Duplicity Contrast Dress

$169 to buy
$1350 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be daring by renting this fabulous Herve Leger Duplicity Contrast Dress. Perfect for a girls night out or birthday dinner.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy and tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy and tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy and magenta bondage jersey. Multi strap neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 32'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
150 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(133)
Small
(13)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 2, 2014
Fit like a glove! Was so sad to return it. I was worried about the size, but it worked out well!
Form fitting, but flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
October 2, 2014
Being in the right dress made me feel so good too :)
I rented this dress for the sorority formal. It fit perfectly for me--it had just the right amount of tightness overall and the length was nice too. It was the hottest dress I've ever worn and everyone complimented on it all night long. My date was really impressed with the dress too ;)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 22, 2014
hugs your body like a HL should!
Just what I would expect from a HL dress, this one was relatively new and it definitely hugged my entire body. I would have preferred the front top design to be a little different but it worked out anyway. I wore it to a party and just like any HL dress would do, it was a head turner. The length was just perfect too (not too short and not too long). Thanks RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 14, 2014
Flatters your body, received so many compliments!
Great fit, received so many compliments! Asked a lady who worked at Herve about size, and she said that If you can zip up an Herve dress on your own it's probably too big.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175lbs
July 8, 2014
This is a magic dress. It is literally like wearing spanx as a dress!
It's short but does not ride up. It's forgiving in size. I was a size 14 at the time I wore it and the L fit snugly but well.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 1, 2014
very pretty dress!
Great dress, but it's getting a little stretched out. :/
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
July 1, 2014
Continuous stream of compliments
I wish I never had to return this dress! I got compliments all night long. I wore it for a night out in Vegas and it was perfect. I shipped the dress to the RTR store in the Cosmopolitan, it was right on time and they had it packaged up nicely. When I dropped it off at the end the just took it and said thank you, no hassle at all. I'm normally a size 2 and the size chart said the xs would fit, so I ordered that but was not able to get a second size small because it was already sold out for the weekend. It was definitely a tight fit as the fabric didn't have much give but was very thick and forgiving. I would have loved to try on the small but the xs still worked. The dress worked with a regular strapless bra and I wore short spanx as well. Overall best dress I have ever worn!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 18, 2014
HOT!
I wore this to a bachelorette. When ordering, I was worried the XS would be too small, and there was no S available. The XS ended up fitting like a glove. I'm 5'4" ~115 lbs. I received several compliments and can't wait to rent another dress from Herve!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
June 17, 2014
Perfect for a bachelorette party, not too flashy but fitted and sassy
Fttted, a little long (closer to knee-length) but super comfortable. The boob prat was a little funky but it worked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
June 14, 2014
Great colors, but not as great overall as I expected
This dress was okay, but probably my least favorite rental thus far. I wore it for a dinner date and my fiance' loved it. The colors were great and the fit is definitely flattering and sexy. However, the zipper down the back is HUGE, and I definitely had trouble with it digging into my back throughout the night. I found myself readjusting in my chair to avoid the stabby zipper! Also, despite the rubber grip edge along the top, the dress kept riding down a bit and showing the top of my strapless bra, even though it fit well and hugged me correctly up top. Anyway, it was fine, but I wouldn't rent it again, especially when there are so many other RTR dresses for which I fell head over heels.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 10, 2014
Too small. I was unable to wear.
Super tight.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 29, 2014
I rented this dress while in Vegas, and this is the perfect party dress !
This dress is tight but in a good way, it's almost like its a part of you. I would rent this dress again for sure !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
May 27, 2014
This dress is perfect for those who are self conscious but want a body con dress!
Wore this to party in Vegas. Need a body con sexy dress but I'm not typically drawn to styles like this. This dress hugged me in the right places and the colors are flattering. I love the strap detail!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
May 20, 2014
Sexy fit hugs ur body!!!
Great dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 11, 2014
Wonderful dress another show stopper
Dress was perfect for a romantic dinner, the husband really loved it. Unlike the other HL dress I ordered it was a bit of a tight fit into a small, but ended up looking perfect once zipped
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 102lbs
May 10, 2014
love at first sight!
This dress was a stunner. I loved how it fits. The colors were gorgeous (purple & navy), the straps and the patterns are very flattering (adds a cool factor), and the length works on petite women like me. I was also able to wear a regular bra so that was great. I loved everything about it. I wore it to my birthday party and felt like a million bucks:)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 1, 2014
Sleek and sexy dress, perfect for a bachelorette party!
I have always wanted to try a Hervé Leger dress and decided my friend's bachelorette party in Atlantic City was the perfect time to try one out...I have no regrets! I was a little nervous the dress would bunch in the wrong places despite the reviews saying it sucks you in...well they were right! The medium was a little baggy so I tried my luck with the small and was so happy with the results! The dress is definitely tight but made me feel so great and it was very flattering. I got many compliments on it. The color is more like a dark purpley blue in person. You can obviously tell it is well made and I would recommend this dress a thousand times over! One of my favorites!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
April 27, 2014
I had such a great time and I got lots of compliments on the dress.
The dress definitely shows all of your curves. It's very flattering if you have a large chest. The colors were beautiful and you will definitely stand out in the crowd. My husband absolutely loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
April 7, 2014
Arrived on time, fit was perfect and exactly as described - overall the dress was a big hit!
Arrived on time, fit was perfect and exactly as described - overall the dress was a big hit!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
March 31, 2014
Well made and very unique dress!
