Jay Godfrey

Iris Lace Sheath

$50 to buy
$325 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent this lady like lace sheath by Jay Godfrey. The perfect style for any fall or winter wedding. Pair with tights for those colder days of the year and a fab closed toe pump. For a little bling, rent the Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra if pulled down slightly
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips and length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Purple stretch crepe(95% polyester; 5% lycra). Crew neckline. V back. Lace trim detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
82 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(73)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 21, 2011
Love Love Love it! I'm 5'4" 130lbs and the size 4 fit perfect. It raining the night of the outdoor wedding so I had to keep my coat on most of the time but when I took it off, I got a ton of complements. I was planning on wearing heels like the picture but due to the cold ended up in a pair of flat black boots, not my ideal but it actually looked great with the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 26, 2011
prompt delivery, easy return
I am normally a size 2 but it was not available so I ordered a 0 and a 4. The 0 was way too tight and the 4 a little too loose, but the dress looked beautiful anyway and I was very happy to be wearing it to the wedding I attended. Color is beautiful and striking. The back is very nice too
StephanieApril 21, 2013
Thanks for taking a pic of the back!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
November 28, 2011
Perfect Semi formal Party Dres
I rented this dress for my ten year HS reunion and received so many complements on it. The length, fit, and style are prefect to potray a mix of elegance with sexiness. This dress would be perfect for any Semiformal event from the office to a party.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2012
So easy, so fast and so painless. RTR is such an amazing option for events. It takes the guesswork out of finding the perfect dress.
I wore this to a wedding the night before New Years Eve. Although it definitely hugs your body, it isn't overly revealing. It's classy, a beautiful color and has great lace detailing. One of my guy friends even said I was the "best dressed" of the evening! I highly recommend renting this.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
March 19, 2012
Perfect!
I wore this dress to my brothers engagement party that was coat and tie. It was perfect and I can't tell you how many compliments I received on the dress. The color is awesome and the lace detail is very dainty and elegant
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
April 10, 2012
Loved but a bit lose :/
It was a beautiful dress but I was not able to wear it since it was a bit too big. I ordered a size 8 and 10, which are my usual dress sizes and the 8 was lose around the waist and through the hips. I personally wanted it to be a little bit more fit. But I would definitely order it again, just a smaller size :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
April 19, 2012
Sexy and very short!
The color of this dress is gorgeous - vibrant purple with awesome black lace accents. It seemed a little more fall than spring when I looked at it online but in person it is a sexy dress for any season. This dress fit well in all areas except the length. The only problem is that it is very short. I am only 5'5" (longish legs, slightly short torso, but pretty much proportionate). From the picture and description I expected this dress to hit at midthigh. But it was actually much shorter than that. The suggestion of wearing this with leggings would be a great idea, but it's too warm out this week to pull off that look. Bummer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 23, 2012
Classic and comfortable!
Beautiful dress, and it's easy to dress up or down, depending on the occasion. It has some stretch, so if you're bustier or have hips, you'll be fine with your normal size. My only word of caution is to the tall girls with hips and/or a long torso. I felt that the proportions were a liiiiittle teeny bit off, as the bottom of the lace portion did not hit me at the hips, it hit a little above. The dress also rides up a bit, so I did find myself tugging it down a few times to keep the proportions (and my dignity) in tact . Other than that, I definitely recommend!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 16, 2012
Beautiful dress! Great fit!
Just rented this dress for a fundraiser event. Received so many compliments! Great fit and great color! I am 5'4 and the dress hit my knee. I acutally think it would have been cuter if it were a little shorter. I usually wear a size 6 so opted to also have the size 8 shipped. Size 6 was way too tight for my top (I wear a 36 DD) the size 8 was perfect! The fabric has a small percent of lycra which makes for a nice fit and very comfortable. I highly recommend renting this dress for any social event! Loved it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 14, 2012
Bridal Shower
LOVED IT!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
September 12, 2012
This made me feel great at my high school reunion!
