Duplicity Contrast Dress

$169 to buy
$1350 retail
Stylist Notes

Be daring by renting this fabulous Herve Leger Duplicity Contrast Dress. Perfect for a girls night out or birthday dinner.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy and tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy and tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy and magenta bondage jersey. Multi strap neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 32'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
150 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(133)
Small
(13)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 13, 2011
Whoa, mama! The attention you get from men will astound you! I'm usually a size 2 and the xs was great. The dress is it's own girdle so you have to go with the smallest size you can zip. Holds a tummy trouble spot in nicely. But dang I had the hardest time finding shoes to wear with the navy/magenta. I ended up wearing grey shoes as well, not that it mattered because no one was looking at my shoes.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
October 19, 2011
I rented this for my birthday and absolutely loved this dress. It fit perfectly and hugged my curves in all the right places. I am 5'4" 165 and usually wear a size 8/10 and the medium was perfect in this dress. I have a 34DD and couldn't wear a bra but the dress was tight enough to get away with it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
November 28, 2011
Dress is ok
I bought this dress for a bday bash and was a little disappointed. I loved the mix of colors, but the dress was overall bland and too tight. The midsection made me appear bigger than I actually was and had to return it.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 30, 2011
This dress was perfect for our engagement party... I absolutely loved it and will continue to rent Herve from RTR in the future... thanks so much!
This dress was perfect... small fit true to size and is a perfect dress for any party! The only thing I would say is it's pretty short so don't rent for an event you'll be sitting down at a lot
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 30, 2011
Everyone knew exactly who the designer of my dress was!
This fits like a dream. I'm 5'6 120 with an A cup size. I do think you need to have a smaller frame to wear this dress, but the material is so thick- it will hide an imperfections. Overall, I love this dress and it looks even better in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 14, 2011
Amazing!
I wore this dress to a red carpet event and I felt amazing in it. The thick fabric has the effect of a spanx. It was very flattering and I felt comfortable all night. It didn't wrinkle, it wasn't hot, and it didn't ride up or down and the straps stayed in place. I can't wait to wear this dress again. I am a size 8 and the Medium fit perfectly. I ordered a size L because I am a DD but, because of the stretch of the fabric, it didn't pull or pucker at the top so I was able to wear a dress that fit me in the waist and top ( I usually have to choose). I got so many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34H
Body type: Athletic
December 15, 2011
Loved it!
I rented this for a night out with the girls. I usually wear a M in Herve Leger, but had to order a size larger for length. The colors are so pretty and vibrant. I would definitely consider renting this one again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2011
I got a million compliments in this herve dress. Once you go herve, you can't go back!
I rented this dress for a holiday party and loved it. It runs on the shorter side and fell a few inched above my knee. Its skin tight, so if you want to wear a hot little number for the night, this is your dress. The bandage material is amazing and acts like spanx.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 19, 2011
This is gorgeous - my favorite Herve so far!
Very Tight in the bust - I normally wear a XS in Herve but this was not going to work too well with my larger bust. Keep that in mind.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 4, 2012
the perfect dress
wore this to a sorority formal. it was perfect, it sucks you in and was very flattering (like all herve legers) lovelovelove!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 16, 2012
My boyfriend asked me to officially be his girlfriend as the clock struck 12 (probably because of this dress!). Definitely a memorable New Years Eve moment. Can't wait to rent another Herve!
I truly have an addiction to all things Herve. I've rented several and this is another winner! The colors are incredible, the fit is to die for, and the color blocking and lines on this dress are so flattering! I wore this for NYE in New York City and received compliments all night! My only suggestion: wear a sticky bra! It'll help fill in the chest which can be a little loose if you're not busty. Overall, the feeling you get from rocking this dress is incredible. RENT IT NOW!!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
January 22, 2012
Dancing the night away with some old and new friends, and this text message I received from an ex boyfriend the next day: "I saw those pics you posted on my news feed this morning and you looked really really hot. Made me regret not flying out there." Thanks RTR!
