Hervé Léger

Whiplash of Color Dress

$40 rental
$1015 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Take down numbers and strut your stuff in this Herve Leger bold bandage dress. You won't want to return this figure flattering style!

Also available in purple.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XXS,XS,S,M,L. Size XXS=00; XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up; Should be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XXS,XS,S,M,L. Size XXS=00; XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up; Should be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Color block stretch bandage. Strapless neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

167 reviews

Fit
Small 32
True to Size 110
Large 2
Photos 110
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108 lbs
Jul 4, 2014

I went to a wedding on my birthday weekend for the 3rd year in a row so I decided to treat myself!

Size worn: XXS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got so many compliments on this dress and I felt so sexy. My girlfriends thought it was gorgeous and my then-boyfriend-now-fiance thought it was really hot. I had a blast in this dress and will rent Herve again for sure!
MrsEtch
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 3, 2014

Exciting style of dress for a charity event!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was awesome! It's got a lot of give, even though it's tight...so it keeps everything in place! ;-) I will definitely rent Herve again...sexy and elegant. I was on the planning committee for the charity event I wore this dress to - it was perfect for the night we had!
Surfergirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 2, 2014

Drop Dead Gorgeous

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Thank goodness for ordering the backup size. Yet, over all this dress is simply beautiful. The colors are as vibrant as the compliments I got tonight.
Marina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 11, 2014

M

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Looked and felt great!
Kelley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 11, 2014

Perfect Birthday Dress for my last year in my 20's

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have had my eye on each and every Herve Leger dress! I rented this dress because even though it is very tight, the length was appropriate for dinner at a nice steakhouse restaurant. I ordered the XS and S. I could not even zip the XS! The small fit absolutely perfect. My only issue with the dress was that it arrived without the sticky "grip" for the top of the strapless dress, I attempted to purchase and use my own fashion tape but since the dress is a little on the heavier side it kept falling down. I did not wear a bra because I felt that would have weighed the dress down more but it was still tight enough to allow for support. Overall I loved this dress, I would rent again in hopes that the sticky part would be repaired and of course I will rent another Herve dress very soon!
Yeny
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

Good compliments

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Birthday dress
Chelsea
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 3, 2014

Great dress - so many compliments!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress - got a ton of compliments on it, but I did have to keep pulling it up throughout the night.
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

Amazing customer service- switched to a "more my style" dress night before. So easy!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing this dress- picked it out for my soon to be sister in law's bachelorette and wanted to fit in with her sexy style - this dress really is fantastic quality and is sexy... If you have a pretty flat midsection. It fit ok and was surprisingly comfortable considering how it tightly it hugs your body, but just wasn't for me. I called the evening I got it and RTR customer service was amazing! They overnighted 2 more styles both of which I loved and had a hard time choosing which one to wear! So excited to use this service all the time!
Janis
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2014

Same great service!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Another awesome Herve! Perfect fit and so many compliments. Why buy when you can rent!
samena
Age: 20
May 17, 2014

Super easy

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Super tight but good fit loved it
Dani K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 14, 2014

the color the fit great dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
true to size
Suzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 5, 2014

fabulous dress but slips down so much!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my birthday and overall, it was really cute and comfortable. I could fit both into small and medium but I could NOT breathe for my life in small so I went with medium. There were some bunched up parts and the medium was definitely showing wear. The top band didn't have any rubber left inside, its hook on the black straps to help the dress stay up was NOT there, and the dress was stretched out so much that it was sliding off on me the entire night. It looked great when it was in place though! Received lots of compliments from my date! Wish the dress wasn't so damaged/stretched out-- makes it little difficult to wear when your chest isn't as big as some of the other ladies who wear medium.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 3, 2014

Lovely dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Fit was perfect, very flattering. I'm tall and usually cannot wear strapless dresses like this, but it was long enough and I felt comfortable in it.
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 6, 2014

Perfect bachelorette dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress feels fantastic on! It is form fitting yet not uncomfortable. I received so many compliments all night long! I highly recommend for a night out on the town.
Ruth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

