kate spade new york

Grape Soda Pop Dress

$75 rental
$448 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Do a little twist and twirl in this Kate Spade New York a-line dress! A great style for all shapes and sizes. Pair with earrings like the Oscar de la Renta's Beaded Tassel Earrings and the Anton Heunis Cerulean Orchid Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - very full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - very full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple silk mikado (74% silk, 26% cotton). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Open back with bow detail. Seamed flared skirt. Hidden side zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

110 reviews

Fit
Small 17
True to Size 87
Large 6
Photos 84
Dee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jul 27, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was very flattering and the back detail is great. I had narrow shoulders, so I needed to use some fashion tape to get the back to lay flat.The color is gorgeous without being too flashy, and i got a lot of compliments.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Jul 10, 2013

Fantastic color

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore for my rehearsal dinner. Very flattering cut and the back is killer. You can still wear a normal bra with it. Very comfy dress and fantastic color.
Kelly
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 14, 2013

Didn't wear the dress because it was much too long for my height. Not what I was expecting in length

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress runs long. I am 5'5 and it hit 2 inches below the knee. The model makes it look much shorter.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 11, 2013

This dress was beautiful and perfect for a New Orleans summer wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Normally I wear a size 6 in Kate Spade, but I had to size up because it was too small high up on my rib cage. It was a perfect party dress!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Jun 3, 2013

Needs to be retired..

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is an amazing color and very flattering. However, you can tell it has been worn by too many people. Fit very well
Mary
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 2, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress - light fabric, perfect for dancing, and very appropriate for a wedding.
wairimu
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
May 30, 2013

The color was amazing against my skin.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfectly. I normally wear nag dresses and this was the first free dress I've worn in a long time. Loved it!
Reshma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 136 lbs
May 21, 2013

great color!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color of this dress is beautiful and I enjoyed wearing it. I also loved that it had pockets, which was a nice surprise. The open back is nice though the backside didn't fall completely flat on my back but it wasn't a major issue. While it mostly runs true to size, the waist specifically may run a little smaller.
Mikayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190 lbs
May 15, 2013

Beautiful color and shape!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love the color! The material is very comfortable and easy to wear. I wish I had brought spanx with me to bring in my tummy because the seam at the waist dug in a bit when sitting. Great for giving a more balanced look to my very pear shaped body. The pockets are cute, but not really necessary.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
May 9, 2013

Beautiful dress, not for busty girls

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a 6 but got the 8 as well since I read it was fitted in the bust. While both dresses zipped fine they smashed my chest into the always unflattering uniboob. I fortunately brought a back up dress that I could wear but was disappointed I didn't get to wear this one. Such a lovely color with great details.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
May 7, 2013

I touched the President!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to an afternoon White House holiday party. It was perfect for the occasion; festive, appropriate, flattering. I definitely have a pouch, and this dress hid it perfectly. It hugged my boobs nicely so that it looked like I had some nice ones! The color and fabric was great - almost like a tweed, but very polished and the purple is as bright in person as it is in the picture. It has a nice square back, which is a flirty touch, but doesn't restrict your bra placement. I did put my boyfriend on watch though just in case. I almost forgot, it has pockets so I got to be like a dude and not carry a clutch everywhere. Also, I have seen it on two TV shows since I rented it. Overall, a great choice if you want something fun but still appropriate.
Sydney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 20, 2013

My advice is to use a pop of color. I wore a teal Kendra Scott necklace, perfect!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
As others said, it runs a little tight in the bust but not terrible. If you are between sizes, I would size up. The length is perfect for a fun rehearsal dinner or cocktail event.
KT
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

Got a ton of compliments on this fantastic dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
When the reviewers say this is snug on top, believe them. I don't have a huge chest so I thought it would be fine, but I probably should have gone up a size just for the breathing room. It was plenty roomy in the hips, so this would probably be great for a pear shape.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114 lbs
Apr 10, 2013

Pretty and girlie!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
As stated before, this runs tight in the chest and ribcage and I didn't need to wear a bra which was great since the back is cut out. Dress did look like it had been dry cleaned quite a bit but I received a TON of compliments.
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Mar 13, 2013

This dress is the perfect party dress for a formal affair.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color is a pretty egglant and the cut is flattering, especially for pear shapes like me. You can really kick it up a notch with statement jewelry and fun heels, and it is super comfortable. Definitely a great pick!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 11, 2013

