Hervé Léger

Papaya Bandage Dress

$150 rental
$1,450 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Brighten up the party circuit in Herve Leger's Papaya Bandage Dress. Create a strong color contrast with tall black heels and Rodrigo Otazu's Rainbow Fringe Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10.

BUST: Works best on A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra or with a NuBra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Papaya bandages. V neckline with cut out detail on straps. X bandage detail on body. X bandage detail on back. Hidden back zip. 24" from top of bodice to hem.

Share
125 reviews
Fit
Large
(12)
True to Size
(100)
Small
(13)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
April 18, 2012
Not a good experience

Hi girls so my experience wasn't too good. The dresses came in a very bad condition. The dress itself was really nice and fit well but it was impossible to wear them both sizes came in a very bad condition. I called the costumer service right away. I couldn't connect for an hour so then I went online. The person helping me was Emily she was very nice and helpful she made my return quite easy and dealt with everything in a professional way. So even though I probably won't order anything again from this website I appreciated the great and helpful service.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 24, 2012
Amazing Dress!!

I wore this dress for my Bridal Shower and received so many compliments. I never wanted to return it! It is comfortable, hugs all the right places, and it super forgiving. I was a little worried about my bust being too big for the dress (34DD) but it was perfect.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
May 15, 2012
Classy and sexy

Wore this dress on a date night with about 10 other couples. Everyone LOVED the dress. The compliments came all night long, most especially from the men. I am 36 years old, 5'9, 127 lbs, 32e/26/36, typically a size 4. The small fit like a glove. Perfect. I also ordered the XS and could have pulled it off, but the Small was really the correct size. I paired it with gold accessories and it looked amazing. So sad I didn't take pics.

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
May 22, 2012
When the DJ said I was the best dressed that night! :)

This dress is absolutely stunning! It fit fabulously and the color really complemented my skin tone. I was IN LOVE :) I highly recommend this dress. I wore it without a bra but I'm a 32DD so no bra needed :) If you have a smaller chest you might find it a bit big in this area.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 10, 2012
Perfect

Rented this for a friend's wedding and from the beginning, people from across the room were saying how great it looked. The only issue is that the dress runs VERY small, and even though I'm very petite, I am nowhere near as skinny as that model so the dress didn't look quite that amazing on me :) It was tight around the waist and back, but the size small straps were too long. Also, one of the hook closures was ripped off. And as someone else noted, you cannot wear a bra with this unless it's one of those sticky ones, but it has such great support that I didn't even need one. At any rate, I can't even count the number of compliments I got on it. As one of the groomsmen said, "I think every dude there last night should have thanked you for that feature presentation." Needless to say, I'll be renting this one again.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
June 18, 2012
The eyes on every man's face when I walked out the hotel lobby!!! Priceless~

This dress is stunning and made me feel like a million bucks. It fit like a glove and made me feel like the baddest chick EVER!!! I am glad I rented it for my 30th birthday in NYC. I received so many compliments and would definitely rent another soon.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 29, 2012
Great Summer dress

This is a gorgeous dress, fits like a glove and the color changes from a coral peach to a neon orange depending on the light.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 3, 2012
I wore this dress to my 25th birthday party. Wish I could have kept it forever. Amazing dress, a phenomenal Herve' design and more complements than i ever expected. thanks RTR for making finding that "perfect dress" easy.

I wore this dress to my 25th birthday party. Wish I could have kept it forever. Amazing dress, a phenomenal Herve' design and more complements than i ever expected. thanks RTR for making finding that "perfect dress" easy.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 12, 2012
Great Dress = Great Night

Wow, what a great dress! All things I read in the reviews are true, this dress results in lots of compliments. I felt awesome in it! While I do believe it runs small in size, I think its supposed to be that tight. Herve Leger is truly a genius ladies. The bands on this dress hug you in all the right places. I wore it with a nude pump, not black as shown here. It was perfect!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
July 20, 2012
Shipping ease is great! Love RTR!

