kate spade new york

Crosswalk Dress

$71 to buy
$478 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Turn heads at the dinner party wearing this flirty kate spade new york full skirt dress. A waist cinching style that will have you looking fab all night long. Go with accessories like the Crislu's Crystal Tear Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Yellow Faille (77% Cotton, 23% Silk). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with cut out detail. Full skirt. Hidden side zip. Lined. 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
126 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(79)
Small
(28)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2014
The dress came ready to wear! No ironing needed!

This is the perfect postpartum dress when you don't really know your size 1 month after giving birth and you still look pregnant. The puff hides your stomach. Only downside was I couldn't wear a bra because my bust was too large because of nursing. However it worked great for our family photos and totally worth renting instead of paying a small fortune to own a dress you will only wear once.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
March 23, 2015
Top didn't fit

Rented for a mad men themed party but as others have said, the top runs small for larger bust sizes. The dress fit perfectly otherwise but unfortunately, I couldn't wear it. It's s great dress otherwise.

Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
April 24, 2015
Definitely the cutest dress I've ever worn, so unique!

This dress definitely fit true to size, as much as I would like to think I should wear a smaller one ;) my shape is more Apple-like I suppose, meaning i consider myself a little thicker on top in my ribs and waist (as in that it isn't teeny compared to my hip size) so it was most snug in the top for sure but it still fit comfortably, I could still breathe and eat and even wore a little belt around the waist. For someone else also a size 6, but proportioned differently, it would fit perfectly I'm sure. It was super flattering with the flared a-line skirt and where the waist line hit, it gave me the appearance of a smaller waist and curvy silhouette, hubba hubba! Also it hit me right above the knee, I'm 5'4. Pros: the fabric is super thick and well made, obviously, it's kate spade. The pockets in the front were great for stashing my phone,& the over sized black keyholes around the neck & the little button closure on the back of the neck gave such a quirky vintage feel. I paired with a skinny black belt, & black peep toe platforms with chunky wooden heels and it was head turning! I loved that the dress was formal enough for an evening wedding yet didn't look too overdressed- it definitely could be worn in many settings. Cons: it has one of those stupid "invisible" zippers (like the ones that can't be seen from the outside) which zips up the side of the dress and goes right over the seam on the waist... If anyone knows what I'm talking about and has ever had one on a snugger fitting dress, you know that I was sweating by the time I finally got it zipped. But it was worth it. Overall...I loved this dress so much I would either rent it again or consider purchasing it, it's that cute, I'd wear it to every occasion from now on if I could. I didn't get a pic in it because I was having too much fun dancing to stop :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 8, 2015
Traveling back to the states from Japan and not having to pack dresses was awesome!

Zipper is a little bit of a struggle!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 1, 2015
Paired with red lipstick this dress was perfect!

It was a bit tight in the bodice and was a bit of a challenge to zip up. But once it was on it fit great. Larger bust might want to go up a size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 5, 2015
Received multiple compliments on this dress!

Great dress for a wedding!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 30, 2012
Such a great unique color!

This dress is so fun! The color is really unique and the black detail at the neckline really adds a wonderful touch! The full skirt adds a great flare that can truly accommodate any figure.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 17, 2012
Great color and detail!

I got this dress as a free backup at the last minute (storeroom error) and ended up wearing it to church the morning after my event. The color is great for us girls that have an olive skintone! Even though I'm 4 months pregnant, the size 0 fit almost too loosely in the waist and was very large on top. To be frank, my ladies have doubled in size and still could not fill this dress out. I ended up wearing a peplum sweater over the dress for modesty. The fabric and details at the neckline are beautiful though and this dress would look amazing on someone who has a more curvy figure. Obviously, my Beagle is a fan of Kate Spade!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2013
Fall Homecoming Dress Perfection!

I rented this dress for my university's homecoming football game in October. The color and design are gorgeous and I received numerous complements. Since the dress isn't fitted through the hips, most women could go a size down. I was able to, although the 8 was tight in the bust on my frame. The dress was very flattering in person, but it does have a lot of volume / pleats around the hips. If you're hourglass shaped, it can be unflattering in certain pictures and stances. Overall, a perfect fit for my homecoming dress and I would definitely rent again.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 20, 2013
very cute but didn't work for me

so cute but because i am small and short, the dress just swallowed me up. the skirt is really full. i looked all dress, could barely find me underneath it. would be perfect for a taller person.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
May 7, 2013
Great fitting, cute dress!

Rented this to wear to my student fashion show, wished I could have kept it! I am familiar with Kate Spade dresses and knew they run big, so I felt very comfortable just ordering a 0. I loved the fullness of the skirt and the tight bodice. I would give it 5 starts except for my one complaint, which is that the lining on the one I got was very long and showed alot when you had the dress on, which is kindof a big mistake. I guess I could have called customer service and gotten another one shipped out but I ended up just pinning it up. Definitely needs to be sewn shorter though.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
May 17, 2014
Fun, vintage look great for any celebration! But super-petite ladies might want to beware.

