Rent the Runway

Hervé Léger

Instant Chemistry Dress

$60 rental
$1450 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Fall in love wearing this figure flattering Herve Leger on that first date. He won't be able to keep his eyes off of you. Add a trendy cuff like the AV Max's Glitzy Glamour Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout hip area
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout hip area
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch bandage with blue stripes. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

64 reviews

Fit
Small 30
True to Size 32
Large 1
Photos 27
Janna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 1, 2012

Loved This Dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was really flattering! The thick black stripe really cinched my waist! I would probably size up in your back up size because it is a very form fitting dress; I would also recommend wearing SPANX! This dress hit me about 4-5 inches above my knee! Loved this dress, I will definitely be renting it again!
Alissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 6, 2012

The looks I got said it all!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress.... as I love all Herves. It's a little more blue in person than what the picture shows but that's a good thing! It's pretty and fit great.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jul 17, 2012

I wore this dress to a RTR employee party in our new showroom! I love renting herve and this one seemed a little different and I also loved the color! I think that it is conservative enough to wear to many occasions, I am 5'8 and still felt that it was long enough to be appropriate for more than just a night out.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This new Herve is definitely snug because it is new, but I still felt comfortable in the xs which is what I normally wear in Herve. This style is definitely one of the longer styles, probably more appropriate for older women. Overall, loved the color in person and loved the dress!
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 16, 2012

This was my fourth rental so far. I love how easy it is to rent, get the dress, and send it back. I always get asked where I got my dress from.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I usually wear a size small or 4, but I ordered this dress in a M since it was going to be made from a stretchy material. My boyfriend loved it on me and it was a great date. Thanks Rent the Runway!
Rochelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

This dress cinched my waist so beautifully. It created the sexiest hourglass shape to my figure.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It is rather tight, so be prepared to look great and eat close to nothing!
charina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 31, 2012

I always love Heve Leger and RTR made it easy for me to get one! I would not ask for anything more!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is absolutely amazing! Simple but sexy! I love HL but sometimes I feel bad buying it so the idea of wearing it once and returning it made it easy for me to afford more HL to wear in the future! RTR is a great business model! It does not break your bank! Love it!
Kristen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 13, 2012

Herve Can Do No Wrong...

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Though this dres ran small, it was snug in all the right ways! But do size up in your extra size just in case...Got many compliments on the dress. My boyfriend loved the dress and was a hit at the company Christmas party. One women even recognized it as a Herve!
MO
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Dec 14, 2012

Loved this dress! Perfect for a cocktail attire event.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
- Sexy dress - Form fitting, sucks you in! - Looked great with black shoes
Britt
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

I felt like a million dollars on my 26th birthday in this great Herve!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was a smash! We had the best time at my birthday eating, drinking and dancing. Everyone complimented the dress and it smoothed me out in all the right places. I would rent this dress again or purchase it if I could.
Jacqueline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 20, 2013

Dress was beautiful...

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really enjoyed wearing this Herve Leger Dress to New Years Eve. It has a slightly different look than most Herve Leger dresses available which I really loved and the blue color was great. I got tons of compliments and the dress was an appropriate length- not too long for NYE but not too short that I had to worry about the length all night.
SuDeKro
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
May 16, 2013

I wore this for a night out in Vegas with friends....my first experience with Herve Leger.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
First time I tried it on I thought it was a little bit snug. Actually it turns out to be quite comfortable while still being form fitting and incredibly sexy. The dress certainly cinches at the waste accentuating an hour glass figure. Don't worry, you'll be able to eat, sit, and dance.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 24, 2013

Looking good at my sorority's semi-formal!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love this dress!! The strip hits right at my waist and everyone kept commenting about how great it looked :) I should have rented a S, but only the XS was available so it was a little tight around the legs and made it kind of difficult to walk. Worth it though!
Rebecca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 2, 2013

Hot dress but super tight! Go for one size up, at least!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved the over all look, anthe shape. It did run tiht, and oddly was long me as well, even past my knees, which made walking a litle hard. Great dress for a bachelorette party though!
anne
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 6, 2013

