Hervé Léger

Wishful Thinking Dress

$45 rental
$1590 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have the ultimate, figure flattering LBD at your finger tips ladies with this Herve Leger. Perfect for that date night where he'll fall in love and never look back! Add a little sparkle with kate spade new york's I Kissed a Frong Clutch to complete the look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XXS - L

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XXS - L

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch bandage. V neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

178 reviews

Fit
Small 42
True to Size 126
Large 4
Photos 105
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 28, 2014

Great fit!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Hugged in the right places and very comfortable. I love a dress I can walk around in all night without having to fix; this is that dress.
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 5, 2014

Sexy, yet professional

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a the Sports Emmy's, so I was surrounded by coworkers and other people in the industry. I wanted to look and feel great, but I didn't want to wear anything too sexy. This dress was the perfect balance between sexy and professional. It fit me perfectly and had a low neckline, but not too low that it looked out of place. Just remember, if you rent a Herve Leger dress, ALWAYS RENT A SIZE UP. I made this mistake once before, so renting the Small was perfect!
Nina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 5, 2014

Va va va Voom

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit like a glove, very comfortable, compliments all night!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 20, 2014

Sexy and slimming!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress looked tiny when I pulled it out, but fit beautifully! The zipper felt secure and the weight of the dress lets you know it's pricey. The cut is classic, but might be risqué on a woman with more chest. Length was great date night length. The arms were TIGHT even though the rest fit nicely. Nice LBT, nothing too flashy. Definitely needs accessories!
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 23, 2014

Great fit! I felt like this dress was made for me!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore for a mardi gras party at my son's school, then out for my birthday, so I wanted to look both sexy and classy & couldn't be happier with this dress choice! I was nervous after ordering JUST the XS because I read that these dresses run small, but it fit me perfectly. I loved the long-sleeves, they were not too tight and I didn't have any problems with extra material under the arms as other reviewers mentioned. I was able to wear a normal bra and not show too much cleavage. This was my first RTR experience and I can't wait to order again
Shannon
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 26, 2014

Girls trip to Vegas

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this dress! Fit beautifully! Gave me great cleavage. Arms were a little tight. Squeezes you in all the right places.
Christie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Fun prom night!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The small fit me great! The only slight downside was that the shoulders/neckline was quite wide, and my bra strap would occasionally show, but it wasn't a big deal.
Palmira
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 147 lbs
Mar 6, 2014

I wore it to my schools President's Ball, perfect simple black dress for any formal occasion.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
dress definitely showed off the bust area but other than that the fit was perfect! very tight dress that shows off all your curves.
Kates
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

Great basic black dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a charity fundraiser and loved it. It was a great "blank canvas" for me to accessorize in whatever way I wanted. I was very happy with it.
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

More stunning in person!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a bachelorette party and felt fabulous! Had to have a friend help zip me up, as it is skin-tight, but for the rest of the night, didn't have to worry about a thing...aside from accepting compliments. ;) (Accessorized with the Whiting & Davis Chrome Lattice Clutch)
purplemustard03
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 14, 2014

Perfect fit

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Everything stayed in place and it showed off all the right parts! Arms were a bit tight but otherwise great!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 15, 2014

I love that this dress sucked it all in,gave me hour glass figure, and didn't even need a bra!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Typical Herve fit, little snug in the arms, loved that didn't need to wear a bra with it and somehow it magically made my not so large chest look fab. Created curvy hourglass body look that I so do NOT have but wish for! #sexy #curvehugging #herve #glam #conservative
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 16, 2014

This is an absolute knockout of a dress! I received so many compliments at my company holiday party!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is a bandage dress, so it is meant to be worn snug. I would definitely suggest spanx, they just smooth everything out. Loved wearing this dress!!!
Megan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 19, 2014

Beautiful dress for an amazing charity event.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am a fitness model and the arms were a little tight on me personally, however everything else fit like a glove
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Mar 20, 2014

Great dress, but too big in the shoulders

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my first time renting an Herve and I really loved the feel of it - very sexy. However, I have fairly narrow shoulders and had to use double-sided tape to keep the sleeves from slipping off - which didn't really work so well with this fabric. Would definitely rent another Herve but caution girls with narrow shoulders from renting this.
Teresa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Mar 25, 2014

i felt like a model in this dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Nothing is every tight or sexy on me unless I get it taken in, hemmed, cut...this was not the case! It was perfect and I felt like a million bucks and not the( sometimes) frumpy mother of a three year old.
Janet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Mar 28, 2014

