Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Purple Fusion Sheath

$260 to buy
$1050 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rock this purple sheath by Herve Leger for that big night out on the town with your girlfriends. A color that can be worn year round for any occasion. Go with the WGACA Vintage's Vintage Chanel CC Double Choker.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up; Should be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up; Should be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple stretch bandage(90% rayon; 9% nylon; 1% spandex). Sweetheart neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
85 reviews
Fit
Large8
True to Size70
Small7
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 15, 2014
Not a fan :(
The fit was not flattering on me. If it had been maybe a few inches shorter it might have worked. It made my butt look huge and the straps were either too long or stretched out. Proportionally just didn't work for me.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 2, 2014
Great dress!
Beautiful dress! It did run a little small though.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
October 29, 2014
Gorgeous color, almost perfect fit
First experience with RTR and it was a good one. I ended up wearing the L version of this dress because unfortunately a smaller backup size was unavailable. The dress itself really shows off your curves and hides flaws. Great color and a thick material. I'm tall but with big butt/hips but the length still hit slightly above the knee. It created a very nice shape. Paired it with heels so I felt like a beautiful, curvy, amazon! Loved it. Got a lot of compliments and attention from guys/girls, friends/strangers alike. The only major CON was the length of the straps. I wished a smaller size was available just because the straps were so damn long. The whole night I felt like I was about to pop out and I like to dance! so that was irritating.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 12, 2014
Worn for a college alumni event. (The dress code called for blue but no one could tell in the dark!)
Gorgeous dress that fit like it was made for me, and the fabric was thick enough that I didn't need a bra or shapewear. (The mythical Herve Leger "Spanx Effect" is no joke!) I agree with the other reviewers about the straps, though -- WAY too long and had to be pinned back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
August 26, 2014
Wore it for a fab anniversary dinner
The dress generally fit pretty well as I was unsure what size to wear since I am still carrying some baby weight. The straps were way too long and kept falling down. I would probably size down to a medium next time I rent a Herve.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
July 27, 2014
Time to retire this beauty
Rented the M for a wedding but sadly had to go with an alternate option - the straps have been stretched out beyond repair. I'm 6'1 and they wouldn't stay upright. Perhaps they could have been taped/pinned but I opted for comfort and not having to worry about them all night. Fabulous regal purple color and sexy fit though.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 14, 2014
great dress!
This dress worked really well for my event. Fit like a glove. The only problem was the straps were too long and i had to pin them back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
July 6, 2014
Gotta love Herve
This is the 2nd Herve I have rented and they always hug you in all the right places. It's sexy for that night out. Wore this to a birthday dinner with the hubby. The straps were a bit long do didn't give 5 stars.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
July 2, 2014
Beautiful dress. Tons of compliments
The straps were a bit long
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
June 20, 2014
Straps too long for breast support.
The dress was a little too tight and I could not wear it because the straps were much too long. Additionally I'm a 36 D and without any support I couldn't manage the dress. It was pretty and sexy and I wish I could've worn it.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 20, 2014
I probably should have gotten a different dress.
First of all, and not at all the fault of RTR, but I reserved this dress months in advance of the ceremony that I wore it too and it ended up being much colder than anticipated, so no one really got to see the dress due to me being covered up and trying to keep warm. Moving on. I had read in past reviews about the shoulder straps being long/stretched out, which was true. I prepared myself for this though and pinned them to a more appropriate length. I was not, however, warned about how bad the panty lines are on this baby. True, you don't need Spanx, but I did feel self conscious about being able to see the seams on my underwear. Also, the back was so low that I could not wear a bra. Given how small-chested I am already, this dress didn't really make me feel as feminine and beautiful as I thought it would.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
May 13, 2014
I felt like a movie star! I received so many compliments!
