Hervé Léger

Riptide Dress

$45 rental
$1500 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sex appeal meets tranquility with this Riptide Dress by Herve Leger. Show off your curves and take over the party by pairing it with Lee Angel's Silver Etienne Necklace. There's no way you'll be lost in the sea of a crowd in this dress!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blue ombre bondage jersey. Strapless neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. 32'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

57 reviews

Fit
Small 20
True to Size 35
Large 2
Photos 36
V
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Apr 13, 2011

The blue ombre is shimmery and spectacular!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Loved the dress! I don't necessarily think it runs small but its definitely tight (like its supposed to be). I'm usually between a 4-6 and a medium fit great! I want to rent it again!
Carly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 26, 2011

My best friends 21st birthday in a beautiful dress - what could be better?

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
First dress I rented from RTR and it was SO beautiful and fit me perfectly. Tight in all the right places and no need for spanks for me personally. I was able to wear a bra with it just because it made me more comfortable to do so but wasn't a necessity. Im about 5'3, 120-125 and it fit like a glove. Wore it to my best friends 21st birthday party and could not have been happier with my rental... will 100% rent this dress again.
ccucco9
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 13, 2011

the quality of the products

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have rented a lot of dresses from RTR and although they are all fabulous this one takes the cake. It is so flattering (like all herve legers) and hold you in place perfectly and I love fading effect. if your renting this dress expect ALOT of compliments. one thing I wasn't so fond of was a little stretch mark on the fabric in between the bust but other than that no complaints!!
Jeannice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 20, 2011

I had the perfect Noah's Ark costume, of course this water dress can be fashioned into many other costume ideas :)

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I couldn't resist renting this dress for my Halloween costume - Noah's Ark. Love the ocean/water pattern, fits great, as does any Hervé. Unfortunately just like any other strapless dresses, I do need to tug it every now and then. Paired it with the Etienne necklace shown and some lighting bolt earrings :) The boa was made by a friend, who used it for her costume the day before, I made the boat.
Gabrielle
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

Lots of compliments on the dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Wore it out for New Years and loved it! Runs a little small but it's flattering and great for a night out.
courtney
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 7, 2012

My husband loved the dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Dress fit perfectly. Hugged in all the right places
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 31, 2012

Got many compliments on my hot dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I usually wear a medium, and the medium fit great! I tried on the large, which also fit, but bunched really a lot in the back. This dress is supposed to be tight, and looks great! My only problem was the boning of the dress was sticking out of the side and I had to adjust it several times. But very flattering, and made me feel fantastic. I actually had ordered another dress that wasn't available, and got to pick this one instead!
Anna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Aug 30, 2012

Best moment: when my date told me I looked "unreal"

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to an all-boys school prom, and had one of the best nights ever. The dress was tight to get into but fit PERFECTLY once on. It was so easy to dance in, barely budged on my body (aka I never had to pull it down because it was getting too short), and was comfortable. Just a warning, it's quite heavy and not recommended for hot weather. I would rent this dress/a similar one in a heartbeat.
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 6, 2012

I can't imagine feeling any hotter than I did in this dress! Perfect for my bff's Bachelorette!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented two Herve Leger dresses for a Bachelorette Party in South Beach. This one and the "Purple Peep Dress". I have been waiting for an excuse to rent this designer for a while now and this seemed like the perfect chance! This one was MUCH smaller than the purple peep dress... shorter and tighter but I managed to sqeeze in. I loved this dress a lot more than I thought I would. It's gorgeous. I recommend for short ladies (I am 5'2 and it was a mini) and a large would probably fit a size 8-10 dress gal better than this 10-12 size gal.
steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Sep 19, 2012

I was the only one wearing Herve in sight and everyone knew it!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
it was flattering and rather loose fitting (especially on top for me) Would definitely rent again!
Laura
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

The dresses came exactly when I needed them in perfect condition!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this in a medium because they didn't have a small available. It was a little baggy and a small would've fit perfect but the medium was still fine.
Alexandra
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 18, 2012

This dress was absolutely incredible. I felt so sexy and glamourous wearing it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit perfectly, though zipping it up was a struggle. It also didnt ride up like a lot of body con dresses do so I didnt have to worry about pulling it down all night when I was dancing! I wish I could keep this dress and wear it to everything!
Devon
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
Nov 28, 2012

Amazing service

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for prom, and it was absolutely flawless. I received so many compliments, and I plan on renting it again soon! The Rent the Runway team was totally on top of the order--they notified me immediately when my backup dress was unavailable, and then replaced it easily with a dress similar to it. Overall great first experience with RTR!
KJC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