Super sexy

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Gorgeous dress...very tight but that is the hallmark of the HL...its a wow dress and I def. recommend.
Lyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 20, 2013

Wow... yeah just wow

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
So this dress is the most perfect bachelorette party dress ever - it is definitely snug but I felt amazing in it. It hugged in all the right places ... yeah their is nothing bad to say about it. I loved it! It has a nice stretch to it so it pulls things in all the right places. I didn't near to wear a bra when I wore the small. There isn't a huge difference between the small and medium except the tightness around one's chest - so thats personal preference.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
Aug 21, 2013

VERY small

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered my normal XS and Small and could wear neither of them... Straps are oddly placed
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 31, 2013

Big WOW factor - heads will turn when you are wearing this!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit of this dress was outstanding! It fit like a glove and conformed to all of my curves to highlight my shape. Like other Herve Leger's, it felt a bit tight to actually get the dress on and zippered up, but once it's on it moves with your body. I received a ton of compliments and told all of my friends about Rent the Runway!
G
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 27, 2013

TIGHT

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
This was soooo tight. I haven't worn a HL dress before, so maybe that is the idea, but I usually wear a 0 or 2 dress, so according to the size chart, I was an XS. I could zip it, but it was not particularly comfortable.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Dec 10, 2013

Flattering!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
V small in the bust area without being too revealing A bit long, but I folded up the bottom which was an easy fix Overall good fit
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 10, 2013

Hot, hot, hot!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
There's nothing better than a bandaged dress for a night out on a bachelorette weekend. I loved the navy coloring in this dress. Comfortable too!
marjory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

gorgeous dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
this dress fits very snugly, but in the best possible way. like all herve bandage dresses, you won't need spanx, and you'll feel supported and comfortable for hours. i thought the length was perfect, though it did need a tug down upon standing up, and after walking a while -- it works its way up some. i normally have a more narrow, athletic shape, but this dress pulled my waist in, and made me look much more hourglass than i'm used to -- a wonderful perk!
Grace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

Sexy! and... COMFORTABLE! However larger busts be warned you will be on display!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is unbelievably sexy, it's Hervé Léger after all. The stripes are so nicely gradiented that they don't have the widening effect blocked horizontal stripes can, and the black at the waist is perfect. This was also the first time I had the pleasure of wearing one of the bandage dresses and was pleasantly surprised with how comfortable it is. Sure, it's tight but not in a corset-like restraining way. It's so well made, and its weight alone as a garment when you pick it up speaks to that, it's amazing how substantial it is. The length of the Large on me is perfect, I'm a little over 5'8" and it was in no way too short. My only negative about this dress was the tightness in the bust or maybe it was the cut of the neckline. Either way, it squeezed my 36DD chest too much - and I wore the Large. Bra or no bra I had a serious case of double boob, and with even a lightly lined demi bra my chest was so pushed up I felt far too 'on display' for my liking. Braless it was manageable, but by no means modest. However if you've a full bust and looking for a décolletage displaying dress for a setting/event where you'd feel more comfortable showing off the ladies, this should be your choice!!!! I still give it 5 stars :)
aubrey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 9, 2014

This dress was great!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The color of the dress was amazing. It's a little tight so I went a size up but that fit perfectly.
Marisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 5, 2014

Could not get it on! Very small.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I would order s sizes bigger next time.
A
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 6, 2014

nice dress but runs super small on the bust area

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This did not fit my boobs at all...kind of my fault since I have a few Herve dresses...so I didn't en dup wearing it for NYE. I wore something out of my closet. Its a cute dress, but not to dressy and super tight.
Christina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 121 lbs
Mar 7, 2014

Sexy and classy for Vegas!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
It was a perfect dress for a Vegas trip! The dress is absolutely beautiful and it fit me like a glove. Don't be discouraged when you're wiggling your way into it when you first put it on - the dress' material molds to your body and becomes very easy to move in. I was dancing all night with no issues. Highly recommend!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 20, 2014

