Riptide Dress

$45 rental
$1500 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sex appeal meets tranquility with this Riptide Dress by Herve Leger. Show off your curves and take over the party by pairing it with Lee Angel's Silver Etienne Necklace. There's no way you'll be lost in the sea of a crowd in this dress!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blue ombre bondage jersey. Strapless neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. 32'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
57 reviews
Fit
Large2
True to Size35
Small20
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 18, 2012
Loved this dress!
This dress is gorgeous and very flattering. I actually rented it once before from RTR and ended up renting it again because I liked it so much. Received so many compliments. I'd say it runs pretty true to size, except if you have a larger chest like me then you probably want to order a size up. I am usually a XS in Herve but I needed a Small in this style (thank god for backup sizes!) because of my chest. Still fit great though!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
April 15, 2012
Great Dress
The dress is beautifully flattering on and very comfortable; I definitely recommend it! It is quite snug on the torso, though, so make sure to check the sizing chart before placing your order - I would normally wear a medium, but the extra room in the large was preferable for this style.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 31, 2012
Got many compliments on my hot dress!
I usually wear a medium, and the medium fit great! I tried on the large, which also fit, but bunched really a lot in the back. This dress is supposed to be tight, and looks great! My only problem was the boning of the dress was sticking out of the side and I had to adjust it several times. But very flattering, and made me feel fantastic. I actually had ordered another dress that wasn't available, and got to pick this one instead!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 7, 2012
My husband loved the dress.
Dress fit perfectly. Hugged in all the right places
View photos (3)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 3, 2012
Lots of compliments on the dress!
Wore it out for New Years and loved it! Runs a little small but it's flattering and great for a night out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 20, 2011
I had the perfect Noah's Ark costume, of course this water dress can be fashioned into many other costume ideas :)
I couldn't resist renting this dress for my Halloween costume - Noah's Ark. Love the ocean/water pattern, fits great, as does any Hervé. Unfortunately just like any other strapless dresses, I do need to tug it every now and then. Paired it with the Etienne necklace shown and some lighting bolt earrings :) The boa was made by a friend, who used it for her costume the day before, I made the boat.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 13, 2011
the quality of the products
I have rented a lot of dresses from RTR and although they are all fabulous this one takes the cake. It is so flattering (like all herve legers) and hold you in place perfectly and I love fading effect. if your renting this dress expect ALOT of compliments. one thing I wasn't so fond of was a little stretch mark on the fabric in between the bust but other than that no complaints!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 26, 2011
My best friends 21st birthday in a beautiful dress - what could be better?
First dress I rented from RTR and it was SO beautiful and fit me perfectly. Tight in all the right places and no need for spanks for me personally. I was able to wear a bra with it just because it made me more comfortable to do so but wasn't a necessity. Im about 5'3, 120-125 and it fit like a glove. Wore it to my best friends 21st birthday party and could not have been happier with my rental... will 100% rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 13, 2011
I just got this dress and put it on. I am 5'6 and between 145-155 (that's a broad range but I always sit somewhere in there). Anyway I didn't even bother trying on the medium. The large fits like it was made for me. It's not too short. Though when I pulled it out of the bag I though for sure it would be. It comes about mid thigh on me. It is so amazing! The material is very giving and it feels too comfortable to look so great. Do not be fooled though. The bottom is almost black ( thought it was very dark blue but it really looks black). So you can do black heels. I would not reccomend light jewelery on top like the model has. It's way to light for as light as the top is. I went with some nice chunky dark blue jewelry which I think goes nicer with the dress. RENT THIS YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 21, 2011
Loved this dress, but at 5'3 and 100 pounds, medium was very snug in this style.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
September 1, 2011
this dress runs a size smaller than a normal herve. but great fit
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 57
Body type: Hourglass
August 14, 2011
Loved everything about this dress. Although I am petite, the dress hit me about 2-3 inches above the knee, perfect for my age, 50+. The color is much more vibrant than the online photo, bluer blues. I typically wear a 6 or 8, and ordered the medium with a size large backup dress. Wore the large. Both fit, I just felt more comfortable in the large. Wore it to a cocktail party/dinner and received many compliments, including "best dress ever!"
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 6, 2011
I wear 34F/G bra, have a pretty large derriere and a small waist, so it's tough to find dresses which can handle my figure, and this dress fit. It was definitely tight, but I feel like that's sort of the point. Tons of compliments, I love this dress. BUT if you're larger than a 12, don't bother--I barely ate for a week in order to slim down enough to wear it, and I'm a 12.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
May 11, 2011
Beautiful dress, got a couple compliments. i probably could have went down a size for a tighter fit but i'm glad i didn't because this dress short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
April 13, 2011
The blue ombre is shimmery and spectacular!
Loved the dress! I don't necessarily think it runs small but its definitely tight (like its supposed to be). I'm usually between a 4-6 and a medium fit great! I want to rent it again!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
April 8, 2011
Dress runs very small. I ordered the Riptide because RTR recommended it for a full bust. The dress was perfect until I got to the area to pull it over my bust. Didn't cover them all the way so I ended up having to send it back without wearing it. Bummer...
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
January 4, 2011
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×