I wore this dress to my informal, open house engagement party in my hometown. Its unique, vintage look was perfect--a wonderful match for my style. The color is a little less glaring than it looks on screen--more of a sophisticated, cornflower yellow than a garish school bus color. The cut-out neckline is unique and the full skirt would be so great for dancing (even though I didn't get to do any at this particular get-together!). i wore it with opaque black tights to complete the Mad Men-inspired look (okay, mostly to keep me warm on a chilly December afternoon) and they were a great match. If you're looking for earrings, it matches nicely with the Badgley Mischka "Black Crystal Cluster" earrings. So why not 5 stars? It was just a little too big for me. Nothing that made me not be able to wear it (or get a ton of compliments in it!), but I wish it would have been just a little more tailored in my bust and waist area and less wide in the shoulders. It fits like a slightly big 0 (like you'd find at Banana Republic, The Gap, Ann Taylor...), but not like the 0's I've rented from higher-priced designers on RTR. It looks like Kate Spade has picked up on this problem and is now making size 00's in newer designs. If you're super petite and you love it, go for it (I did and was happy), but just be aware.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 12, 2014
Incredibly flattering and I love the pockets!

This dress hits just right at the waist and lays flat on the top with a great puff to the skirt. What you can't tell in the photos though is it's more mustard than bright yellow, although it photographs very well. The 2 wasn't available so I ordered the 4 and 0, the 4 was fine but a bit large in the waist, I'd size down for this dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 157lbs
June 25, 2014
Wore it for my birthday

Definitely need to wear a strapless bra and a belt for an accent. It was comfortable, had pockets, and I felt like a million bucks on my birthday!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
September 9, 2014
Fit like a glove!

This dress fit perfectly. I'm usually a size 2 and wore the size 0. It was a little snug around the rib cage but it wasn't uncomfortable. It was more of a mustard color than I expected. Which was actually better. I got A LOT of compliments. I really loved this dress. Now just a couple of things to note. I wore this on a very hot day in Palm Springs. It showed every drop of sweat. Make sure you are wearing it indoors or in mild temperatures. Make sure you have a steamer handy as it will have a lot of wrinkles upon arrival. It will wrinkle easily as you wear it. On the size 0 the black under lining is longer than the yellow shell. It almost looked like it was part of the dress so it wasn't a huge deal. However I'm pretty sure it needs to be hemmed up. There were some very light stains in various places that were not noticeable at all. I only noticed them when I was steaming the dress. With all that said the dress truly was lovely. I felt gorgeous in it. Like I said I got tons of compliments. My first experience with rent the runway was great!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 119lbs
September 14, 2014
Gorgeous dress, would've loved one size smaller

I loved wearing this dress and didn't want to take it off! I got tons of compliments at the "Mad Men" themed wedding shower I wore it to. Definitely best when paired with a (black) belt at the waist and hair pulled up to show off the neckline. I also think this dress would go great with Kate Spade "Put a Bow on It Drops" earrings (https://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/pierced_jewelry/putbowitdrops). My only tiny complaint was that it ran a little bit big, especially for those of us with smaller-sized busts. I found you could see right into the dress through the arm holes. A little fashion tape solved the problem, but I would've loved a size 2.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 15, 2015
Excited to finally wear a Kate Spade, let down because it wasn't what I was expecting.

Unfortunately, I didn't get to wear this to my event, as it was too big on me when I received it. I went by what the other reviewers said, and ordered a size up because everyone said it doesn't give. It looked like a potato sack on me, and the color was a much browner mustard, which I was also disappointed in. The size I would have needed, a 4, wasn't available, so I just had to return the dress for a credit and wear my backup.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 4, 2012
Wore this for my best friend's bridal luncheon, and it was just perfect!

I chose between a 4 and a 6 for this dress. I ended up using the 6 because, whereas my wait fit best in the 4, by chest was a little smushed. So I went with the 6, and you could barely tell that the waist line was a bit too large. If you're short like me, be aware that this dress will not hit above your knees like it does the model. I have fair skin and red hair, and the color paired with it really well - got a lot of compliments on it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 6, 2013
Beautiful Dress

The color is stunning, and the dress looks beautiful, however one thing to note - it stains easily! I spilled a bit of water on the skirt and when it dried there was a stain (dark ring around where the water had been) on it. A little surprising, since I'd think water would just dry right off. I'd hate to spill something else on it! Otherwise, this dress was wonderful. I'd size down for this one - I'm usually a 4, and the 4 was too big.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
September 10, 2012
Kate Spade Crosswalk

I wore this dress to a bridal shower tea party and received many compliments. I usually wear a size 4 but, instead, ended up wearing the 6 as it was roomier in the chest. I am a 32D and found that the 4 was too snug for comfort. If busty, I recommend going up one size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
January 12, 2013
love how easy it was to rent a dress! will def be back again..soon! ;)

was too small in the chest. i am a 36 c and it was pulling in the chest. also, kind of felt like i looked like a cupcake. totally bummed that it didn't fit like planned...because the dress itself was soooooo cute!

Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
March 10, 2013
A fun unexpected dress

The yellow was a little duller than I thought it would be, but the neckline and back cutout were super cute. Easy to dance in!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 24, 2013
Such a beautiful dress, sadly it does not work for the busty set.