Gorgeous bit tiny!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved the color and silhouette of this dress, especially since it's not super short. I usually wear an XS in Leger and when I ordered this dress the S was not available as a back-up size so I only got the XS. I'm a size 0 and the dress fit great over hips and waist but I'm bigger on top, 34C and it would not zip up :(. I think a size S would have fit perfectly but I was not able to wear the XS. I would try to rent this dress again in the future as long as I could get the S, it's really pretty and more of a cobalt blue than in photos. Loved it but sent it back unworn. Definitely recommend this dress but if you are bigger than a 34C on top order a size up for sure!
Lyndsy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 1, 2014

Classic Herve!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a bachelorette party and it was a tight fit! But once I was all zipped in, I had a fabulous time dancing the night away with my girlfriends. The dress was comfortable and sucks you completely in! I will definitely be renting other Herve dresses in the future!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 4, 2014

Chic form fitting dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I really liked this dress and so did my husband. Because it was so form fitting, I'm glad it wasn't any shorter. It fit well and was very comfortable -- especially since you can wear a regular bra with it (win-win!!).
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Just a bit too snug

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress itself is a beautiful Herve, the colors are really great and dark. I think I'm just in denial about how much weight I've gained because the dress was just too snug. It's been worn many times before I'm sure so the fabric isn't brand new and doesn't suck you in like a brand new Herve. I wish a medium would have been available but it just didn't work out so I couldn't wear it. Also, the black band in the middle of it is very large and if you are hourglass shaped it hits at a really funny angle. Beautiful dress, definitely would look drop dead gorgeous on someone with an athletic built.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90 lbs
May 2, 2014

Perfect dress for my 30th birthday party! Great for very petite ladies.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was absolutely perfect for my petite frame. It is very difficult for me to rent dresses as I am only 4'10" and 90 lbs, but this one was very tight and the perfect length (hit right above my knees). I highly recommend this dress to any petite woman!
Robin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
May 4, 2014

Love Herve Leger

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Another fabulous Herve Leger dress. Love the blue stripes. I could have worn the XS, but the small was more comfortable for a long night at an event I was hosting.
Stacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90 lbs
May 5, 2014

Too Tight

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Wore this for my birthday dinner. Don't plan on eating, moving, dancing, or sitting in this dress. Beautiful, but not worth it unless you're a mannequin.
Kris
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 6, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress for a weekend in Vegas. I ordered a medium and a large as my backup. The medium was too damaged from the previous renter so RTR just sent the large. I was skeptical at first because the last time that I rented a Herve Leger dress, the medium was perfect. I was afraid the large would be big, but it actually worked out just fine. You can wear this dress with or without a bra. I wore a bra because I felt that without one, the dress flattened me out (I'm a 34DD).
Marin
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
May 30, 2014

Much cuter than the pic - but runs WAY small

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Rented this for a night out with friends. They only had the XS available, and based on others' reviews it seemed like that would work. The dress arrived, and while it was definitely cuter in person than in the photos on RTR it is TINY. It's also long. I'm 5'0 103lbs with boobs and a butt and there was no way I could zip it up. Walking was out of the question. Dress came down to my knees. Had to exchange it for a different dress. The XS will only work if you are very slender.
Darlyne
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

This dress is gorgeous and sure to catch anyone's eye!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Eye catching in a good way
dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 27, 2014

super flattering dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
this dress was awesome. wish i could have kept it. great fit, makes your waist look tiny!
Danielle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

Too long for me!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
The dress is gorgeous. It sucks you in in all the right places and it looked great. The only issue is that I am 5'2" and the dress was way too long for me. I could have dealt with the length, but the straps were also too long and because of that was I was unable to wear the dress. It is also very low cut and gives great cleavage and flatters any bust. Loved this dress, sad I couldn't wear it.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Jul 31, 2014

Loved the dress, just wasn't appropriate for the event I was attending

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
It does fit tight and hug in all the right places. However, with my curves it was a little to sex kitten for the conservative rehearsal dinner I went to. I would rent again for a more appropriate event. I didn't realize until I got there what everyone was like. Hated that I couldn't wear it.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Gorgeous sheath, compliments shorter, petite women

Size worn: XS
Rented for: Party
Normally wear a S in Hervé, this time XS did the trick.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×