kate spade new york

Citrus Candy Pop Dress

$30 rental
$498 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Win the best-dressed award of the party in this bold kate spade new york dress! Shown here with the Badgley Mischka's Garden Party Earrings and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted – dress cinched in at waist
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length -(on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Pink and Orange silk mikado (74% silk, 26% cotton). Sleeveless. V-neckline. Full skirt with black grosgrain detail at waist. Hidden side zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
154 reviews
Fit
Large
(25)
True to Size
(104)
Small
(23)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 25, 2015
Beautiful color & comfortable fit!
Loved the color and fit of this dress! I wore it for an outdoor wedding in the spring in Florida. The fabric isn't clingy but also doesn't stretch much. The flared skirt is a lot of fun and the pockets were helpful for me to carry a lipgloss around with me while I left my small purse at the dinner table. I recommend using fashion tape if you need to keep the dress in position (I did). Both the 4 and the 6 fit just fine and I think I wore the 4 for a more snug and secure fit in the bust. I loved wearing the dress and I received lots of compliments wearing it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 23, 2015
Not made for shorter people
Gorgeous dress, but definitely not made for those at 5'2". The waist hit high on me which made the top too large and the shoulders too long. Wish it would have worked out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 26, 2012
A-DOR-A-BLE dress, easy fit!
This dress is the PERFECT easy style for a party or cocktail look - especially with the holidays coming up! I got a 4 - my normal size - and it was a bit big in the hips and long in the skirt so I think I would definitely size down in this one. SUCH an easy fit though! Would recommend for any shape (especially if you're bigger on bottom or in any way insecure about your hips or midsection) - flattering and sure to give you an hourglass silhouette!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 10, 2012
A gorgeous color combination!
This is a gorgeous dress that made me feel like a million bucks! I had a bit of difficulty with the fit in the top as I am very small chested and the V cut is a very deep one. The description of the fit is a bit misleading in that not just any bra will work with this dress. As a matter of fact, I ended up using "the cutlets" as even a decolette bra showed in the deep V cut. Once I solved that issue, I was good to go! The zipper was a bit sticky but that could be because the dress was brand new. I wore the size 2 but feel that the size 0 might have been a slightly better fit given the dress runs extremely large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
December 20, 2012
Beautiful dress, but not for the small chested.
This dress runs big, luckily I ordered the 0 as my back up size. The dress fit perfectly at my waist but was very big in the chest area. I used two sided tape to secure the dress but I was still fiddling with it all night. It is such a beautiful dress and I got compliments on the color combo all night, but I wouldn't recommend it for small chested women. The problem also could have been the result of my short torso. An inch off of the straps and it would have been the perfect fit.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 15, 2013
I got so many compliments. I wore this to a rehearsal dinner at a yacht club in San Francisco.
Pros: the bride told me she also purchased this dress for her rehearsal din (thank God she didn't!!) It made me feel comfortable and beautiful. I wore simple, black satin peep toes sling backs and a bracelet and diamond earrings. The colors are bright and bold - which if you are not a colorful dresser (like me) this is a great option to try. Con: I usually wear a 4 but I wore the 6. The bust runs small and I don't have a large chest by any means. The shoulder straps were a bit large. If I were to purchase it, I would have that altered. Fabulous birthday dress, rehearsal din or when you want to be a princess for an evening. Very girly. Loved it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 19, 2013
Fantastically Fun Comfortable Dress!
Had a great first experience with RtR! Tons of compliments throughout the night. The dress itself is a comfortable style - so you can freely eat and drink :) It was a great length. My only "con" was that since I have a smaller torso section it was a tad baggy in the arm pit area and the neckline became more plunging than I was comfortable with. Nothing a black camisole under didn't fix. Would definitely recommend this dress and the whole experience of renting!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 7, 2013
Simple and gorgeously flattering to any woman's shape.
I would suggest sizing down. This dress really makes your waist look small. No cons here.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 9, 2013
Top super revealing. Fit funny. And not ha ha funny.
I rented this as a back up dress. The dress was cute and the color was great, but the top of this dress was gaping open and there was no way I could have worn this out. This dress might work if you have a bigger chest, but with my small to average size bosom, my bra and everything was just hanging out there for god and everyone to see. No thank you. Not for work party. Maybe if I was twerking, or something. But not in front of my co workers.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 11, 2013
Prep Fantastic!
Kate Spade classic! You feel like an American doll! Runs a little large in the upper half of the garmet. Otherwise its a swell design and option for a wedding!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 26, 2014
Show the girls off!
I wore this when I was 2 months pregnant. For me that was the time that my boobs were full and perky but I had very little change below the chest. However I was unsure how my changing hips would fit, so I picked dress b/c of the full skirt. Received so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 29, 2014
Such a disappointment!
I rented this dress in a size 2 and size 0 as a back-up based on its reviews. It was so large in the bust, I was unable to wear either size. What a disappointment because the dress is gorgeous. If you are smaller on top, this is definitely not the dress for you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
April 14, 2014
Very pretty dress, but not suitable for the small chested. It was far too big on the top :(
Very pretty dress, but not suitable for the small chested. It was far too big on the top :( Very pretty color though and the skirt is very flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 2, 2014
The fun colors!
