Hervé Léger

Whiplash of Color Dress

$50 rental
$1,015 retail
Stylist Notes

Take down numbers and strut your stuff in this Herve Leger bold bandage dress. You won't want to return this figure flattering style!

Also available in purple.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XXS,XS,S,M,L. Size XXS=00; XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up; Should be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Color block stretch bandage. Strapless neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
210 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(128)
Small
(38)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 6, 2014
Perfect bachelorette dress!
This dress feels fantastic on! It is form fitting yet not uncomfortable. I received so many compliments all night long! I highly recommend for a night out on the town.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 7, 2014
Hervé for my #Dirty30 bday bash!
I chose to wear the large over the medium because there was more room in the large for my boobs. The dress is really fitted no need for spanx! Not super short. I felt really comfy all night. I never worried about adjusting my dress it fit perfectly =•]
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 9, 2014
Looking Great always makes for a great event.
Very True to Size and Flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 10, 2014
Herve Leger Convert!
I had such a great time in this dress. I've never worn Herve Leger before, and now it's all I want for every occasion! The dress fit really well, I was able to zip and unzip myself into it (always a bonus), and I danced the night away very comfortably. I thought the colors were great and really popped. I was nervous that my chest would be falling out of it, but no problems there. I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 10, 2014
Gorgeous dress but tight in the bust
Loved the dress but was quite tight in the bust! Great length, great color.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
April 16, 2014
Compliments all night long
I was worried that the dress would be unflattering because of how tight it is, but it really sucked everything in. I loved the colors and the fit. I got compliments from people who had many different styles...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
April 22, 2014
Fun, unique dress!
I ordered both the XS and S and ended up going with the S. As other reviewers mentioned - this dress is snug! Both sizes arrived in perfect condition. The stripe down the sides are a bit different in person than on the website, they're more of a darker green than a turquoise. But in photographs it appears as more of a turquoise. The dress was perfect for the occasion and once again it was a great experience with Rent the Runway! I recommend renting this dress.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 25, 2014
Great Vegas Dress!
Dress was perfect for a bach in Vegas! It was super cute and comfortable. I wore a Small. Fit perfect, although a little big in the chest area. Funny as it was on the mannequin at the RTR Store at the Cosmo!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 28, 2014
Fantastic dress
This dress was fantastic and very flattering......I wish I had ordered up one size. I felt a bit too exposed in the medium and ended up wearing my back-up dress. I usually wear a 4 or 6 for dresses but I am curvy. The dress would have had a better fit on someone who was straight and narrow.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 28, 2014
Form fitting, flattering
First experience with Herve Leger! It was a really form fitting dress that really sucks you in! I had to go with the small because the top of the medium was a little too big but I also barely have any type of bust! Overall great dress, would definitely rent again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
April 29, 2014
Beautiful on!
It fit me perfectly! No down sides.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 3, 2014
Lovely dress!
Fit was perfect, very flattering. I'm tall and usually cannot wear strapless dresses like this, but it was long enough and I felt comfortable in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 5, 2014
fabulous dress but slips down so much!
I wore this for my birthday and overall, it was really cute and comfortable. I could fit both into small and medium but I could NOT breathe for my life in small so I went with medium. There were some bunched up parts and the medium was definitely showing wear. The top band didn't have any rubber left inside, its hook on the black straps to help the dress stay up was NOT there, and the dress was stretched out so much that it was sliding off on me the entire night. It looked great when it was in place though! Received lots of compliments from my date! Wish the dress wasn't so damaged/stretched out-- makes it little difficult to wear when your chest isn't as big as some of the other ladies who wear medium.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 22
May 17, 2014
Super easy
Super tight but good fit loved it
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2014
Same great service!
Another awesome Herve! Perfect fit and so many compliments. Why buy when you can rent!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
May 29, 2014
A very bold dress
Well constructed - boning and thick fabric - no need for spanx in this dress. It's very body hugging/tight. I really wished I lost that extra 5 lbs or so before hand because I did feel a little self conscious as a result of how tight the dress fitted. I also wish it was a bit shorter - it could be because I'm on the petite side and have short legs. Had I been a bit skinner, I would have rocked it way better, but since it didn't go that way, I would have felt better in a more forgiving fitted dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 1, 2014
Wore this for my 21st birthday!
It is so flattering. Would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 1, 2014
Amazing customer service- switched to a "more my style" dress night before. So easy!
I didn't end up wearing this dress- picked it out for my soon to be sister in law's bachelorette and wanted to fit in with her sexy style - this dress really is fantastic quality and is sexy... If you have a pretty flat midsection. It fit ok and was surprisingly comfortable considering how it tightly it hugs your body, but just wasn't for me. I called the evening I got it and RTR customer service was amazing! They overnighted 2 more styles both of which I loved and had a hard time choosing which one to wear! So excited to use this service all the time!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 1, 2014
Tons of complements! Tight but great for parties!
Fits super tight, like most bandage dresses. Top was a little loose from over-wear but it didn't show. I have wide hips and larger thighs, which tend to get kinda squished but the dress was fine and pretty flattering. Great pick, stick with your normal size and order a size up for your backup (I ordered a small as my backup which was WAY too small).
