kate spade new york

Grape Soda Pop Dress

$75 rental
$448 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Do a little twist and twirl in this Kate Spade New York a-line dress! A great style for all shapes and sizes. Pair with earrings like the Oscar de la Renta's Beaded Tassel Earrings and the Anton Heunis Cerulean Orchid Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - very full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Purple silk mikado (74% silk, 26% cotton). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Open back with bow detail. Seamed flared skirt. Hidden side zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
111 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(88)
Small
(17)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 28, 2013
Very Fun Dress!
I rented this dress as a back up dress for a wedding in case the other didn't fit. The other fit perfectly so I ended up wearing this dress on a date night with my husband. The dress was tight in the bust area on me, but I managed to get it zipped all the way up. I picked edgier shoes and belt to dress it down and give it a unique look. Length was great for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 30, 2013
The color was amazing against my skin.
Fit perfectly. I normally wear nag dresses and this was the first free dress I've worn in a long time. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
June 3, 2013
Needs to be retired..
This dress is an amazing color and very flattering. However, you can tell it has been worn by too many people. Fit very well
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
June 3, 2013
Beautiful color!
I really liked this dress in the pictures I had seen online. Unfortunately when I received the dress, it was very wrinkly and it seemed very worn. (Multiple dry cleans possibly). I had to iron it before my event (summer wedding). This seemed to help. No one really noticed the imperfections but me. I did receive numerous compliments on the dress, especially regarding how pretty the color was. I probably could have worn a 6 but I was nervous after reading the reviews that it would be tight in the chest. This wasn't the case for me, I wore a nicely padded bra and was still very comfortable. I will definitely rent again, I just hope the next outfit I choose looks fresher and newer.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 7, 2013
The cut was conservative yet sexy, and the color was stunning!
As mentioned previously, the torso this dress is small. I'm not overly chesty, however I had a hard time getting the 4 (my regular size) over my rib cage. For the sake of breathing, I decided to wear the 6, and still did not need to wear a bra. The cut of the dress will accommodate a regular cut bra, but was unnecessary as the fabric is thick enough to not wear one. It was a little big in the waist area, but much more comfortable than spending a night in the 4. The color was stunning in person. The pockets are in a strange place in the front, however it's kind of nice as they don't add bulk to the hips of the dress. They are still usable for a small wallet or cell phone. The only surprise that I found was that the dress isn't as satiny as it appears in the photos. Its more a raw silk look than a sheen. All in all, it was perfect for the occasion, received a ton of compliments and was super easy to wear for the entire night with my mystery bling - the Kate Spade Peri to my Winkle necklace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
June 9, 2013
Want to own this dress
I want to own this dress so badly! It is very simple, but easy to dress up or down depending on the occasion. I added a big neutral colored belt that I already had, to dress it down a little bit. The simplicity of the dress allows you to add the accessories you want. I ordered a 2 and 4 after several reviews said the dress ran small, but the 2 fit me perfectly! I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone and rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 11, 2013
This dress was beautiful and perfect for a New Orleans summer wedding!
Normally I wear a size 6 in Kate Spade, but I had to size up because it was too small high up on my rib cage. It was a perfect party dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
June 14, 2013
I picked this dress for my graduation and it was perfect!
One of my favorite things about the dress is that it has two front pockets. This became really helpful because I didn't have to carry a purse for my phone and such. You can barely tell that there is something in the pocket anyway which was great. This dress also did a very good job hiding my mid section! The length of the dress is also great because it shows of some skin and your figure but in a classy way.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 14, 2013
Didn't wear the dress because it was much too long for my height. Not what I was expecting in length
Dress runs long. I am 5'5 and it hit 2 inches below the knee. The model makes it look much shorter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 157lbs
June 24, 2013
Perfect pop of color!
This is my second time renting a dress from RTR and WOW, just WOW. I am in love with RTR and this dress! Kate Spade seems to run a little on the large side so usually I'm a 12 but in this dress I wore a ten and it fit near perfectly! It was very snug to my waist but I have a teeny waist so it was fine and flowed out from my hips perfectly. This dress showed NO wear and tear which is super great. The fabric is almost like a linen so it does wrinkle easily but by the end of the night it didn't matter. I wore a regular bra with it but occasionally the straps did pop out from the cut out in the back. It was just so cute, a great color, and I got tons of compliments. I love how easy it is to rent from RTR! Now if only they would start renting shoes! :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
June 24, 2013
I felt so fancy!
