Hervé Léger

Whiplash of Color Dress

$50 rental
$1,015 retail
Stylist Notes

Take down numbers and strut your stuff in this Herve Leger bold bandage dress. You won't want to return this figure flattering style!

Also available in purple.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XXS,XS,S,M,L. Size XXS=00; XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up; Should be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Color block stretch bandage. Strapless neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
212 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(131)
Small
(38)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 7, 2017
Perfect 21st Birthday Party Dress!

True to fit and thick enough to smooth all my problem areas!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
May 11, 2015
Not secure up top for smaller busted women

This was my other Herve Leger option and I decided to go with another dress. Both were size small but the top part of the dress was too stretched out. I would have to keep fidgeting with it if I wore it. The other Herve Leger was more of a show stopper. I'm 5'2" petite athletic build 114lbs small 34B.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
November 8, 2015
Great dress, fun night!!

I liked this dress a lot! The colors were very pretty, and it stood out without being too flashy or bright. I wore the XS, and I think I might have been happier with the XXS, but I ordered a S as my backup instead. It was longer than I expected so I tucked the bottom up and used some fashion tape and it looked fine! The dress was also loose between my chest and hips, which was weird but didn't bother me too much. Probably just stretched out from previous wear. The loose area made the bottom of the zipper bunch up and pop out right above my butt, so I kept pulling the dress up and down to get rid of that. Overall, I would recommend this dress, but keep in mind that it can be longish if you're short, and loose if you are very tiny!!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 13, 2014
Great dress for a night out!

I wore this to a party for a company function. Everyone loved it, however it felt a little big on the top, and I had to keep pulling it up. It is to be expected with a strapless dress though. Otherwise it fit like a glove. It could have just been that it was stretched out from previous people.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2016
This dress was so cute but way too tight.

This dress is amazing, but it was tight on me and I would love to get it in a large!

Size worn:
XXS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Age: 38
March 28, 2017
The dress was stunning and I got tons of compliments about it!

The dress runs small. I am 4'11 and 94 lbs. The XXS was tight and the top of the dress does tend to slide if you are not large busted, which I am not. The XS would have fit also but it was slightly looser then I preferred. Overall, great dress and easy to wear!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XXS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
December 6, 2012
Colorful and FUN

if you have big hips this dress is NOT for you. the green lines down the sides arent very flattering either but i LOVE the bandage. super tight on the bust but great for a night out!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
January 28, 2013
Sexy and chic!

Ran a little smaller than other HL dresses I have rented. Colors were vibrant and fabulous!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
July 12, 2013
Dress is super hot & sexy!

The dress was very tight fitting, so I probably could have gotten the large. However, it is very stretchy. So even though it was a tight fit, I wasn't uncomfortable. The colors are really vivid!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 19, 2013
I wore my back up dress instead, but my sister did

I rented this dress for a girl's bachelorette weekend. I knew it'd be a tight dress, I ordered both M & L but didn't like the fit of either enough to wear for a night out in DC. It was perfect for my sister however. Here is a picture of both of us wearing a medium.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
July 29, 2013
Sexy dress!

Sadly this dress was not flattering at all on my body so I chose not to wear it and wore my back up dress instead. The material is thick and the colors are beautiful, it just didn't look good on me. :(

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
August 5, 2013
Hot!

My first Herve Leger rental, and I loved it! I rented the Medium with the Large as a backup, and I had to go with the Large. I agree with the other reviews that the material of the dress does sort of act like spanx on it's own, but I also watched what I ate and drank lots of water before wearing it to make sure I was slim enough in the middle and still needed one size up from my normal size. Wore it out for a night in Vegas with the girls, and I felt really sexy in it. Deduced one star b/c I did have to pull up the very top of it all night as my bra kept peeking out.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 15, 2014
The dress was beautiful and I got compliments all night.

I ordered the XS and the S. After reading the reviews, I thought for sure I would be able to wear the XS. However, when the dress came I fought to get it on and then spent 20 minutes trying to get it back off from where it had bunched up around the smallest part of my waist. I ended up wearing the small; It was still a little bit of a tight fit around the rib cage. I had to have my brother zip me into the dress. Overall, the dress was beautiful and I'm really happy with the compliments I got all night. You can definitely tell the fabric is high quality. The next time I order from this designer though, I'll get a S and M.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
February 22, 2014
So tight!

