kate spade new york

Boy Meets Girl Dress

$68 to buy
$458 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this black and white floral kate spade new york doll dress. Simply adorable for all those weddings coming up! Stick to earrings like the Badgley Mischka's Ocean Moon Earrings and a glitzy clutch like the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 00-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at upper waist with band
HIPS: Fitted - fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white printed cotton sateen. Bateau neckline. Cap sleeves. Belted waist. Ruffle hem. Exposed back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
76 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(50)
Small
(21)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 21, 2015
Perfect!

Felt great, looked great! Perfect dress for a red shoe fundraiser dinner. Loved the material

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 66
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2012
I had a great experience with RTR. I was a little nervous, because I'm a little older, can't really wear some of the newest styles at my age!! My daughter helped me pick the dress, and we had a great mother-daughter collaboration on it! The dress was beautiful, I felt good in it. The process was very convenient. I'll definitely rent another beautiful dress again!

I loved the dress, even though the bust was a bit loose on me. The fabric was very nice, it was becoming, a little longer than I was expecting, but still I got many compliments. Easy to dance in!! I think a size 8 would have been a better fit, however that size was not available at the time, so I went with a 10 (which is the size I usually wear).

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 6, 2012
I received a thousand compliments on this dress!

The dress is gorgeous! Runs a little large. The 2 was big on me and that is unusual. The quality of the dress was top notch and I loved it.

Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 14, 2015
I had to wear something else...

It was simply too big I had to send it back

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 28, 2014
Not for a short torso

I ordered a 10 and 12 in order to make sure I had one that fits. The 10 was sliiightly too tight in that it showed every bump, but the 10 was also too long to the waist seam so the zipper bunched in the back. Awkward. Not flattering.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
March 21, 2012
It is fun to wear something no one has seen me wearing before.

I wore this dress to my daughter's bridal shower. I enjoyed wearing it.

SusanMarch 21, 2012
Did the material give at all
NoraMarch 21, 2012
no, this fabric is NOT a stretch knit, so there is no give.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 16, 2012
Pretty dress!

I ordered this dress for my main dress but ended up wearing my backup dress as I liked it better. This dress looked and fit nice however it was tight in the hip area. If you are between sizes order a size up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
August 13, 2012
Classy dress!

I wore this to my semi-formal college graduation. It was a perfect length for an affair that my parents and grandparents were attending. I was the envy of my fashion-obsessed sister in this!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
August 30, 2012
Beautiful Dress, Runs Small

After reading that many others found the dress to run large, I ordered a size smaller than my usual, which would normally be a 10. The 10 wasn't available for my rental period, so I figured that would be ok. The dress doesn't zip past my rib cage. Even if I could get it to zip all the way, it would be incredibly snug. It's a beautiful dress. Disappointed that I won't be able to wear it, but glad that I ordered a backup dress from RTR and that it fit my sister-in-law perfectly, so at least someone was able to wear it! Hopefully I'll be able to rent the next size up for a future event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 24, 2012
Runs small

This dress fits really small. I could barely squeeze into the 12 and I usually wear a 10. I am short in the waist. and I have hips and booty. Really did not fit me well at all. I am returning it. The top part was too big/long on me and the hips too tight. It will fit you well if you have a long waist and order at least a size up if you have hips.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
September 28, 2012
Very classy dress.

The chest/torso is super tight. The hips were on the looser side though, so that was a little weird. The length is great for tall girls.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 26, 2012
Beautiful dress, but...

Other renters said this ran true to size to large, so I ordered my size (12) and a backup 10. Unfortunately, the 12 didn't fit in the hips and barely zipped all the way up. In this case, I should have ordered up a size with my real size as backup! I had to return the dress without wearing it and had no time due to the holiday to have a replacement shipped, so they're crediting this to my account for next time. Great RTR PEOPLE experience, I think I should order up next time for a good RTR DRESS experience.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
February 10, 2013
So cute, but didn't fit

This was a really cute dress, but I would size up next time as it didn't fit at all.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
February 11, 2013
Adorable dress, but too small in the chest for me to wear.

