Rent the Runway

Hervé Léger

Riptide Dress

$45 rental
$1500 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sex appeal meets tranquility with this Riptide Dress by Herve Leger. Show off your curves and take over the party by pairing it with Lee Angel's Silver Etienne Necklace. There's no way you'll be lost in the sea of a crowd in this dress!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blue ombre bondage jersey. Strapless neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. 32'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

57 reviews

Fit
Small 20
True to Size 35
Large 2
Photos 36
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 4, 2011

Overall fit: Small
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 8, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Dress runs very small. I ordered the Riptide because RTR recommended it for a full bust. The dress was perfect until I got to the area to pull it over my bust. Didn't cover them all the way so I ended up having to send it back without wearing it. Bummer...
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
May 11, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Beautiful dress, got a couple compliments. i probably could have went down a size for a tighter fit but i'm glad i didn't because this dress short.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 6, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wear 34F/G bra, have a pretty large derriere and a small waist, so it's tough to find dresses which can handle my figure, and this dress fit. It was definitely tight, but I feel like that's sort of the point. Tons of compliments, I love this dress. BUT if you're larger than a 12, don't bother--I barely ate for a week in order to slim down enough to wear it, and I'm a 12.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 57
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 14, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved everything about this dress. Although I am petite, the dress hit me about 2-3 inches above the knee, perfect for my age, 50+. The color is much more vibrant than the online photo, bluer blues. I typically wear a 6 or 8, and ordered the medium with a size large backup dress. Wore the large. Both fit, I just felt more comfortable in the large. Wore it to a cocktail party/dinner and received many compliments, including "best dress ever!"
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 1, 2011

Overall fit: Small
this dress runs a size smaller than a normal herve. but great fit
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 21, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Loved this dress, but at 5'3 and 100 pounds, medium was very snug in this style.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 13, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I just got this dress and put it on. I am 5'6 and between 145-155 (that's a broad range but I always sit somewhere in there). Anyway I didn't even bother trying on the medium. The large fits like it was made for me. It's not too short. Though when I pulled it out of the bag I though for sure it would be. It comes about mid thigh on me. It is so amazing! The material is very giving and it feels too comfortable to look so great. Do not be fooled though. The bottom is almost black ( thought it was very dark blue but it really looks black). So you can do black heels. I would not reccomend light jewelery on top like the model has. It's way to light for as light as the top is. I went with some nice chunky dark blue jewelry which I think goes nicer with the dress. RENT THIS YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 15, 2012

Great Dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is beautifully flattering on and very comfortable; I definitely recommend it! It is quite snug on the torso, though, so make sure to check the sizing chart before placing your order - I would normally wear a medium, but the extra room in the large was preferable for this style.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 18, 2012

Loved this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is gorgeous and very flattering. I actually rented it once before from RTR and ended up renting it again because I liked it so much. Received so many compliments. I'd say it runs pretty true to size, except if you have a larger chest like me then you probably want to order a size up. I am usually a XS in Herve but I needed a Small in this style (thank god for backup sizes!) because of my chest. Still fit great though!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jul 18, 2012

Was a bit too short

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the Riptide and the Berry Ombre for a fashion show and party and I'm so glad I ordered the backup dress; this dress was obscenely short on me. Other Herve's run longer, this one was closer to a tube top.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 129 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

Be careful

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Usually wear 2 or 4...so rented medium and small as suggested by previous reviews. Medium was perfect but the boning in the dress was broken! And the small could have worked except the panels had holes in between them! Gorgeous dress but they def need to fix or take the two I received out of circulation.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 137 lbs
Aug 30, 2012

Smaller than I imagined...

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I could barely squeeze into the small, and my little sister fit into the xs. Once I had it on it was very cute, but I wasn't in love. The neckline just wasn't my favorite and the dress did not fit correctly. I did not end up wearing it for my birthday.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Everything arrived on time and was extremely easy.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is extremely comfortable to dance in, which was one of the main reasons why I loved it so much. I didn't have to worry about adjusting the dress at all after dancing for hours. I would recommend wearing a strapless bra with it though. The only down side was that I didn't want to send it back the next day! :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 26, 2012

beautiful dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress as my first choice but they didn't have it in the size i needed, so I wear my second choice. I have to say I really did love the colors of this dress and would love to rent it again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

Great on the computer screen; underwhelming in person.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a trip to L.A. and when I opened the package I was so underwhelmed. The color of the dress is dull and boring me. I ended up not wearing it at all.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 5, 2012

really cute and flattering

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
fit runs a little large, order smaller. flattering on blondes and brunettes. really pretty shades of blue.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×