Hervé Léger

Off shoulder ombre dress

$150 rental
$1590 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Accentuate a tiny waist or give the illusion you have one with this flattering ombre dress by Herve Leger. Enhance the bold colors by donning dark metal jewelry and silver heels. Though vibrant, these colors will be no match for your bright eyes once you add Lancome's Le Crayon Khol Eyeliner in Moss.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric and ombre coloring make waist look great
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric and ombre coloring make waist look great
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Chartreuse and grey. 90% rayon, 9% nylon, 1% spandex bands. Off shoulder straps. Back zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'11".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

63 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 51
Large 1
Photos 28
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 23, 2010

Ombre is so unique and flattering.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
LOVE this dress. The ombre color makes your waist look so small. It is a fun dress yet still classy. The color looks great with brown hair as well. The dress runs just a little bit more snug than other Herve Leger styles (I wear a small in Herve), but I still fit in the same size.
Lynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 17, 2011

I have never received so many compliments on one dress in my entire life!!! Absolutely loved it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
where do I begin?!?! this dress was A-MAZING! It quickly went from my "backup" to the main event...I ended up wearing the berry ombre as my "backup" to dinner with my parents because it was cute but not WOW like this dress...I have never gotten so many compliments in my life, and a couple people even recognized that it was Herve Leger...I wore it for my 25th birthday party and felt like the sexiest woman in the room. It was too tight at first but it stretches out and was actually quite comfortable...it hugs you tight so be prepared to be looked at by pretty much everyone!! LOVE THIS DRESS and officially LOVE RTR!!!! (This was my first time renting and I have never felt more sexy/beautiful in my life!) THANK YOU RTR!!!
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 8, 2011

My friend and I got in everywhere free, and ushered into VIP sections all night! Made me feel like a celebrity!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I want this dress. No, really, it was PERFECT! The colors were gorgeous (and I didn't find them to be green) and it made my body look AMAZING. Super comfortable and flattering. I got compliments all night!! I really really did not want to send this one back!
lala
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 11, 2011

This dress was an attention getter for sure. Very fitted and figure flattering.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore an XS in this dress and the best description is Amazing.
c
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Nov 30, 2011

So happy when i get out, I had no time to shop for a dress for my engagement party so it was perfect! Really memorable night and dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Runs somewhat small but great. I'm 5'3 and it comes right above the knee. It was super cute.
kiki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Dec 1, 2011

super fast delivery and return was so simple.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
loved this dress!! great color, perfect fit ,not too short ,but short enough. Got many comlpiments. I am a 36 c bust size and it fit very well ,not too snug.
Tiffany
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 2, 2011

Definitely lots of comments received that night. What I loved best about Rent the Runway was the ability to easily return the dress the next day, all with a pre-paid postage and package. So easy to drop it off in a mailbox!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my business school formal and I absolutely adored the dress. Obviously the Herve Legar brand and design of the dress are showstopping but I was pleasantly surprised at how well the dress fit me. The material was quite substantial and the details of the back really round out the dress quite nicely. Also, I loved how the ombre palette of colors blended perfectly!
Heaven
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 5, 2011

Fabulous customer service!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was all smiles in this dress. It was surprisingly flattering and I got compliments from guys and girls the entireeeee night!! can't wait to rent another dress =)
Trang
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 6, 2011

The fact that it was the first time I've worn and Herve Leger dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
At first this dress seemed a little too small at the top, but after some jumping and wiggling around in it, it began to fit a lot better. I can't even begin to tell you how many times I was complimented. I had so many old ladies approach me to ask where I got the dress and who it was. I felt like a million bucks and was so sad when I had to return it :(
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 14, 2011

My favorite Herve so far! I wore this on my bachelorette party in Miami, danced all night long and still looked great at 4am. Wish I owned this dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is one of my favorite RTR rentals thus far. Fits like a glove and the ombre pattern/bands is so flattering. I fell in love with this dress.
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 17, 2011