Comfortable and Elegant

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the size 4 with a backup size 2 because the last Kate Spade dress that I ordered ran extremely large. The size 4 fit perfectly with this one so I am a little confused about how Kate Spade sizing is done. I am quite glad that the size 4 was the one that fit because the size 2 was in pretty sad shape. Both snaps at the back of the neck were broken, the bow was crushed, the color seemed faded and the material lacked the sheen and crispness that the other dress had. It looked like it had been rented to death! In all fairness to the consumer, dresses should be inspected before being shipped out and retired from the lineup when they are worn out. Other than that, I LOVED wearing this dress. I felt like a million bucks and received more than a few compliments!
KLC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 11, 2013

Great color and the full skirt makes it fun.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really wanted to love this dress, but it really is a bit bridesmaid-y - especially given the bow on the back of the neck piece. Also, I am typically a 6, and on a good day a 4, but even the 8 was snug here (at the bust). The color though was bright and fun - it would be a great dress for a wedding.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 10, 2013

Perfect for my pre wedding party

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
i wore this for a cocktail attire event for a pre party for my wedding held at an Art gallery. It was just perfect! I wore it with a cute skinny black belt that had a bow feature around the thinnest part of my waist. I think that completed the look.
glenda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 20, 2013

The color POPS

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
its fun and flirty and you just want to dance the night away with this everybody commented on how the color was sooo lovely and fun
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Feb 13, 2013

Lots of Compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is a great color and fit nicely on me. I love the open back. I wore Spanx to try and streamline the look, but I probably would have been fine without them or sizing up one. I received tons of compliments and would definitely wear this dress again!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 9, 2013

I didn't wear this one, it was my back up dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a beautiful dress. It fit very snug on my waist and it would have been a little uncomfortable for me to wear all night standing up straight with my stomach pulled in. I could have worn it though, it makes you look like you have a very tiny waist. My waist is about 31 inches so if you have 29 or 30 inch waist this would fit you comfortably in the size 10. The color is gorgeous and would look good on any skin type/coloring
Virginia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 31, 2013

Loved it so much, I bought it from Neiman's!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
If you have a true hourglass shape, this is the perfect dress!
Camille
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 21, 2013

I was getting compliments all night and it was super comfortable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was really comfortable, but on the larger size. I usually wear a zero but they only had the dress in a 2 so i just hemmed it myself. It was a tad bit long.
CandyC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 11, 2013

It's a simple dress in a fun, vibrant color and it's very comfortable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit perfectly and I loved the pockets! I received a lot of compliments because it's so simple yet it's apparently flattering! :) The only thing I would say is that I wanted to add a belt - it has belt loops but nothing to go through them. If I'd had more time I would have found a thin black belt or something to go with it. I felt very comfortable in the dress and would highly recommend it! I'd say it runs pretty true to size.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

I loved this dress! So flirty and fun for a wedding.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered both the 6 and the 8. I'm usually a true 6 but I'm glad I heeded the advice of the other reviewers and selected the 8 as my back-up due to complaints of it being tight in the chest. I'm newly pregnant and my chest is MUCH larger than usual so the 8 fit the bill :) I would definitely recommend this dress!
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 17, 2012

Beautiful dress but tight in the bust.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved the fit of this dress, but it was a little snug in the chest. I still would have worn it, but I had a faulty zipper so went with my back-up dress.
Cait
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

Compliments all night!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I did a reading at a friend's wedding and wanted something church-appropriate but fun. The 8 fit everywhere but my chest, so I went to the size 10. I added a thin black belt to it. It was comfortable to dance in, plus I didn't need to worry about wishing I had on Spanx after eating dinner. The best part- it had pockets! I loved it!
Fawn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

Love it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my company's holiday party this year. It was perfect! I've put on a little weight in my waist, so I was unsure what size to get. I ordered a size 8 and 10, and wore the 8. The cut of the dress really hides a belly. Plus the color and cut were really fun to wear. I got tons of compliments.
Valerie
Age: 27
Nov 20, 2012

Runs very large

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I'm on the shorter side, so was expecting the skirt to longer and wider. However the nipped waist shown on the model was not to be found here. I would have loved this gown had it been more flattering on the top as it's very playful. Too large on top and needs a belt. Ultimately I wore my back up option.
Caitlin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Nov 19, 2012

Sun a fun but classy dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress, which I wore to a black tie late fall wedding, was so fun and flattering. Im generally between a 2 and 4 and the same was true for this dress. I could have worn the 4 but the 2 just looked that much better on, albeit a tad snug across the chest. It's a very rich purple and it can be paired with many different kinds of jewelry options. I chose turquoise chandelier earrings and I loved the contrast, it looked fab together. I highly recommend!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×