kate spade new york

Crosswalk Dress

$71 to buy
$478 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Turn heads at the dinner party wearing this flirty kate spade new york full skirt dress. A waist cinching style that will have you looking fab all night long. Go with accessories like the Crislu's Crystal Tear Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Yellow Faille (77% Cotton, 23% Silk). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with cut out detail. Full skirt. Hidden side zip. Lined. 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
126 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(79)
Small
(28)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 9, 2012
Kate Spade does no wrong!!

Truly a remarkable piece of garment. It was absolutely lovely. The only issue was that it runs a bit small and I had issues with the zipper. If the size 12 was available it would have been ideal. Beauty & Elegance Personified!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 17, 2012
Meh.

I was expecting more. The yellow was more a dull mustard. I usually wear a size 4 or 6 depending on the style. Size 6 for tighter dresses and Size 4 for dresses that more flowy). I could not get this dress to zip up. It's a side zip and mind you I have ZERO boobs but I have a broad chest. If I could have gotten the zipper past my chest it would have been a great fit but the bust area had no give. I ended up using my back up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 3, 2014
Great dress but very tight fitting on the chest

Very tight on the chest

Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Age: 29
June 27, 2014
I couldn't wear it, it didn't fit. The bust was so small even though the waist fit. Not for big bust

It's a beautiful dress, super fun shape and color. I couldn't get it over my boobs though, even when I tried with a sports bra. I couldn't wear it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 14, 2014
Very cute dress. I am extremely busty and it did not fit

It's a very cute dress. The color is kind of mustardy. I would recommend it for someone with a smaller bust. It just didn't work for me. It's casual enough to wear to work or you could dress it up

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
March 18, 2015
Beautiful, But Didn't Wear It :-(

This dress is beautiful in person. I was unable to wear this dress because it was too small. My bust were to much for the size 8. I should've ordered a 10. I am going to try to rent this dress again so I can wear it. My suggestion for others that have a bigger bust is to order a size up. Hope this helps!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 3, 2017
Wore for my graduation from college

I wore this dress for my graduation from college. I had previously worn a Kate Spade dress for my final sorority formal of the year and it was a hit! It was a perfect fit and I felt great in it. When I woke up on the morning of my graduation, I discovered that the dress was unbelievably small in the bust. I had no issue with the other dress (same size and style) but I could barely breathe in this one! I had to change immediately after the ceremony because I thought I was going to pass out. I do realize that sometimes I have issues with fit in the chest, but this one was ridiculous! I wanted to love it so much because the day was so special but honestly the only thing I remember is how much it squished my boobs embarrassingly! haha!! Hard to tell in the photos, but if comparing the photos from the previous Kate Spade dress I wore you can really see a difference.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 2, 2016
interesting color - comfortable dress

i wore this to a mad men themed party and it was perfect.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
March 3, 2016
I loved this dress!

This dress fit perfectly! At an event where people were wearing mostly black dresses, I stood out exactly in the way I wanted to. I loved it :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
August 27, 2012
I just wore it for the weekend. I didn't attend a special event, but it was really comfortable.

It would've fit me better if it was a size 0, but it was still gorgeous. The fit was nice and I really liked the classy look. I felt like I had traveled back in time :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
September 25, 2012
Love this shape of this dress!

I rented this for a wedding. The fit was spot on, but I am petite and I felt a little bit like the dress was wearing me instead of the other way around. For me, I felt like a shorter hemline would have been more flattering. (It hit me below the knee) The color in person is also really unusual - almost like a chartreuse, and not a golden yellow was it appears in the photo. I didn't love the color with my skin tone (I have pale skin with pink undertones), but overall I love the shape and fit of this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
September 25, 2012
Cute dress and fun for dancing!

great dress and got a lot of complements! i added a black skinny belt around the waist! just be careful as my dress arrived with grease stains all over it. i had to spend about 2 hours the morning of the wedding with soap and water getting the stains out of the dress! i wished i had checked it prior to traveling out of the city!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 30, 2012
Beautiful dress, not for me!

