Boy Meets Girl Dress

$68 to buy
$458 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this black and white floral kate spade new york doll dress. Simply adorable for all those weddings coming up! Stick to earrings like the Badgley Mischka's Ocean Moon Earrings and a glitzy clutch like the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 00-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at upper waist with band
HIPS: Fitted - fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 00-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at upper waist with band
HIPS: Fitted - fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and white printed cotton sateen. Bateau neckline. Cap sleeves. Belted waist. Ruffle hem. Exposed back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
75 reviews
Fit
Large4
True to Size49
Small21
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
February 21, 2015
Perfect!
Felt great, looked great! Perfect dress for a red shoe fundraiser dinner. Loved the material
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 14, 2015
I had to wear something else...
It was simply too big I had to send it back
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
November 1, 2014
It was a great dress but wrong size
I love how RTR works! Everything was perfect but not my size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 26, 2014
Comfortable & classy!
Although it wasn't as white as I had expected it to be, I think I was better off. The dress was beautiful, easy to dance in, and the length was to the knee. I loved it with a pop of red jewelry & shoes!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 15, 2014
Fun, feminine, conservative
Fit my hourglass shape just right. The skirt felt short but the flared part went lower than it felt.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 6, 2014
Great for the back side, and ruffles are super sweet
ordered 10 and 12, 12 fit best. I couldn't get the 10 over my hips (~40 1/2 in), though I have tried on multiple K.S. dresses before and size 10 normally works for me. The dress isn't white and black as it looks. Its a little off-white and black. The belt comes with and is very easy to use and it stays pretty still. The dress did amazing things for my junk in the trunk, while still looking sweet and respectable. I did a 2 hr flight in it+walking around a city for ~5 hrs and it was very comfortable. Its not very forgiving for post baby pooches though. The ruffles on the bottom were very cumfy and move nicely when you walk. I would definitely buy this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 24, 2014
Fun and flattering
This dress was perfect for the couple bridal BBQ my best friend threw for us. I got several compliments throughout the evening. It was comfortable and overall fit very well and was very flattering. One thing to note is that it was snug in the hip area, so if you are a curvier/pear-shaped keep that in mind for sizing. The only other critique I had was that it wrinkled noticeably from sitting during dinner and gift opening. Overall I loved this dress and would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 27, 2014
The dress was great. I wore a bright yellow belt with it instead just to spice it up.
The fit of the dress was true to size, the belt that came with it was to large so I worn a thin bright yellow belt I had instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
August 11, 2014
Rental for my mom- it was perfect!!
I rented this one for my mom to wear to a church event. She loved it and g it so many compliments that she restyled it the following Monday and wore it to work. She is 57 years old, 5'8", and usually wears an 8 or a 10. The 10 fit perfectly and my dad jokes that maybe he shouldn't let her out of the house looking so good!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
July 20, 2014
Got compliments all day long!
This dress was a bit tight on top due to my large bust size but otherwise very comfortable. I wore the size 8 and it was still a bit snug but not uncomfortable. Loved wearing this!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 15, 2014
Cute dress
Fits well and fun
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
July 10, 2014
Great fit.
I liked the dress but didn't love it. I got size 6 & 8. Both fit but the 8 gave me more room to breathe and move around so I wore that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 9, 2014
Beautiful dress, no stretch, not good for fuller hips.
They couldn't send the size 10 because it came back damaged and that is the size that would have fit. the 8 almost fit but was too tight around my hips and butt.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
June 6, 2014
I wore this to a steeplechase with a big black hat - it was perfect!
I don't usually try things without stretch, but this dress looked like it was custom made for my body. I highly recommend it if you have an hourglass shape!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
May 17, 2014
Creates some super curves
Great dress overall. Good quality, but it's very tight in the upper torso, and requires a longer torso to make it look good. I had to wear spanx underneath to keep the slim look. It also rides up when you sit down and wrinkles easily. But, I got some amazing compliments and the camera seemed to love it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
May 4, 2014
Day at the track
True to size, although I wish I would have ordered it one size smaller. Amazing dress, so pretty. Got tons of compliments. Wish I could wear it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 30, 2014
Classy and perfect!
True to size. Great dress! Wore to my son's baptism.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 28, 2014
Not for a short torso
I ordered a 10 and 12 in order to make sure I had one that fits. The 10 was sliiightly too tight in that it showed every bump, but the 10 was also too long to the waist seam so the zipper bunched in the back. Awkward. Not flattering.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2014
Unfortunately a problem dress
Holly's picture with the black shrug made me and a friend both fall in love with this dress. A friend and I flipped a quarter to decide who was going to get to rent this dress for the same event we're both going to. I won! Unfortunately both dresses arrived with noticeable snags and the linings hung longer than the shells. Since it's a bag lining, it's not something take can take care of. I took them to my tailor, who won't alter rented things, and she said that it was cleaned wrong and she can tell because what happened is the shells shrunk more than the linings. I alto tried on the 6 I ordered, and it was far too tight. I own a few Kate Spade dresses and usually wear a 4. So the 6 being too small by a lot is more evidence of bad washing. I'm just glad I ordered for delivery a couple days in advance. RTR's customer service has been great and is replacing with the dress of my choice without regard to cost, and I've got a lot of friends who are regular renters. So this experience isn't deterring me from still liking the company. When you do any volume of business, there are bound to be a few bad eggs. Still looking forward to a rental relationship with this company. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
January 20, 2014
Looks great in the picture
I reserved this dress for our family pictures, but when I received it, it didn't fit. It was too tight around the breast area. The dress was too long for my style. Great dress though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
November 25, 2013
Adorable conservative dress!