Great bachelorette party dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my first time using RTR and I loved it! This actually wasn't my first choice dress but the one I wanted wasn't available by the time I went to rent it. I think that was a happy mistake because I absolutely loved this dress! It is very snug but in a good way. I got compliments all night and the colors look amazing. I will definitely be using RTR again!
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Form fitting, flattering

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
First experience with Herve Leger! It was a really form fitting dress that really sucks you in! I had to go with the small because the top of the medium was a little too big but I also barely have any type of bust! Overall great dress, would definitely rent again!
Jaimie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Fantastic dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was fantastic and very flattering......I wish I had ordered up one size. I felt a bit too exposed in the medium and ended up wearing my back-up dress. I usually wear a 4 or 6 for dresses but I am curvy. The dress would have had a better fit on someone who was straight and narrow.
Sizakele
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 26, 2014

I wore this stunning Hervé for my spring formal. It fit like a dream, and I got so many compliments!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was terrified of this dress before it came! This was my first experience with RTR and it was worth every cent. Now, down to business: Spanx are non-negotiable! However, the material of the dress kept everything locked and loaded even after hours of dancing. My hem didn't ride up at all or attach itself to my thigh, which was amazing. A little trick: pull your Spanx up to your chest and tuck them under your bra. It creates even smoother lines, which is key to pulling off anything bodycon. As far as length goes, I am 5'5 1/2" but I have a Kardashian booty and the hem stopped a few inches above my knee. I honestly can't say enough good about this dress. It's unique and hot, yet surprisingly classy. I highly recommend this.
ARS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 25, 2014

Great Vegas Dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was perfect for a bach in Vegas! It was super cute and comfortable. I wore a Small. Fit perfect, although a little big in the chest area. Funny as it was on the mannequin at the RTR Store at the Cosmo!
Deborah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

Fun, unique dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered both the XS and S and ended up going with the S. As other reviewers mentioned - this dress is snug! Both sizes arrived in perfect condition. The stripe down the sides are a bit different in person than on the website, they're more of a darker green than a turquoise. But in photographs it appears as more of a turquoise. The dress was perfect for the occasion and once again it was a great experience with Rent the Runway! I recommend renting this dress.
lauren
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

Compliments all night long

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was worried that the dress would be unflattering because of how tight it is, but it really sucked everything in. I loved the colors and the fit. I got compliments from people who had many different styles...
Eve
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 10, 2014

Herve Leger Convert!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had such a great time in this dress. I've never worn Herve Leger before, and now it's all I want for every occasion! The dress fit really well, I was able to zip and unzip myself into it (always a bonus), and I danced the night away very comfortably. I thought the colors were great and really popped. I was nervous that my chest would be falling out of it, but no problems there. I highly recommend this dress.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

Wore for a photoshoot.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very heavy, great fitting dress, loved the colors. fits like a glove, made me look like a million bucks.
Laura
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

I loved the dress!!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was great. I did first order the xsmall and it did not fit. Rent the Runway made it so easy to get another dress in time. The small fit perfect.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 28, 2014

Successful Bachelorette Party in Miami!! HOT! HOT! HOT!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is SO fine! I loved it so much I'm thinking of just forking out the cash to own it myself!! Such a sexy fit! The length was not too short or too long. Perfect for wearing in Miami for my friend's Bachelorette party! Definitely a head turning dress
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

I wore this to a bachelorette party and felt super sassy!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was amazing! Herve really does hug your shape in the best possible way. I did wear Spanx just to help smooth out some of my lines and problem areas. I only gave this four stars because we went out dancing and I spent a good portion of the evening tugging the dress up and pulling it down. Either way, I loved it! I paired it with nude heels and the House of Harlow geometric necklace that other people recommended.
Mars
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 9, 2014

Perfect dinner date weekend number! Great fit!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Definitely compliments my shape as being curvy is a bit tricky with certain types of dresses!
Lily
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Jan 24, 2014

Love this dress! Fit like a dream!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a 9/10 and it fit and felt perfect!
BC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Received compliments all night on the dress.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was tight because I had gained a few pounds before the event; however, the dress was still fabulous! Even though I was a bit self conscience, people said the dress looked great! I would absolutely rent this dress again!
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Aug 5, 2013