The material was great, and the color was unusual and fun. Still, this dress wasn't really for me. I felt like it -almost- hit me like an empire dress instead of at the waist, and so it wasn't flattering since I'm curvy and love to show off my smaller waist. Also, as another contributor posted, I had a lot of trouble zipping up the dress. This was not because I was the wrong size. I actually fit into the size 8, and I still had massive difficulty zippering up the 10.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 30, 2012
So much fun to wear! The perfect "Mad Men" dress

This dress was so much fun to wear--it's more of a golden yellow than bright yellow but the fabric has a nice weight and is very well constructed. The dress is fully lined, plus it has little straps in the shoulders to keep your bra straps from peeking through the cutouts. And it has pockets! I got tons of compliments, and a simple black belt was the perfect finishing touch. I have a short torso, so the waist hit me right at my natural waist--I would imagine that it would hit higher on someone with an average to long torso. For me it fit like a glove and I will definitely rent it again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 2, 2012
Great dress for a current style and fall wedding season!

Dress arrived Friday afternoon for our Saturday night wedding we were attending. Got a ton of compliments on it and even had one gal say, "Oh I almost bought that dress..." and laughed to myself knowing she was seriously going to buy a $500 dres. A little "Mad Men" wore it with black patent wedges, some fun arm candy and pearls, Fit great, true to size,a little snug on top as I am a new mom who is still nursing but nothing too bad. Would have upped my arrival date knowing it is dry clean only and needs pressing to get that full skirt to look right,

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
October 11, 2012
Beautiful fall color!

I decided not to wear this dress for my date to the NYPhil because the skirt was so full. I felt like I should be attending a fall wedding in the South. However, it was decided that this dress was absolutely beautiful, a great color, and a fun, flirty shape!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
October 12, 2012
This dress zips on side, which I wish I had known. Great dress but I couldn't wear it. Shame.

Beautiful dress, great fabric, awesome color. Zips on side which for busty girls can be a problem. Runs a tad small it seems but that could be just because of where it zips making it difficult. I soooo wish I could have actually worn this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 131lbs
October 14, 2012
LOVED THIS DRESS

It is definitely more of a mustard/golden yellow than what the picture shows. This was perfect for a formal october wedding. Got so many compliments. Little bit longer than my usual dresses, but so elegant and classy.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
October 15, 2012
Fun color and cut!

I'm between sizes and definitely had to go for the larger one, but I wouldn't say it ran small necessarily. The zipper had a hard time sliding at the waistline stitching, even though I was still fine on the fit as others have said. A black belt was a must for me in this dress to further define my waist since the skirt was so voluminous. I wish I would have read the reviews that said it had pockets...I didn't know that it did so I didn't really look for them. I got several compliments on it. This was my first RTR rental, and I had a wonderful experience!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 23, 2012
Beautiful fit and flattering lines.

The color is much more mustard than true yellow, which was a bit disconcerting, but turned out to be just fine. The skirt can easily handle a crinoline under it, for anyone looking to punch up a '50s vibe. I loved that this was cotton, which made it perfect for the sultry Houston night on which I wore it. Overall, a great rental.

RTR CustomerOctober 23, 2012
Very Helpful!! You answered my question: i.e. skirt can easily handle a crinoline ..." Thank You!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
October 29, 2012
I received so many compliments. Everyone wondered where I got it from.

It was fitted in all the right areas, and super comfortable. I didn't have any cons on this dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 1, 2012
I felt both trendy and classic wearing this dress! LOVED IT!

If you've worn these types of dresses before then you'll like this one - fits exactly the way you think it will. It has hidden pockets on the side - great for holding your camera! My bra never peeped through the key holes because the dress comes with little snaps to hold your bra in place. The mustard yellow color is perfect for fall. I received compliments the entire day/night.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 4, 2012
The perfect dress for a "Mad Men" Halloween look!

This dress was absolutely beautiful in person - very elegant! I was also pleasantly surprised that there are generous pockets cheated a bit towards the front of the dress - I am obsessed with pockets on dresses. Obviously I rented it specifically for Halloween, but this could definitely be styled for a more subtle vintage-inspired look. The dress ran true to size, although I would suggest that if you are between sizes, you should go smaller. This was my first RTR experience, and I will certainly rent again in the very near future.