I got this dress in 2 colors and 2 different sizes. The pink color is wayyyy prettier (Line them up dress). Unfortunately, I ended up having to wear this color in S because the XS pink was too tight (couldn't breathe!) It's a beautiful dress, don't get me wrong but it has this weird green stripe on the side that I don't think compliments the other colors. I only mention this because I did not notice the green stripe from the picture but in person it stands out more. Other than that I would def recommend this dress to anyone trying to show off those curves!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 10, 2014
Gorgeous dress but tight in the bust

Loved the dress but was quite tight in the bust! Great length, great color.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
April 22, 2014
Fun, unique dress!

I ordered both the XS and S and ended up going with the S. As other reviewers mentioned - this dress is snug! Both sizes arrived in perfect condition. The stripe down the sides are a bit different in person than on the website, they're more of a darker green than a turquoise. But in photographs it appears as more of a turquoise. The dress was perfect for the occasion and once again it was a great experience with Rent the Runway! I recommend renting this dress.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 28, 2014
Fantastic dress

This dress was fantastic and very flattering......I wish I had ordered up one size. I felt a bit too exposed in the medium and ended up wearing my back-up dress. I usually wear a 4 or 6 for dresses but I am curvy. The dress would have had a better fit on someone who was straight and narrow.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 1, 2014
Amazing customer service- switched to a "more my style" dress night before. So easy!

I didn't end up wearing this dress- picked it out for my soon to be sister in law's bachelorette and wanted to fit in with her sexy style - this dress really is fantastic quality and is sexy... If you have a pretty flat midsection. It fit ok and was surprisingly comfortable considering how it tightly it hugs your body, but just wasn't for me. I called the evening I got it and RTR customer service was amazing! They overnighted 2 more styles both of which I loved and had a hard time choosing which one to wear! So excited to use this service all the time!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 3, 2014
Great dress - so many compliments!

Loved this dress - got a ton of compliments on it, but I did have to keep pulling it up throughout the night.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 2, 2014
Drop Dead Gorgeous

Thank goodness for ordering the backup size. Yet, over all this dress is simply beautiful. The colors are as vibrant as the compliments I got tonight.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 10, 2014
Hot dress for Vegas Bachelorette!

No bra needed and fit tight, good because I wasn't tugging it up all night. Also liked that it isn't a MINI, bit longer/ to knees, so could dance without any issues. Very cool colors too!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 29, 2014
Beautiful & sexy dress

Unfortunately, I didn't get a chance to actually wear this dress out in public, as the event I had rented it for was cancelled. It worked out in my favor though because this dress was seemingly too small on me. In dresses, I tend to range between a size 6-10, depending on the designer. In Herve Leger, I'm almost ALWAYS a size M. I found that the M in this dress, was more like a size S and RTR didn't have a size L available as a backup, so I was stuck with only one size. It could just be me, personally, and my frame. Don't get me wrong, I could get the dress on, but because it's strapless I had that dreaded underarm pudge-- and that's not attractive. However, the dress was beautiful in person.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
August 3, 2014
Perfect for a bachelorette party!

He colors were beautiful. Snug fit but very comfortable.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 17, 2015
I wore this for a night out in Las Vegas with my fiance.

It didn't ride up much which is great, but it DEFINITELY ran small so I wore the larger of my two sizes.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 12, 2014
The dress

This dress was very, very tight, so I probably could have worn the large. However, it is uber stretchy. So even though it was tight, I was not uncomfortable at all. The top was a bit stretched though, it seemed like it was pulled up a lot. It is a really pretty dress.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
September 8, 2014
hot dress

i needed the small. i know Herve is supposed to be tight, but i couldn't breathe in the XS.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 21, 2014
Gorgeous, but I tugged on it all night

Amazing dress by Herve, as per usual. I am 5'10'' with a long torso, so I should've known better about wearing a tube dress. I was fiddling with it all night. Pulling the skirt down or the top up. Either way, it fit lovely, hugs every curve and makes you feel like a million bucks. Amazing color as well!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 18, 2014
Dress was tight but was to be expected based on the designer and reviews. Overall loved it!

Wore the bigger size out of the two I received. Definitely tight on the rib cage and stomach and smaller up top since it was a little bit stretched. Loved the way it made me feel and would definitely rent this designer again since the dress material felt amazing!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 18, 2014
Sexy dress

The dress is a tight fit, which I knew it would be due to the style. I ordered the small and had a medium as my backup. The small fit in the bust, but was way too tight on my hips. So on to the medium. The fit was great and my husband loved it but, for some reason I just wasn't feeling it for our trip. I wanted something not so overtly sexy - otherwise the dress would have been perfect. Either way, I recommend this dress if you are wanting that super sexy look. :-)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 23, 2014
A vibrant show-stopper

This dress is simply gorgeous.The colors are bright and it gives you a great shape! It's a little tight, but that's expected with a bandage dress. I also had to pull it up a few times, but overall I highly recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
February 2, 2015
Tight fit but attractive...