Wore this to a courthouse wedding with some cute teal heels! Had a little jacket for the wedding and let the print shine for the lunch following. I love love love this dress and had a hard time giving it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 99lbs
November 19, 2013
Pretty and different from the usual outfits!
I loved this outfit. It was comfortable, pretty and was complimented a lot. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 20, 2013
Everyone said the dress looked stunning on me. This dress was made for my body :)
I am 112 pounds, 5'3 tall and the dress fitted me so well. it also runs true to the size. I felt comfortable and looking like a million bucks.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 27, 2013
Cute dress, but not for me
I am normally a size 6 in Kate Spade, but the 8 in this dress was really tight in the mid-section and not wearable. If you're a fan of Kate Spade, you'll love this dress, but it's very fitted, so if that's not your thing you may want to pass on this one.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2013
Great quality dress
This is a particular look, so it may not be good for everyone. I think a high heel is a must to elongate the legs, since the skirt goes below the knee. I wore with red shoes. A thin black belt (did not come with the dress) also adds a nice touch but isn't absolutely necessary.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 184lbs
August 19, 2013
Beautiful, but if you have hips this is not gonna work out.
Gorgeous dress and well-made. Got it as a backup but didn't end up wearing it. I could barely fit it up my hips, and zipping it? Forget it. Too bad. I ended up wearing another dress. This dress would be a better fit for a straight and narrow body type, not an hourglass as falsely suggested!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
July 24, 2013
I wore this dress to a work event and I just LOVED Loved IT
It may be slightly longer than you think it's going to be but it fits great and the fabric is smooth with a hint of a shine. I actually tried to find this dress afterwards to buy but couldn't find it anywhere, still highly recommend it to be rented, I will rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 15, 2013
I couldn't wear this dress, I'm too 'hippy'
I was so disappointed, when I got this dress it didn't fit right, Luckily I returned it and got a credit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 8, 2013
Great dress!
Was a little tight in the bottom but it worked out fine. Glad I got the second size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 28, 2013
Great first rental! I wore this dress to my engagement party, and it was a HIT!
I recently lost quite a bit of weight since last year, so I wasn't 100% sure what size I should have ordered. If I could do it over again, I would have ordered a size 6 instead. This dress got so many compliments, it was unbelievable. Very simple and very classy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 26, 2013
Fantastic fit! Perfect for the outdoor wedding I was at.
This dress was great! I didn't get a picture that I liked yet. I got a size 4 and 6. I thought I'd need the 6 but I was wrong! The 4 fit so well. I got tons of compliments at the wedding I attended. It's even better for dancing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
June 20, 2013
Great dress!
This dress is so cute, and easy to wear. I typically wear a 0 or 2, and I wore the size 0 and it fit great. The white isn't actually as bright of a white that appears in the photo, but nevertheless it is a pretty dress. Very comfortable too.
AnnJanuary 29, 2014
This pic sells me on this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 19, 2013
Loved the way this dress felt as soon as I took it out of the box. The quality was easy to spot.
Wore this for a fundraiser wine tasting. High quality fabric, nice shape. Received lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 18, 2013
Gorgeous, Comfortable Dress
I wore this for one of my bridal showers- theme being 50s era, Paris elegance... this dress fit perfectly! It was beautiful, the fabric comfortable. I added my own black belt (same as the picture) as my dress didnt come with one... added a large brimmed hat and it was perfect. would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 3, 2013
Great first rental expierence! Felt perfectly dressed for an outdoor, semi-formal wedding in CA!
Appreciated the other comments about the roomier top, and ordered the 10 and 8; wore the 8. The material was light enough for a warm weather evening, and the print was dressy yet fun, which was exactly the theme of the wedding, with the frill on the bottom. Even got a few compliments from women I didn't know. Thanks, RTR!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 16, 2013
This was my first rental... I definitely will be back.
the free second size was a great feature. glad the review said order your second size smaller. One of my dresses was picked in the front. Not a huge deal but I was glad to have the other option.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
April 25, 2013
This dress was great!!! Wore it to my daughter's christening. It was a hit!!!!!
I would recommend this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 17, 2013
Very elegant and unique
This dress is very beautiful and unique. Perfect for both daytime and evening events. Unfortunately I didn't get to wear it since my engagement photo shoot was rescheduled, but I am definitely going to find another event to wear it to this summer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 11, 2013
quality packaging and merchandise
fit perfectly and very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 4, 2013
LOVE IT!
I love this dress! It comes with a skinny black belt but RTR called to tell me it was missing. I went and bought the one in my picture because I knew I'd use it again.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×