AidaNovember 4, 2012
Where did you get your gloves?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 5, 2012
Didn't get to wear it.

Hard to zip up on the side. The dress was not great for me. I'm short and it just didn't compliment me well.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 19, 2012
Adorable and Classy!

Everyone loved my dress! It fit true to size and was alot of fun to wear. I had to press it before I wore it to the wedding but other than that I would suggest it to anyone who is tall!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
December 26, 2012
didn't get to wear it

the color is more green than mustard. I was expecting the lush golden mustard seen on the red carpets last season. I assumed it would be a nice style for my pear short - big hips, small chest - but was unable to zip. my husband commented on the color being so off from the pic as well. truly disappointed bc I fantasized about wearing this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 65
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
January 4, 2013
always look forward to events I can rent a dress for. very happy with great customer servic

great dress, no problems, would love to wear it again.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 7, 2013
The perfect style!

This dress was so fun to dance in and the style was so unique. The color is a bit muted but offers that 50s charm.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
June 26, 2013
Bad Color

I wanted to love this dress, but the skirt consumed me, the waist hit at the wrong spot and the color was not the pretty mustard as shown. I sent this back and RTR was great in giving me a refund.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133lbs
July 14, 2013
Tons of people said they loved the dress and I looked stunning, It was perfect for the occasion.

It fit great! It was a little tight in the bust area, but thats understandable considering my size. Had a great flow and I loved the pockets! Couldn't have picked a better dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
July 21, 2013
I wore this dress for my Master's graduation party. This is a super comfy, flirty dress!

I ordered a size ten & twelve, which I ended up wearing the twelve.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 25, 2013
Adorably retro!

Rented this dress for my friend's dressy cocktail party. The cut is so fifties--classic and beautiful with a full swingy skirt. I felt like an extra on Mad Men! My one complaint--I spilled a glass of water on the bodice just before my event, and it left a very noticeable mark for the rest of the evening, even after it dried. So beware, ladies--don't let even a drop of liquid touch this dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 6, 2013
Beautiful, fun dress! The color was perfect for a Fall wedding.

More of a 'mustard' than bright yellow. I found the top part to fit tighter than expected (and I'm small chested), but overall I think it runs true to size. Well made.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 10, 2013
Fab & Comfy

This dress was perfect for the rehearsal dinner I attended. The mustard yellow color was vibrant and fun. The dress was comfortable, easy to wear and I received many compliments. This can definitely be dressed up or down. If you are debating between sizes get your regular size and a size smaller.

RTR CustomerSeptember 10, 2013
Love this!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
September 16, 2013
gorgeous

I used for a Brunch party for my husband. It looked so elegant and beautiful. I love the black loops, it made it look so unique. The 4 is just right for me, the size was long and loose on the body part.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 8, 2013
So easy! Was so great traveling for a wedding and having the dress waiting for me! Suitcase lighter!

I ordered a 4 and 6. Ended up wearing the 6.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 11, 2013
Great dress and color. Got great compliments!!! Happy with the selection.

I felt like the dress was true to size. I got a 6 and 8. However, I couldn't fully zip up the size 6. The color is slightly darker shade that what is pictured, but still was a great color.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
October 27, 2013
Perfect dress to wear to a wedding 3 months after having my first baby. Looked great! Hid everything

Great full-coverage fit that shows off your waistline without showing too much

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 18, 2013
This was perfect for a daytime event. I paired it with a black cardigan that I belted! Must have!

Perfection! The color was divine and the dress held its shape!

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 174lbs
November 19, 2013
Fun dress for a great theme party or date night :)

This is SUCH a fun dress. I rented it for a Mad Men party, and wanted something cute that fit the occasion. I wish I had gone a BIT more figure flattering, but this dress was perfect for the theme. I am almost 6'0'' and the dress felt a bit long, so if you are on the shorter side be aware it might be long on you. The material has no give/stretch, otherwise the 8 would have fit- but it's durable and both sizes were in new condition. I'd definitely recommend a belt to define a waist.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×