Hervé Léger

Cyclone Dress

$40 rental
$1,450 retail
Stylist Notes

Move your body like a cyclone on the dance floor wearing this stunning Herve Leger. Looks great with a pair of black pumps or even edgy booties and tights for the fall/winter season!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Black and white stretch bandage. One shoulder neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
181 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(132)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 31, 2012
Great dress, bad presentation
When I tried the dress on at an open house event I thought it was perfect. Too bad that when I received it the dress had makeup foundation all around the hemline and front. Also, the hem was a bit frayed from many uses. I didn't have much of a choice since I didn't have time to get a back up dress so I cleaned up the dress as well as possible. Great dress, bad presentation. RTR did offer to pay dry cleaning but I couldn't find a place that would be able to have it to me so quickly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 2, 2012
Figure flattering dress!
This was the second Herve Leger dress that I have received from RTR and I couldn't be happier. The fit is snug, but in all the right areas. It's a very comfortable dress and because of the material of the dress, it also hugs in the tummy and hips almost like spanx. Overall, received many compliments and it completely flattered my figure for my graduation party!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
September 2, 2012
I would never have considered an Herve Leger style because I don't have a perfect figure and assumed a tight dress would look awful. Thanks to my visit to RTR's Showroom, I was able to try this on and be proven wrong. This is the most flattering dress I've rented yet and made me feel great. Thanks RTR!
This dress is a perfect choice for just about any occasion. It was my first Herve Leger rental and it certainly lived up to the hype! The bandage style smoothed everything out and defined my curves. The dress is well constructed and was comfortable to dance in all night! I paired it with black patent leather Louboutins and the contrast of black & white with the pop of red got me compliments all night. The dress is so striking you only need minimal hair/makeup/jewelry. I wore simple emerald drop earrings and natural makeup. I wore it with Spanx for extra support and a Nu Bra adhesive bra (though you could wear any strapless bra). I normally wear an 8/Medium in dresses but had to wear the Large in this dress because the Medium was too tight. Definitely size up for your backup dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 4, 2012
Wow.
I was invited to a wedding, but felt like I was dressed for the ESPYs. If you're ultra-curvy like me (36-26-39), this dress will fit you like a glove; the color pattern will make you look like a bombshell; the cut will flatter every muscle and every curve; AND you can eat dinner and dance your face off. Rent this dress. Rent this dress now.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 9, 2012
I got so many compliments on this dress!
I rented this dress for a cocktail party the evening before a wedding. It was a stunning dress - I got so many compliments! This is probably my favorite Herve dress that I had worn so far. It did run a little smaller than other Herve dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
September 18, 2012
Fabulous...
Form-fitting and the diagonal detailing made you look like a curvy bombshell.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
September 25, 2012
I felt like a supermodel all night!
I rented the M and the L because I felt I'd be between sizes. These dresses are tight! The medium was too tight even with Spanx. I ended up wearing the L with Spanx and I felt cinched in but not uncomfortable. The dress itself had a few pulleys but they were really only visible to me. I thought that it was black and white but it's more of a light tan. I was happy with this rental, and I will definitely rent again from RTR - maybe a different Herve next time!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 9, 2012
The dresses came on time and the whole experience was made very hassle free.
I ordered the medium and it fit but was very tight so I felt I needed spanks just to smooth it out. I tried on the large (my backup size) and it fit like a glove. I absolutely loved this dress and will definetly order a dress by this designer again. Very classy and sexy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 23, 2012
Did not wear. Went with other option.
I am to talk for the white panel. The lines did not hit in flattering pkaces
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 24, 2012
Amazing dress!
Fits snug but figure flattering. Size up.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
October 28, 2012
The dress was perfect for the night. Great body-con dress!
The dress fit perfectly. I was worried about my shoulder looking like a sausage (back fat hanging over the side w/o a shoulder strap). I probably think i'm bigger than I am because there was none of that. When I first put the dress on, there appeared to be rippling where the fabric lifted from my leg. That all evened out a few minutes after having the dress on. The material takes a minute or two to adjust to your body but it's def a body-con dress and does what it's supposed to. Everyone said I looked great. I wore them with black booties.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
November 2, 2012
Great dress
I got this as a backup dress for my rehearsal dinner. It's a lovely dress, but a tad too long for me. I ended up going with another dress.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
November 13, 2012
nnn
mmm
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
November 25, 2012
I wish I had gotten this a size larger...