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 3, 2014
Great dress - so many compliments!
Loved this dress - got a ton of compliments on it, but I did have to keep pulling it up throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 11, 2014
Perfect Birthday Dress for my last year in my 20's
I have had my eye on each and every Herve Leger dress! I rented this dress because even though it is very tight, the length was appropriate for dinner at a nice steakhouse restaurant. I ordered the XS and S. I could not even zip the XS! The small fit absolutely perfect. My only issue with the dress was that it arrived without the sticky "grip" for the top of the strapless dress, I attempted to purchase and use my own fashion tape but since the dress is a little on the heavier side it kept falling down. I did not wear a bra because I felt that would have weighed the dress down more but it was still tight enough to allow for support. Overall I loved this dress, I would rent again in hopes that the sticky part would be repaired and of course I will rent another Herve dress very soon!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 11, 2014
M
Looked and felt great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
June 25, 2014
excellent
as always for herve leger's dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 2, 2014
Drop Dead Gorgeous
Thank goodness for ordering the backup size. Yet, over all this dress is simply beautiful. The colors are as vibrant as the compliments I got tonight.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 10, 2014
Hot dress for Vegas Bachelorette!
No bra needed and fit tight, good because I wasn't tugging it up all night. Also liked that it isn't a MINI, bit longer/ to knees, so could dance without any issues. Very cool colors too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
July 14, 2014
This is a winner!
This hugs and smoothes every curve! As good as spanx! I got many compliments all night! Very comfortable. Never moved up like so many stretch dresses do. Loved it!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
July 27, 2014
I looked great!
Great fit I looked amazing this is my 3 rd rental...I've never had a problem so far
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
July 28, 2014
Sexy standout bday dress
I ordered my shipment about 5 days before I needed it so they only had an XS and no backup size of S available. I fit into the XS but it was very tight, which still looked good because of the thicker material. I had to have a friend zip me up and got lots of compliments on it throughout the night! It was in great condition and didn't have a problem with having to pull up the top of the dress throughout the night like other reviewers stated. I loved the dress and can't wait till the next time I can rent the runway again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 29, 2014
Beautiful & sexy dress
Unfortunately, I didn't get a chance to actually wear this dress out in public, as the event I had rented it for was cancelled. It worked out in my favor though because this dress was seemingly too small on me. In dresses, I tend to range between a size 6-10, depending on the designer. In Herve Leger, I'm almost ALWAYS a size M. I found that the M in this dress, was more like a size S and RTR didn't have a size L available as a backup, so I was stuck with only one size. It could just be me, personally, and my frame. Don't get me wrong, I could get the dress on, but because it's strapless I had that dreaded underarm pudge-- and that's not attractive. However, the dress was beautiful in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 29, 2014
It fit like a glove!
The fit is tight and bc it's a strapless you do spend some time checking to make sure it didn't slip down too much! Other than that it was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
August 3, 2014
Perfect for a bachelorette party!
He colors were beautiful. Snug fit but very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
August 3, 2014
My boyfriend loved it!
This dress is flattering & slimming! It was fun to wear & definitely an attention-getter. It's very tight, but the material stretches. It looked better with a strapless bra vs braless. I had to privately readjust the dress to pull it up about 10 times in a 6 hour time period. I was doing a lot of dancing though. The silicone band at the top of the bust on the inside to help with grip was partially worn off the XS and mostly worn off on the S. My dress arrived on time as promised.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 17, 2015
I wore this for a night out in Las Vegas with my fiance.
It didn't ride up much which is great, but it DEFINITELY ran small so I wore the larger of my two sizes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 4, 2014
Cute but a little worn
Found the dress to be worn looking upon arrival. I received the small and medium and both had clearly been rented many times. The neck line was a little stretched. The colors and the fabric are very high quality though and I would recommend this style.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2014
Really cute but medium was a little tight and large was not available to try.
I ordered this for a bachelorette weekend in San Diego but decided not to wear it because it was a little too tight at the top. Large was not available in this dress so I retuned this dress and ordered the Herve tribal print dress in large thinking it would fit . Sadly it was too big and fabric wouldn't lay flat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 12, 2014
The dress
This dress was very, very tight, so I probably could have worn the large. However, it is uber stretchy. So even though it was tight, I was not uncomfortable at all. The top was a bit stretched though, it seemed like it was pulled up a lot. It is a really pretty dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Bust size: 32B
August 21, 2014
Great fit! Loved the colors! Felt great in the dress!
Dress was amazing. Clip closure inside to keep the dress in place is a great touch. Would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 25, 2014
Va Va Voom
I usually wear more twee modest dresses, but I wanted to amp things up. I am so glad that I did! This dress made me feel glamorous and fun. One of my friends didn't even recognize me. I had to make sure to stand up straight all night---but it held everything in place.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
August 27, 2014
SO FLATTERING!
I loved this dress and highly recommend it. The fabric was very comfortable and got compliments all night.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 7, 2014
:)
I described the overall fit as True to Size but I did wear a Herve earlier in the year and fit the medium. This medium was a little too big-- But I pretty small around the bust and that's the area I ran into problems with. It sucks you in and smoothes you out-- the fit is not for the faint of heart but I can't imagine anyone not looking their best in the cut, design and fit of this dress.
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×