I rented this dress for a work-related brunch but sadly, it did not fit. If you're chesty, it would be best to go with a different style of dress. Still a gorgeous material, color and style for Spring!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 3, 2013
I wore this for my Master's Graduation. It was simple and classy! The perfect look!

I am a 34DD so it was a little tight around my bust. But the rest of my body is small so it fit perfectly everywhere else. The material feels great and the color is gorgeous!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
October 14, 2013
Perfect dress for a day time wedding & lunch reception....shoe & bag change for evening festivities.

The color was perfect for the October nuptials. The top runs small even for my 32B. I would recommend going a size or 2 up if you are larger chest wise. The under lining was a thick material so got warm walking around. I loved the hidden pockets.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
October 20, 2013
Too small!

I loved this dress but didn't get to wear it as I couldn't zip it all the way up. If your a bigger bust, you may have the same problem.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 24, 2013
I wore this for my engagement photo shoot. Love the fit and the color!

love the fit of this dress, very flattering.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
January 18, 2014
Dressy neighborhood New Year

This dress runs small through the ribs. I ordered a size up to get it to zipper, and even then needed help. The fit overall then wasn't too flattering. It was fun to wear at our neighborhood New Year party. Pockets were a plus.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 122lbs
March 29, 2014
The style of the dress was spot on

Is tighter from the chest than I expected. I am a 36c. The yellow of the dress was duller than shows in the photographs..

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
April 25, 2014
Would never order a Kate Spade again. One dress came wrinkled and off hanger.

Did not fit whatsoever. You should definitely have a small bust or none at all to wear. Disappointing.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157lbs
May 23, 2014
looked far better in website's photos

dress was only available in size 10 and not in my ideal size 12. it was tight in bust and ribcage. length was not right, too long hitting mid calf. just overall the wrong dress for me. on a positive note A FANTASTIC COLOR!!!!!!!!!

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 26, 2014
Fun and flirty, lots of compliments !

Loved this dress from the moment I put it on. There's something very classic about it while still being fun. Two notes: the dress itself is more of a mustard than a bright yellow as pictured and I needed to go up a size so it wasn't too tight in the bust. There is little to no give in the fabric so prepare yourself if you are bustier. It's perfect and so flattering for an hourglass because of the waist. I would probably rent it again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
March 24, 2014
So cute but...

Very snug in the waist - impossible to zipper.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
August 14, 2014
Fabulous RTR Service yet again!

I ordered a 6 and 8 weeks before finding out I was pregnant! Hoping the 8 would fit, I didn't change my order. However, it didn't! Eek! RTR service saved me and overnighted the 10 and it was, phew, perfect! The fabric was rich, I felt like a pageant queen and got plenty compliments at the wedding. The bride is a huge Kate Spade fan!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
August 18, 2014
If you have boobs, just say no=/

Rented this dress for my sisters baby shower I was the hostess of. Ordered it in my size and 1 up. Zipper was sticky not on, and once I got it on I couldn't zip either size over my boobs=/ Returned both and never worn. Bummer!

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2014
Too small at rib cage/bust

I rented my usual size (4) and a size up (6) because I am breastfeeding and thought I could probably use some extra room. The 6 was still too small and I was unable to zip it up. I ended up wearing an old XS dress from the Gap that still fit but had some stretch. This dress is all silk and does not stretch at all.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 5, 2014
Super cute and flattering for autumn time but too small

I rented this dress for a November wedding but sadly I wasn't able to wear it because it did not fit. The largest size the dress comes in is a 10 which is my size so I thought it would be perfect. If you have a bigger bust you might have a problem with this dress- I couldn't even get it zipped! I was so disappointed because it is a lovely dress and fit every where else perfectly. The color is a little different in person but still so beautiful.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 142lbs
April 20, 2015
Wish I could give it 3-1/2 Stars Rather Than Just 3

I love the color of this dress - a lovely welcome to spring. I also love the black slip underneath that shows just a bit when you walk for contrast. My only problem with this dress was that I could not zip it all the way up so I had to wear a jacket. Although I can generally wear a size 4 in many dresses, I got a size 6 and still could not zip the dress (and it is too thin in my opinion to go bra-less as I have done with some other dresses). Otherwise, the dress is very nice - I love the girly poofy skirt, the neckline's cut-outs and the color.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
July 21, 2015
The dress is comfortable, fun and soft! I definitely got compliments all night

The zipper does stick at the hem, like most dresses, but this one I almost cut my finger trying to zip it up (despite working the zipper multiple times on the hanger). It does go a little below the knee, so this is not for someone looking for a frisk going out dress. Very elegant and fun though. And I wish I'd known about the little snaps at the shoulder to secure bra straps I only noticed it after the event!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
September 29, 2014
The color was a standout.

I was in love with this dress from the website so I was determined to wear it. It did fit insanely tight across the bust (the rest of it fit me perfectly and i don't have an unusually large bust so I don't know what was going on with their measurements on this one...). But I pulled it off with no extra layers underneath. I was a little self conscious but overall an adorable dress.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×