You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Riptide Dress
Rental $60 Retail $1500
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Sex appeal meets tranquility with this Riptide Dress by Herve Leger. Show off your curves and take over the party by pairing it with Lee Angel's Silver Etienne Necklace. There's no way you'll be lost in the sea of a crowd in this dress!
Chat with a Stylist
Blue ombre bondage jersey. Strapless neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. 32'' from top of bodice to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Chat with a Stylist
This style is currently unavailable.
Shop all dresses
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos34

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

LA
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4641
Jan 7, 2014
Great dress, fun night
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
It was a bit stretched out on the top, but I made it work. I note the tape (recommended by dress consultant) does not work well on the fabric. So ... unless you get some guidance from a professional on how to get it to stick do not buy the tape. Otherwise, great dress.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6442
Nov 18, 2013
Fun and Flattering
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress, it was so pretty and very flattering. It's Herve, so you know it's going to fit like a glove and hug you in all the right places. I thought it was comfortable to wear all night (through eating and drinking... tight, but not spanx tight. I received a ton of compliments. :) The reason I took a star away was that it was obvious this dress is a VERY popular rental. I received a M and L in my initial order and wanted to wear the M, but it was in relatively poor condition. I called RTR the day of and they same day delivered another M to me (amazing customer service). The second dress was in better condition, but still obviously a well worn dress.
V
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Apr 13, 2011
The blue ombre is shimmery and spectacular!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Loved the dress! I don't necessarily think it runs small but its definitely tight (like its supposed to be). I'm usually between a 4-6 and a medium fit great! I want to rent it again!
Hayley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 5323
May 20, 2013
Delivered right to my Hotel! But not my favorite rental.
Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Loved that the dress was delivered right to my hotel very easily when I was vacationing in NYC. The dress however was not my favorite. I have worn Herve before and knew I was a size Medium, but so thankful I got the large backup size because the medium was way smaller than anticipated. The Large was stretched out, but at least it fit. It worked for date night, but I did not want to stay in it very long because it was just uncomfortable. I think the boyfriend loved it though :)
Bronwyn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4242
May 1, 2013
I wore this to my first prom. The dress looked amazing and I got so many compliments!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very short; dont expect to be able to bend down to pick something up.
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 103 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Feb 24, 2013
Felt like a Model
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress, super sexy and classy. I chose the small because the xs would have not made this dress classy on my body type (I am a C cup and couldn't really fit into the xs as well as the s). Some pros: I'm 5'0" and constantly aware of the length since most minis are too long on me. This one was great - mid-thigh, not too long or short. The one con is that I needed to wear cups and they didn't stay too well so I was pulling up the dress all night and checking it.
Patricia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6433
Jan 21, 2013
Beautiful dress
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit like a glove. Got so many compliments. Highly recommend.
Leigh
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6431
Jan 1, 2013
I had so many compliments on this dress.
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm typically a small or medium, so I ordered a medium thinking it would fit. It was a little tough to get into. But it looks fantastic. It's a very slimming dress.
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Dec 30, 2012
What could be better than wearing Herve on NYE?
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I took a chance on ordering this dress since I don't like it on the model at all and don't think it was styled correctly. The necklace and shoes are too clunky, hairstyle is matronly, red lipstick is distracting, and the model's skin is too pale for this dress. I'm glad there were pictures posted by actual renters which helped make my decision because most of the real photos look better than site photos in my opinion. This was actually my first rental and my first Herve Leger dress. I did rent another Herve for my add on which also fit great. I am hooked now and will definitely rent more Herves as well as purchase one. I loved this dress and felt amazing in it all night. The dress was the perfect length for me, hitting mid thigh. The XS fit like a glove which was perfect because the S was not available as a backup. It was a little difficult to zip up by yourself but I am thinking that is normal for Herve dresses. Once on it fit perfectly and stayed put for the most part. It never rode up and I only had to adjust the top a couple times the whole night. The colors are muted, not super bright, but is beautiful on and looks like the ocean. I love anything ombre and this dress was no exception. The colors look a lot better when photographed with a flash. Without a flash the blues just don't photograph well. The dress itself felt a little soft, not thick and stiff like it should feel, so this dress was probably worn a lot, but this did not affect the look of the dress or the bandage effect. Wearing an Herve dress will make any night more memorable!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Dec 18, 2012
Great dress, but I am so glad i dieted beforehand!
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't order this dress, It came instead of my original choice. I love the colors and the fit, the only downside was that you could tell It had been worn. It had little slits of rips in the upper bandages, which really is annoying. Overall, this dress was great…but 150 is alot for something that is not in great condition.
