Hervé Léger

Wishful Thinking Dress

$557 to buy
$1,590 retail
Stylist Notes

Have the ultimate, figure flattering LBD at your finger tips ladies with this Herve Leger. Perfect for that date night where he'll fall in love and never look back! Add a little sparkle with kate spade new york's I Kissed a Frong Clutch to complete the look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XXS - L

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black stretch bandage. V neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
194 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(137)
Small
(42)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 11, 2013
The minute I walked into the party, I knew all my time at the gym and eating right finally paid off.
I don't remember the last time I felt so great in a dress. It's so sexy without being risque. I really loved this dress so much I almost called RTR to tell them I had lost it so I could just keep it. The fit is amazing and true to size (I'm usually a 4 on top and a 6 on the bottom). It wasn't too short though I did occasionally pull it down after standing up. I tried it on with a pushup bra at first but it was way too much cleavage for me and I would've had to use tape to keep the bra and the straps from peeking out all the time. I actually ended up not wearing one at all because it held me in perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 17, 2013
A great LBD!
Fits true to size for Herve. I loved the sleeve for a cool night out. Easy to accesorize and I love when I can wear a good bra under a dress. The length was mid thigh and the deep V front and back are a nice touch. Herve always makes you feel incredibly beautiful and heads turn all night long!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 18, 2013
Did not wear. was too small
THe sleeves are VERY tight as well as the waste. The lenth is to the knee as well. My chest area fit well without a bra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 6, 2013
Sexy dress for Vegas!
I got the M as well, which fit okay, but found that the dress acted more like Spanx in the S, so I went with that one. The only issue with the fit of the S was that it definitely was tight in the chest, but I have a 34E-sized chest, so I'd imagine that girls who aren't super busty would fit great in it. Super-bonus: it made me look like I actually had something of a behind, which I totally don't!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 4, 2013
Fun Bar Mitzvah in Maine!
The dress looked beautiful. It was very form fitting, but flattering. The picture is of me in my Herve Ledger and a friend at the party in Nicole Miller. We didn't know either one of us was renting! I think they both look great. I would rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 5, 2013
My husband's reaction to me in the dress...great cold night, date night dress!
Overall, I liked the dress though I had hoped for something with some more pop of color, this dress seemed to be the best for the time of year and what we were doing based on availability. I jazzed it up with some colored leggings and jacket. I finished it off for a cold evening out with some black boots and black infinity scarf. The one thing I did not like about this dress is that the piece of material that sits on the top of your shoulder before it transitions to the arm seemed small. I was sort of worried about it falling off my shoulder. I think it ended up being fine with the back clasp and tension from the zipper but not sure how it would do for a night of dancing. I also rented the Emerald Nouveau Drops which were recommended for finishing off the dress but chose some other jewelry I already had instead to complete the look. The earrings were pretty but just didn't work with my final outfit and other jewelry picks. Pros: Thick material, helps give you a nice shape and kept me warmer on a colder evening Cons: Slightly longer than I would like being shorter in stature but not terrible and this wouldn't limit me from getting another Herve
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
March 28, 2013
Killer Black Dress!!
You cannot go wrong with a Herve dress. It make me look like I had a rockin bod! I received so many compliments. I would size up cause the arms were a little tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 1, 2013
Hot! Hot! Hot!
This dress is A-MAH-ZING!! It looks super hot and it is very, very, fitted so it holds everything in place and is extremely flattering. it does run a bit small, so be prepared to do some creative movements while trying to get it on! It is very comfortable and easy to move in but a little constricting if you're not used to very tightly fitted clothing. If you've got a hot date, bachelorette party, or girls night out to attend, pick this one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
April 9, 2013
I received many compliments on this dress.
Dress was fantastic!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2013
This dress is Everything!!!