Hot!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
My first Herve Leger rental, and I loved it! I rented the Medium with the Large as a backup, and I had to go with the Large. I agree with the other reviews that the material of the dress does sort of act like spanx on it's own, but I also watched what I ate and drank lots of water before wearing it to make sure I was slim enough in the middle and still needed one size up from my normal size. Wore it out for a night in Vegas with the girls, and I felt really sexy in it. Deduced one star b/c I did have to pull up the very top of it all night as my bra kept peeking out.
Miss Piggy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 25, 2013

Celebrating the big 3-0 in style!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
First time renting from RTR, not to mention a Herve Leger! This was the perfect dress to celebrate my birthday dinner in Napa. Fit like a glove- if you size too big, it will leave extra material around your waist. I bought spanx beforehand, but when I tried on the dress, turned out I didn't need it! The dress is like it's own Spanx! Later in the night I noticed that the top pulled down every so often, so I had to tug it back up a bit. Paired this with 3" heels and the Kendra Scott bib necklace to finish off the look. Thank you RTR! You made my birthday!!!
g
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Jul 21, 2013

Gorg dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
was deciding between 3 similar herve bandage dresses - the small gives a little more length, and is still flattering but def not as tight, and gives you a little more room to breath!
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 19, 2013

I wore my back up dress instead, but my sister did

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a girl's bachelorette weekend. I knew it'd be a tight dress, I ordered both M & L but didn't like the fit of either enough to wear for a night out in DC. It was perfect for my sister however. Here is a picture of both of us wearing a medium.
Dace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 16, 2013

Perfect

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore a strapless with it. No complaints.
Theresa
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 143 lbs
Jul 9, 2013

This dress turned heads, especially my husbands! It was a great fit & perfect to wear to a concert.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit was snug, but breathable and very comfortable. I wore a size L but could have gotten away with a size M.
Shelby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 9, 2013

Made me feel like a bombshell! Beautiful dress, vibrant colors!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My first Herve experience. LOVE. The Small and Medium both worked- but the Medium was more comfortable and flattering around my bust (didn't push em down so much) True to size- gorgeous dress. Size up for the 2nd size just in case. Wonderful length for my 5'7" height.
nia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 3, 2013

Awesome super hot dress, that made this mom feel sexy and my man's jaw drop.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a Miami wedding held on a yacht. It fit true to size for me--no vanity sizing here. I wear a 2 to 4 in the Gap which everyone knows is really a 4 to a 6. The small fit my 5'3" frame great. I have a big butt and a 34C chest. It was tight in my chest area. I needed assistance zipping it up. I took advantage of the open bar so I cannot say whether it got loose but I can say I got tons of compliments from guys and gals and I loved this dress. You COULD wear spanx with this dress if you got the ones that don't have the seam in the front but I found it unnecessary. It did tent a little at the small of my back BUT I really do have a large derriere--that should not be a problem for most ladies. I don't regret my rental and I am already looking at another dress for my brother-in-law's July wedding. I am looking at something more conservative as his wedding is a traditional church ceremony. Keep in mind when looking at my weight that I have a large frame so 140 sounds bigger than it actually is--if you normally wear a 6 and we are the same weight I would get a medium with a small as backup.
Angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 30, 2013

the colors plus the fit made this an unforgettable dress!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit me like a glove and the contrasting colors made it stand out from the crowd! By far my favorite birthday dress...I got compliments all night long!!
KT
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jan 11, 2013

NYE perfect party dress!

Size worn: XXS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this on NYE. I ordered two dresses and I am glad I did because the one I originally picked out was not as flattering. This dress fits really small/ I am 5'1" and 100lbs and it was tight! But I liked that fit. If you prefer a little more comfort go one size up. I rented earrings as well and lost one...I am a little surprised that for the price and heaviness of the earrings I ordered, they gave such a crappy back. They were too light to hold the earrings on. I love this site and will definitely rent again!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Dec 6, 2012

Colorful and FUN

Size worn: XXS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
if you have big hips this dress is NOT for you. the green lines down the sides arent very flattering either but i LOVE the bandage. super tight on the bust but great for a night out!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×