I wasn't sure about the colors of this dress, but it ended up being beautiful. I ordered a size lower than I normally wear, and while it was tight in the bust, everything else fit perfectly. The only surprising thing about this dress is how much cleavage it shows. It doesn't seem like it would be that bad, but I wore a non-padded non-push up bra, and they just looked really fake. But good! It really cinches your waist but is free in the hips so it's perfect for hourglass figures! I would definitely rent again and/or recommend to anyone.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 18, 2014
LOVED THIS DRESS!! Perfect for this event. I received so many compliments! Total hit!
I have a slightly larger midsection so I did find that it was slightly tight under the bust and a little large through the shoulders. I typically wear a size 6 but had to go down a size due to the bust/shoulders being too large. I loved the length of the dress. The quality of the dress was beyond my expectations. Would rent this dress again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
June 17, 2014
This dress didn't fit true to size - it runs big. Not as cute in person as it is online.
The cut wasn't what I expected - this dress didn't fit and didn't work for my body type. I didn't end up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 22, 2014
Great dress, bright colors!
I did love this dress, but it was too big on the top for me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 19, 2014
A very flattering, easy-to-wear dress!
I received many compliments! It's a very easy-to-wear dress, is extremely flattering, and is a bit more "interesting" in person. The v-neck definitely plunges a bit farther than in the photo here (which was perfect for me!)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 23, 2014
Sorority Preference Day
This was my first RTR. Arrived on the day it should have, nicely done. I rented it for the preference round of sorority recruitment at the University of Arizona (#BearDown). The fabric is not too heavy, but walking around in the Tucson summer sunshine all day takes a toll and this dress does show sweat easily. Yum. I am usually a junior's size 0 so I knew the women's size 0 would be a little larger than what I usually wear. I still had breathing room which was nice because recruitment gave me a really bad cough so I didn't feel like I was about to bust a seam when I coughed. The pockets are kinda weird placement, I didn't end up using them because they're in front of your pelvis? Interesting... The V is very deep on this dress and was a little baggy on my small bony frame but nothing that 2 bras, pulling it up a little higher, and some fashion tape can't fix. Love the gold statement zipper. Was also a little baggy on me in the back- again, I am small and bony. Definitely recommend wearing a bolder necklace to draw some attention away from how deep it is. I wore with a J Crew look-alike necklace and black heels. First picture is natural light (photographs very well! super vibrant!) the mirror pics are in my room (sorry its messy I am still moving in and unpacking). All in all, I got a ridiculous amount of compliments on this dress from women I was rushing with and the women preffing me. Would recommend this dress, but not to my petite friends. It made me feel very classy and elegant- perfect for the more serous setting of preference. Also, it looks better with lighter hair (in my opinion).
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 28, 2014
It's a perfect pop of color and has a very flattering a-line
I rented a 2 and 4 -- the 4 was a little big on top, so I went down a size.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 9, 2012
Beautiful dress!
I rented this dress for a friends wedding. I actually picked this dress last minute b/c it turned out the dress I originally rented wasn't available. So happy I got this one! It's beautiful and it's has pockets!!! The skirt is more on the magenta/purple side that it looks on the model and the top in an orange-ish red. Beautiful color combo! I am 5'6" 125lbs, 26" waist 34 chest.. Depending on brands I am anywhere from a size 0-4 and the 0 in this Kate Spade fit perfect!
GwendolynApril 25, 2013
thank you for listing your waist measurement - very helpful!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
March 6, 2013
I LOVE this dress. The color is so much fun!
I cannot say enough good things about this dress. The skirt is full and fun and makes you want to dance all night. The v-neck is a little low, which I liked because I have small girls and I thought it made the dress a little sexy and balanced the full skirt. You can wear a regular bra, no pockets, which is surprising for the full skirt. My favorite thing about this dress, besides the amazing color, is that you felt very secure in it, nothing was going to pop out so you could just dance and relax and there was no tugging or futzing. I received so many compliments and told so many people about RTR at this wedding. I normally wear a size 2 at Banana, but have been a size 4 in every other RTR except for this one. I read everyone's reviews and just went with the size 2 and it was perfect. I have a small chest, but broad shoulders and a wide rib-cage and this dress still fit perfectly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
September 20, 2013
Super fun, twirly dress
This might be my favorite rental so far. Colors I would never normally put together work great on this dress. Very comfortable (the 2 was a bit large in the chest though, so I went a size smaller). Mid-reception discovery: pockets! They are more toward the front of the dress than on the sides. Highly recommend this one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
July 27, 2014
great pop of color!
Overall large fit for a size 4, especially in the bust (which I am NOT accustomed to as a 34D!). Have rented a size smaller from this designer since then and have been very pleased.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 139lbs
May 29, 2014
Great dress, wrong size.