I got a million compliments on my dress! Thank you RTR!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for my friend's bachelorette party. I am 5"3 and it was a little longer on me then expected but still looked great. I suggest wearing a strapless bra since the straps go off the shoulder.
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 30, 2012

my boyfriend couldn't keep his eyes or hands off of me...thanks RTR for helping me feel SUPER fabulous!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
this dress is HOT! the fit is tight, yet forgiving. it sucked me in where i needed it and emphasized my curves...if you want to show off your booty this dress is your friend! i am very short so the dress came down to mid-knee; i hemmed it to mid-thigh with fashion tape. got compliments from women and men all night, but my favorite was picking my boyfriend's jaw off the floor when he saw me in it! i paired it with light gray suede platform pumps, which i thought looked way fresher than black or silver. whatever you accessorize with, be ready to stand out in this amazing dress!
Lenore
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 24, 2012

the whole night!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Love, love, love this dress! Fit perfect everywhere, looked amazing, and I felt like a million bucks!
Gayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 16, 2012

casual night out

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was short. It looked really good on, very slimming. Just keep in mind the length of this Herve Leger is shorter than the others. Get the NuBra with this one as well.
gaelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 18, 2012

cinderella moment

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
ultra flattering , very slimming one of the best hl dress
jana
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 19, 2012

Amazing fit!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
fits like a glove just like every other HL dress. this was my first off the shoulder style, which was not super comfortable when dancing but that was to be expected. there were quite a few places where the seams were splitting, probably due to wear. but regardless it was noticeable enough that I opted not to wear for my event
SD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 18, 2012

Made me feel amazing at my bachelorette. Wouldn't have been able to afford this dress without rent the runway!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved the colors in the dress! So flattering. I am petite and had to roll the bottom under, but it worked well and stayed all night while dancing in Vegas! Perfect for my bachelorette party.
K.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 25, 2012

Pretty color

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a outside wedding. The small that I originally hoped to wear became unavailable. The medium was too big and was very stretched out on the top. I have a large bust area but it was still very loose. I had to pull it down on the shoulders a lot to get it to lay right. I didn't end up wearing it for the event. A bit long for my 5 foot frame. Pretty color though.
Dee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

Stand Out Dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is definitely a hot number. All eyes (incl. girls/guys) will be on you. The dress does not have much yellow, I would say its bit on the green side. But, I would definitely recommend it. This dress runs a bit small, so please order a size up.
KM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 21, 2012

Awesome

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fade color makes it so unique and photo perfect! Loved it!
Khalia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 24, 2012

Love this designer

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The size was great. I'm a size 8 usually and the Medium was great. My only dislike was that the shoulders slid off too easily.
deborah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Sep 15, 2012

There are no words to explain...

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
What a stunning dress! I could go on and on, but there aren't words in the vocabulary to explain the attention I received wearing this dress!
Nicolette
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

wow

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a birthday party and it got a lot of compliments. The size is pretty true to size if anything it runs a hair big. I wish however the length was a bit shorter --- I'm 5'5" and it hit lower to mid thigh. Otherwise really comfortable with plenty of stretch and the colors are as they appear --- yellow to grey to white. WIll rent again from RTR!
joanne z
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 23, 2012

Stunning Herve Leger. Classy and everyone asked me where I got it!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
The ombre stripes on this Herve Leger get wider as it gets your waist, creating an hourglass effect. It is a little above the knee, and perfect for formal events. This dress is classy, elegant and sexy. You will get complimented on it where ever you wear it. I actually bought this dress I loved it so much!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

Wore this for my 10 year highschool reunion. Was great.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Its a little long but easy to flip under hem with sticky tape.
Kati
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

Most compliments I have ever received while rockin this dress. Super comfy too!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Will rent again for sure!
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Nov 3, 2012

Loved getting to wear such great fabric!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Much tighter than expected.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 4, 2012