Gorgeous dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this after seeing it on my friend at her birthday. Fit like a glove, gorgeous color. Great on both my very athletic body as it was on my friend's very curvy body.
Isa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Got compliments from everyone at my birthday party

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is awesome on many levels, but unfortunately did not fit me quite right. The length was nice, which can be harder for someone only 5 feet tall, so that made me happy, and I looked awesome in it, and it looked awesome on me. The only problem was that it wouldn't stay up. I am not sure exactly why this happened, but i suppose it probably would have been best to have ordered the back up size in an XS. Hevre dresses are always stretchy, and therefore it can be quite easy to size down and I wish I had. While I was eating dinner it was fine, but when it came to dancing I would not have made it through the night without the help of fashion tape, but even that had a hard time keeping the dress up just because of the type of material the bandage dresses are made of. Great dress, but I would suggest sizing down or ordering a smaller backup size... or just not jumping up and down as much as I do. (sorry that I do not have a better picture of it... I'm way on the left, hopefully it is helpful with length)
Tamara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

A Knockout Dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved this dress! I wore this for my company holiday party. Probably a tad too form fitting for that kind of party, but I'm under 30 and you gotta live a little! I received a lot of compliments on the dress and the necklace. It was a great pairing. I had some trouble fitting in the dress at first, but since the material is a little stretchy, I was able to get into it. I would definitely rent a similar dress again.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116 lbs
Dec 18, 2012

Great dress, but I am so glad i dieted beforehand!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't order this dress, It came instead of my original choice. I love the colors and the fit, the only downside was that you could tell It had been worn. It had little slits of rips in the upper bandages, which really is annoying. Overall, this dress was great…but 150 is alot for something that is not in great condition.
Liz
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Dec 20, 2012

Loved the prompt delivery and multiple size options

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress to wear to a wedding, and ended up wearing my second choice of dress because this was too short. I was concerned about it riding up all night, and having to adjust it or pull it down. Would be better for a fun night out vs. a more formal event like a wedding.
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Careful! Runs EXTREMELY Small

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was totally bummed when this dress arrived because the style runs extremely small and I rented it for New Year's Eve -- very short and very tight. Luckily my backup size wasn't available, so I got to rent another Herve for an extra $25 (also XS) it fit perfectly! Also, the colors look brighter in the picture, whereas the colors in person are little more aquamarine-ish. If RTR had a small available, I would have been golden. At least I have my backup!
Rae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 29, 2012

Was not able to wear this dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was unable to wear either size I rented. one was too small everywhere and the other smashed my bust area too much giving me a weird shape. I always wanted to try an Herve because they look so amazing on others, but it did not work well with my shape.
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 30, 2012

What could be better than wearing Herve on NYE?

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I took a chance on ordering this dress since I don't like it on the model at all and don't think it was styled correctly. The necklace and shoes are too clunky, hairstyle is matronly, red lipstick is distracting, and the model's skin is too pale for this dress. I'm glad there were pictures posted by actual renters which helped make my decision because most of the real photos look better than site photos in my opinion. This was actually my first rental and my first Herve Leger dress. I did rent another Herve for my add on which also fit great. I am hooked now and will definitely rent more Herves as well as purchase one. I loved this dress and felt amazing in it all night. The dress was the perfect length for me, hitting mid thigh. The XS fit like a glove which was perfect because the S was not available as a backup. It was a little difficult to zip up by yourself but I am thinking that is normal for Herve dresses. Once on it fit perfectly and stayed put for the most part. It never rode up and I only had to adjust the top a couple times the whole night. The colors are muted, not super bright, but is beautiful on and looks like the ocean. I love anything ombre and this dress was no exception. The colors look a lot better when photographed with a flash. Without a flash the blues just don't photograph well. The dress itself felt a little soft, not thick and stiff like it should feel, so this dress was probably worn a lot, but this did not affect the look of the dress or the bandage effect. Wearing an Herve dress will make any night more memorable!
Leigh
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 1, 2013

I had so many compliments on this dress.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm typically a small or medium, so I ordered a medium thinking it would fit. It was a little tough to get into. But it looks fantastic. It's a very slimming dress.
Patricia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Jan 21, 2013

Beautiful dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit like a glove. Got so many compliments. Highly recommend.
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 103 lbs
Feb 24, 2013

Felt like a Model

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress, super sexy and classy. I chose the small because the xs would have not made this dress classy on my body type (I am a C cup and couldn't really fit into the xs as well as the s). Some pros: I'm 5'0" and constantly aware of the length since most minis are too long on me. This one was great - mid-thigh, not too long or short. The one con is that I needed to wear cups and they didn't stay too well so I was pulling up the dress all night and checking it.
Esmee
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Apr 7, 2013