I wore the dress to a family members commissioning ceremony to 2nd Lt in the air force. I am a 32DDD so finding a dress to fit my large bust and small frame is near impossible. The 6 fit my bust, but was rather large in the waist. I could have gone a size down for my waist but it wouldn't have zipped. In the end though I was very happy I had that extra room as the ceremony was 3hours long, outside in Sacramento California, and VERY HOT! I was also pleasantly surprised that it has POCKETS! I don't remember seeing that in any of the reviews. I chose sandals because heels were too dressy and my statement necklace I purchased from World Market. I enjoyed this dress very much and I hope you will too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 24, 2013
favorite rental so far!
This is by far my favorite rental to date! I should say it was somewhat snug in the chest, but not enough to warrant a size change. The fabric is a little less stiff than I'd expected, but it still felt great on. The back of the dress really makes the dress, and, probably the best part, I could wear a regular bra with it--a definite plus!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
June 24, 2013
Very fun dress, AMAZING color!
I love the color of this dress SO MUCH. It was beautiful in person and in photographs. The skirt hung a bit straighter in person than in the picture, but I still really liked the shape. The cutout and bow detail on the back was so fun. You definitely need a statement necklace with this one. I gave it four stars because it arrived with a small stain on the hem. Otherwise I was very happy with this dress. Kate Spade never disappoints :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 30, 2013
The service is incredible!
I absolutely loved this dress! It fit like a glove! I originally got the size 2 and the 4 was my backup size. The size 2 did not fit well for me, I couldn't zip it up the whole way. The size 4 fit perfect. I love that the back has a cutout which gives some sexy to the dress but still classy. The color was perfect, since the wedding colors were purple, white and silver. I was the brides lady in waiting and it fit well with the bridesmaids dresses it didn't clash at all. The length was perfect and hit right on the knee. To showcase the cutout in the back i complimented it with a side bun and silver accesories. their is also loops to put a skinny belt around your waist to make it a little bit more casual if you'd like. The only down side to the dress is that the fabric is susceptible to stains but that's what the insurance is for! Also, another downside is that I don't get to keep this dress. Timeless and classic with a vibrant color! I will be renting another dress on here soon for another wedding in August!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
July 10, 2013
Fantastic color
Wore for my rehearsal dinner. Very flattering cut and the back is killer. You can still wear a normal bra with it. Very comfy dress and fantastic color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 24, 2013
It has pockets!!!
The fit and flare is perfect, and the opening in the back worked great for a July wedding. The best part--it has pockets!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
July 27, 2013
Great dress!
The dress was very flattering and the back detail is great. I had narrow shoulders, so I needed to use some fashion tape to get the back to lay flat.The color is gorgeous without being too flashy, and i got a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 2, 2013
Beautiful color!
I loved this dress, especially the color. It was long enough and had pockets! I just wish I would have remembered to pack a belt for it.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
August 9, 2013
Dress was perfect! I loved everything about it and so did everyone else
Dress fit perfectly and was great for a July wedding! It was everything that was promised.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 12, 2013
Super cute dress!
As the other reviews noted, this dress had a small bust. I ordered the 2 and 4 and I wore the 4 only because I couldn't wear a bra with the 2. It's really a cute dress, even cuter than the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 14, 2013
Perfect color.
A bit tight in the bust, also not a spectacular fit for someone with a long torso, did not sit flush with my natural waist. Color is beautiful and back bow detail is perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 14, 2013
Perfect Pa-Pa-Pa-Purple Dress!
I needed a purple dress for a wedding, could not have been happier with my pick! This Kate Spade dress is not as shiny as the picture portrays it, perfect for an outdoor wedding... it even had pockets so I was able to tote my phone around all night! The cutout back was so cute, I got so many compliments. I wore it with a bright pink statement necklace, gold clutch (also rented) and nude shoes. The fit was perfect, I am normally a 6 or 8 but went with the 6 since it fit me better up top (loose a-line bottom so size didn't really matter below the chest). Comfortable and cute dress all around.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
August 16, 2013
Show stopping at a purple themed event!
I WANT TO OWN THIS DRESS!!! That pretty much sums it up... haha. Absolutely perfect for the purple themed black tie affair I went to. I definitely dressed it up so it fit for black tie but almost everyone told me they loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 17, 2013
LOVED IT!
Really really fun dress. Definitely needs a belt - but lots of options to wear something fun with it. AND I loved a bright yellow necklace with this dress. Loved the skirt - super fun and twirly. Exactly what I wanted - wore with patterned black nylons - fantastic!! (I do think the 2 would have been a better fit...it was a little big)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 10, 2013
Classy pick!
