Rent the Runway

kate spade new york

Aubrey Wrap Dress

$45 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look chic in this kate spade new york black ruffle wrap dress. Great for a dinner party or shopping weekend with your girlfriends. Pair with a fab pump and the Kate Spade's Cut to the Chase Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fuller busted women should consider sizing up as the top is very fitted
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection with closure and sash
HIPS: Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fuller busted women should consider sizing up as the top is very fitted
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection with closure and sash
HIPS: Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Heavier silk with subtle luster and lightly pebbled surface. Black silk(74% silk; 26% cotton;100% polyester lining). Wrap silhouette with ruffle trim and self tie. Interior snap closure. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

85 reviews

Fit
Small 10
True to Size 66
Large 9
Photos 15
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Dec 13, 2011

I came into NYC from out of town. I had the dress delivered to my in-laws house in the city. I love not having to travel with a dress. Its there and freshly pressed when I arrive. I felt so comfortable and very sophisticated.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for a holiday party at my in-laws. Felt very flattering but very conservative. The length runs to the knees. Also, I agree with a previous renter for a large bust. I wear a 34DD and had to leave the clip open so obviously I wore a black tank top underneath. It still looked very sophisticated. Also, the collar does not stand up. It lays very flat. But I loved it overall.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Apr 30, 2012

Classy, classy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love this Kate Spade dress. The quality and timeless elegance radiate! Other reviews mention this is tight in the bust, I would agree. I went a size up and it fit perfectly through the chest and due to the "wrap-dress" nature, the extra space in the hips was easily hidden.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 9, 2012

Once again, everyone loved the dress that I had on!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a family function. Its a simple black wrap dress with an adorable ruffle. I ordered the size 4 and the size 6 as a backup. There are three forces at work to keep this dress closed properly and this is where I hit a bit of a snag. First there is an oversized snap on the inside to initially secure the dress. On the outside is the tie ribbon and there are two hook and loop closures - one at the waist and one to cover cleavage. On the size 4 the threads that were supposed to be the loops in "hook and loop" were absent. On the size 6 the inside snap was defective and popped open every time you tried to snap it. After trying both dresses, I decided that the inside snap was more important than the hook and loops - as the tie ribbon basically kept the outside secure and the bust line was not that low. The dress looked great and was very comfortable. Once again every one loved my dress and couldn't believe that it was rented!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 11, 2012

It wasn't just a basic black dress for a wedding, it had the extra details that made it special!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had a baby 8 months ago, so this was a great dress to cover up the undesired post baby "areas". Very comfortable and was still able to chase after a 2 year old without having to worry about anything "hanging out".
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Feb 15, 2013

Beautiful LBD!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a Valentine's Day Benefit Concert and got a bunch of compliments on it! I love the hidden button and hooks so you don't have to depend just the ties holding it closed. The hem hit just above my knee, so it was the perfect length. If I were any bustier, though, I probably would have needed to wear a bandeau or tank underneath. Unlike the picture of the model, the ruffle around the neck doesn't stand up, but I think I like it better flat. Thanks for the beautiful dress, RTR!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 10, 2013

All I had to pack were shoes.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was so simple to have it delivered to work the day before the event. This dress looks great on the very thin model and looked less fitted at the waist on me. I usually wear a 6 or 8 depending on how fitted the dress is. I wore the size 8 in this dress, which was a hair big in the bust, but the inside snap on the 6 came undone no matter what, I chose to wear the 8. I loved having the yellow necklace with it to. Perfect outfit for the Gala.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 1, 2013

perfect LBD

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable, the wrap style really is flattering on all shapes.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 17, 2013

Perfect Dress for the Occasion!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Overall, the dress was beautiful. Very classic and elegant. I did have to have the dress pressed because the sash and ruffles were somewhat squashed. The 4 fit a bit tight in the bust, but the 6 (my usual size) arrived to me in pretty bad shape (which RTR compensated me for). Perfect for a dinner party at a nice restaurant.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 21, 2013

I loved this dress! It made me feel like a million bucks!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to preference night for formal sorority recruitment and got compliments on it from every house I visited. I felt so classy! The fit was perfect and was very flattering for any shape.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Sep 5, 2013