Super flattering and I got tons of compliments.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit well but there was some extra fabric
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

Amazing colors

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The picture doesn't do it justice, the dress in natural light is way more vibrant... and the cut is really flattering!
Samantha
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 1, 2013

absolutely beatiful

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
fit was snug, but not uncomfortable and held everything just wear you wanted it to stay. so flattering, got sooo many compliments!
Bronwyn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
May 1, 2013

I wore this to my first prom. The dress looked amazing and I got so many compliments!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very short; dont expect to be able to bend down to pick something up.
Hayley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
May 20, 2013

Delivered right to my Hotel! But not my favorite rental.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Loved that the dress was delivered right to my hotel very easily when I was vacationing in NYC. The dress however was not my favorite. I have worn Herve before and knew I was a size Medium, but so thankful I got the large backup size because the medium was way smaller than anticipated. The Large was stretched out, but at least it fit. It worked for date night, but I did not want to stay in it very long because it was just uncomfortable. I think the boyfriend loved it though :)
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137 lbs
Aug 20, 2013

Birthday party success!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was SO comfortable and flattering. I usually wear a 4 or 6, and the medium was perfect.
landa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Aug 21, 2013

Great fit!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The overall fit of the dress was what you woul dexpect from a HL dress, however, the dress itself was a bit worn.
Malia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 29, 2013

AMAZING Customer Service!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wanted to rent this dress in a S & a M, but when I went to check out, the small wasn't available (just the first of my troubles). I contacted the stylist via chat & she told me that the dress was no longer offered in a S but suggested a similar dress that was, however the color in that dress wasn't the same so I got the XS & M of this dress instead. Once the dresses arrived on Wednesday evening for my event on Saturday night, I tried the dresses on. The M fit well but it was a lot shorter than expected which made it inappropriate for the occasion. I contacted the company Thursday night & they told me they could get me a substitute on time. I was a bit skeptical seeing as though I'm all the way in Texas, but they got it to me Saturday morning without charging extra! Everyone I talked to was super nice & made sure I had an enjoyable experience. LOVE RTR!
Emma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 11, 2013

Dress fit like a dream, accentuating all the right parts!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress is easy to wear and hugs curves in all the right places. Since the material is thicker and tighter, it also stays in place, which is nice. Great especially for those with large busts because the material is stretchy so you know for sure that it will fit and you can pick the dress according to body size.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Nov 18, 2013

Fun and Flattering

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress, it was so pretty and very flattering. It's Herve, so you know it's going to fit like a glove and hug you in all the right places. I thought it was comfortable to wear all night (through eating and drinking... tight, but not spanx tight. I received a ton of compliments. :) The reason I took a star away was that it was obvious this dress is a VERY popular rental. I received a M and L in my initial order and wanted to wear the M, but it was in relatively poor condition. I called RTR the day of and they same day delivered another M to me (amazing customer service). The second dress was in better condition, but still obviously a well worn dress.
Season
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 3, 2013

Unflattering

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Not a great look for curvy girls, and the color did nothing for my pale skin and red hair. This was a backup in case my original pick didn't fit - I squeezed into my original just to avoid wearing this!
LA
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
Jan 7, 2014

Great dress, fun night

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
It was a bit stretched out on the top, but I made it work. I note the tape (recommended by dress consultant) does not work well on the fabric. So ... unless you get some guidance from a professional on how to get it to stick do not buy the tape. Otherwise, great dress.
Laurie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

Ran way too small and short

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Couldn't wear - way too short and showy
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 14, 2014

Beautiful dress, I think I just ordered the wrong size :/ XS was too tight and the M was too big.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Beautiful dress, felt very nice on my body. Stiff fabric which was cool. The medium was really big in the bust (completely different from the XS). Almost like someone had tried to stuff their really big boobs into it and stretched it out. Maybe that was just the specific dress I got, or that's how it was supposed to be. Either way, the dress was nice but it just kept falling down. The S was out of stock, but I think it would have been a perfect fit. Wore it to birthday dinner with my boyfriend and got lots of compliments!
Ericka
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 25, 2014

Loved this dress! Has to wear the L bc the M was a bit too tight but very flattering and comfortable

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress!
Laura
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Bootylicious Birthday Dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a beautiful and comfortable dress! I didn't have to worry about it slipping down, and it was very figure flattering. It really accentuated my curves. The colors stood out for my birthday party, and I got compliments all night. Love it!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×