Perfect fit. No bra needed ladies. This dress holds everything in place and hugs the body just right. From the moment we walked in, the compliments started and the heads turned. As soon as I tried it on, I knew it was a winner. The small fit nicely as well, but I just felt a little more comfortable in the medium because it gave me a little more flexibility in the arms. I have broad shoulders. It was a long night and I felt comfortable in this dress the entire time. This dress will not disappoint. It was perfect for the occasion. I paired it with black stilettos, platinum & diamond accessories and a black clutch with a touch of sparkle in it. I kept it simple and classic. You don’t need much to enhance your overall look with this dress. The dress is a stunner on its own. Thank you again RTR...you never disappoint.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 12, 2013
I never thought a dress could make me feel this confident :)
The dress is incredibly well crafted. The material has just the right amount of elasticity to help you slide it on & it has just enough structure to hug your silhouette in all of the right places. The sleeves make it conservative and suitable for many occasions (from a formal wedding to a night out on the town with friends) depending on how your accessorize it. I loved this dress so much I can't wait to rent another Herve piece :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
May 27, 2013
Sexiest baby bucket on the dance floor!!
Fabulous, sexy fit. The pro is that I fit in a size small. Didn't need the medium. The skirt was not hiked up and was the appropriate length. The con was the sleeve. The dress kept falling down off of my shoulders all night. I loved the dress so much, but hiking it up over my shoulders all night was so tedious! Wonder if that's how it is? Or is it such a popular rental that it is stretched out? I wish i could but this dress to OWN it. It is THE best little black dress hands down. So many compliments; Bumped into my daughters 2nd grade teacher who wouldn't stop complimenting me. Felt great in it! Just because I have two kids (9 & 7) doesn't mean i can't rock a sexy dress or two!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 28, 2013
Awesome dress!!!
Well fitting, comfortable and versatile.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
May 28, 2013
Great dress. Too small :-(
Love these dresses. Unfortunately I needed a larger size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 31, 2013
CLEAVAGE. Enough said.
Being a runner/lacrosse player for over 10 years has caused me to be... how can I say this?... less endowed on top than I am on the bottom. When my friend Lauren asked me to be in her wedding, I immediately started thinking about her bachelorette party and the dress I would wear. I was looking for something sexy, comfortable for a night of dancing, and flattering. I had always wanted to wear Hervé but never had the occasion to do so... until Lauren's bach! This dress fit like an absolute GLOVE. Had I chosen an L (I went with M... figured a bandage dress would be forgiving if tight... a backup size was not available), it would have been too tight in the waist/stomach area. I wore a pushup bra with it... the photo should tell you the rest. What I liked the most about it was that it showed off just the right amount of skin. It came about half-way down my thigh and had sleeves that ended just below the elbow. RENT RENT RENT!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 13, 2013
LOVED IT. It fit me perfectly.
I'm a very skinny girl, and it is very difficult for me to find dresses that can not only fit me, but look nice on me as well. It hugged all the right places, AND gave me some CLEAVAGE. I'm really happy with this choice!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 1, 2013
Post Baby Perfection
I knew I wouldn't be 100% where I needed to be before this wedding, but the dress hugged all the right places. It was a little loose in the armpit area, but not noticeable on me. Love this site!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
August 23, 2013
Herve Leger Makes the Event!
This dress has a wow factor that you cannot get from any other body-con dress. Herve Leger does it right.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
August 24, 2013
Sexy dress!
Sexy dress and surprisingly flattering. I typically wear a size 4, and the M fit perfect. Sexy but it still looks pretty classy. It is also very comfy which you wouldn't think.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
August 28, 2013
I love this dress
This is the second time I have rented this dress and I love it. I tried to have Rent the Runway send me another dress in the same size in case there was a flaw with the first dress by writing in the notes my request, but they only send a second in a different size. It would have been nice to have a second as the one they sent had been stretched out on the left side for some reason and it kept falling off my shoulder in the night but even with that, I love this dress. I have very little chest and this is the only dress I have found that makes it look like I don’t! If this dress ever goes on sale I would buy it in a heartbeat. Heavier dress, good for most seasons except really hot summer events in 90 degree weather. I am a size 4 and always get a medium in Herve dresses.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 22, 2013
Rented this dress to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Perfect dress for the occasion!
This dress fit perfectly. I didn't have to wear a bra, as the "bandage" effect the dress has holds everything in place. I felt incredibly sexy in it and my husband could not stop staring. If this dress ever goes on sale, my husband would be first in line to get it! If you're hesitating about this dress, DON'T! You will love it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
October 20, 2013
This dress does amazing things to a woman's body.