I ordered this dress for a work conference and was unable to wear it. The chest was too tight. I normally wear an 8 or a 10 in dresses, but even the 10 didn't fit. It zipped but smashed my chest and was unflattering.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
March 4, 2013
Straight with little give

This dress is not good for a girl with curves. I think it runs a size small, and really should be on someone with a straighter figure. Mine did not fit (even with the spanx), so I had to wear something else to my bridal tea. I would choose a size up for a second size.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 16, 2013
This was my first rental... I definitely will be back.

the free second size was a great feature. glad the review said order your second size smaller. One of my dresses was picked in the front. Not a huge deal but I was glad to have the other option.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 15, 2013
I couldn't wear this dress, I'm too 'hippy'

I was so disappointed, when I got this dress it didn't fit right, Luckily I returned it and got a credit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 184lbs
August 19, 2013
Beautiful, but if you have hips this is not gonna work out.

Gorgeous dress and well-made. Got it as a backup but didn't end up wearing it. I could barely fit it up my hips, and zipping it? Forget it. Too bad. I ended up wearing another dress. This dress would be a better fit for a straight and narrow body type, not an hourglass as falsely suggested!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 27, 2013
Cute dress, but not for me

I am normally a size 6 in Kate Spade, but the 8 in this dress was really tight in the mid-section and not wearable. If you're a fan of Kate Spade, you'll love this dress, but it's very fitted, so if that's not your thing you may want to pass on this one.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
November 1, 2014
It was a great dress but wrong size

I love how RTR works! Everything was perfect but not my size!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
January 20, 2014
Looks great in the picture

I reserved this dress for our family pictures, but when I received it, it didn't fit. It was too tight around the breast area. The dress was too long for my style. Great dress though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
May 17, 2014
Creates some super curves

Great dress overall. Good quality, but it's very tight in the upper torso, and requires a longer torso to make it look good. I had to wear spanx underneath to keep the slim look. It also rides up when you sit down and wrinkles easily. But, I got some amazing compliments and the camera seemed to love it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 9, 2014
Beautiful dress, no stretch, not good for fuller hips.

They couldn't send the size 10 because it came back damaged and that is the size that would have fit. the 8 almost fit but was too tight around my hips and butt.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
July 20, 2014
Got compliments all day long!

This dress was a bit tight on top due to my large bust size but otherwise very comfortable. I wore the size 8 and it was still a bit snug but not uncomfortable. Loved wearing this!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 6, 2014
Great for the back side, and ruffles are super sweet

ordered 10 and 12, 12 fit best. I couldn't get the 10 over my hips (~40 1/2 in), though I have tried on multiple K.S. dresses before and size 10 normally works for me. The dress isn't white and black as it looks. Its a little off-white and black. The belt comes with and is very easy to use and it stays pretty still. The dress did amazing things for my junk in the trunk, while still looking sweet and respectable. I did a 2 hr flight in it+walking around a city for ~5 hrs and it was very comfortable. Its not very forgiving for post baby pooches though. The ruffles on the bottom were very cumfy and move nicely when you walk. I would definitely buy this one!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 8, 2013
Great dress!

Was a little tight in the bottom but it worked out fine. Glad I got the second size!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
April 29, 2012
Tried something different

I rented this dress for a bridal shower and a christening. I rented a 2 and a 4. The 2 was snug in the chest but I could still zip it. The 4 fit great in the chest but was big in the hip. I felt it did not fit me right and I didn't end up wearing it. Also, the style was not for me but the quality of the dress was beautiful.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 20, 2012
Having a backup dress was perfect because my first choice did not fit.

I wore this dress for a wedding reception and got tons of compliments. I normally wear a 6 and it fit perfectly. The belt adds a great touch and it was very flattering to my figure. It was easy to sit, move and dance in. I would definitely recommend it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 17, 2012
My over-critical BFF who hated the dress when I showed it to him online was stunned. He said it fit like it was made for me.