Loved the whole process!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit perfectly and the quality was so apparent - I've never worn such an expensive dress (aside from my own wedding dress). The dress arrived promptly and I loved the presentation - from the box it arrived in to the garment bag and the fun, relevant product samples... A+ RTR! I did have a minor issue with the smell of the dress .I e-mailed the staff and they responded the same day (on a holiday weekend none the less) and I was very satisfied. I can't wait to rent from RTR again (and I may even rent this same dress again because it was so comfortable!).
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 7, 2013

Really loved the dress, perfect for hourglass figures.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress I received was missing the second half of the clasp at the bust so I used a safety pin to keep it together.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 24, 2013

great dress! will rent again!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
What a great dress, a perfect flattering LBD! It was comfortable and I had it on for like 12 hours!! Actually got this dress to replace a dress that just didn't quite work, and I couldn't have been happier. They only had a 6 when I ordered it, so thats what I obviously went with, fit perfect! Inside snap wouldn't stay snapped, but that was easily remedied with a safety pin. Hook at the bust ensured everything looked perfect and dress laid beautifully! Great dress, will most certainty rent it again (would LOVE to own it!)!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 31, 2013

Loved This Dress!!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect! I ended up renting a little late and a size 8 was the only size available. Luckily I could tighten the waist strap and the dress fit perfectly! I honestly think that anyone can wear this wrap dress since it is so adjustable! I wish I could have kept this dress! It was a great dress to wear/accessorize for a wedding, but it would work for a cocktail party or even a night out!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Nov 9, 2013

Classy for College Reunion

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved the dress! It was comfortable, but classy. You got to love Kate Spade dresses!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Dec 12, 2013

Amazing dress-- so flattering!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was perfection! I loved the ruffles and got so many compliments! You can't go wrong with a Kate Spade LBD!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Dec 20, 2013

Weird fit- confusing how the wrap works.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Not impressed with the fit of the dress. does not work for me.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

Frilly, feminine LBD

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The frills are what made this dress both lovely and a unique take on the LBD. I loved the dress - my only complaint is that I couldn't get the neck to stand up at all (it really seemed like it should). Regardless, it looked great and made me feel awfully pretty on New Year's Eve.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 18, 2014

Beautiful and easy to wear EXCEPT...

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
What makes this dress so eye catching is the high ruffle neckline. Well I guess over time the dress is over laundered or the neckline was not treated correctly because it lays flat. And I mean FLAT. Very disappointing. So I ended up using fashion tape to tape it to my neck and with some finessing I got it to stand up. Still disappointing as this has never happened to me with any of my rentals. I only wore it to dinner and then changed. I was looking forward to wearing it all night.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 19, 2014

This dress was perfect: so elegant and so comfortable!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was a new, breastfeeding mom when I rented this dress. I hadn't felt "pretty" in about a year, having been pregnant and then feeling heavy after giving birth. Yet this dress was so elegant! The fabric was thick enough to give structure and rich enough to make the whole ensemble feel and seem high-end. As a bonus, the snap along the bust allowed me to breastfeed my son at the wedding without having to disrobe! This was the perfect dress. Everything from the wrap style that cinched my waste to the snap at the bust to the length to the ruffle was perfect. I would highly recommend this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

This dress is very accommodating for most body types and is adjustable to some degree.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I actually didn't wear the dress. I rented it for a college graduation and just did not like the way the ruffles were lying. One side was standing up and the other was just flat and would not cooperate and stand up. Great cute dress, it just was not "THE" dress for my occasion.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Feb 3, 2014

Elegant

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The quality of the material is superior. The dress is structured enough so that it falls perfectly all night and is great because you can dress it up or down. I wore it to a friend's cocktail-attire birthday party and then to a dive bar after and didn't feel too overdressed! The waist hit me a couple of inches above my natural waist making it a bit uncomfortable at the wait clasp, but I am tall (5'9"). I would order a size up for that reason.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

Loved this dress! Comfortable and flattering!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fit!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

Great Dress for a Wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a classy, comfortable dress that I found fits true to size. The ruffle details and tie waist make it a big forgiving, especially in the hips and stomach areas, which is nice. Unfortunately, the dress I received was missing one of the ties so I could not wear it to the event for which I had ordered it, but I think it would have been lovely had I been able to wear it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
May 8, 2014

