Rent the Runway

Hervé Léger

Metallic Mystique Dress

$150 rental
$1490 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Hot Hot Hot! This Metallic Mystique dress by Herve Leger is the ultimate dress to wear for a girl's night out, birthday party, or fancy date night! Rent Erickson Beamon's Smoke and Mirrors Earrings and Erickson Beamon's Super Nova Cuff to look fierce!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - low V cannot be worn with standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy and tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra -wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - low V cannot be worn with standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy and tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra -wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black metallic stretch bandage. V neckline. Open triangle back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden front zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

160 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 137
Large 12
Photos 87
Cheercol
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 28, 2011

If you want to stand out, rent this Herve Leger!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
SUPER HOT! I am a size 0; I rented XS and it fit perfectly. The length was a little long so I hemmed it with fashion tape and received many, many compliments. If you want to stand out, rent this Herve Leger!
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 16, 2011

Felt Beautiful and Sexy on my birthday, Got so many compliments.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is beyond fabulous, I wore it this past weekend for my 26th birthday in Vegas and it was absolutly perfect. I wear a size 2 usually dress size and I ordered the extra small it it was perfect, very tight and form fitting, I have 34C cup and the way the dress fits it give amazing 'cleave dont worry about not being able to wear a bra with it because the way it fits it isnt needed. Sexy and classy at the same time you cannot go wrong with this dress, I got nothing but compliments for it the entire evening. Rent this hot lil item ladies..you will be so happy you did.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Oct 26, 2011

Prefect Vegas dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a Vegas trip and it was awesome! It's a gorgeous dress that is definitely an attention grabber. I am usually a small in almost everything I wear but I ordered and extra small and it fit perfect, a small would have been too big. I am a B cup and the deep v was perfect for my size, too much bigger and you would be hanging out of it. I definitely recommend this dress for you next big night out!!
Rosy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Aug 6, 2012

Million Dollar Dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This is my first ever rental from Rent the Runway. I have always been a little bit skeptical of online shopping but when I received a coupon for a free dress rental, I obviously jumped at it. And boy did RTR make me a believer! First of all, the dress was packaged in a beautiful big box and it was inside a plastic garment bag with some goodies hung on the hanger as well. They really know how to treat a customer right. The dress came exactly when it was suppose to and was ironed and ready to wear. I tried it on and it perfectly hugged every part of my body. Even though I am small chested, this dress was so form-fitting that it helped boost up areas that most dresses would leave rather flat. The material is quite heavy and does feel luxurious, which makes me feel that this dress would have been PERFECT for the winter. I also ended up using the fashion tape to hem up the bottom of the dress because I am 5 feet and the dress was a little long on me. Nevertheless, I was caught by surprise. THANK YOU RTR for allowing me to wear a Herve Leger dress without breaking my bank...I will definitely be renting in the near future.
nancy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Aug 22, 2012

The beautiful dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a friend's birthday party. I absolutely loved it! No bra necessary; which is super awesome. Definitely will consider renting this dress again or trying another Herve rental. I love RTR!
Barbie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Sep 4, 2012

Everyone loved my dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress to take my boyfriend out for dinner on his birthday. This is an awesome dress and fits true to size!
Shirene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 174 lbs
Sep 6, 2012

The fact that I was FINALLY able to rent this dress. It is very popular and know I understand why. Additionally I was able to walk into an actual Herve Lerge store in the dress...it was awesome...! :-)

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is phenomenal!!! If you are afraid of attention from both men and women, then this is not the dress for you. It fits true to size. Im a 10-12 pants size and my hips are 42" so I was a little worried. But it fit great! I also did not wear a bra. The fitting of the dress's material held everything in.
Bianca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Sep 9, 2012

The dress was amazing and it made my night even more special.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Absolutely loved the dress. I am usually a B cup and that was the only area of the dress that was too big. The person before must have stretched it a little. It sucks in well and shows off all of your curves. I would recommend renting it to anyone.
vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Sep 12, 2012

Definitely a head turner! Classy and Sexy!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Loved the fit of the dress. I ordered the small but after trying it on, thought maybe the XS would have been better. It's super stretchy. Gives you a great shape. Loved the back too.
Andrea
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