Tamara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Dec 17, 2012
A Knockout Dress!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved this dress! I wore this for my company holiday party. Probably a tad too form fitting for that kind of party, but I'm under 30 and you gotta live a little! I received a lot of compliments on the dress and the necklace. It was a great pairing. I had some trouble fitting in the dress at first, but since the material is a little stretchy, I was able to get into it. I would definitely rent a similar dress again.
Isa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Dec 17, 2012
Got compliments from everyone at my birthday party
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is awesome on many levels, but unfortunately did not fit me quite right. The length was nice, which can be harder for someone only 5 feet tall, so that made me happy, and I looked awesome in it, and it looked awesome on me. The only problem was that it wouldn't stay up. I am not sure exactly why this happened, but i suppose it probably would have been best to have ordered the back up size in an XS. Hevre dresses are always stretchy, and therefore it can be quite easy to size down and I wish I had. While I was eating dinner it was fine, but when it came to dancing I would not have made it through the night without the help of fashion tape, but even that had a hard time keeping the dress up just because of the type of material the bandage dresses are made of. Great dress, but I would suggest sizing down or ordering a smaller backup size... or just not jumping up and down as much as I do. (sorry that I do not have a better picture of it... I'm way on the left, hopefully it is helpful with length)
Devon
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5341
Nov 28, 2012
Amazing service
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for prom, and it was absolutely flawless. I received so many compliments, and I plan on renting it again soon! The Rent the Runway team was totally on top of the order--they notified me immediately when my backup dress was unavailable, and then replaced it easily with a dress similar to it. Overall great first experience with RTR!
Alexandra
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5333
Nov 18, 2012
This dress was absolutely incredible. I felt so sexy and glamourous wearing it!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit perfectly, though zipping it up was a struggle. It also didnt ride up like a lot of body con dresses do so I didnt have to worry about pulling it down all night when I was dancing! I wish I could keep this dress and wear it to everything!
Laura
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3333
Sep 25, 2012
The dresses came exactly when I needed them in perfect condition!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this in a medium because they didn't have a small available. It was a little baggy and a small would've fit perfect but the medium was still fine.
steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6432
Sep 19, 2012
I was the only one wearing Herve in sight and everyone knew it!
Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
it was flattering and rather loose fitting (especially on top for me) Would definitely rent again!
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 8524
Sep 6, 2012
I can't imagine feeling any hotter than I did in this dress! Perfect for my bff's Bachelorette!
Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented two Herve Leger dresses for a Bachelorette Party in South Beach. This one and the "Purple Peep Dress". I have been waiting for an excuse to rent this designer for a while now and this seemed like the perfect chance! This one was MUCH smaller than the purple peep dress... shorter and tighter but I managed to sqeeze in. I loved this dress a lot more than I thought I would. It's gorgeous. I recommend for short ladies (I am 5'2 and it was a mini) and a large would probably fit a size 8-10 dress gal better than this 10-12 size gal.
Anna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5333
Aug 30, 2012
Best moment: when my date told me I looked "unreal"
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to an all-boys school prom, and had one of the best nights ever. The dress was tight to get into but fit PERFECTLY once on. It was so easy to dance in, barely budged on my body (aka I never had to pull it down because it was getting too short), and was comfortable. Just a warning, it's quite heavy and not recommended for hot weather. I would rent this dress/a similar one in a heartbeat.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Jan 31, 2012
Got many compliments on my hot dress!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I usually wear a medium, and the medium fit great! I tried on the large, which also fit, but bunched really a lot in the back. This dress is supposed to be tight, and looks great! My only problem was the boning of the dress was sticking out of the side and I had to adjust it several times. But very flattering, and made me feel fantastic. I actually had ordered another dress that wasn't available, and got to pick this one instead!
courtney
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3521
Jan 7, 2012
My husband loved the dress.
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Dress fit perfectly. Hugged in all the right places
Gabrielle
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2431
Jan 3, 2012
Lots of compliments on the dress!
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Wore it out for New Years and loved it! Runs a little small but it's flattering and great for a night out.
Jeannice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6523
Dec 20, 2011
I had the perfect Noah's Ark costume, of course this water dress can be fashioned into many other costume ideas :)
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I couldn't resist renting this dress for my Halloween costume - Noah's Ark. Love the ocean/water pattern, fits great, as does any Hervé. Unfortunately just like any other strapless dresses, I do need to tug it every now and then. Paired it with the Etienne necklace shown and some lighting bolt earrings :) The boa was made by a friend, who used it for her costume the day before, I made the boat.
ccucco9
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4343
Dec 13, 2011
the quality of the products
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have rented a lot of dresses from RTR and although they are all fabulous this one takes the cake. It is so flattering (like all herve legers) and hold you in place perfectly and I love fading effect. if your renting this dress expect ALOT of compliments. one thing I wasn't so fond of was a little stretch mark on the fabric in between the bust but other than that no complaints!!