I felt HOT!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit great, colors were flattering.
alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 9, 2012

The most unbelievable color and fit... too many compliments to count!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was and still is the most fabulous dress i have ever worn. I felt amazing in it. I wore it to my sorority formal and i have never received so many compliments on a dress before. The color is amazing and so unique. The fit is great, very body slimming with the color fading and also sucks everything in pretty well. I am a very small A cup and like most Herve dresses the bust runs a tad big, but because of the neckline with this it wasn't a problem and you can wear almost any bra you want, even a regular one if you slide the straps down. It was a bit longer than i expected, i am 5'6" and it was above the knee but i wouldn't call it short. The way the zipper is (pretty heavy) it makes it right up a bit in the back so the longer length actually is appreciated in the end. At first i wasn't sure what color shoes to wear but i recommend nude, or a great silver grey to match the middle color. ENJOY this is the best dress! i would rent it again.. and again.
Phyllis
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134 lbs
Dec 4, 2012

the dress was fantastic and in excellent condition. I love the suggested lipstick samples.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The fit was spot on!! all pro no cons. I would recommend it highly!! Thank you RTR :-)
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

My first RTR rental and definitely not my last.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wish I had pictures of this one. I have never received so many compliments. It was the one dress my husband disliked on the computer but when he saw it on, it became his favorite. The colors are better in real life with this one and like all HL dresses, this dress fits great and is great quality. These dresses are heavy. After this rental, I have since rented two other HL dresses. The fit for me is great.
G
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 1, 2013

Nice but not a "wow" dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress has been rented very often, which says a lot about the dress, but you could tell it had some wear and tear. The material is heavy and doesn't show the wear and tear while it's on, but I decided to wear a different dress.
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 6, 2013

fun dress makes everyone look phenom

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
super flattering. no need to suck in as the dress squishes you into the right shape! color is more green than in stock photo
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 15, 2013

RTR was SUPER accommodating for this gal who had just had a baby and had NO IDEA what size I'd wear!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I had just had a baby 3 months before so I had no idea what my size would be! This is not the original dress I ordered, but since RTR didn't have my back-up size (M) in the dress I ordered, they sent me this one and I LOVED IT! RTR was so unbelievably accommodating! For a gal who just had a baby and didn't feel so hot about my body, this dress made me feel great! I did realize I was a size S in this designer and it does run true to size, but this felt good since I didn't want anything to fit too snug at the time anyway! THANKS RTR for a great experience! I will definitely be back!
WebGirl79
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 21, 2013

The colors are gorgeous and really popped.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The off-the-shoulder silhouette was a little bit awkward for me. Also, it seemed to fit tighter than another Medium size Herve Leger I also tried on. It's also quite short, so definitely more appropriate for a sexy night out with your partner or the girls.
Sharon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

Cool Dress, but way too long!!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Got tons of compliments in this dress, I was hoping that it would be much much shorter. On the model it looks like a mini, but that is not the case. It was still a lovely dress and I'm very happy that I wore it.
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 27, 2013

I got so many compliments wearing this gown! It was a fantastic feeling to look and feel so good!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am fit and do not have a lot of squishy parts. If you aren't as fit you may want to get the next size up. I am a little more curvy than the model and was still very comfortable in the dress.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

NOPE

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Even for a large, it was TINY!!! I can usually wear a stretchy, body con dress in a size large, but I couldn't even get this one ON. Pass on it unless you are quite thin.
StephFont
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 3, 2014

Flattering in all the right places

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wonderful experiment in color shades. You're curvy in all the right places. Absolutely beautiful fit, but need to be a 0/2/4 and tall to pull it off - especially for the length. It was longer than I'd imagined. Very happy with this dress - my first HL - and will be renting his again!
mariet
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 12, 2014

perfect!!!unforgettable night in a perfect fitting dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
it"s tight but that is what I liked about that dress
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×