The fit was perfect. I didn't want to give the dress back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
April 29, 2014
A semi-formal evening event
This is a tight dress. I'm not normally one for tight fitting clothing but the fabric really was flattering and defined the waist. I probably could have worn a medium but it wasn't available. The straps are LONG. I had to pin mine in the back with safety pin which was a bit difficult because the fabric is so thick. Luckily I had a friend who could help me the few times they popped out during the night. Despite being tight the dress was very comfortable and I got away with wearing a regular bra although I didn't necessarily need one but considering the strap situation I wanted to be on the safe side. If you are ready to show off curves this dress is great!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 137lbs
April 25, 2014
I've always wanted to wear a Herve and this was the perfect opportunity! Worth the hype!
Straps on the dress felt perfect when I first put it on and as the night wore on they got longer which was annoying. Other than that fit great!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 36
April 17, 2014
Great fit!
It is a very slimming and flattering dress. It really does accentuate all the right parts. I'm wearing this for a bachelorette night but this could also work nicely for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2014
danced the night away in this beautiful dress. I will definitely rent another herve dress from rtr
fits like a glove!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
April 15, 2014
Sexy. Fit great. Straps fall so definitely get pins or tape.
Fit perfectly. Straps fall off.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 14, 2014
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party. It is a beautiful color and arrived in great condition
The only con for this dress is that for smaller busted people, the straps might fall down often. This was slightly annoying, but not that big of a deal. Otherwise, I really enjoyed wearing this dress.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
April 11, 2014
Gorgeous dress & I got compliments... but I spent the whole night pulling at the loose straps =(
This dress would have been a knockout, except that the straps were too loose. I spent the whole night pulling the dress up & worried that my bra would show... and it totally did. A real bummer -- I couldn't really enjoy myself at the party (dance floor) without wondering if it was falling down in front.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 8, 2014
Love this dress!
I rented this dress for my sorority formal, and I was getting compliments all night! It fit great; however, the straps are VERY loose. It worked ok for me because I wore a strapless bra, but I did show a lot of cleavage because I didn't pin the straps. The dress is tight, especially in the leg openings so walking was a little challenging, but overall it was very comfortable and easy to dance in! Loved the dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 6, 2014
Fit like a glove and received endless compliments!
High quality and comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 31, 2014
Straps were a huge problem
I was so excited for this dress since I normally love Herve dresses, but this one was not flattering. I ended up having to wear my back up. The straps on both sizes were unwearable. Even with a padded bra, the top was loose and the straps kept falling off. Might work better for larger chested ladies.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 16, 2014
I felt like a BOMBSHELL!
I cannot say enough amazing things about this dress. It fit me like a GLOVE and was super comfortable. I did not want to take it off or give it back! I loved the length, it was long enough to be appropriate for a military function, but I still felt sexy. I got lots of compliments all night and my husband LOVED this dress! I will DEFINITELY be renting another Herve in the future!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
March 8, 2014
I wore this dress for a wedding....so glad I did!
Love this dress! Perfect fit! I chose grey accessories (shoes, clutch, necklace). I would've done gold accessories, but I already had everything in grey. My dress size runs 4-6 depending on the make.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 5, 2014
Amazing! This was my backup dress and it looked so good I had to wear it! So many compliments.
Very tight, the straps were a little long and I had to fix them all night, definitely need fashion tape, but still worth it
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 2, 2014
Sliming, stunning dress!!
Great dress!! I loved the way I felt in it. It really accentuates the good curves and hides the bad curves. My only complaint it that I think I got the wrong size. The XS was not available but I thought because this dress is tight the small would be fine. It definitely fit but the straps were too long so I was pulling it up all night to hide my strapless bra from poking out. The Small was tight but not too tight. I will definitely rent a similar style again in XS!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 28, 2014
Didn't fit well
I couldn't get the dress on, really tight around the waist, even the larger size, and not flattering on me. The straps seemed very stretched out too - like it's been worn many times. Dress still in good condition though. Beautiful color and really well made, just not for my frame. I'm more of a "ruler", narrow from shoulders through hips but don't have a really well defined waist. Maybe someone with a more hour glass figure and smaller waist will find the dress more flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 24, 2014
First RTR experience & I felt stunning in this dress!
