kate spade new york

Grape Soda Pop Dress

$75 rental
$448 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Do a little twist and twirl in this Kate Spade New York a-line dress! A great style for all shapes and sizes. Pair with earrings like the Oscar de la Renta's Beaded Tassel Earrings and the Anton Heunis Cerulean Orchid Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - very full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Purple silk mikado (74% silk, 26% cotton). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Open back with bow detail. Seamed flared skirt. Hidden side zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
111 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(88)
Small
(17)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 17, 2014
Great for my Goddaughter's christening.
The color of this dress is lovely and it was perfect for a slightly formal, conservative event - my goddaughter's christening. The modest neckline and length were appropriate for the event, but the color and flared skirt kept it fun.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
June 23, 2014
Gorgeous color, beautiful fit.
Great for hourglass shaped women. Received many compliments on the color. Definitely helps you stand out in the crowd.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 30, 2014
Great fit - Fun back
This dress fit like a glove. I got lots of compliments on the color and the back cut out was very fun and flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 30, 2014
Great dancing dress!
It's a bright fun purple that fits well except I thought the rib cage and chest area was pretty tight. The fabric has no give at all, so I'd suggest you pick your best fit based on your natural waist measurement. The keyhole back is super cute and still allows you to wear a bra. As far as length, it was just atop my knees, and the dress can flare out quite well when you twirl.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
December 11, 2012
Near-perfect party dress
I rented this for my office holiday party, and thought it was super festive and fun. The color is a gorgeous jewel tone and the fabric has a lovely sheen. It has a tailored and luxe feel. The top does run small (I ordered a 2 and 4 but my back-up never arrived, so fortunately the 2 fit). I was able to wear this with a normal strapless bra, but definitely check to make sure yours won't ride up. The overall sizing was accurate, but the top is definitely on the snug side, with less give due to the fabric. The back is incredibly eye-catching, and I found that with a sparkly belt, the ensemble really popped. A statement necklace or earrings would also do the trick. Lastly, given the fabric and time in transit, reserve time to press or steam the dress before wearing. Incidentally, because my back-up size did not come and the dress itself arrived a day late, I asked for 25% off of the rental fee (I only had three days of the rental period, not four). RTR kindly obliged and satisfied my customer service issue. A good reminder to give yourself padding on when the dress arrives and when you will actually wear it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 16, 2012
An amazing holiday color thats not green or red.
The color is as pretty as the pictures. There is no belt with it so I added a bow belt from black house white market that looks very similar to the Kate Spade belts. The back has a bow at the top. So cute. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 26, 2013
Great dress for working a formal affair!
I wore this dress for a ball, and it was a great choice! The material is beautiful and elegant, and the color is definitely as bright and bold as it is in the photos. And the dress has pockets - amazing. The dress was almost 100% comfortable - only downside is it's a bit tight around the chest. Get ready to suck in when you're zipping it up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 13, 2013
Gorgeous Dress! Fit like a glove!
I usually wear a two, but judging from other reviews I ordered a four as well. It was an absolutely gorgeous dress! I loved the color and the sheen it gave off! It matched perfectly with the Kate Spade necklace I ordered as well! I received compliments throughout the night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
March 17, 2013
It was easy to wear, comfortable, and the purple was so fun!
The dress is so cute. I loved the purple, it was a great change from the typical LBD. I was comfortable, I could dance all night. It doesn't wrinkle when sitting, which is always a plus. I loved the length of the dress because I didn't have to worry about what was showing! It was fitted around the bust so I didn't have to bother with a bra either!
TheresaMarch 19, 2013
You totally rocked this!
VondaMay 1, 2013
You wore it the best!!! The bomb.com girl!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
March 18, 2013
Love the color!!!
Very tight in the bust as other reviews have stated. I ordered the 4 and didn't get a backup size; if I had gone with the 6 I would have enjoyed eating and drinking a bit more. Pockets in the front are fun and perfect for holding your cell phone.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
April 19, 2013
Compliments all night on this fun little dress.
Wore this to my work's annual gala and was the perfect combination of modest and fun. The 10 fit like a glove, but I had to wear a strapless bra. I am pear shaped and I found it flattering and very comfortable. LOVED the pockets in the front! I carried around my phone all night and you couldn't tell. The fabric is heavy, so I wouldn't rent this if you're planning on dancing all night and working up a sweat. This was my first rental and it was a great experience. Kept telling everyone about RTR all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 6, 2013
A beautiful purple pop!
I sadly booked this dress too close to the wedding day, and the size 8 was already booked out. I wanted to wear this dress so much that I decided to order the size 6 & the size 10 hoping that they would fit. In Goldilocks fashion, the size 6 was a bit too tight on top (as I am quite top heavy wearing a 34DD), and the size 10 was just too big (shown in picture. Excuse the messy room!). I know the size 8 would've fit perfectly and have every intention of booking that out with plenty of time for my next event. It's such a beautiful dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
July 2, 2013
Fun, easy to wear and flattering dress
I knew the 2 would fit and it did perfectly based on others' experiences. (thanks to everyone for the pics and comments!) I added some bling with a rhinestone studded belt for an evening wedding. It could easily be dressed down though too. I needed something reletively conservative for this wedding and this dress was perfect but still fun to wear. I highly recommend this dress as I felt like it looked good on many body types. The material is definitely forgiving. And if you're pear shaped and on the short side, like me, this dress is perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
August 26, 2013
Super comfortable, but kinda plain.