I wore this dress with black tights and heels, and it looked great! Any tighter and I would have been uncomfortable, but I thought it was very flattering (with Spanx tights underneath to smooth things out), and I got a lot of compliments. The fabric is great because it doesn't wrinkle and it's a unique color. It's too bad you have to wear a low back bra with this, because if I hadn't been wearing the slimmer underneath, the belly strap on the bra would have been very obvious under this dress. Still, I felt confident and sexy, but still covered up and appropriate. For those with bigger breasts (like me), the black lace at the sides of the bodice gaps out a little so it looks different than on the model, but I thought it still looked good and not like a mistake. Would wear again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
Great dress for winter wedding!
I rented the 4 and the 2. I am usally a 4 but .the 2 fit perfectley! I wore this to a January wedding with black tights and black pumps. the detail in the back was so pretty, I recived many complimants..in fact later that night I was raving about it anytime someone asked me where i got it ,i said "rent the runway"..love them!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 25, 2012
Absolutely loved this dress!
The dress fit perfectly; the color and material were fabulous. I received so many compliments at the wedding!
JinaanNovember 2, 2012
did you wear a strapless bra?
MichelleNovember 5, 2012
I wore a regular bra, but you could wear a strapless bra as well
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 23, 2012
I wore this for my company Christmas party and it was great! Comfortable and really cute!
I loved the color and the lace detail. The material is stretchy, so it fit perfectly.
JinaanNovember 2, 2012
im about the same height as you and was wondering how long the dress was on you...thanks!
CameronNovember 5, 2012
It hit me above the knee by a couple to a few inches, so it was a great length for a work function party.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
November 1, 2012
Since I usually go for the LBD, this purple was a fun change! Loved it!
Runs a bit small in the chest are, so if you are bustier I would suggest ordering a size bigger for backup. Bottom ran a little loose. Overall, I really liked the dress and got a lot of compliments on it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 15, 2012
Perfect for a work event, or alumni function.
The high neck line made it apropriate for greeting the headmaster and older alumni, but the black lace accents added in some fun for dancing later!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 20, 2012
love the color and lace detail!
great dress for the rehearsal dinner I went to. the fabric is a little clingy and rode up a little because it clung to the tights I wore with the dress, but other than that everything was great. the lace detail at the waist does a great job of cinching things in, and the back is so pretty!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 21, 2012
Well-fitting, beautiful dress!
The lace detailing is gorgeous. The material is of high-quality and very comfortable. I was about 136 lbs when I rented this dress and the size fit well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 5, 2012
Love the lace!
This dress fit so well and is very well made. I love the lace detailing and the color is really much brighter in color than it is on screen. It pops and I got lots of compliments on the dress! I am short, so the dress came down a little longer on me than it did on the model. The dress SLIGHTLY runs large, so it was roomy through the hips. It was perfect for me, because I ate a lot of food at the party and didn't have to worry about a food baby! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 7, 2012
A good casual dress
This dress was beautiful, but it didn't fit my body type quite right. It felt a little loose in the midsection and shoulders. I think a size down would have worked much better. It was also a more casual dress than I expected. I paired it with black leggings, heels and a black leather jacket. I love the lace detail and the back of the dress is exquisite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
December 15, 2012
The service and reliability can't be beat!
Like other reviewers, I think the top is a little smaller than the bottom half of this dress. It would probably work well for more pear-shaped bodies ... I'm more straight up and down, so the fit wasn't ideal on me, but still worked. It is a pretty dress - wore it to an industry party (it's business enough to be worn in that setting, but fun enough for a holiday party). I wore it with sparkly emerald drop earrings, which I thought worked well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 18, 2012
Great fit!
This dress fit perfectly. I wore it for my little cousin's Sweet 16, and I think it was a good choice for the event. The lace is really pretty, and the dress is very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
December 30, 2012
Dress fit perfectly and received many compliments!
The dress ran true to size and fit like a glove. The color is true to the photo online. Overall, the dress was very comfortable.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 113lbs
January 14, 2013
Loved the dress!