I rented this for a hot outdoor summer wedding. The top fit a little loosely and the bottom was good, but that's more so probably because of my shape. I will say that I wish I was more tan for this dress .... I wouldn't recommend it for those with fair skin! Overall very happy I chose this one.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 9, 2012
Hot, but very small!

I rented this dress in a S & XS for a party and was unable to wear either size as they were both SO tight and SO short! I could just squeeze into the M w/only minimal capability for pulmonary respiration. Seriously though, this number was very constricting on me, albeit very very sexy. Luckily I also rented another Herve in a S which fit perfectly initially but ended up a bit lax as the night progressed. Go figure...must be the cut of the dress. I would rent again in the future in size M, or in an S if I ever figure out how to breathe thru my skin ;)

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
August 10, 2012
absolutely stunning

This Herve dress looked and felt amazing, to say the least. This jaw dropper did run a bit larger than expected, thankfully I opted to get a second size smaller and it fit like a glove.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 14, 2012
LOVED IT!

I got SOOO many compliments on this dress! Fit me like a glove :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 21, 2012
A-mazing

This is the most beautiful dress. It wears well! It fit perfect! It is a show stopper. I loved it so much, I purchased my own.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
August 21, 2012
I got so many compliments from the dress. The overall experience was great.

This dress is stunning. The color is just beautiful. I ordered two sizes: 0 and 2. Size 0 fit me as I knew it would. It comes just above your mid thigh

View photos (2)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
August 24, 2012
Not only does the dress look great, but it is perfect for a long night of dancing!

I wanted to have a weekend to remember for my best friend's bachelorette party in Vegas, and Herve Leger seemed to do the trick. This dress is gorgeous on, the color was great on my skin tone and it was comfortable for all-night dancing. The only issue I had was that the dress I received had a small pink stain toward the top right front (lip pencil, perhaps?). Since it was difficult to spot, I wore the dress anyway... Everyone loved it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 5, 2012
Awesome Dress!

I had a great time at the Roots Picnic 2012, and looked amazing. Sorry for the lack of pics! Amazing fit! I felt like a celeb all night long.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 5, 2012
Flattering Fit

The dress was great. It was very flattering and smoothing. I was a little concerned about the stomach area, however the additional bandaging reinforced the stomach so there was no need for spanx. I did rent this dress to possibly wear for a wedding, however it was a little bit too short and revealing to wear for a wedding, especially because it had a tendancy to ride up due to the material. You also can't wear a bra with it, but I am a 34C and the thicker bandaging also helped anything from showing. If that is an issue a NuBra or petals would work just fine with the cut. Overall a great dress - super confortable, tons of compliments, looked amazing. Definitely great for a night out.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2012
taking a millon photos!

I love this dress, it fit prefectly. I felt so beautiful the whole night and I received compliments evey other minute. I definitely recommend this dress to anyone!

View photos (3)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 13, 2012
LOVED THIS DRESS!

Amazing dress! Love love loved it. I felt super confident and gorgeous all night. Sticky boobs are a must! Got so many compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 13, 2012
The dress I wore for my 25th Birthday!

I was nervous at first when renting this number. I can't get away with something that has an open back because I have to wear a bra, but I was so pleased that this dress enabled me to do something I have never been able to do! This dress felt amazing when I put it on. The contours of the fabric work really well for someone who is hourglass and/or larger breasts - it doesn't flatten you out, but it provides lift and separation like a bra would.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 14, 2012
Great dress, felt sexy all night!

I ordered both Sm & Med sizes. I ended up wearing the small seeing that it was more fitting to the body. It felt comfortable all night & it made me feel gorgeous. I would def rent a dress again from RTR! Great experience.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 18, 2012
I absolutely loved this dress I was glowing.It was my 21st birthday and I felt flawless!

Perfect fit,great length,amazing material and very comfortable. I recommend it all the way you won't regret it!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
I wore this dress for my birthday and it was perfect! The material hugs in all the right places!

-Fit- a bit larger than normal size -Hugs the body well, great for girls wit curves!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 20, 2012
HOT Dress!

I loved this dress. I wore it in Vegas and it was perfect for a night out. I received many compliments!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
September 22, 2012
My dress arrived on time and it was almost like christmas opening and trying on the dresses!

The fit was definitely tighter than I originally thought it would be. I'm normally a size 8-10 in dresses, so it's a good thing I ordered the L as my second option. Although the straps were a little large on the L, which made it almost impossible to keep the top up, so I grabbed some Spanx and wore the M. Got a ton of compliments, definitely accentuated my curves, made my 21st birthday a blast!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2012
I am glad I also ordered another style because this one was too short for the occasion.

I loved this dress from the moment I first saw it on Rent the Runway! I ordered this dress and a purple herve leger dress to wear to a wedding. Unfortunately I did not pick this dress. It was way to sexy and short for the wedding I was going to. Its a great dress for an occasion where it is ok to scream look at me, like a birthday or bachelorette party, I just did not find it appropriate for a wedding. Very very sexy though!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 15, 2012
I wish it had fit!

This was my second option. But, it didn't work out. The color was very nice. However, the dress looked well worn. I didn't like that much. The fit was kind of weird for my shape too. Overall, I was sad it didn't look the way I wanted it to look. But, I was happy I had a great dress that I wore instead, also from RTR!

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 1, 2012
Such a BEAUTIFUL color! Perfect night on the town dress!

Form fitting, very flattering! The back was sexy with cutouts, but still figure flattering!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
November 20, 2012
I Love Herve Leger!

This dress fit like a glove, I loved it! I wore it for my graduation and my graduation dinner/party. It was perfect, everyone said that I looked amazing it in. Needless to say, I didnt want to return it!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
December 7, 2012
LOVED!!

This dress was the best! I loved wearing it and it fit great. The color is more vibrant in person and I received so many compliments. Definitely rent this one!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 9, 2012
My fave dress, too bad it's retired!

You really don't need a bra with Hervé Léger. This dress "hugs" everything literally, not that I have extra meat but it definitely made me like I was wearing spans (a little exaggeration). If you conscious about your body or not, this designer dress FITS EVERYBODY! It's DOES DEFINE YOUR SHAPE...

View photos (2)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 22, 2012
compliments kept coming all night

words cannot explain how sexy & confident i felt in this dress, def a head turner..... loved loved this dress

DaphneJanuary 22, 2012
Omg you look beautiful!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 29, 2012
Got it on time and Loved it

I wore this for my Dirty Thirty and got so many compliments. It was also very comfortable and fit me like a glove.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 130lbs
December 25, 2012
This dress was rented for my birthday absolutely loved the color and how the detail showed in pics

I normally wear a 4-6 and the small was tight on my hips but the medium was loose on the top. I choose the medium and it worked out fine. Got lots of compliments on the color and fit felt amazing in it. The only thing was it got looser over the evening so if its only a little snug, maybe wear the smaller size because it will stretch out in the evening.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
January 17, 2013
wasn't flattering on me so I did not end up wearing it :(

the shoulder straps make it impossible to wear a real bra, and the bust was too big and unflattering without one. Sad to say I didnt get to wear it

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 22, 2013
Great... Just Great!

Fit great, got lots of compliments at the wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 28, 2013
Fit perfectly! Great color.

Recommend it

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
February 19, 2013
I felt gorgeous!

I rented this for my bachelorette party in Vegas! I kept on getting compliments all night. It might be my favorite dress I've rented so far! It fit great and was in really good conditon. I was getting compliments all night! :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 3, 2013
Loved this dress! I got so many compliments on it, it fit perfectly and I was comfortable in it!

True to size, medium fit great, works great with large bust.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×