kate spade new york

Aubrey Wrap Dress

$45 rental
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look chic in this kate spade new york black ruffle wrap dress. Great for a dinner party or shopping weekend with your girlfriends. Pair with a fab pump and the Kate Spade's Cut to the Chase Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fuller busted women should consider sizing up as the top is very fitted
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection with closure and sash
HIPS: Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Heavier silk with subtle luster and lightly pebbled surface. Black silk(74% silk; 26% cotton;100% polyester lining). Wrap silhouette with ruffle trim and self tie. Interior snap closure. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
87 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(68)
Small
(10)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 21, 2013
cute dress, but arrived with a missing sash
This dress is gorgeous. If you read all of the reviews, you'll note that most people would agree. The number of reviews is a hint that this dress has been in circulation for a while, which is why I'm giving it one star. I ordered sizes 2 and 4. The 2 - my normal size - arrived with one of the sashes missing. Because I needed the dress the same night, I made the 4 work by tying its wrap style sashes a bit tighter. All was not lost but even the 4 was a little dingy. I am normally pleased with my RtR dresses, but I recommend checking with a stylist on the quality of this one before ordering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 10, 2013
All I had to pack were shoes.
It was so simple to have it delivered to work the day before the event. This dress looks great on the very thin model and looked less fitted at the waist on me. I usually wear a 6 or 8 depending on how fitted the dress is. I wore the size 8 in this dress, which was a hair big in the bust, but the inside snap on the 6 came undone no matter what, I chose to wear the 8. I loved having the yellow necklace with it to. Perfect outfit for the Gala.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 17, 2013
Perfect Dress for the Occasion!
Overall, the dress was beautiful. Very classic and elegant. I did have to have the dress pressed because the sash and ruffles were somewhat squashed. The 4 fit a bit tight in the bust, but the 6 (my usual size) arrived to me in pretty bad shape (which RTR compensated me for). Perfect for a dinner party at a nice restaurant.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
September 5, 2013
Loved the whole process!
The dress fit perfectly and the quality was so apparent - I've never worn such an expensive dress (aside from my own wedding dress). The dress arrived promptly and I loved the presentation - from the box it arrived in to the garment bag and the fun, relevant product samples... A+ RTR! I did have a minor issue with the smell of the dress .I e-mailed the staff and they responded the same day (on a holiday weekend none the less) and I was very satisfied. I can't wait to rent from RTR again (and I may even rent this same dress again because it was so comfortable!).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 7, 2013
Really loved the dress, perfect for hourglass figures.
The dress I received was missing the second half of the clasp at the bust so I used a safety pin to keep it together.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 24, 2013
great dress! will rent again!
What a great dress, a perfect flattering LBD! It was comfortable and I had it on for like 12 hours!! Actually got this dress to replace a dress that just didn't quite work, and I couldn't have been happier. They only had a 6 when I ordered it, so thats what I obviously went with, fit perfect! Inside snap wouldn't stay snapped, but that was easily remedied with a safety pin. Hook at the bust ensured everything looked perfect and dress laid beautifully! Great dress, will most certainty rent it again (would LOVE to own it!)!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 31, 2013
Loved This Dress!!!
This dress was perfect! I ended up renting a little late and a size 8 was the only size available. Luckily I could tighten the waist strap and the dress fit perfectly! I honestly think that anyone can wear this wrap dress since it is so adjustable! I wish I could have kept this dress! It was a great dress to wear/accessorize for a wedding, but it would work for a cocktail party or even a night out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
November 9, 2013
Classy for College Reunion
Loved the dress! It was comfortable, but classy. You got to love Kate Spade dresses!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
December 12, 2013
Amazing dress-- so flattering!
This dress was perfection! I loved the ruffles and got so many compliments! You can't go wrong with a Kate Spade LBD!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
July 1, 2013
perfect LBD
Very comfortable, the wrap style really is flattering on all shapes.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 8, 2014
Frilly, feminine LBD
The frills are what made this dress both lovely and a unique take on the LBD. I loved the dress - my only complaint is that I couldn't get the neck to stand up at all (it really seemed like it should). Regardless, it looked great and made me feel awfully pretty on New Year's Eve.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
January 18, 2014
Beautiful and easy to wear EXCEPT...
