing up straight with my stomach pulled in. I could have worn it though, it makes you look like you have a very tiny waist. My waist is about 31 inches so if you have 29 or 30 inch waist this would fit you comfortably in the size 10. The color is gorgeous and would look good on any skin type/coloring
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 31, 2013
Loved it so much, I bought it from Neiman's!
If you have a true hourglass shape, this is the perfect dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 26, 2013
Great dress for working a formal affair!
I wore this dress for a ball, and it was a great choice! The material is beautiful and elegant, and the color is definitely as bright and bold as it is in the photos. And the dress has pockets - amazing. The dress was almost 100% comfortable - only downside is it's a bit tight around the chest. Get ready to suck in when you're zipping it up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
January 21, 2013
I was getting compliments all night and it was super comfortable!
It was really comfortable, but on the larger size. I usually wear a zero but they only had the dress in a 2 so i just hemmed it myself. It was a tad bit long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 16, 2013
This dress was stunning and I got so many compliments on it at the rehearsal dinner I went to!
I probably could have gone a size smaller, but ordered up to be safe. The fit was comfortable and roomy without looking too big. I definitely felt amazing and LOVED this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
January 14, 2013
Felt great all night!
I wore this dress to the Rent the Runway Anniversary party, and loved it. Such a beautiful color. For the fit...It definitely runs small in the chest, so if you have a large chest - size up. I ended up wearing the 10 instead of the 8, just because of the chest.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
January 11, 2013
It's a simple dress in a fun, vibrant color and it's very comfortable!
The dress fit perfectly and I loved the pockets! I received a lot of compliments because it's so simple yet it's apparently flattering! :) The only thing I would say is that I wanted to add a belt - it has belt loops but nothing to go through them. If I'd had more time I would have found a thin black belt or something to go with it. I felt very comfortable in the dress and would highly recommend it! I'd say it runs pretty true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 4, 2013
Perfect holiday or party dress - nice and bright!
While I did wear a size up, I still feel it runs rather large. I ended up being able to bring it in a lot by pairing a studded belt with it. Very fun party dress with a cute cutout back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2013
I loved this dress! So flirty and fun for a wedding.
I ordered both the 6 and the 8. I'm usually a true 6 but I'm glad I heeded the advice of the other reviewers and selected the 8 as my back-up due to complaints of it being tight in the chest. I'm newly pregnant and my chest is MUCH larger than usual so the 8 fit the bill :) I would definitely recommend this dress!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 1, 2013
Perfect pop of color for a New Years Eve party!
After falling in love with the dress on the website I was so excited to try it on when it arrived on my doorstep. All the reviews were correct, the dress is VERY tight in the bust. I ordered my true size and it definitely showed off my waist. I would recommend getting an updo to show off the open back. I wore studded gold glitter heels and simple earrings. I received many compliments on my dress as a whole. If you are a typical 'basic black' girl, definitely rent this dress for your next special occasion for a fun splash of color!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 26, 2012
Ease of ordering, efficient delivery, great packaging and easy return.
I love this dress, it fits me because I'm tall, and they style is very classic yet sexy. However I have size 36D breasts and the top was super tight, almost uncomfortable. It mashed my boobs up. But the small waist is very flattering and the color is simply AMAZING. Looks great in photos, I got a lot of compliments on it!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
December 21, 2012
Wore this for a company holiday party. I LOVED the color, especially when most people were in black
Now I want to buy this dress!
DonnaFebruary 27, 2013
What waist would a size 4 and a size 6 fit?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2012
Beautiful dress but tight in the bust.
I loved the fit of this dress, but it was a little snug in the chest. I still would have worn it, but I had a faulty zipper so went with my back-up dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 16, 2012
An amazing holiday color thats not green or red.
The color is as pretty as the pictures. There is no belt with it so I added a bow belt from black house white market that looks very similar to the Kate Spade belts. The back has a bow at the top. So cute. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 16, 2012
Compliments all night!
I did a reading at a friend's wedding and wanted something church-appropriate but fun. The 8 fit everywhere but my chest, so I went to the size 10. I added a thin black belt to it. It was comfortable to dance in, plus I didn't need to worry about wishing I had on Spanx after eating dinner. The best part- it had pockets! I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
December 12, 2012
Love it!