Based on the other reviews, I selected the XS, but I should have gotten the S. It was soooo tight I felt awkward and my boyfriend had to really help me. It was just too darn tight. I was uncomfortable. But I got the wrong size and that's my fault, not the dresses. I loved this dress's look personally, but my boyfriend did not like the black part.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
February 25, 2015
Amazing

It was amazing! Everything that needed to be sucked in was, and everything that should be shown was delicately curved with the dress. I'm usually an XS since I have a small waist, but the XS is truly tiny. I can only imagine what the XXS looks like! As some people said, the dress sometimes bunches and wants to fall down, but I just put bra tape on the dress and it stayed up much better!

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
March 6, 2015
This was a beautiful dress

Very small in the bust. I couldn't breath!!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 19, 2015
RTR gave me this as triple back up since original dress was ruined. Identical to "Line Them Up" HL.

My original "Purple Pizazz" Herve Leger dress got ruined by the person who rented it before me. RTR notified me of this the night before I was to fly out to CA. I was originally going to wear the "Purple Pizazz" dress for Friday's races at the Breeder's Cup 2014 at Santa Anita Racetrack in CA. Ordered a fascinator to match dress perfectly. After frantically calling and emailing in the airport terminal, taxiing down the runway, and in the air, many solid purple dresses I liked either weren't available or not in my size. Wound up choosing the pink and purple "Line Them Up" strapless dress. Stylist added a gorgeous necklace, as well. The stylist also gave me a solid pink Herve sheath as a backup to the strapless dress. Both were overnighted from NY to my CA hotel, but the stylist wasn't sure if the strapless one would be cleaned and ready in time. Additionally, RTR sent out another identical style dress but in purple and colbalt blue "Whiplash of Color" just in case. All three Herve's wound up arriving at the hotel, but the "Line Them Up" one arrived literally at the last minute...I was zipped in the pink sheath dress. This dress fits identically to the pink and purple "Line Them Up" dress. SEE "LINE THEM UP" DRESS REVIEW FOR FIT DETAILS...IDENTICAL FIT. For the whole ordeal, RTR overnighted those three dresses and didn't charge me for any of those. They also didn't charge me for the other dress I ordered that I carried on the plane with me. Horrible, sickening, and stressful circumstance, but RTR customer service made it right in the end!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
January 4, 2016
It runs small. I got size small, and it's tighter than I'd usually wear, but it zipped!

It slips down at the top a lot because it's been worn a lot.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
February 15, 2016
Stunning!

This dress was great, and obviously it hugs every curve! I wore it out for Valentine's Day and felt beautiful! My boyfriend could not stop talking about how great it looked. I am usually a size 4 and the small fit but I opted for the Medium just because it was more comfortable! A little loose in the bust, but hugged me everywhere else.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 24, 2012
This dress was fun and sexy, I was getting free drinks all night long!

I rented this dress for my 23rd birthday. I was a little hesitant because it was a tight bandage dress, but I ended up loving it. I'm usually a size 4 so I rented at small and it was a little snug. Overall I was very pleased with it and received lots of complements and birthday drinks!

MeganAugust 24, 2012
Where are your shoes from?
jillAugust 24, 2012
Steve Madden. I bought them about a year ago.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XXS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 11, 2013
NYE perfect party dress!

I wore this on NYE. I ordered two dresses and I am glad I did because the one I originally picked out was not as flattering. This dress fits really small/ I am 5'1" and 100lbs and it was tight! But I liked that fit. If you prefer a little more comfort go one size up. I rented earrings as well and lost one...I am a little surprised that for the price and heaviness of the earrings I ordered, they gave such a crappy back. They were too light to hold the earrings on. I love this site and will definitely rent again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
April 2, 2014
I loved the dress!!!

The dress was great. I did first order the xsmall and it did not fit. Rent the Runway made it so easy to get another dress in time. The small fit perfect.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
November 30, 2013
Hugs your body in all the right ways!

This dress is so flattering and definitely emphasizes all the good bits. It rests on the mid-calf area so it definitely covers up enough that you don't feel exposed. Overall, it's such a slimming dress. If I could buy it, I would!

See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×