Everyone complimented my look, and it wasn't even my birthday party.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit was great. I didn't have to wear spans under and felt amazing in the dress all night. Arms were a bit tight at first but I didn't notice them after awhile.
Aimee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

Amazing! Classy and sexy dress. A must rent!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first Herve experience and I am a lifelong fan now. This dress is sleek, sophisticated and classy. I rented the XS and S and ended up going with the Small. It was super comfortable. The neckline is meant to sit slightly off your shoulders so the sleeves fell down quite a bit, but when they stayed, they looked great. I love this dress and may even rent it again!
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 8, 2014

Gorgeous and comfortable!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress for amazing. It was the perfect amount of sexy and it was extremely comfortable! I didn't want to take it off. I definitely think I'm going to rent it again. I'm usually a size 6 and I got a medium.
rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 9, 2014

This dress fit perfectly and by boyfriend loved it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It was sexy enough to turn the head, but conservative enough that I would feel comfortable wearing it for almost any occasion.
Liz
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Apr 12, 2014

Great fit in all the right places. Love Herve!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the small and xs but the small fit just right. This dress was so comfortable - I didn't get the magical cleavage effect I read about it other reviews but still very happy! Material is thick and expensive feeling - does all the sucking in for you :)
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 26, 2014

Hour glass with class!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress. Everything everyone says about is true. It is very tight, but it gives you a wonderful shape. The photos can make it seem simple, but you won't blend into the crowd with this dress. The sleeves did fall off my shoulders occasionally, but it was fine for most of the night. I loved the shape and quality of the dress.
patricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
May 4, 2014

Fabulous friends and an over the top celebration for my friend's birthday!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved how this dress seems to have extra support or have been designed to make me have no pooch in my tummy and uplift to my breasts. Didn't wear any bra and the dress provided enough support. No wonder it would be so expensive to purchase off the rack!
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 11, 2014

Sexy LBD

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Form fitting and very flattering. A must if you want to accentuate your cleavage. It is low cut in the front and even though the sleeves are meant to sit slightly off the shoulder, I found myself having to pull up the sleeves a few times throughout the night. Takes a little getting used to and it was my first HL dress but now I'm a Herve Leger fan for life! True to size, I'm 5'5" and 125lbs and ordered a S. Definitely recommend!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
May 20, 2014

Sexy dress, my boyfriend won't stop talking about it!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I was worried because only the size XS was available when I rented and I didn't know if the dress would fit. However it fit great and because the material is stretchy, it would probably work for someone a few pounds heavier or lighter than me. The dress material acts as a push up bra by itself, so I wouldn't recommend wearing any bra, especially a padded bra unless you are REALLY wanting to show some cleavage. Overall this was my favorite dress I have rented thus far. I'm looking for an excuse to rent it again!
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
May 25, 2014

This dress is a show stopper! I absolutely loved it and my husband couldn't keep his eyes off of me.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am very small chested but still wouldn't have been able to wear a bra with it. Either way it still kept the girls sitting up nicely! Very, very form fitting. Going to the bathroom was difficult at times because of the tight nature of the dress, so try to avoid drinking too much in it.
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 14, 2014

Dress was fierce even in June heat. Definitely accentuated all the good!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was super comfortable and sexy without being overly showy. The only issue was that as I walked around, the dress shifted up, getting big in the shoulders. A shoulder fell off once or twice, but it was an easy fix, just pulling everything down again. Overall, I was super impressed and would def rent again. My boyfriend LOVED it.
dressmepretty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jun 21, 2014

Great LBD!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first Herve and I was extremely nervous that it would be too tight. I'm not sure if its because its a popular rental but the dress was perfectly fitted. The fabric of this dress is heavier than expected, but not bulky! Did have a little issue with the neckline stretching out by the end of the night. Too much wedding dancing maybe?
Miranda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