I wore this dress to my company's holiday party this year. It was perfect! I've put on a little weight in my waist, so I was unsure what size to get. I ordered a size 8 and 10, and wore the 8. The cut of the dress really hides a belly. Plus the color and cut were really fun to wear. I got tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
December 11, 2012
Near-perfect party dress
I rented this for my office holiday party, and thought it was super festive and fun. The color is a gorgeous jewel tone and the fabric has a lovely sheen. It has a tailored and luxe feel. The top does run small (I ordered a 2 and 4 but my back-up never arrived, so fortunately the 2 fit). I was able to wear this with a normal strapless bra, but definitely check to make sure yours won't ride up. The overall sizing was accurate, but the top is definitely on the snug side, with less give due to the fabric. The back is incredibly eye-catching, and I found that with a sparkly belt, the ensemble really popped. A statement necklace or earrings would also do the trick. Lastly, given the fabric and time in transit, reserve time to press or steam the dress before wearing. Incidentally, because my back-up size did not come and the dress itself arrived a day late, I asked for 25% off of the rental fee (I only had three days of the rental period, not four). RTR kindly obliged and satisfied my customer service issue. A good reminder to give yourself padding on when the dress arrives and when you will actually wear it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
December 6, 2012
Perfect for a formal wedding!
I wore this dress to my stepbrother's wedding and got so many compliments. The fit and color was perfect and completely appropriate for an evening wedding. I would love to have kept this one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 3, 2012
Cute and fun dress!
I rented this for a group picture where we had to wear purple. This dress fit the bill! As the other reviews, it was a bit snug in the bust area. I probably would have gotten a 14 if it were available. I didn't even try on the back up size 10... I was able to wear a regular bra without problems. I liked it!
RTR CustomerDecember 7, 2012
Girl, you rocked this dress! You make it look better than anyone else thus far & that includes the model! Loved the belt too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 3, 2012
Perfect for a holiday party.
I wore this for a company holiday party - it is very festive, fun and the open back gives it a kick.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 28
November 20, 2012
Runs very large
I'm on the shorter side, so was expecting the skirt to longer and wider. However the nipped waist shown on the model was not to be found here. I would have loved this gown had it been more flattering on the top as it's very playful. Too large on top and needs a belt. Ultimately I wore my back up option.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
November 19, 2012
Sun a fun but classy dress
This dress, which I wore to a black tie late fall wedding, was so fun and flattering. Im generally between a 2 and 4 and the same was true for this dress. I could have worn the 4 but the 2 just looked that much better on, albeit a tad snug across the chest. It's a very rich purple and it can be paired with many different kinds of jewelry options. I chose turquoise chandelier earrings and I loved the contrast, it looked fab together. I highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 16, 2012
Amazing Color!
Perfect fit & flare - highlights your assets and hides the rest. I paired it with a chunky necklace, but it would be cute with a simple belt too. Make sure you show off the back!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
November 4, 2012
Great cut, great color, great dress!
This dress was a huge hit. I got lots of compliments all night, particularly on the color.This is a great dress if you are looking for something beyond the little black dress you always wear. Just a note, I usually wear a 10, which fit perfectly everywhere but the chest. If you are big busted, order the size up. It fit fine. It also had to be pressed when it arrived, so factor that into your time of delivery. Oh and it has pockets. Love it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 30, 2012
What a beautiful color! I loved this dress
Pros - great for hourglass figures. Con - Bring wrinkle releaser!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 29, 2012
When the caterer said "cute dress!".
Fit was great. The cut of the back really skims down a broad back. The only issue I had was that this dress is that the picture does not include a belt, but if you bought it from a department store, it includes the black belt. The black belt was ESSENTIAL for me to not look like a blob of grape. The belt loop holes were also cut from the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 25, 2012
Classic, Vibrent, Flirty
I received so many compliments on this dress. I have never worn thsi color before, but everyone loved it. The cut is so classic and elegant, I paired it with a touch of teaI and it really popped with teh purple. I am usually a 6 or an 8, but with a bit of a padded bra the 8 fit cormfortably.
CarrieNovember 7, 2012
So you were able to wear a bra with it even with the open back?
RTR CustomerNovember 8, 2012
Hi Carrie! We suggest wearing the Nu Bra or Braza Strapless Adhesive Bra with this dress. You can also wear a strapless bra if it goes low enough in the back.
RachelNovember 8, 2012
Hi Carrie, yes I wore a straples bra and you could not see the bra. The open back is pretty high.
LovingRTRMarch 11, 2013
I love the teal!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 24, 2012
Such a fun party dress!
The dress was wonderful! I am typically a 4 or 6 and I went with the 4 on this one. It was a little tight around the bust, but the 6 was too big overall.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×