I wore a size small and it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 24, 2013
Loved this dress!!!
but chose my other option because it was too low cut for the dinner we were attending. I will definitely rent for a night out though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 20, 2013
LOVED It!
Fit great, really flattering
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 27, 2013
What you see is what you get.
The Herve is the Herve. I rented for a formal/black tie optional event but didn't end up wearing because it seemed a bit too sexy/casual. Still, it looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 29, 2013
Perfect LBD!!
Another great Herve Leger rental! This was my second time renting this designer and it was the perfect choice. Like all of the other body-con dresses, this dress really accentuates your curves! Perfect length and showed off the right amount of skin. The only thing was the sleeves were a little tight and I did have to adjust the shoulders every now and then to keep them from sliding down. I would definitely rent this dress again! Also RTR customer service was amazing as always! Katie E. was so a kind and a huge help!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
December 5, 2013
Elegant, timeless, yet current and very comfortable!
About Me: 36D, 25 inch waist and 5'7" tall. The Dress: Simple black dress and easily accessorized. The Fit: Fits exactly as size guide suggests. The length was perfect and it did not ride up. Concern: My only caution is that the shoulders do "slip off" as they are meant to wear similar to that of a graduation gown. Very pleased with everything about this service and wish that I had discovered it sooner! Overall: A++. Highly recommend!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100lbs
December 10, 2013
Not the best Herve Leger but still great
There were way too much fabric under my arm to be comfortable and it showed. Did not wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
June 22, 2013
Very classic dress and felt comfortable all evening
Chose not to wear a bra to make it a little less "Jessica Rabbit", but would be fine on a smaller busted female with one. Perfect lbd!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 20, 2013
Ok
Very form fitting like normal for a Herve but the sleve for the arms super small and very low cut not like shown in the picture- make chest look all smushed together
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 22, 2013
I looked BANGIN!
fit nice and tight! Loved it! Would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2014
Very flattering dress, great for parties!
I loved this dress! It's tight, but it flatters your curves. It definitely shows a lot of cleavage if you have a larger chest, but the longer length and sleeves keeps it from looking trashy. All in all, it's flattering black dress that's great for pairing with fun jewelry! My only complaint is that the medium I got seemed slightly worn/stretched out. The small seemed tighter/newer, and fit better for the most part... but the chest was way too tight so I stuck with the medium. Overall, I'm was really happy with the dress, and I was surprised by how comfortable it was to wear!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 8, 2014
Bombshell!
This dress holds everything together. Fits perfectly. A little on the sexy side for me, be prepared to show some cleavage in this!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 28, 2014
Great fit!
Hugged in the right places and very comfortable. I love a dress I can walk around in all night without having to fix; this is that dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
February 5, 2014
Va va va Voom
This dress fit like a glove, very comfortable, compliments all night!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 6, 2014
I wore this to my high school reunion and it looked fantastic. I got compliments all night!
This definitely worked with my curves. It was actually really comfortable all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
February 7, 2014
Incredibly Small
I usually wear a size 0/XS/S. I ordered this dress in an XS. It came out of the bag looking incredibly small and it never seemed to stretch out. I was able to get it on but I would have been holding my breath all night. This dress just wasn't for me.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 17, 2014
This dress is perfection. If you want a confidence boost, choose this dress! Flattering & classic.
As it is a Herve Leger dress, it is supposed to be tight. I went with the xs and was really happy with it. The arms fit tightly, so be aware of that when deciding on the size. I agree with the suggestion to get two sizes in this dress - one in the size you usually get and one a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 17, 2014
It's a jawdropper!
Rent this dress! It's sleek and classy enough not to seem too attention-grabbing, which makes the fit all the more stunning. I have fairly thin arms and the sleeves were super tight, but still worth it. The shoulders do tend to slip off, so go with a strapless bra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
February 18, 2014
Fun and Sexy
Loved this sexy look. The v- neck with long sleeves was perfect for a december wedding. Definitely a bandage fit look. Had a great time in this dress.
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×