Great dress that you can dress up or down.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable and easy to wear. Cut a little on the small side.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 8, 2014

Comfortable and classy

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Needed to be ruffled up but otherwise was great!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Jun 27, 2014

Great LBD

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great little black dress, perfect for the wedding I was attending. Could dress this one up or down depending on the occasion. As some others have mentioned, the ruffles aren't as defined as the picture and the collar does lay flat. Overall really comfy dress that was super flattering. I wore it two weeks after having a baby and got lots of compliments! I liked the style so much I just rented the same style in a different color!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 8, 2014

Funeral

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would have preferred to wear the size 6 however, the inner button wouldn't lock and a smaller clasp to keep it closed was missing. Over all I loved this dress and got many compliments on my appearance at my Grandfathers funeral. The dresses length was perfect! Slightly above the knee (I am 5'7") and the top covers cleavage nicely while the ties have the ability to show your figure a little.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

Big Busts Beware....

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I needed a black dress for a funeral, and since I had just had a baby none of mine fit - que RTR! Unfortunately, this was the only suitable and conservative dress available short notice in my size. I ordered a 12, and at the time I was on the larger size of a 12, however the dress still fit ok - it JUST fit -- everywhere but the chest. The metal snap on the chest area where the dress wraps over would not stay shut! I just couldn't get it to work...I ended up wearing a black wrap over the dress to cover my problem area. Note, I am 5'8", a 36DDD and at the time weighed around 197 pounds.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

Love Kate Dresses!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit is true to size but I ended up wearing the bigger size for comfort since I has two events to go to. The wrap was slimming, only con was that it did need to be iron or steamed before wearing! Great dress, rented another color for another event!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Aug 5, 2014

Versatile LBD

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This was a great dress that can be worn for lots of different occasions. Actually wore this twice during my rental: first for a dinner date with some dressier accessories and then again for a day at the office. Only complaint was that the material was starting to look a little tired, but overall felt this was a great rental!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

date night

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was a nice and classy for my date to the theatre. It might have ran a little small but the wrap made it work
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 13, 2014

I loved the simple style with a little flare!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit great, I am a large bust so it was a slightly snug but didn't have any malfunctions in the evening! I wore a peach colored shoe and necklace! Perfect :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Sep 4, 2014

Fit perfectly!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Super flattering dress. True to size. Great to dress up or down. I did have to safety pin the chest area- I felt a little exposed.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 131 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Having lost nearly 40 pounds, I was unsure of what size to rent. The 8 for with room to spare.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit well. Not for full bust. The lining was a bit longer than the dress, so I had to hold off a star. This was my first experience and have already recommended renting to everyone I know.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

It's a sophisticated, simple, elegant look.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The ruffles don't stand up as in the photo, so it doesn't look as dramatic on as it does in the image.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Nov 29, 2014

Comfortable and classic.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: This dress will fit almost any body type and has plenty of room at the hips and bust. It is classic and can be dressed up or down. It was very comfortable and the wrap was very well secured. Cons: Dress looked a little worn and the collar did not stay raised like on the model. It was a little long for a petite person as well. The dress runs on the large size. I would recommend ordering a size smaller than you normally wear. Overall I liked this dress and it was great for a conservative wedding. It is a safe but classic pick.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 3, 2014

Didn't wear this dress.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up not wearing this. Only my backup size was available and it looked like a bag on me! Plus the collar didn't stand up like the photos! I had asked my husband to buy starch before we drove up to dc for the wedding, but of course left it at home! So I ended up wearing my standby lbd. Too bad. Was excited for this one!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 139 lbs
Jan 11, 2015

This dress was a great selection would be perfect for a variety of events.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit great! Forgiving fabric and shape. I did use a safety pin at the chest it was a little low cut for me but easily fixed.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
Feb 18, 2015

Material isn't very high-quality/fancy. Would be a good dress for less formal occasions.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Not tight, very comfortable, material wrinkled easily.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 5, 2015

Flattering wrap dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was super cute and flattering. It runs SLIGHTLY large but being a wrap dress, it's easy to adjust to the perfect fit.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×