This dress was PHENOMENAL. Sexy, elegant, classic LBD.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely love this dress, and if I had the money, I would FILL my closet with Herve Leger. This was my first Herve Leger rental, but it certainly won't be my last. The fit was perfect. I can say it was a little tough to get all of the way up my arms, but it made it there! I didn't need any shapewear as this dress is very forgiving. It accentuates all of the right places and minimizes the others. I received so many compliments after wearing this to an evening wedding. It was comfortable too and I danced the night away! LOVED it.
Tabetha
Age: 43
Sep 12, 2014

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this Herve Leger to see if I really wanted to purchase one or not. It's super form fitting, obviously, but not obscene or trashy. Very elegant and I got nothing but compliments on it all night long!
F10
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Oct 6, 2014

Sexy and chic

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a bar mitzvah that was "club" attire. I was not sure if it was country club attire or Club "dance club" attire. I turned out to be dance club attire and this dress was perfect. I feel like it could of fit either way with the right accessories. the sleeves were a little big and during the night the dress got more loose but I felt so sexy and chic in this outfit and it was an overall great fit!
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

As usual, the Herve is sexy and show stopping... But the dress is getting worn out.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Both my friends and I have rented Herve dresses from RTR many times and have never been disappointed... But I have to say that this must be one POPULAR dress because the bandage material is definitely starting to wear. It's slight, but something I felt like you could notice when standing close to me. Either way - as usual I felt like a stunner, the boyfriend LOVED it, and it photographs great. Can't stress the importance of getting a Small even though I wear a Medium in everything else. It's supposed to be that tight and hug your body ladies!
Janice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

Best. Dress. Ever.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love love love this dress. It is incredibly flattering, sexy, yet sophisticated. It pained me to return it. I wore an XS because that is all they had in stock, and while it fit and did not look too tight, there was no way I could have zipped it up without assistance from my husband. A small would have been perfect, but the dress was still comfortable. I was able to wear a normal bra with the dress. I can't wait to rent it again!
Tori
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

Great experience! Loved the dress. The directions as to how to return the dress made it so easy!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was a little tight but breathable. I wanted it tight to hold me in and it did just that! I have nothing but great things to say about my first Rent The Runway experience. The dress was beautiful and in brand new condition, I wish I could have kept it! Overall I would give RTR a 20 on a 10 scale. I do not know why anybody would not take advantage of this GREAT service! RTR made a very loyal customer out of me! I will definitely be using RTR in the near future.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Dec 20, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: M
Rented for: Party
The fit was absolutely perfect, great compliments all night. Will definitely rent from RTR again!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 9, 2015

Absolutely LOVED my first experience with RTR! Compliments all night about the look of the dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Had to get zipped into the dress but once it was, the fit was gorgeous! The shoulders definitely tend to slip off your shoulders but doesn't really detract from the look of the dress. I did wear a bra, although I think I could have gotten away without one, and just slipped my bra straps down off my shoulders so you still couldn't see them when the dress slipped off my shoulders. The small fit perfectly once I was all zipped in and I typically wear either a size two or four. The style is very slimming and holds you in great! Amazing first experience with this company, of many more to come!
Angela
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

I wore this dress for Valentines Day and it was amazing.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress holds everything where it should, it is sexy and very comfortable.
Ruby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112 lbs
Feb 20, 2015

Sexy without being over the top.

Size worn: XS
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress for valentines day and really enjoyed it. My boyfriend said it was his favorite dress I've rented !!! The dress runs small (especially in the arms), and was less stretchy than I expected, but once I was zipped in it was actually quite comfortable! And no shape wear required! I ended up hemming it up about 4 inches (3 "bandages") with fashion tape to make it a little sexier, but had it not been valentines day I probably would have worn it down. I was concerned because I'm pretty busty (32DD), but it contained everything reasonably well even without a bra! The one con to this dress is that if you sit for and extended period of time it starts making your backside pretty painful because of the amount of texture in the fabric. Over all I loved the dress, and plan on renting many more from this designer. If an occasion arises I would certainly rent this dress again!
Cory
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

Loved this

Size worn: XS
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress, although it was a little long for my petite frame. I ended up taping the hem of the dress, so the length hit just above my knee.
carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Mar 29, 2015

Love Herve

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really liked this dress. I would have given it a five but the fit was too big. It appeared to have been stretched out. The dress bunched up on the back because of the excess fabric. Normally and XS would not be too big on me, so I wouldn't size down on the herve dresses as they are normally very form fitting. Dress was just above the knee, so could be conservative enough for a formal affair if it fits right.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×