Very classy yet sexy.Classic cocktail dress.Comfortable and made my body look great!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It's a longer length and a different shiny black material I loved it. A total must have!
Maria
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Absolutely loved it!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The condition was impecable. Very comfortable, and perfect for every occassion (dinner date, wedding, or fun night out!)
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

I felt like a moviestar

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress fit perfect. It's great for a night on the town. Wore it in Vegas and we were able to skip the line! Definitely a showstopper.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Great party dress that you can wear anywhere!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was great for a bachelorette party. I got the XS and it fit fine, it was a little snug, but I like that it held everything together and makes you look skinner! The material was a little stiff and rough, but it really didn't bother me at all.
Alessandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 20, 2012

Complimented all night. Really is a stunning and looker dress.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Definitely runs big. Had plenty of room for dancing. Stretches as the night progresses so definitely order a size down.
Lisa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

Stunning Dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress not only oozes elegance, but it is comfortable to wear too! I was not prepared for how heavy the dress is, but it slides on easily and the meshy, stretchy fabric instantly expands and shrinks to fit anyone’s figure. I wore the high rise spanx that slim the waist, hips and upper thighs. I was a bit concerned that when I sat down, the dress would slide up and expose the spanx. But….it didn’t. In fact the dress wore wonderfully. No hiking, slipping, shifting, bagging, binding….nothing. Unbelievable. Oh, and you don’t need a bra with this dress – trust me! The only negative I have is that when I received it, I noticed that there was an area that was coming unstitched from a side seam. I considered fixing it, but decided that it wasn’t that noticeable. One last thought – I think I could have gone with the small as this dress has A LOT of stretch. With the spanx holding me in, I think it would have fit nicely. Next time….
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 21, 2012

Never met a girl who didn't love Herve

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was HOT HOT HOT! Wore this for a wedding after-party and got SOO many compliments. It is low cut in front which worked well for me as I have a smaller bust but more gifted ladies take note. When you zip it up its like zipping away all your little flaws. My boyfriend and everyone else just died over how gorgeous it looked.
Maxine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Oct 1, 2012

It was the perfect dress & Perfect Fit. Definitely a showstopping dress with out being too much.Love

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The Dress is cute a little big, I'm usually a size 2 or 3 in dresses, but the xSmall was perfect. I'm also a 32DD but the plunge was just enough. I can only say great things about this dress, and from the compliments I received that night, it looked great as well. It does bunch up a little at the stomach when you sit, but it doesn't effect the dress much once you're standing.
Mimi
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

It was for my 40th birthday bash! The theme was Foxy Fab Forty. Everyone said I looked awesome!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit me like it was custom made just for me. I am 5 ft 4 in and I way 113 lbs. I have an athletic build. My measurements are 36-24-36. The length is about 2 inches above the knee. I could not have been more thrilled with the look and fit of the dress. I would definitely recommend this dress, designer and this website! Very easy to receive and send back! Absolute awesome experience!
jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

i LOVED this dress, it fit perfectly - felt great in it! Will definitely rent again

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Super snug and comfortable, very flattering
Lana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

sexy, hot, party dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is one of the most sexy dresses and it is ultra flattering. Great New Year's dress because of the subtle shimmer. I'm not into sequins, but I wanted some sparkle too.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

Wore this for my bachelorette party and it was PERFECT!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVE THIS DRESS! It was so comfortable, and really just kept everything in place surprisingly well lol. I got so many compliments on it all night. It really just made me feel great. I really love it, probably one of my favorite dresses.
Melanie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Oct 31, 2012

I wore this for my birthday/10yr college reunion.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This fit PERFECTLY. Busty girls...be careful when considering this one. I have a small back, so I was able to squeeze my girls into the dress. But anyone bigger than me might have an issue. I LOVED the dress, and got LOTS of attention!
Michele
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 9, 2012

Best 21st Birhday dress!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was absolutely wonderful for my birthday!! I felt so sexy with the plunging neckline. It definitely hugged and sucked in at the right places. I felt comfortable in the dress because of my small chest, but for anyone with a large cup size, I would be careful! Still, I would recommend this for any party you're attending!!
kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 28, 2012

LOVE LOVE LOVE

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was sp super flattering. Its like wearing spanx as a dress. It fits snug and accentuates all the best curves while minimizing the rest. I loved it and was bummed that I had to send it back and couldnt keep it in my closet forever. I got the small and medium. They both fit because the material is so stretchy but i liked the small better because it fell a little shorter.
Cornelia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 4, 2012

