Hervé Léger

Wishful Thinking Dress

$557 to buy
$1,590 retail
Stylist Notes

Have the ultimate, figure flattering LBD at your finger tips ladies with this Herve Leger. Perfect for that date night where he'll fall in love and never look back! Add a little sparkle with kate spade new york's I Kissed a Frong Clutch to complete the look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XXS - L

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black stretch bandage. V neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
194 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(137)
Small
(42)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
June 26, 2016
Fit like a glove! Gorgeous dress.

Lots of compliments. Felt confident !

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 167lbs
December 20, 2014
Great dress!

The fit was absolutely perfect, great compliments all night. Will definitely rent from RTR again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 20, 2015
Ouch!

Ran SO SMALL. Left marks on my arms at each "bandage", completely uncomfortable. Had I gone two sizes up, maybe it would have worked. Definitely sucks you in, but the seams alllll the way down the dress were not so pleasant.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 24, 2015
Hugged me in all the right places

I wish I had a full picture of me... This dress hugged me right without feeling tight anywhere. It was very flattering and accentuated my curves. It was a little longer than I wanted but that's probably because I'm so short...

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 20, 2015
Sexy without being over the top.

I wore this dress for valentines day and really enjoyed it. My boyfriend said it was his favorite dress I've rented !!! The dress runs small (especially in the arms), and was less stretchy than I expected, but once I was zipped in it was actually quite comfortable! And no shape wear required! I ended up hemming it up about 4 inches (3 "bandages") with fashion tape to make it a little sexier, but had it not been valentines day I probably would have worn it down. I was concerned because I'm pretty busty (32DD), but it contained everything reasonably well even without a bra! The one con to this dress is that if you sit for and extended period of time it starts making your backside pretty painful because of the amount of texture in the fabric. Over all I loved the dress, and plan on renting many more from this designer. If an occasion arises I would certainly rent this dress again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 1, 2015
Sexy and classy

I wore this for my boyfriend's fraternity banquet. Comfortable and gorgeous dress. It is absolutely breathtaking and flattering--got compliments during the whole event.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
June 28, 2015
Quick shipping, great experience in dress, and easy method for return.

Great evening dress. Amazing fit. Great cleavage and def gives a boost of enhancement in all the right places! Recommend wearing shape wear underneath for smoothness.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
March 10, 2016
Amazing dress!

Perfect fit, & very comfortable. Simple, sexy, but classy.

Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
March 17, 2015
Loved this

Loved this dress, although it was a little long for my petite frame. I ended up taping the hem of the dress, so the length hit just above my knee.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 65
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
August 23, 2015
Great black dress

This was my option 2 dress and because my option 1 worked perfectly for my black tie event, I ended up wearing this one out with the girls the night before. Fit perfect except the shoulders kept falling off... I probably should have taped it or something but I have a really small frame and my shoulders are super narrow. Looked great though and got compliments.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 6, 2014
Such a flattering dress

This dress fit like a glove and the seams and fabric pattern really worked to accentuate my figure. The slightly off the shoulder neckline was seductive yet classy making this a real show stopping lbd. However, I wasn't able to wear the dress because I was unable to go to the original event I rented the dress for, and it was too dressy to wear for the more casual get together I ended up going to that weekend. Regardless, I would rent this dress again, I honestly wish I didn't have to send it back!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 17, 2012
Great dress - too big

Great little black dress, just too much dress for a small frame.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 5, 2014
I wanted to keep this one - so sexy!

This is an absolutely stunning dress. I was a little worried about the size - I would usually wear a medium, but got a small as backup after reading other reviews. I was so happy that I did because the small fit perfectly! This is definitely a sexy look, especially for larger busts (like mine). I felt really comfortable all night and didn't have to worry about wearing Spanx. This dress held everything in the right place! I can't wait to rent it again!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
March 29, 2015
Love Herve

I really liked this dress. I would have given it a five but the fit was too big. It appeared to have been stretched out. The dress bunched up on the back because of the excess fabric. Normally and XS would not be too big on me, so I wouldn't size down on the herve dresses as they are normally very form fitting. Dress was just above the knee, so could be conservative enough for a formal affair if it fits right.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 20, 2012
perfect for any formal occasion

perfect fit. always go a size down in herve because it should fit tight.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133lbs
August 1, 2012
Great fit

Wore to an evening wedding in San Francisco. I wanted a longer dress with sleeves but tight- so this was it. It went right to the top of me knee because I am 5'2" with hips. The small was too small in the arms and snug in the hips so I went for comfort with the medium. I was able to dance all night. If you want to do more than stand/sit and you're in between sizes, order up with your backup.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 15, 2012
Chic and sexy

I would rent this again. Next time will rent small as the xs was just too tight and s wasn't available that time.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 1, 2012
So form fitting and flattering, sadly I did not get to wear it :(

This dress was absolutely amazing, super form fitting, but super flattering... I ordered the medium and the small, and I know this is supposed to be body hugging, but I think I might have been just a wee bit more comfortable in the large. I have larger arms so it felt pretty tight there. I sadly didn't wear this for my date because it was just a little too va-va-voom for the location. I cannot wait for an event where I can wear this because it's on the top of my list of dresses to wear!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XXS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
October 14, 2012
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it runs very small but its still gorgeous.

Good thing I ordered two dresses because this was too small. I ordered size xxs and should have ordered an xs or small. The other herve dress I ordered was an xs and that fit perfectly.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
October 17, 2012
Amazing! Love how this dress felt on.