I didn't actually get to wear this dress because it ran much bigger than I expected. But I LOVED it. The fabric was beautiful. If I had more time before the event, I would have had another size sent. I'll keep this one in mind for the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 18, 2013
Didn't Work
I had read the reviews that this dress ran large but what they really mean is that it is cut for a tall person. It would have fit perfectly if I could have hemmed the straps and pulled the dress top up about two inches. The torso is just way too long for my petite frame. Neither size worked. Lucky for me my back up dress was the most amazing dress I have ever worn. 3 stars because it is a nice dress - great colors, love the fabric, and who doesn't love Kate Spade. Also, RTR is the best! But those who are vertically challenged should we aware. . .
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
April 20, 2015
The color & fabric were great. I received so many compliments.
The bust was lower than I expected and was quite roomy. I don't think this dress would work for small busts. I was able to make it work with safety pins and ample tape. I wasn't 100% comfortable as I keep making frequent checks and adjustments as the night wore on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
December 21, 2012
fun work party!!!
the fit hit me exactly at the wrong spot and made my hips look huge. thank goodness for spanx.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
January 7, 2013
Great dress. A lot of people told me that I should "go ahead an buy this dress - it's perfect!"
I love this dress. It has a very flattering shape that hid the fact that I hadn't worked out in a few weeks while making me look tall and lean. I'm pretty short waisted but the dress looked great and in proportion. The bust was a bit tight in the rib cage. I'm a 34-D and wear a size 2 or 4 dress, but found myself standing very straight (probably not a bad thing) due to the tight black band at the ribs. I would order a size 6 next time. The material is thicker, which is great for a winter party and also very forgiving without giving up any glam. Plus - IT HAS POCKETS. Can't beat that!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
January 16, 2013
The dresses arrived in plenty of time but I had to return them . :(
This is a beautiful dress the colors are bright and rich. The waist for me was small there was no wiggle room. I ordered size 6 and back up was size 8, unfortunately they both didn't fit. I have never tried on a Kate Spade and this could be the sizing, I typically wear between a 6 and 8.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 10, 2013
Perfect dress... got lots of compliments!
My husband and I went to a couples bridal shower at a country club this last weekend. I was thrilled with my dress selection. I was very impressed with RTR's punctuality, helpfulness and shipment of my items. I thought it fit just a bit tight at the top around my chest, but the 12 was far too big so I went with the smaller size Appropriate length for my height; oftentimes dresses end up too short because of my long legs! Highly recommend it -
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157lbs
May 5, 2013
Bold colors, beautiful dress, runs small
I rented this dress in an 8 for the Kentucky Derby. The RTR review advice told me to get my second size in a larger size, but it wasn't available for the dates I needed, so I opted not to get a second size at all. Unfortunately, the 8 didn't fit and I didn't get to wear this dress. I was able to exchange it for another dress, which showed up just in the nick of time. The folks at RTR were really great about the exchange. I got a prompt email response even after regular business hours and the new dress arrived just when they said it would. This was my first RTR experience, and even though this dress didn't work out I'd definitely rent again!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 162lbs
July 2, 2013
Thank goodness for a backup dress! I used the larger size!
I got tons of compliments on this Kate Spade. I wore big, blue/green earrings, and those were a hit too. (Its the season for contrasting colors, I suppose.) Felt awesome all night. The dress at the ribs was a little snug, but that's always the case for me. The neckline is really low. Loved the pockets! Great dress! Fun for dancing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
July 6, 2013
The only regret I have is that I don't own it. I got tons of compliments all night long
The pockets came in handy while navigating the recpetion :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 12, 2013
I loved this dress! It was such bright fun colors!
The dress ran a bit small in the waist and large in the chest.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
November 3, 2013
Didn't want to send it back!
The torso is a bit tight, and when you lean over in the dress, the low V neck lets everything be seen. Otherwise a PERFECT dress and would definitely recommend to anyone. So beautiful, and has POCKETS!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
March 29, 2013
Cute dress!
Very low cut, and definitely runs small, though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 31, 2013
Returned
I love Kate Spade and this dress is so pretty and wonderful. However, size 8 Kate Spade usually fits me perfectly with a flared skirt, but this was a lot tighter in the chest than many of her other dresses. Fortunately RTR is a total rock start company and got me another dress before NYE, but this dress is not a typical Kate Spade 8.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
March 23, 2014
Pretty colors.
Definitely went with the larger of the two sizes. Dress' cut of rib cage had tight bust for chesty ladies. I wore a black bandeau bra and went without a normal bra to cut down on the cleavage and to cut down on underwear lines. I also wore it with black tights for a formal winter event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2014
Bright stunning and fun!
This dress was the perfect amount of girly and fun. The bright colors made it a head turner, and I loved the fuller, longer skirt so I wasn't always worried about it riding up or anything. The only downside was I had to wear the 10 and it still barely fit my boobs. It was low cut and not made for larger chests. Because it was a party with friends I got away with it but I would not have worn it to something more professional. However I love Kate Spade and I got a ton of compliments all night!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×