Loved the dress! I planned to wear another one for my work Christmas party and this was the backup dress. So glad I paid for a backup because my original choice ran way too big! But glad I went with this one because I received a ton of compliments on this dress and would suggest it for any cocktail party event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 29, 2013
Beautiful dress for a work function
Purple and lacy back gives it enough punch to be different from an LBD, but still incredibly classy dress!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 10, 2013
Great for a winter wedding
I got a size 2 and it fit great. Very comfortable and the back is cute too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
March 5, 2013
I felt fantastic in this dress!!
This dress was amazing! I was first drawn to it because it's purple (my favorite color), in person the color is beautiful. Not to bright but still makes you stand out in a crowd. I loved the way it fit, was not too tight. I wore my normal size 2 and was so comfortable all night. Great dress for dancing the night away!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 7, 2013
This was my first RTR experience and I got compliments all night!
I rented this dress for a wedding in Chicago and it was perfect! The color is brighter than the it appears in photos, but is truly stunning. The dress is comfortable and has a bit of stretch so it was easy to dance all night. The back was not as low as I thought it would be - but I preferred that because no backless bra was needed. This was my first rental experience and it was a great success!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 27, 2013
Perfect pop of color with lace detail
I loved, loved this dress and it was perfect for a spring wedding! The dress ran a little tight for me in my normal size so had to wear the size up, but it fit comfortably. I also didn't have any issues with my bra showing in the back. The lace in the back was gorgeous and was the feature I loved showing off so I wore my hair up that evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
May 6, 2013
got lots of compliments in this dress and was super comfy!
Dress fit great and was very comfortable. The material was a lil stretchy so it gave room but the waistband was a bit snug, I have a little belly though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
May 15, 2013
Loved this dress! Next to the bride all eyes were on me!
The color of this dress was rich and gorgeous. I wore it to a January evening wedding and felt appropriate. The fabric was also very comfortable and forgiving. I received so many compliments from my husband and daughters which is especially nice since they see you every day.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
June 12, 2013
Gorgeous
I wore this dress for a Friday night spring wedding. Although conservative in the front, the back is a deep lace V and you are able to wear a normal bra with it. Lightweight and comfortable. Wish I owned it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 22, 2013
Great fit and looked awesome! Highly recommend it!
Very flattering. Although formfitting, the lace does a great job at making people who don't have model tummies look AMAZING!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 17, 2013
Great dress!
This dress fit great, and the lace detailing was very pretty and made the dress unique. My stomach is far from flat, so I wore spanx but the fabric made it more flattering than most sheath dresses.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
February 24, 2014
Classy and flattering!
This was the perfect dress for a winter wedding. The material is slightly stretchy and it cinched in the right places. It was very flattering and very easy to wear. I rented the 6 and 8 and wore the 6, if I had to do it again I would have gone down for my backup size. The color is bright and I got lots of compliments! I would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 30, 2014
Great color
This was my backup dress. I wore it to a date with my husband to see Book of Mormon. It wasn't as flattering as I had hoped because it was a little right across the chest on me. Would probably add a lot of shape to a straight body type though! I loved trying something different from my usual though. My friends all liked my original dress best but my husband had no complaints :)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 41
April 5, 2014
I did not wear the dress.
I'm short ,about 5' 2", and this dress wasn't exactly what I was looking for for the engagement party I planned to attend. I did not wear it. It looked more like a work dress on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 7, 2014
It was very classy and edgy!
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and I paired it with a long set of pearls. I am long waisted and I thought it might hit me in a weird place on my waist. I did have to adjust it a little during the evening between the bust and the waist as it wrinkled a little, but overall the dress was nice!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
April 10, 2014
Bold color
I loved the color and lace detail of this dress The cut was very flattering as well. I was not a huge fan of the fabric though, but that is more of a personal opinion. It is certainly something that is conservative enough to wear to a variety of functions.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 24, 2014
This dress fit perfectly and accentuates your shape so well. The color is stunning in photos!
Wore this to a casual winter wedding. Was a fabulous hit--so many compliments and the pictures looked amazing. I felt so confident in the dress and you can wear regualr undergarments with it.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×