This is a gorgeous dress but it was a size too small for me. I have rather ample thighs and behind and not only was it too tight, the stripe across the middle looked strange and stretched because of that. If you're a pear, size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 25, 2012
Super classy!
After some Hurricane Sandy maddness, this was the dress I received instead of the one I ordered (RTR was very nice and only charged me the price of my original dress but sent me this one, which was much more expensive, because they couldn't get the original one to me due to the Hurricane-great customer service!). I loved it, though! But DEFINITELY size up for your backup. I did not and ended up in a dress probably too small for me, but you couldn't tell. Go for this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 6, 2012
Little black dress with an off-the-shoulder, geometric twist
Fit was flattering and true-to-size. It was a bit longer than I had hoped, but the length made the look more sophisticated.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
December 14, 2012
feel like a million bucks dress!
I loved this dress but couldn't actually wear it. :( The L fit great everywhere but the chest for me. I'm small up top but needed the bigger size for my hips. The dress gaped a bit coming across from the one shoulder. I'm 5' 2" and it went a little to far below my knee even with heels to be flattering in the length. Overall though I LOVED trying on this dress - just wish my proportions were a little better to get the best fit possible.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 3, 2013
The dress was great! I got a ton of compliments from everyone.
The dress hugs all the right curves and you feel like a movie star in it. I've had a lot of people ask to borrow after seeing it in pictures!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 5, 2013
How well the dress fit.
This was a great dress for a wedding. It fit well and it was flattering. I would definitely rent this again for another event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
January 10, 2013
wore it for my 25th birthday. I felt truly amazing.
Fit was very snug, per a Herve. But it looked totally great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 11, 2013
A bit disappointed
Maybe it was the holiday weight gain trying to wear this for New Years Eve, but I just could not bring myself to like this dress. It wasn't at all flattering. Luckily it was just a backup, so it wasn't a big deal and I had something I loved to wear. However, I think the biggest thing to note is that the secondary color on this is definitely NOT white as I thought from the color. It's not even really off white. It's more of a tan and gray color. So be aware of that if you're planning to match shoes!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
September 11, 2011
This dress looks fabulous on, fits beautifully, and the asymmetrical design is very flattering. It is also very comfortable to wear, big plus! <3
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Body type: Petite
September 21, 2011
This dress was beautiful and I received many compliments but it was very uncomfortable. The fabric is stiff and it runs small. A size 2 is normally generous on me and this size 2 was really tight. The dress was the perfect length on me. The dress was worth the discomfort though. :)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
September 26, 2011
This dress is amazing. Super high quality, perfect condition, I always feels sexy in his dresses!! The band color on the website looks white but it is actually a more natural hue (which I liked). But I didn't end up wearing it:( I ordered a M and L. The Medium was too small and the large, too big. The one shoulder strap didn't lay right. But this won't stop me from renting another Herve Leger! I returned my rental for a store credit for next time! Still love RTR!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
October 3, 2011
As the previous reviewer said, this dress is really comfortable to wear, which made it even more sexy - when you feel great, it's just so much easier to give off an air of confidence! My husband loved this dress, so I'll definitely rent another Herve Leger dress in the future.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
October 6, 2011
Such a great dress! Very tight and form-fitting but it has a little stretch. True to size but size up as a backup. Hit just above the knee on me
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
October 12, 2011
Hottie alert! What an incredible dress. I'm 110 pounds - 30D, 25" Waist, 35" Hips and the S fit like a glove. The M just gave a little bit too much, and hit me in the middle of my knees. The S hit at my lower/mid thigh which was good for a dress so fitted! The cyclone design does incredible things for your figure and this dress would be great for a curvy girl! The material totally sucks-in everything, and spanx will help too! It is meant to be worn tight - so don't expect this to be super comfy. This is totally an attention getting dress. Expect a lot of compliments!!!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 119lbs
November 7, 2011
The asymmetrical design is extremely flattering and looks perfect for a black-tie event. The small fit me like a glove, but wasn't uncomfortable in the least. Expect a lot of compliments!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 10, 2011
I cannot wait to send this....