This dress was everything I hoped it would be for my 22nd birthday celebration. The small was the perfect fit for me - I'm 5'4", 32DD, and normally wear a size 2 or 4. I didn't need to wear a bra with this dress due to its snug fit, and felt totally secure the whole night. Can't wait to order from RTR again soon!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 22, 2012
So Much Love
i was a bit cautious about renting a dress for the first time, but i absolutely adored it. I rented it for my school's homecoming and received endless compliments. Everyone was asking me where I got it. The "bandages" put everything exactly where it needs to be and I bet it would look stunning on anyone. It was so sad when it had to go back! But I'm never buying a dress for formal occasions ever again. A great experience.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
February 15, 2012
AH-MAZING
LOVED. My University homecoming is a formal affair and trying to find a unique purple dress is a challenge every year. I've never gotten as many compliments as I did this year. The fit was PERFECT. I'm 5'8" 165lbs and the dress could not have fit better. I have very long legs too, and the length was appropriate too. I DEFINITELY suggest grey shoes, it was the only color that looked good with the navy and purple. I will be ordering Herve again, you should too!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 17, 2012
Perfect!
This dress was to die for!! I usually wear a small but there weren't any left but I really wanted to wear this so i rented it any way. It sucks you in in all the right places and makes you look great. I am bustier so the dress was kind of tight there, but it was still fine and not too vulgar at all. This dress is the one to rent if you're looking to a knockout and impress that special someone.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
February 21, 2012
The dress fit great and I got so many compliments all night!
The dress fit great! I ended up wearing the small but the x-small fit as well. It was super comfortable and everyone loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2012
Looking amazing in a fantastic Herve dress, with wonderful friends, made it a birthday to remember!
I rented this dress for my birthday in Vegas, and let me say, it was fabulous! I wear a size 2/4 in dresses with a size 34A bust and athletic build, I ordered the small and it fit like a glove. I honestly can't say anything bad about the dress. I danced my face off the whole night and was comfortable. Two thumbs up for sure!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 27, 2012
Fabulous fit, sexy dress
Great renting experience. dress fits like a glove. and you CAN wear a bra! (need to be careful though) I always wear a xs in herve and it fit well. some seams by the straps are a bit loose. but looks ok for now. also I had a back size, S, but with bigger sizes, the bottom part is not tight and sort of gets "wrinkly" which is not fun.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 18, 2012
being able to feel sexy although i m getting older
i rented for my bday extravaganza in hollywood , i felt like a star. i m not small but it was kind of slimming. i did not want to return it looool defnitely sexxxy....thanks rtr....
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 5, 2012
Literally everyone told me that I looked amazing - what a confidence booster!
Loveloveloveee. I rented this dress for a Gala event that I was hosting for the GLBTQ student group on campus (I'm the president). I can't even tell you how many compliments I received! I loved the way the dress hugged all my curves, it was so flattering. It did ride up a little bit - perhaps that because I could have worn a medium but I didn't order a 2nd size because I had ordered 2 sizes for another Herve dress (which I didn't even end up wearing!)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 16, 2012
Assisting backstage at SHEI Magazine's fashion show and receiving compliments along with the models!
I was worried this dress might look skanky because of my full bust and butt, but it accentuated my body in all the right ways. It was A TINY bit baggy around the waist since I'm usually a size 4 but the Small was way too short for me. The length was perfect and it gave me a really nice hourglass shape.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 2, 2012
Amazing dress.
I'm a Runway Rep for RTR so I love to rent dresses for every occasion. I wore this dress to a date party and felt like a supermodel. I'm 5'10" and usually wear a size 0 or 2, but I never have confidence. Putting this dress on was like getting an instant boost. I was able to get into the XS with a little help from a friend (I couldn't zip up the middle of my back because it was hard to reach) just fine. I would recommend this dress for anyone. Not too short, but short enough to be fun for a night out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 7, 2012
RTR for my whole Vegas weekend! got compliments from strangers for these amazing dresses I barely paid for ;)
I've had my eye on this dress for so long and I finally had an excuse to wear it during a girls weekend in Vegas! It fit so well and I was absolutely in love with it! It was a little long for me but I'm always altering lengths because I'm so short so it wasn't a big deal. I just used fashion tape to fold it over and shorten the length a little. I'm so happy I finally got to wear an herve for at least one night... it was fun while it lasted :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 18, 2012
So Flattering
I am very tall and athletic but busty. This dress fit amazingly...not too short, and not too low cut. I loved it and so did my date!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
June 2, 2012
Bachelorette Party Hit
This dress was spectacular! I was apprehensive reading the other reviews and how much they vary, but rented two sizes to be sure. It is very tight, but extremely forgiving since the fabric is so think and stretchy. The length was perfect for the look I was going for, but I am short so may be mini on taller girls. I have a larger chest and hate wearing strapless bras, but the fabric helped so much. I highly recommend this dress!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 23, 2012
Great for my 21st Bday!!!