What makes this dress so eye catching is the high ruffle neckline. Well I guess over time the dress is over laundered or the neckline was not treated correctly because it lays flat. And I mean FLAT. Very disappointing. So I ended up using fashion tape to tape it to my neck and with some finessing I got it to stand up. Still disappointing as this has never happened to me with any of my rentals. I only wore it to dinner and then changed. I was looking forward to wearing it all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
January 19, 2014
This dress was perfect: so elegant and so comfortable!
I was a new, breastfeeding mom when I rented this dress. I hadn't felt "pretty" in about a year, having been pregnant and then feeling heavy after giving birth. Yet this dress was so elegant! The fabric was thick enough to give structure and rich enough to make the whole ensemble feel and seem high-end. As a bonus, the snap along the bust allowed me to breastfeed my son at the wedding without having to disrobe! This was the perfect dress. Everything from the wrap style that cinched my waste to the snap at the bust to the length to the ruffle was perfect. I would highly recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 27, 2014
This dress is very accommodating for most body types and is adjustable to some degree.
I actually didn't wear the dress. I rented it for a college graduation and just did not like the way the ruffles were lying. One side was standing up and the other was just flat and would not cooperate and stand up. Great cute dress, it just was not "THE" dress for my occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
February 3, 2014
Elegant
The quality of the material is superior. The dress is structured enough so that it falls perfectly all night and is great because you can dress it up or down. I wore it to a friend's cocktail-attire birthday party and then to a dive bar after and didn't feel too overdressed! The waist hit me a couple of inches above my natural waist making it a bit uncomfortable at the wait clasp, but I am tall (5'9"). I would order a size up for that reason.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 30, 2014
Great Dress for a Wedding
This is a classy, comfortable dress that I found fits true to size. The ruffle details and tie waist make it a big forgiving, especially in the hips and stomach areas, which is nice. Unfortunately, the dress I received was missing one of the ties so I could not wear it to the event for which I had ordered it, but I think it would have been lovely had I been able to wear it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 8, 2014
Great dress that you can dress up or down.
Very comfortable and easy to wear. Cut a little on the small side.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 8, 2014
Comfortable and classy
Needed to be ruffled up but otherwise was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 8, 2014
Funeral
I would have preferred to wear the size 6 however, the inner button wouldn't lock and a smaller clasp to keep it closed was missing. Over all I loved this dress and got many compliments on my appearance at my Grandfathers funeral. The dresses length was perfect! Slightly above the knee (I am 5'7") and the top covers cleavage nicely while the ties have the ability to show your figure a little.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
July 22, 2014
Big Busts Beware....
I needed a black dress for a funeral, and since I had just had a baby none of mine fit - que RTR! Unfortunately, this was the only suitable and conservative dress available short notice in my size. I ordered a 12, and at the time I was on the larger size of a 12, however the dress still fit ok - it JUST fit -- everywhere but the chest. The metal snap on the chest area where the dress wraps over would not stay shut! I just couldn't get it to work...I ended up wearing a black wrap over the dress to cover my problem area. Note, I am 5'8", a 36DDD and at the time weighed around 197 pounds.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
July 23, 2014
Love Kate Dresses!
The fit is true to size but I ended up wearing the bigger size for comfort since I has two events to go to. The wrap was slimming, only con was that it did need to be iron or steamed before wearing! Great dress, rented another color for another event!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
April 29, 2014
Loved this dress! Comfortable and flattering!
Great fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
August 5, 2014
Versatile LBD
This was a great dress that can be worn for lots of different occasions. Actually wore this twice during my rental: first for a dinner date with some dressier accessories and then again for a day at the office. Only complaint was that the material was starting to look a little tired, but overall felt this was a great rental!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
August 13, 2014
I loved the simple style with a little flare!
It fit great, I am a large bust so it was a slightly snug but didn't have any malfunctions in the evening! I wore a peach colored shoe and necklace! Perfect :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
September 4, 2014
Fit perfectly!