Unfortunately, I was unable to wear this dress because it was just a bit too small for me. There was only one size available (size small), so I took the risk, but the Medium would have likely been perfect. But, RTR was great and gave me a full credit for the dress. Even though it didn't fit me, I thought the dress was very cute and sexy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 27, 2014
stand out dress! compliments all night
fits tight, but moves, and is easy to dance in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 24, 2014
Senior year sorority formal
The fit is tight, bandage style that really holds you in at all the right places. Super sexy dress that my boyfriend loved.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 12, 2014
Great party dress!
Nice fit, need a strapless bra, rides up a bit because I have a big derriere but nothing major. Holds it all together well w/o spanx as usual for an Herve. Good pick.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 11, 2014
Gorgeous dress, show stopper!
It does run a bit small, might want to get a size up as a second dress. If you have a flat stomach and love your curves, this is an excellent dress. Also, must like your legs as it's cut a bit short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 2, 2014
Geometrically Sexy!
Loved it, perfect fit, fun design!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
February 19, 2014
My husband said this was his favorite!
This dress was amazing! I rented it for a Broadway performance of Rock of Ages and it was perfect for the party atmosphere. I noticed lots of glances from both men and women and it was so comfortable to wear. I was a little nervous about the straps but they were fine and stayed right in place. I wore a strapless bra because otherwise I felt like this dress kind of flattened down my chest. Since the dress was so form fitting, I had no trouble with that - it held the bra right in place along with everything else. My husband said this was his favorite Rent the Runway dress I've ever rented!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 12, 2014
Fit like a glove!
I wore this dress to a girls weekend in Vegas and it was a hit! The dress fit perfectly and I received lots of compliments. Glad that I got to wear such an expensive dress for a bargain price!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 10, 2014
I was so sad to return this dress! ;(
This was actually supposed to be my backup dress but I fell in love with it as soon as I tried it on...I received so many compliments on it, and the overall fit was amazing :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
February 7, 2014
Wore this dress to a Mardi Gras sorority semiformal and it was a huge hit!
I ordered the XS and S and decided to go with the XS. The major difference in fit between the two sizes was with the bust area. i would say if you're anything above a 34B the XS would cause some awkward sports-bra uni-boob effect. It was a tiny bit shorter and sort of held you in more (felt kind of like spanks) but in a comfortable way. Definitely a revealing/ body conscious dress but also quite flattering. I'm usually between a 2/4 in dress, wear a 26/27 jean and a XS/S shirt
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 25, 2014
Unique color combo, sexy dress
I had a lot of fun wearing this dress. My only complaint was that it didn't do much for my bust. It holds everything in, but for smaller-busted women it might make you appear flat. Other than that a great dress that was fun for dancing the night away.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 16, 2014
the only successful RTR rental I have had!
tight in all the right ways. Was perfect for my 30th birthday party and was even cute with black tights and pumps.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 29, 2013
Not a great fit, but customer service excellent
I originally rented this dress for NYE and fortunately received it early, thanks to RTR. Unfortunately, the dress, while stunning, was not a good fit. I did try both the XS and S, and found that the waist area was strangely kind of baggy. Not in the sense that there was lots of excessive fabric (given that the dress is very snug) it just didn't hug my middle as it did everything else. Thus, distorted my shape. Luckily, the customer service was great and I was able to get another shipped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 23, 2013
Great dress, but shorter than I expected
First, the good: Beautiful colors & extremely flattering fit. I'm a little full in the mid-section & this dress definitely covered that up. It photographed great & was really fun to wear. The bad: This dress was much shorter than I thought it would be. It was just barely at fingertip on me & would ride up when I walked. Otherwise, really enjoyed it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 20, 2013
Amazing dress! Stunning color and fit! I love you Herve.
Herve Leger dresses are the best. This dress is beautiful. I wore it to a holiday party in Vegas. I would highly recommend this dress ----it hugs your curves in all the right places, nice thick material, very classy and sexy looking.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
December 12, 2013
People recognized that it is a designer dress!
This dress has the perfect colors! I was very sad to return it! It is very flattering for the curves like any other Herve Leger. I wore a small and it was a little big, but I think an xs would be tight on the bust area. Overall it was a very comfortable dress and got many compliments. I would definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 30, 2013
Seeing my outfit for the night on a celebrity the next week on television was flattering!
I have a very large bust and that usually makes me have to get bigger sizes in dresses to accommodate it that forfeits sizing for the rest of my body but this dress was perfect. It did not budge. I didn't have to do my usual bust rearrangement several times throughout the night. It was stunning. Might rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 28, 2013
Loved the dress but did not work for my body style!
Shorter than I expected! I usually wear an XS, but it was WAY tighter than any other style I have rented. The strappy top and defined bust area did not work well for me as I have a very long torso.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
November 20, 2013
You better work!
I rented this as my second dress for a Girls Night Out and ended up wearing my first option. This dress is gorgeous but it's on the shorter side (even for an Herve) so one of my friends wore it instead. She's about 5'7" and has an athletic build and wears a size 2 on top, 4 on bottom. The small was great!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 14, 2013
RTR sent me a complimentary dress because the one I ordered came back to their warehouse damaged!
The dress fits so great. It tucks and smooths over all the right places and accentuates your curves just where you want.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 6, 2013
I wore this dress for my friends birthday and it was a hit! Loved it!
It fit great and was very sexy!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×