I loved this dress & the way it fits. It's really tight so I suggest you wear spanx or some type of shapewear underneath. The dress actually stays put so it's great for dancing, which I did all night long. All my friends loved this dress as well. I was overall pleased with the dress and everything about it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 18, 2012
Hotness!
I don't think there is much to say about this dress. I wore it for a party and got tons of compliments. Was really happy that it fit my 34D chest and looked really great (no squished or flattened). Hope this helps!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
August 8, 2012
I got many compliments on the dress
Loved loved loved this dress. The lines are very flattering. Because I'm petite I usually only wear super short dresses, but even the longer length on this dress made my legs look awesome. I would rent this again I liked it so much! Because it is so tight and thick it was a little uncomfortable to wear, but well worth it, trust me :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 9, 2012
Perfect dress for bachelorette
This dress was super cute! It was the perfect mix of classy and sexy. I felt so amazing all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
August 12, 2012
Everyone loved the dress! All eyes were on me!
The dress was fantastic, very true to size. I am 5'7 I weigh 130 and an XS fit me perfectly! My bust is a 32, if you are bigger at the top you may need a small. Overall I love the dress and will be renting again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 18, 2012
A BEAUTIFUL DRESS.
This dress was great for my birthday get together. I loved this dress because it fit like a glove and has a unique design. I got so many compliments as well, rent it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
August 18, 2012
great fit, very flattering
I thought this dress was great, got many compliments on it all night. It fits pretty true to size, though if you are tall it could run short (I'm 5'9" but I thought it was fine for my height).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
August 20, 2012
Really Unique
I wore this for a party. It is true to size but pretty tight on the chest. I liked it because it's unique and has an eye catching design. I have a small chest and the cut of this dress REALLY smushed my chest down so I looked pretty flat. Still, it was really cute and the direction of the stripes made it flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 20, 2012
Gorgeous Dress
As usual, Herve never disappoints. This dress was super gorgeous and make my figure look great. The straps on top were very cute. Not as much cleavage as I am used to for an Herve, but still pretty good. Very flattering and different and more interesting than your typical dress. I definitely stood out.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 10, 2013
Tight but not uncomfortable
This dress was beautiful! I thought from the pictures that it is black and purple but it's actually navy and purple. This dress was very tight in an XS. I was able to get it zippered with help, but once it was on I was comfortable. I was so afraid I would be miserable all night, but I felt just fine, and the material is amazing quality so I wasn't worried about ripping it. I think it may have been this particular dress because I would wear an XS according to the size chart, and my roommate ordered another Herve Leger in an XS and that one fit me with no problems. Overall I was very pleased and would recommend it to anyone!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
January 7, 2013
PERECT- easy to fit!
form-fitting
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 26, 2013
Herve Leger dresses make me look 10 lbs lighter. Great for sexy dinner dates where you want to eat!
The only con is that I personally had to have someone help me zip it up. I have broad shoulders and a big rib cage so the small was exciting to put on. However, once it's on, it's on and look great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
March 1, 2013
Loved this dress!!
The fit was true to size. Loved the colors. Got many compliments on this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 9, 2013
A comfortable, flirty dress
This is a very beautiful dress; fun, flirty. But the fabric was a bit on the heavy side for dancing. I started to get a bit warm moving around in it. Would definitely recommend it for a more low-key evening. However, that being said, the fabric helped to hide any imperfections you may have wanted to keep a secret!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 13, 2013
The dress was amazing but I didn't end up wearing it because it was tight on my chest.
The dress would probably look better on someone with a smaller bust.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×