BACK! This was the most uncomfortable dress I ever put on!!!! Idk what it was but it was def not flattering in the bust! Save yourself the trouble and do not rent this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 1, 2011
showstopper!
Amazing dress! Ordered the small and I am 5'6' 128 lbs - 34C chest. Cyclone design is unbelievably figure flattering. Wore this dress to a black tie dinner and received enormous amount of compliments. Dress hugs in all the right places and is tailored to perfection. Expect it to fit snugly and pull you together in all the right places. Rent if you want all eyes on you!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 4, 2011
People are still talking about this dress months after the wedding!
I wore this dress to a large wedding and got glowing compliments all night from women and men. Eyes followed me everywhere! This was my first time wearing a Leger dress and it was everything I had hoped for. I looked very sexy in the classiest way possible, without showing any cleavage or lots of legs. It also photographs well! The medium made my bust look too big and felt constricting. The large fit more elegantly. It hit the top of my knees. The dress felt substantial but not heavy. Spanx helped me to emphasize the waist and it also made it easier to zip up the dress. I wore black patent pumps just like in the photo with Ciner Pave Arrow Bangle and Laren Merkin clutch in bone color. I look forward to renting other Leger dresses!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
December 13, 2011
Just Stunning
I loved this dress and it was perfect for the company holiday party. However, I have an athletic build and it was difficult zipping the dress around my back. Other than that minor issue, I thought it was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 14, 2011
Wore this dress for the first night of my bachelorette party in Miami. Super sexy!
This herve is stunning and accentuates all the curves that you do or don't have. I'm pretty straight & narrow and it really accentuated my waist/hips. It was a little long on me so I folded the bottom under and even with dancing all night it stayed in place perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 17, 2011
This dress made me feel absolutely fabulous even after losing the roller derby bout earlier in the night ;)
This dress does hug tight, but it does stretch (while supports) and the pattern is very flattering. It was very comfortable to wear, totally love it and would rent it again. My favorite Hervé so far. The tuxedo bag and silver bangles added a nice touch.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 1, 2012
I felt like a movie star in this!
This dress is the complete package. It made me feel great, and I was told I looked great! I wore this to a formal New Year's Eve date. It was the perfect way to kick off a *very* exciting 2012 for me. I am sold on Herve Leger . . . do they make wedding dresses? :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 3, 2012
Knockout
This dress is fantastic. First the quality and construction felt comfortable yet stable. I work some tight end spanks underneath and it was a real hit! I am a short and curvaceous girl and this did not look tacky or cheap. It actually looked quiet elegant. Will def rent another on soon!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 25, 2012
LOVE this dress!
I loved this dress so much I will probably rent it again. I'm 5'8" with wide hips and a small chest, but this dress fit me perfectly. It has a stretch to it so it could fit my hips and not be too large on top. I got so many compliments as the material photographs well and looks great in person. I wore it for my bachelorette party in Vegas and completely out shined so many other girls wearing sequins. If you wear this dress be ready for all eyes to be on you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 17, 2012
Perfect for Holiday Party
Sexy but not revealing - just perfect for the company holiday party! The ivory band is more tan in person than in the pictures. Dress is snug, not the easiest to walk in as it runs to above my knees. I also like that it looks a bit different from the typical Herve Leger styles so it's not immediately recognizable. Awesome dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 10, 2012
All the compliments! Felt like a million bucks all night!
This dress fit true to size and the colorblocking truly accentuated all the right curves. I'm usually a 4 or 6 and the small was perfect. Length was almost to the knee. Tons of compliments and would definitiely rent again.
AnnaJuly 10, 2013
omg!! you look like a supermodel! Best in this dress by far.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
August 6, 2012
This dress just makes you feel sexy!
The dress fits like a pair of spanx so it's a little snug, but makes you look great. It makes you feel like a million bucks and is a dress that everyone will be talking about when you walk in a room.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×