I ordered an 8 and a 6 - they both fit. They seemed to fit me the same in my hips, but the 8 was a bit blousey on top. The 6 was definitely more fitted up top, so overall a better look. This dress is absolutely gorgeous - it's classic, comfortable to dance and sit in.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2012
Kate Spade Floral Dress

I was very happy with this dress. It looked exactly as the picture online and there were no surprises. It fit true to size and was very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this. A classic look.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
August 11, 2012
Wonderful classy dress!

I've rented this twice now and it's a wonderful classic piece to wear for a nice brunch, for a casual wedding or any time you want to look fabulous! I actually don't think it runs that large--it's large in the chest but pretty fitted in the waist and hips (or maybe that's just a sign I need to lose a few pounds!) This dress is very pretty and feminine. The fabric is also high quality and has a slight sheen to it in person. I actually don't think as much of the belt it comes with, to be honest (it's sort of a cheap plastic-y material, not up to the caliber of the dress). However, it's worth a rental for the dress itself, which is the most important part. Worth a look!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 15, 2012
Everyone just loved the dress. It fit perfect for the theme!

This dress was perfect for the bridal tea shower I hosted for my best friend!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 5, 2012
Fabulous

This dress was just fabulous - i wore it for a graduation party and got lot of compliments;)...very decent and very figure flattering

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 7, 2012
Family Wedding Reception

Wore this for a wedding reception and got many compliments. Very comfortable, actually, and fits very well. Loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2012
Love this dress

Great style, feel like wearing it all day. People loved it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 16, 2012
#classysexy

This dress fits so perfect, made me feel really pretty! Very form fitting! I ended up wearing the yellow Kate Spade swing dress but this was a strong runner up! I will most likely re-rent this one since I didnt get a chance to wear it! Nude shoes, red lips, who gonna stop me :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 11, 2012
Got so many compliments on this dress, and pointed everyone to RTR.

Fits totally true to size. The only mishap for me was the belts. I am an 8, so I got an 8 and a 10. Well, the belts were totally different styles for both sizes! The 8 belt was too big but the 10 belt fit better. But that 10 was the wrong style belt. SO, if they had sent the right belt, they both would have been too big. Long story short, I think I read another review that said order your size and then 1 size down so you can use that smaller belt. Totally agree with that. The dress was gorgeous AND comfortable. Loved it! Wish I owned it -- I'd wear it again. :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111lbs
November 14, 2012
Lovely cut, beautiful fit!

This dress was only available in a 0, so I was thinking it was going to be too small, but it fit perfectly! It was a bit tight in the rib cage, but nothing I couldn't handle. The belt was also too big for the dress, so it looked better without it, but overall it was really comfortable and I liked the material. However, the ruffle part on the bottom was wrinkled and needed to be steamed. I didn't have time for that and I had rented a second look (because I was afraid of the size issue), so I ended up wearing the other one, but I absolutely loved this dress and wished I had more time and another occasion to wear it to!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2012
II thought this dress would be a nice change of pace for my husband's company holiday dinner party.

This dress fit very comfortably. I wore it to an evening dinner party. I was very comfortable all evening. This dress is snug in the waist, but in a good way. It felt elegant. The belt did not fit my waist..so I tied a black sash around my waist. It worked very well. The best part is how much fun Rent the Runway is to use. They are amazing and very kind and easy to work with.

MarleenDecember 17, 2012
this dress looks great on you. I was looking @ this dress for an upcoming event in May. I was wondering if it was too "young" for me. We're in the same age range, so your posting immediately answered my question!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2012
Great dress for a holiday party.

This dress is a perfect combination of classic yet sexy. I rented the size 2 and size 4- the 2 was a little tight on me (34D) so I decided to wear the 4. Neither dress came with a belt so I took a trip to the mall and picked up a really cute bow belt. The dress actually has a sheen to it so it looks better in person. I wore some classic 5 inch pointy toe heels and the look was perfect.

See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×