I loved the length of this dress for a wedding. I really wanted a M, for the spanx effect, but it was not available so I gambled with the L. I was worried it would be stretched out, but it was not. As the night went on, it stretched in my waist area and looked a bit loose, but all in all, it came in great condition. However, the bust area was really big and I'm not exactly flat chested. You definitely need to be able to fill it out (I had inserts I used but had I not had those, would have been SOL) and it went too low on my back to wear a bra. On a similar note, the straps are quite long- I wish I had tape but didn't so was cautious of them falling off all night. All that being said, it was very comfortable and flattering both standing and sitting. I would definitely rent again but would probably size down to a M but this did the trick :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 13, 2014
Not sure if I would rent a Herve dress again
The dress was definitely body con... I usually wear a medium and I could barely zip the large. I think it drew more attention to my problem areas than sucked them in. My boobs were also hanging out, so unless you like that I'd steer away from this dress if you have a large chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 26, 2014
Stunning Plum Herve
The color is unique and the thick stretchy fabric makes the most of your curves. The straps and bust seems a little stretched out, but I am small-chested, so this could of been the issue. The length was perfect for a wedding and the dark plum color was perfect for a November wedding. I wasn't able to make a strapless bra work with this dress since it was pretty low in the front and back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
January 1, 2014
Great party dress if you want eyes on you!!!
This was a great dress. I wish I would've ordered a small instead of a medium because the straps fell down quite a bit. But besides that I got several compliments from people of all ages saying how amazing the dress was and I agree! The dress speaks for itself. I can't wait for my next even to order again from Rent The Runway!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
December 29, 2013
This dress was extremely flattering. The color would also look great on any skin tone!
So many compliments. Herve knocks it out again. The length is perfect for someone not wanting to show too much leg- it hit at the knee. The fit sucked everything in, smoothing out any bumps on your body. And it also gives cleavage! Keep it simple, ladies. No need for huge overbearing accessories. Just a pair of great earrings, a small clutch, and a hot man.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 20, 2013
Stunning dress, but runs a little big.
This was my first rental and what I loved was I ordered and received it same day! I mean, nothing to wear to an event or date? Hello, miracle resource! I wanted something classy and glamorous, but not too over the top and this color and style fit the bill. I usually wear an XS or S (for breathable room) in Herve Leger, and this dress ran large, particularly the straps which were hanging over my shoulders. The length was also a bit longer than I expected. I almost panicked and thought my money had been wasted, but I bought a "magic clip" to pull the straps inward and it fit as it should. The color is beautiful and it did just the trick. Will definitely be renting again! Who wants to wear the same dress twice?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
December 9, 2013
Conservative but fun
Loved the color & the cut of the dress, only thing was that the straps were a little big on me and fell off the shoulders.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 8, 2013
Sexy Party Dress!
I wore this dress to my bachelorette party. Loved the fit, color and length of the dress. The straps were a little big but not a big deal. No need to wear spanx, dress fits like a glove. Get ready for all the compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 5, 2013
Loved this dress! Kept everything in place, did not even need spanx. True to size.
Got compliments on this dress and felt great all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2013
Backup dress, didn't end up wearing it
Liked it ok, but not the right style for the occasion
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 12, 2013
Sexy dress for a hip, young wedding
I wore this dress to a younger, hipper wedding than I normally attend and wanted to look cool without trying too hard. This dress was perfect! It hugged my curves without looking cheap and accessorizing with the Pirate Treasure necklace gave it a very rock feeling. I would rent Herve again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131lbs
November 11, 2013
Amazing
Amazing!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 4, 2013
The color is gorgeous. So much more fun than the basic LBD!
I loved the fit except for the straps. I am 5'4" and the straps were way too long. I was in constant danger of a wardrobe malfunction in front of hubby's important clients. Luckily I grabbed a wrap on my way out the door. There was no way I was taking this dress off for the bland LBD in my closet. I loved the packaging when it showed up at my door and having two sizes was very handy. Although I probably won't rent this dress again, I will definitely be back to RTR on another occasion.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×