I would definitely rent this one again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 29, 2012
Runs small.. so if you have sexy curves go 1 size up ladies.

Runs small, if you have an hourglass figure go 1 size up. I rented the medium and the sleeves were to snugg. However this piece is absolutely spectacular. I wish the large would have been available for my event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
December 12, 2012
Looking and feeling like a celebrity!

I loved this dress. Gorgeous, form fitting... I felt like a sexy million bucks! I would recommend sizing up tho. I'm petite, some people say I'm tiny... and so I have a really hard time finding stuff to fit me but this dress FIT. It was a little like getting into my wetsuit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 1, 2013
AWESOME DRESS!

I have nothing bad to say about any Herve Leger dress, this one is no different. I rented this dress for NYE with my husband and it was just awesome. It was a chilly night out so I paired it with some thick tights and platform pumps and it was perfect! It fit me like a glove, hit my curves in all the right places! LOVE! Highly recommend!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 2, 2013
Beautiful dress; too small even though I ordered the largest size (a medium). Please get a Large!

I was extremely excited for this dress. I had to order a medium because that was the largest size available but after I saw some of the pictures I felt that would be okay, tight but okay. When I got it (the day before NYE) the dress was beautiful but waaay too tight; so much so that I couldnt zip it all the way up and had to return it. I think RTR should order a large!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 7, 2013
Beautiful dress runs small

I selected this dress as an alternate to my original pick. I tried on but not comfortable for 2reasons. 1. Runs small. 2. More streamlined for younger generation. My daughter tied on the dress and it was gorgeous on her.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 21, 2013
Bringing SEXY back!

Super form fitting and flattering! This dress runs true to size but I went up a size for comfort. The quality is superb, nothing less than what you would expect from a designer dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 8, 2013
Hugs in all the right places.

Loved this dress! I normally wear an XS.. so I rented the XS and SM. I couldn't even get the XS on - so it definitely runs small. Super sexy and yet still very classy. Will definitely rent it again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 18, 2013
Did not wear. was too small

THe sleeves are VERY tight as well as the waste. The lenth is to the knee as well. My chest area fit well without a bra.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
March 28, 2013
Killer Black Dress!!

You cannot go wrong with a Herve dress. It make me look like I had a rockin bod! I received so many compliments. I would size up cause the arms were a little tight.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 1, 2013
Hot! Hot! Hot!

This dress is A-MAH-ZING!! It looks super hot and it is very, very, fitted so it holds everything in place and is extremely flattering. it does run a bit small, so be prepared to do some creative movements while trying to get it on! It is very comfortable and easy to move in but a little constricting if you're not used to very tightly fitted clothing. If you've got a hot date, bachelorette party, or girls night out to attend, pick this one!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
May 28, 2013
Great dress. Too small :-(

Love these dresses. Unfortunately I needed a larger size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
August 24, 2013
Sexy dress!

Sexy dress and surprisingly flattering. I typically wear a size 4, and the M fit perfect. Sexy but it still looks pretty classy. It is also very comfy which you wouldn't think.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
August 28, 2013
I love this dress

This is the second time I have rented this dress and I love it. I tried to have Rent the Runway send me another dress in the same size in case there was a flaw with the first dress by writing in the notes my request, but they only send a second in a different size. It would have been nice to have a second as the one they sent had been stretched out on the left side for some reason and it kept falling off my shoulder in the night but even with that, I love this dress. I have very little chest and this is the only dress I have found that makes it look like I don’t! If this dress ever goes on sale I would buy it in a heartbeat. Heavier dress, good for most seasons except really hot summer events in 90 degree weather. I am a size 4 and always get a medium in Herve dresses.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
February 7, 2014
Incredibly Small

I usually wear a size 0/XS/S. I ordered this dress in an XS. It came out of the bag looking incredibly small and it never seemed to stretch out. I was able to get it on but I would have been holding my breath all night. This dress just wasn't for me.

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 17, 2014
This dress is perfection. If you want a confidence boost, choose this dress! Flattering & classic.

As it is a Herve Leger dress, it is supposed to be tight. I went with the xs and was really happy with it. The arms fit tightly, so be aware of that when deciding on the size. I agree with the suggestion to get two sizes in this dress - one in the size you usually get and one a size up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 17, 2014
It's a jawdropper!

Rent this dress! It's sleek and classy enough not to seem too attention-grabbing, which makes the fit all the more stunning. I have fairly thin arms and the sleeves were super tight, but still worth it. The shoulders do tend to slip off, so go with a strapless bra.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
March 15, 2014
I love that this dress sucked it all in,gave me hour glass figure, and didn't even need a bra!

Typical Herve fit, little snug in the arms, loved that didn't need to wear a bra with it and somehow it magically made my not so large chest look fab. Created curvy hourglass body look that I so do NOT have but wish for! #sexy #curvehugging #herve #glam #conservative

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 23, 2014
Very Slim Fitting

This dress is very tight and really sucks you in. Unfortunately the M was just a little tight on me. The size L would've been perfect.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 3, 2014
color

Top was too tight... Rest of the dress fit great.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 11, 2014
Size Up!

I was so excited for this sexy little number to arrive but unfortunately it did not fit. I have worn Herve Leger before and the medium fit me like a glove. However, I would have definitely rented the large as my back-up size if it had been available. Rent the Runway was fantastic about overnighting me 2 dresses for my weekend event- that is what I most appreciate about this website.

See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×