I wore this dress to a friends wedding whose ceremony I was participating in and it was perfect. The color is vibrant and the cut is classic and flattering. I wore a statement necklace and it really pulled the whole look together. You won't be disappointed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 23, 2013
Great dress!
I loved this dress and wish I owned it. I wore it to my husband's cousin's wedding. It is classy and the cut of the dress is very flattering. I especially liked the back of the dress. It fit very well, not too tight or too big. Got lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
September 24, 2013
Beautiful color, flattering fit, and compliments all night!
Another great RTR dress!! Although I am normally a size 2 and all the other reviews said the dress was true to size, I was worried about the dress not fitting because I was not able to get a backup size 4. When the dress arrived, I was very happy that it not only fit but it fit perfectly! The chest is a tad tight if you wear a bra but if you go bra-less like I did, you will have no problems. The dress hit right above the knee which was perfection for both a conservative ceremony and a very fun reception. I accessorized it with the kate spade new york Putting on the Ritz necklace which complimented the dress very nicely without taking away from the gorgeous, rich color! Also, the dress photographs really well so if you have an engagement shoot or anything where you know you are going to get your picture taken a lot, I recommend this dress!! Thank you RTR and kate spade new york for another fantastic rental! Ps...the pockets in the front and the beautiful open back were super fun and made the dress that much better!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
October 1, 2013
Comfortable and stylish, great for the rehearsal dinner!
This dress was pretty fantastic. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner, it was actually my back up dress for the wedding the next day but I didn't want to waste it! The purple is great and it was a very light, breezy fabric. There were pockets, though weirdly placed in the front of the dress. It looked good with a little sweater as well ( I wore it late September and it was breezy). I added a thin black belt and a dark necklace so it felt more complete. You definitely need a statement necklace or belt to finish it off! I would definitely rent this one again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 9, 2013
Perfect for a wedding
Wore this to a friend's wedding and got several compliments. While the dress at first seems fairly simple, the cut away back adds a bit of run. The dress was true to size. My only complaint was that the fabric was a bit thinner than expected -- would definitely rent it, but not sure it's worth purchasing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 14, 2013
Amazing, classy, comfortable dress!
This dress was awesome. I was worried because I couldn't get my backup size (4) but the 2 ended up fitting perfectly, if not a little bit loose in the waist (so it may have run a little bit large). I loved the little snaps to keep your bra straps in place, and the pockets were perfectly hidden in the front seams. The fabric isn't as heavy/shiny as it looks in the picture - it can easily be dressed up or down depending on the occasion. I got a ton of compliments and overall the dress was awesome for a fall wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 23, 2013
Great dress for twirling!
Very comfortable too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 29, 2013
Beautiful color
I ordered this as a backup dress and ended up wearing it to the evening portion of an all day wedding. The cut and color of the dress are beautiful, however the dress itself is not in great condition. The fabric looks worn, there are some catches in it, and it was very wrinkled when it arrived. It looked like the hem was folded up in some places when it had been pressed before sending it to me. The fit of the dress was perfect, though keep in mind there is no stretch in the fabric. I would give the dress 5 stars if it was in new condition.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 6, 2013
This dress fit true to size and the peekaboo in the back is very cute. A-Line was very flattering!
This dress fit perfectly, and true to size. The color was brilliant and was especially good for wedding party photos an outdoors. The fabric was a little worn though through the waist -- it wasn't that obvious though from afar.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 14, 2013
Great Swirl dress for a wedding.
It fit perfectly. For the ceremony I covered the open back with a cute jacket. Then it had a great swirl for the party. The chunky necklace was a hit, and matched my husband's suit. I am usually a size 4-6.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 22, 2013
The color was a Hit!
The dress was comfortable, and flowy. I especially loved that I could still wear a normal bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 2, 2013
Loved it!
Beautiful dress - light fabric, perfect for dancing, and very appropriate for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 17, 2013
The color is GORGEOUS.
Literally could not count how many complements I got, and the back is so pretty. The color is great for brunettes, especially with a fun bubble necklace or statement earrings.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 15, 2014
Beautiful Dress
This is a beautiful dress made out of beautiful fabric. This fits especially well on pear shaped girls because of the shape. My husband saw a woman at the wedding pointing it out at to her friend and complimenting it. My first experience with RTR was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Body type: Pear
April 2, 2014
Beautiful dress for graduation
Loved the dress! Fit perfectly and was very comfortable. Would definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 24, 2014
One of my favorites!
This dress was great. I would actually rent it again or even purchase it if I had the opportunity. This dress was fun to dance in and a bright and beautiful color. I stood out in a sea of black :) It even had pockets which I love, perfect to keep your phone and lip gloss with you at all times!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×