Carly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4323
Nov 26, 2011
My best friends 21st birthday in a beautiful dress - what could be better?
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
First dress I rented from RTR and it was SO beautiful and fit me perfectly. Tight in all the right places and no need for spanks for me personally. I was able to wear a bra with it just because it made me more comfortable to do so but wasn't a necessity. Im about 5'3, 120-125 and it fit like a glove. Wore it to my best friends 21st birthday party and could not have been happier with my rental... will 100% rent this dress again.
Laurie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4422
Apr 17, 2014
Ran way too small and short
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Couldn't wear - way too short and showy
Season
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6434
Dec 3, 2013
Unflattering
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Not a great look for curvy girls, and the color did nothing for my pale skin and red hair. This was a backup in case my original pick didn't fit - I squeezed into my original just to avoid wearing this!
Emma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4524
Oct 11, 2013
Dress fit like a dream, accentuating all the right parts!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress is easy to wear and hugs curves in all the right places. Since the material is thicker and tighter, it also stays in place, which is nice. Great especially for those with large busts because the material is stretchy so you know for sure that it will fit and you can pick the dress according to body size.
Malia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5233
Sep 29, 2013
AMAZING Customer Service!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wanted to rent this dress in a S & a M, but when I went to check out, the small wasn't available (just the first of my troubles). I contacted the stylist via chat & she told me that the dress was no longer offered in a S but suggested a similar dress that was, however the color in that dress wasn't the same so I got the XS & M of this dress instead. Once the dresses arrived on Wednesday evening for my event on Saturday night, I tried the dresses on. The M fit well but it was a lot shorter than expected which made it inappropriate for the occasion. I contacted the company Thursday night & they told me they could get me a substitute on time. I was a bit skeptical seeing as though I'm all the way in Texas, but they got it to me Saturday morning without charging extra! Everyone I talked to was super nice & made sure I had an enjoyable experience. LOVE RTR!
landa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Aug 21, 2013
Great fit!
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The overall fit of the dress was what you woul dexpect from a HL dress, however, the dress itself was a bit worn.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4432
Aug 20, 2013
Birthday party success!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was SO comfortable and flattering. I usually wear a 4 or 6, and the medium was perfect.
Samantha
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5334
May 1, 2013
absolutely beatiful
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
fit was snug, but not uncomfortable and held everything just wear you wanted it to stay. so flattering, got sooo many compliments!
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2432
Apr 22, 2013
Amazing colors
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The picture doesn't do it justice, the dress in natural light is way more vibrant... and the cut is really flattering!
Esmee
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 16
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5233
Apr 7, 2013
Super flattering and I got tons of compliments.
Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit well but there was some extra fabric
Rae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3624
Dec 29, 2012
Was not able to wear this dress.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was unable to wear either size I rented. one was too small everywhere and the other smashed my bust area too much giving me a weird shape. I always wanted to try an Herve because they look so amazing on others, but it did not work well with my shape.
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2431
Dec 28, 2012
Careful! Runs EXTREMELY Small
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was totally bummed when this dress arrived because the style runs extremely small and I rented it for New Year's Eve -- very short and very tight. Luckily my backup size wasn't available, so I got to rent another Herve for an extra $25 (also XS) it fit perfectly! Also, the colors look brighter in the picture, whereas the colors in person are little more aquamarine-ish. If RTR had a small available, I would have been golden. At least I have my backup!
Liz
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5431
Dec 20, 2012
Loved the prompt delivery and multiple size options
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress to wear to a wedding, and ended up wearing my second choice of dress because this was too short. I was concerned about it riding up all night, and having to adjust it or pull it down. Would be better for a fun night out vs. a more formal event like a wedding.
KJC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6523
Dec 5, 2012
Gorgeous dress
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this after seeing it on my friend at her birthday. Fit like a glove, gorgeous color. Great on both my very athletic body as it was on my friend's very curvy body.
kjersti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 3433
Dec 5, 2012
really cute and flattering
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
fit runs a little large, order smaller. flattering on blondes and brunettes. really pretty shades of blue.
Bri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7444
Oct 21, 2012
Great on the computer screen; underwhelming in person.
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a trip to L.A. and when I opened the package I was so underwhelmed. The color of the dress is dull and boring me. I ended up not wearing it at all.
Janet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7533
Sep 26, 2012
beautiful dress
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress as my first choice but they didn't have it in the size i needed, so I wear my second choice. I have to say I really did love the colors of this dress and would love to rent it again.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress