Rent the Runway

Hervé Léger

Mind Boggling Dress

$95 rental
$1250 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have a date night planned? This Herve Leger is one style that he won't be able to keep his eyes off of. Pair with accessories like the AV Max's Gold Tetra Chain Earring and House of Harlow's Gold Textured Cut Out Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - this dress has a very deep V and can not be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra due to deep V and low back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - this dress has a very deep V and can not be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra due to deep V and low back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Color block stretch bandage (90% Rayon, 9% Nylon, 1% Spandex). Sleeveless. V-neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

156 reviews

Fit
Small 14
True to Size 126
Large 14
Photos 120
Kristiana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Dec 4, 2012

Very form fitting and sexy

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really flattering. Probably shouldn't wear a bra with it
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

Bustin' out!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
OK, so I typically enjoy wearing any Herve number, the fit is second to none. This dress however, may have been a bit too much for me even on my BIRTHDAY in NYC. I rented both a small and medium and end up wearing the small because it fit better in the bust and the middle . However I wouldn't recommend this dress if you are a busty girl like myself unless you are super duper confident because the low and wide plunging neckline may leave you feeling a bit exposed. I spent most of my night making sure that I didn't bust out! Luckily I had a pretty decent "V-plunge" strapless bra. The back of the dress was not quite as low as imagined so I was able to get away without needing a low-back or backless bra. The hemline is perfect- just above the knee. On a positive note the dress can go with just about any accessories-I opted for my leather motorcycle dress when I felt the need to be more modest. DARING dress, bring your confidence!!!!!
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Dec 5, 2012

Loved it---so comfortable and recieved so many compliments! Definitely using this site again!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a size 4-6 and the small was a perfect fit! I have a small chest so that worked out as well, and even if you have a bigger chest, you should be fine.
Lizzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

Compliments from everyone!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I definitely could have benefitted from trying the XS but RTR did not send it with the order. But it was fine! I still felt great in the dress and wished that I didn't have to send it back so quickly! Seemed like it may have just already been stretched out, compared to a brand new Herve dress. Cleavage was not too much either.
Sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

My new favorite Herve!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rarely ever go for tight dresses, but the color blocking and amazing fit was a must! Great colors and even though I wore the medium I had some extra room and could have worn the small.
Jessie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

This dress is simple, clean and polished. Love the color blocking!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits perfectly. I wore it with a Commando thong and no bra. It wasn't too too tight or too loose, just right.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 1, 2013

Perfect for New Years Eve

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is so hot. I've rented and worn a ton of Herve Leger's styles but this was definitely the sexiest. The XS fit great like a glove but it was a little difficult to keep my 'girls' in all night. I'm a 34DD and it was pretty close to a wardrobe malfunction a few times. I wore a deep U plunge victoria's secret bra underneath which was a life saver as well as a ton of fashion tape, thankfully they worked perfectly. This dress is probably better for ladies a little smaller than I am in the bust, but overall I loved it and got a ton of compliments everywhere we went in the city for new years!
Rachel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jan 6, 2013

I got so many compliments on this dress! It was the perfect dress for our last formal

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It is a snug dress. I normally wear a small, and fit into the small in the extra size I ordered but going down to an extra small made me feel much more secure given how low cut it was in the front. I would suggest ordering your regular size and then one size down
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 8, 2013

Loved this dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for New Year's Eve in NYC. It was pretty tight, but the S was too loose so i went with the XS. I went without a bra since I have a small chest but a low-cut strapless one would work too. I also recommend shapewear/invisible undergarments - since it's so fitted, anything else would show. Definitely a good one for special nights out.
Addie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 24, 2013

It fits so great!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
only con is the top, you can't have too big of boobs to wear it. but small boobs, like me, i had to use fashion tape.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 29, 2013

Lives up to its name! Very sexy dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is called the "Mind Boggling Dress" and it does exactly that! The fabric and color blocking are very flattering, giving you a sexy hourglass figure. I wore this to a fundraising event in NYC and got compliments all night long! Do not wear it unless you want some attention. My husband thought it was great. One thing to be aware of is that the dress shows some leg, and is low-cut in the neckline. It is hard to wear shapeware underneath without it showing, so I did without the Spanx. If you have any kind of bosom, you will definitely want to wear disposable cups for support and some tape in order to keep the dress in place. I found that things shifted around a little and the tape was necessary for me in order to avoid a "wardrobe malfunction." All around, an awesome dress and one I wish I could wear again!
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 31, 2013

sophisticated with a touch of sexy

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely adore this dress. It is long enough to be classy and sophisticated but form fitting and cleavage bearing enough to be sexy. The top of the dress fits a little looser than other Herve dresses I have worn, so you might consider sizing down. The pattern is beautiful, but white on the bottom is not as slimming as a solid, darker colored dress and will accentuate your hips (so if you aren't confidant in rocking your curves, beware!).
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Mar 12, 2013

i liked it but didnt love it like i usually LOVE herve dresses

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
fit was OK..I think this dress would be more flattering on a bigger chested girl, as you cant really wear a bra with it.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

Very sexy but comfortable!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is very body-con (tight undergarments needed!) and is meant for someone with a smaller chest size (I would say anyone over a small C is going to be falling out of this). You cannot wear a normal bra with it. It is a gorgeous and flattering dress though - the inverted triangles create the illusion of curves, along with the tight banded fabric. I got lots of compliments and despite the fit (tight!) is really comfortable.
Kay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

This dress made me love my body!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It's still the dress where I order the salad, not the steak; but I loved it, and so did my fiance. My approx. measurements: 34, 24, 36. Small fit wonderfully. I ordered the xs as well, but I liked the small on me. 5'9. The top was a bit big, but the fashion tape RTR sent made it perfect. This was my first RTR experience, and first Herve. I will definitely go back for both.
Mere
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 26, 2013

A total show stopper!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The perfect dress for my Flirty 30! Yes, its very form fitting, but the fabric has some stretch so I was able to move comfortably. And the 'bandage' style helps hold you in a bit. Plus, the color blocking gives the illusion of an hour glass figure. For me, it was important that I wear a bra because I needed a little help in that area, and I was able to do so with a low cut bra and the double sided tape. Would def. recommend for anyone looking to make a statement. Very sexy, but tasteful.
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Apr 7, 2013

Great party dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my 40th birthday party. I wanted to make a statement, and boy did I. I got so many compliments! I originally got the XS and S based on comments, but the Small was soooo tight. Called RTR at 8:05 on Thursday night, and even though the phones closed at 8, I received a call back at 8:15. They overnighted the Medium to me, which I recieved before noon on Saturday. Great customer service!!! I loved the way the medium made my body look. It was really tight, but in an Herve Leger type way, and thought it was very flattering on my body.
Gabi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Apr 14, 2013

I got so many compliments on this dress - I felt like a celebrity! definitely rent this!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly everywhere except for my boobs - I'm a 32B, it was a tiiiiiny bit loose and I had to use double sided tape to make sure I didn't slip out. I don't know if it would fit better with bigger or smaller boobs, but it was perfect with the tape! and made my butt look AWESOME!
Amber
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

This dress made me love my curves. I felt beautiful and sexy and got so many compliments!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
At first I tried the Large on because I was scared that the Medium would not fit. It was definitely too loose so I put on the Medium. I was worried that my 36DD boobs would not fit in the dress after reading many reviews BUT I had a deep plunge bra from VS that had clear straps which fit perfectly under my dress. Since the thin part of the straps are on the top of the shoulders, I wasn't worried about the clear straps showing. The dress was super comfortable, it was tight enough that it held everything in place. It definitely is a dress that gets a lot of attention. I loved every minute that I had it on and was sad to send it back.
Lily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Apr 21, 2013

Herve is always a great choice!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Tight, but in a great way - extremely flattering! Wore this for a formal event and it was perfect.
Carrin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 28, 2013

Loved it. It looked gorgeous and sexy on.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit well, but even though I'm small chested, I was afraid my girls were going to pop out if I danced too hard. Other than that it was perfect!
Camille
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121 lbs
Apr 28, 2013

This dress really turns heads!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a formal, and it was absolutely beautiful in person. It runs true to size, but is slightly bigger up top and very low. Despite the top being a little big on me, I really loved it and got tons of compliments.
allison
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
May 13, 2013

everyone loved the fit!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress ran true to herve ledger sizing, the small was perfect! the dress was very tight so I wore control top underwear spanx for a smooth look. the straps were kind of long so I had to pin them, and i needed to wear fashion tape to keep the top in place.
casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
May 17, 2013

Definite sex appeal without being inappropriate

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The dress is incredibly tight when you first put it on, but keep in mind that if you're going to be moving around that the dress will loosen up a bit as it stretches. If you have a small chest like me then use double-sided tape. The fit is not very forgiving so spanx might not be a bad idea!!
LL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 18, 2013

The dress was a show stopper.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress. It made me look like I had an hour glass figure even though i have pretty narrow hips. Also, you can definitely wear a bra! I wore a normal strapless bra that had a semi low front and clear straps that were hidden pretty well under the dress's straps because i wanted more support. I did have to use double stick tape to make sure the dress covered my bra, but it stayed on whole night perfectly. I wish they had this cut of dress in more colors!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 22, 2013

Perfect.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Ive worn a fair share of Herve Leger dresses but this one might be my favorite. It hugs your body so well. It fit me perfectly! The dress itself is stunning in real life and I got lots of compliments on it. It is a little busty but I would definitely recommend this dress!
Keri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
May 22, 2013

Unique design

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Great looking dress, fits comfortably except the top seems to spread open a little too easily. I wore a bra w/ some fashion tape which was ok for awhile but the tape stopped being sticky and I was constantly adjusting the top so my bra wouldn't show. Maybe would be better for a non-dancing event. I was dancing all night so was a little annoying. Still a gorgeous dress though and would recommend.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
May 23, 2013

Perfect Bachelorette party dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was the best bachelorette party dress! The fact that there was some white/cream color in it made me feel like the bride without looking "theme-y". I received so many complements and it felt sexy and fun!
Stasia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

This dress got so many compliments, couldn't make you feel any sexier!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress was the perfect choice for a summer evening birthday party. I got so many comments on how fabulous it was and how great it looked! It is a little big in the chest area, but I loved the way it was snug without being tight, and the length was just short enough--an XXS would have bene great, but the XS was fine. I absolutely recommend this dress for a night out!!
Kizzy
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

Herve, what can I say.....gorgeous!!!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a Christmas party, I froze my butt off but I looked good doing it. This dress runs small I got the medium as my first choice and the large as my backup glad I did because the medium was way too small for me. I loved everything about the dress, except I have very small breast and needed a bra for some padding and unfortunately I could wear one with this dress, so I had to hold the straps up in the back with a string and let my hair cover it. I have a big butt and a small waist and it fit every curve. I got so many compliments on that dress that night and it lasted for weeks. I wore this dress in the winter and wore stockings and high pumps. You could also do this dress in the summer with open toed shoes. I would recommend this dress to ladies with full B or above breast because the neckline is very low. If you are athletic this might not be the dress for you especially if you are straight up and down. This dress is great for hourglass figures!!!!
BKB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 7, 2013

It's sexy! Makes you look skinny, but lower cut than expected.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Get a smaller size, it will suck you in and look strange if it's not fitted. It's low cut - I felt a little uncomfortable at my Wedding Rehearsal Dinner. Better suited for a girls night out or Vegas! It's a beautiful dress.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144 lbs
Jun 10, 2013

This dress was a hit, but maybe for someone with bigger boobs.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a DC outdoor wedding. While many of the women were dressed in more flowy or conservative styles, I know that I look and feel the best in body hugging dresses. I got so many compliments and my boyfriend was especially pleased. The only disappointment was it felt like the bust area was stretched out. I had rented the Medium as backup and it fit pretty similarly to the small everywhere but the bust. I ended up not wearing a bra and just trying to keep my shoulders back so I didn't flash anyone. It ended up OK, but I would recommend using fashion tape or those strapless cutlet thingys. Overall, I loved the dress and felt very sexy.
Stacy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 18, 2013

This dress is absolutely amazing!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this to Mohegan Sun and got compliments all night! This dress is super fun and comfortable. The dress ran a little small and you definitely will need fashion tape, but other than that is was absolutely fabulous.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116 lbs
Jun 22, 2013

Very sexy

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
More low cut than I was expecting, ended up wearing a black cami under it. I found it to be a little stretched out in the bust area.
samantha
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 24, 2013

I rented this dress for my 20 year high school reunion and it was a HIT!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fits tight so you need special underwear. I ordered the small and the medium and went with the medium. The top is very low cut, which is part of what makes it so flattering, but you will absolutely need fashion tape.
Rhea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 24, 2013

My first Herve!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love the tight fit and the thick material. The chest in both sizes (S & XS) seemed very stretched out. Super flattering though! The small was actually tighter/better fitting than the XS which seemed a bit beaten up. Think it's time for the XS to be retired by RTR.
Haley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 27, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The only issue I had was that the straps were a little too long (which was why I wore the small). I didn't have any fashion tape around, so I was constantly tugging at it to keep my bra from showing. I could have used smoother fitting underwear, as well - this dress is tight! But, so sexy!
Kate
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 29, 2013

Gorgeous dress, great for girls with curves!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really really loved this figure flattering dress though I think the events for which it's appropriate are probably limited for the average person!
Jaclyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 1, 2013

Stunning dress....I absolutely loved it. I wore it to my Crossfit prom and got tons of compliments.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore a medium and it fit perfectly. I used double sided tape to keep my boobs in place because its pretty low cut.
Brianna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 9, 2013

Perfect dress for Vegas - and my new favorite Herve!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I've rented 2 Herve Leger dresses in the past and they're all awesome, but this had an especially cool pattern. They didn't have my first choice size (M) but the S ended up being perfect so I wore that anyway! Great fit for people with curves and I got SO many compliments. One of my friends said she liked it so much she thought I should buy it, but the amazing part about Rent the Runway I don't have to! :) Would for SURE rent again.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×