Super flattering dress. True to size. Great to dress up or down. I did have to safety pin the chest area- I felt a little exposed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 131lbs
October 6, 2014
Having lost nearly 40 pounds, I was unsure of what size to rent. The 8 for with room to spare.
Fit well. Not for full bust. The lining was a bit longer than the dress, so I had to hold off a star. This was my first experience and have already recommended renting to everyone I know.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142lbs
October 14, 2014
It's a sophisticated, simple, elegant look.
The ruffles don't stand up as in the photo, so it doesn't look as dramatic on as it does in the image.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
November 29, 2014
Comfortable and classic.
Pros: This dress will fit almost any body type and has plenty of room at the hips and bust. It is classic and can be dressed up or down. It was very comfortable and the wrap was very well secured. Cons: Dress looked a little worn and the collar did not stay raised like on the model. It was a little long for a petite person as well. The dress runs on the large size. I would recommend ordering a size smaller than you normally wear. Overall I liked this dress and it was great for a conservative wedding. It is a safe but classic pick.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 153lbs
December 3, 2014
Didn't wear this dress.
I ended up not wearing this. Only my backup size was available and it looked like a bag on me! Plus the collar didn't stand up like the photos! I had asked my husband to buy starch before we drove up to dc for the wedding, but of course left it at home! So I ended up wearing my standby lbd. Too bad. Was excited for this one!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
February 18, 2015
Material isn't very high-quality/fancy. Would be a good dress for less formal occasions.
Not tight, very comfortable, material wrinkled easily.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 5, 2015
Flattering wrap dress
This dress was super cute and flattering. It runs SLIGHTLY large but being a wrap dress, it's easy to adjust to the perfect fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 3, 2016
My baby's baptism
Loved it! Wanted something I could breastfeed in, but it wasn't as easy as it seems. Still, it was beautiful and flattering and perfect. Love Kate Spade.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 15, 2013
Beautiful LBD!
I wore this for a Valentine's Day Benefit Concert and got a bunch of compliments on it! I love the hidden button and hooks so you don't have to depend just the ties holding it closed. The hem hit just above my knee, so it was the perfect length. If I were any bustier, though, I probably would have needed to wear a bandeau or tank underneath. Unlike the picture of the model, the ruffle around the neck doesn't stand up, but I think I like it better flat. Thanks for the beautiful dress, RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 139lbs
January 11, 2015
This dress was a great selection would be perfect for a variety of events.
Fit great! Forgiving fabric and shape. I did use a safety pin at the chest it was a little low cut for me but easily fixed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
September 10, 2012
Love this dress
I wore this dress to a formal dinner and it was beautiful. I had tried this dress on in the Kate Spade store and fell in love. When I found this website and this dress on here I had to rent it. This dress is so comfortable and very flattering. RTR is a great site and will definitely be using again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 29, 2012
I loved this dress but unfortunately was unable to wear it. The top definitely runs small.
I rented this for a charity breakfast. Unfortunately when the dress came the size 4 was to small and came damaged. The lining was longer than the dress. i could have word a take top under it but there was no way to do anything about the lining. They substitutes my size up (6) because they were out of it, for it would have been perfect. I was really disappointed.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 15, 2012
PERFECT style for the event!
FIts very comfortably. Definitely A-line and only fitted through the waist. Flattering for those that are small waist & smaller bust with a little bigger hips. It's easy to add any colored sweater too to add some fun & flare!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
October 22, 2012
Ew.
Tried on both sizes to work for a wedding and found them both to be the opposite of flattering. The flap of the dress made me look pregnant and it just didn't have the wow factor that a solid little black dress usually gives ya. I didn't end up wearing this dress as even my husband said it did nothing for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
December 26, 2012
This dress was great for a fall wedding!
I dressed it up with some rustic orange pumps and gold jewelery to make the look complete!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 3, 2013
The dress was cute, classy, and perfect for a day-to-night dress!
I loved this Kate Spade dress! I wore the dress to work with a cocktail event right after. The dress was comfortable even wearing it for an entire day! The fabric was heavier than expected. Fit was pretty much true to size, I choose to order one size up like RTR mentioned for bigger bust. I was happy with the sizing and would order this dress again!
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×