FANTASTIC DRESS!!! I received so many compliments, heads were turning all night!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Definitely a form fitting dress, but as long as you order the right size, it covers minor flaws. Very low cut--definitely wear a Nu bra. Despite being a low cut, the dress stays in place very well--I was never worried about any "wardrobe malfunctions".
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 14, 2012

Hot Dress!!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress for a bach party in NYC, & it was perfect!! Fits like a glove, & would def wear again!
Yvette
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 10, 2013

What a dress. Can't go wrong in this one.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is low cut but shows off a lithe figure like never before. Only con was my bra that I should have swapped for another so that it didn't show. It did not ride up, and it was not loose ion the back. Wish I had a full length pic to show-after all the fun I had, we forgot to take full pictures!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

There is a reason this dress is hard to rent!!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this for a 30th birthday trip to Vegas. I looked H-O-T! It was like magic. Somehow I had boobs, hips and a butt - things I normally do not possess! I got the small and the XS. The XS would not even zip up. The small was the perfect size. It looked great from the front and the back. I wore my hair up to show off the back. I didn't wear a bra and was fine (but I have a small chest). I wish I could have kept this dress.
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 4, 2013

Felt like a MILLION DOLLARS on my 31st Birthday!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my first ever RTR experience and it was AMAZING. Since then, I think I've rented 15 dresses because this one was so perfect. I wore this Herve on my 31st Birthday to a nightclub in Miami. It fit absolutely perfectly and was a HIT with my husband, friends and family. If you want to feel HOT, then you MUST rent this dress!
Amy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

My husband didn't want to return the dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fit was great. The material is think and stretchy. It is a very supportive dress in that it holds everything in! It is very low cut.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

Want to rent it again!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was amazing! I rented this dress for NYE and LOVED it! It made me feel sexy, but in a subtle, classy way. Fit was a little big, I got a S & XS and had to wear the XS. Would rent again and recommend to anyone!
Gabrielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 27, 2013

Chic and Sexy Little Black Dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I NEVER GOT A GOOD PHOTO! With all the celebrating on my birthday, I was the only one without a camera. Unfortunately I never got a photo with a full body shot....but let me tell you, it hits all the curves in the right places. I felt sexy but at the same time chic and elegant. It's form fitting, but the fabric is thick so it never feels cheap or like you might be showing too much. The dress fit true to size, and with it's stretch I felt very comfortable in a small. I plan on renting this dress again for another special occasion.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 13, 2013

I felt like a million bucks in this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Comfortable, stretchy, but enough elasticity to keep it all in. I would recommend Nu Bra for a little lift since there is no way you could wear a regular bra. I wore this in Vegas for a bachelorette party and was comfortable all night.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 26, 2013

Killed it!!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Best dress ever! It made me feel like a rock star! Now if I only had a couple grand so that I could buy it I would be set!! Lol.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 17, 2013

Perfect Britney Spears Outfit

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a Britney Spears Concert and It was so much fun. I think the dress could have been a little shorter but it worked out just fine. lots of fun.
katelyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 29, 2013

Perfect for NYC

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for my birthday at a club in NYC. Fit really well, a little tight but the material is stretchy enough where you can move and dance in comfortably. Didn't need to wear a bra with it because it holds you in tightly.
christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 26, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It was a snug but comfortable fit. Very sexy dress and certainly turns heads!
Tory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 28, 2014

This dress made me feel invincible!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was PERFECT! I did not want to send it back. I wore it to see Janet Jackson and I felt like a rock star! It has a cute triangle cut out in the back as well. You do not need to wear a bra with this one. My favorite Herve Leger yet!
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111 lbs
May 7, 2014

LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress for my anniversary dinner, and my fiance absolutely loved it on me! It definitely hugs your curves in all the right places! It was a little long for me, (I'm only 5' 2"), so I ended up folding any excess length under my dress and it stayed put. And although it was very fitted, it didn't have the same tight hold as other Herve Leger dresses since it's not individually banded, so I would size down if you want that tight hold that Herve Leger is known for. For reference, I'm a 32C, with a 25.5" waist and 35.5" hips.
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Felt amazing

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for my 30th bday party in Vegas.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×