I wore this dress to an outdoor ceremony/indoor reception at a golf club. It was very comfortable and it has pockets in the front!! However, I guess I like things with a little more detail or bling so I wanted to add some jewelry or something, but we were running late so I wasn't able. Also, I didn't have a chance to steam it and when I pulled it out of the bag right before putting it on for the wedding it was a little wrinkly. It looks like it has strings where it once had a belt? Other than that it is conservative and beautiful dress and like I said very comfortable, no adjusting throughout the night. You can wear a regular bra and I danced all night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 139lbs
September 1, 2013
The dress was beautiful and got so many complements!
The ordered size was perfect, I didn't need the second size. I'm a size 4, 5'4, 120lb, and it fit like a glove, and came to the top of my knee. The cutout in the back didn't come down too low--no bra strap showed. I added a simple silver belt to complete the look.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 8, 2013
I wore this to my company's holiday party and received compliments all night!
It was a little tight around the bust, but otherwise, it fit great and was very comfortable. The length was also just right.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
February 26, 2014
Classy - beautiful color
It fit a little big up top - wore a silver belt to bring the waist in. I got a lot of compliments on it - loved wearing it
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 6, 2014
I wore this for Hundredth Night at West Point and absolutely loved it. It was hard to send back!
It was tight up top, but it's supposed to be that way. It was perfect for me. I have no complaints about this dress except that it's not in my closet permanently!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
September 28, 2015
Perfect dress for a cocktail party - very flattering!
The dress fits true to size - fitted from the waist up, and then A-line to about mid-thigh. There is a cutout circle in the back which makes for a fun detail. Got lots of compliments on the shape and color!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 29
November 20, 2012
Runs very large
I'm on the shorter side, so was expecting the skirt to longer and wider. However the nipped waist shown on the model was not to be found here. I would have loved this gown had it been more flattering on the top as it's very playful. Too large on top and needs a belt. Ultimately I wore my back up option.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
December 12, 2012
Love it!
I wore this dress to my company's holiday party this year. It was perfect! I've put on a little weight in my waist, so I was unsure what size to get. I ordered a size 8 and 10, and wore the 8. The cut of the dress really hides a belly. Plus the color and cut were really fun to wear. I got tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2012
Beautiful dress but tight in the bust.
I loved the fit of this dress, but it was a little snug in the chest. I still would have worn it, but I had a faulty zipper so went with my back-up dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
January 11, 2013
It's a simple dress in a fun, vibrant color and it's very comfortable!
The dress fit perfectly and I loved the pockets! I received a lot of compliments because it's so simple yet it's apparently flattering! :) The only thing I would say is that I wanted to add a belt - it has belt loops but nothing to go through them. If I'd had more time I would have found a thin black belt or something to go with it. I felt very comfortable in the dress and would highly recommend it! I'd say it runs pretty true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
April 10, 2013
Pretty and girlie!
As stated before, this runs tight in the chest and ribcage and I didn't need to wear a bra which was great since the back is cut out. Dress did look like it had been dry cleaned quite a bit but I received a TON of compliments.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
April 15, 2013
Got a ton of compliments on this fantastic dress!
When the reviewers say this is snug on top, believe them. I don't have a huge chest so I thought it would be fine, but I probably should have gone up a size just for the breathing room. It was plenty roomy in the hips, so this would probably be great for a pear shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
May 15, 2013
Beautiful color and shape!
Love the color! The material is very comfortable and easy to wear. I wish I had brought spanx with me to bring in my tummy because the seam at the waist dug in a bit when sitting. Great for giving a more balanced look to my very pear shaped body. The pockets are cute, but not really necessary.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 2, 2013
Wonderful dress, love the color.
This dress is true to the fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
September 17, 2013
Great dress! Loved the color! Was very happy with the choice! Wore it to a fancy evening wedding.
My regular size is an 8 and I had to do the 10 in this dress which was disappointing. That is my only complaint. Loved length. Loved it fit well so I didn't have to wear a bra. Wore it with Kate Spade black chunky necklace. Perfect accessory. Would rent dress again. Loved RTR process!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 16, 2013
Great Color
Fabric is begining to look tired from dry cleaning
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 8, 2014
Beautiful color & amazing style.
I definitely recommend going a size bigger for bustier women. Other than that, I loved this dress!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
January 21, 2013
I was getting compliments all night and it was super comfortable!
It was really comfortable, but on the larger size. I usually wear a zero but they only had the dress in a 2 so i just hemmed it myself. It was a tad bit long.
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×