Rent the Runway

Hervé Léger

Cyclone Dress

$30 rental
$1450 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Move your body like a cyclone on the dance floor wearing this stunning Herve Leger. Looks great with a pair of black pumps or even edgy booties and tights for the fall/winter season!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and white stretch bandage. One shoulder neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

159 reviews

Fit
Small 34
True to Size 118
Large 4
Photos 76
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Sexy without being slutty

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Awesome dress! Both the large and the medium fit me, but the medium hugged everything just right. The dress has the standard Herve Leger sex appeal, but with an air of sophistication. This dress really shows your figure, so it does require some self-confidence. I had to keep reminding myself to stand up straight since my natural tendency is to slouch.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

The dress was great! I got a ton of compliments from everyone.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress hugs all the right curves and you feel like a movie star in it. I've had a lot of people ask to borrow after seeing it in pictures!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 5, 2013

How well the dress fit.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great dress for a wedding. It fit well and it was flattering. I would definitely rent this again for another event.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 10, 2013

wore it for my 25th birthday. I felt truly amazing.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit was very snug, per a Herve. But it looked totally great.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 11, 2013

A bit disappointed

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Maybe it was the holiday weight gain trying to wear this for New Years Eve, but I just could not bring myself to like this dress. It wasn't at all flattering. Luckily it was just a backup, so it wasn't a big deal and I had something I loved to wear. However, I think the biggest thing to note is that the secondary color on this is definitely NOT white as I thought from the color. It's not even really off white. It's more of a tan and gray color. So be aware of that if you're planning to match shoes!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 29, 2013

Amazing! The perfect short dress for a formal affair.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was a little nervous about renting a short dress for a last-minute formal affair (inaugural ball), but all long styles I liked were already rented. This dress turned out to be perfect because it hit me at the knees and didn't show any cleavage, so definitely looked formal enough yet still sexy. I didn't need to wear a bra, which was a first for me, and the material is thick and stretchy enough that I didn't even need Spanx! Comfortable, classy, and so flattering - if I had the money I would buy this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

I loved wearing this dress! I received so many compliments...couldn't help but feel great!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is VERY fitted so if you have anything to hide, this might not be the dress for you. It does suck you in and Spanx can help/ Even though I am short, it still hit my leg at a good length.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

I loved this dress, it looked so hot I cannot wait to rent it again!!!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I loved this dress, it looked so hot I cannot wait to rent it again!!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 21, 2013

Nice dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this as a back up to another Herve and didn't end up wearing it. I rented a Large which I normally wear but it was a little big and I find with Herve you want it to be snug which is must more flattering! It is also longer than in the picture. I am 5'7" and it fell just below my knees. A great dress though!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117 lbs
Apr 26, 2013

Tiny, tiny, tiny!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Unbelievably small!! I am about a 25" waist, 32d bra at 117 pounds (athletic build)-usually take a size 0. I could not get the zipper to close on the xs and could not wear it. I think it would have been cute if it had fit. The "white" stripe is more of a champagne color which I think is beautiful and makes the dress look less severe and more modern (white would have looked too truly vintage 80's for my tastes.)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 16, 2013

I did not wear this dress. Not impressed.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up returning this dress and now wearing it. I did not like the way it fit, nothing special about this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
May 28, 2013

such a fun and flattering dress! Herve has yet to disappoint

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is very flattering due to the amazing Herve bandage fabric and the lines created by the pattern of the dress. I originally rented for a wedding and decided that it may be too "sexy" because of the fit and the one shoulder style. I wore it instead to the rehearsal party in a swanky, urban rooftop setting and it was a perfect fit. The only cons would be that it's a little tough to really boogie since the length went to my knees (I'm short though) and was so tight.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 4, 2013

It was very flattering - the top two hooks were broken (one missing other hanging on)

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great party dress - large had some serious wear and tear where the hooks were but they are under the arm. I normally wear a size 6-8 pant and medium-large top so I went with the large dress instead of the medium so my chest didn't looked mashed - both were gorgeous.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 8, 2013

Universally flattering

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful fit throughout
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 15, 2013

Exceeded all Expectations!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Being my first RTR experience, I knew it was risky going for this Herve; hugging every curve & I'm 40+ with far from a perfect figure, but really appreciated all of the detailed reviews & went for it. This dress is stunning, classy, subtly sexy & lives up to it's hype. Paired it with nude heels and minimal jewelry. Normally a size 8/10, I only ordered the L after reading the reviews to size up. Was able to almost zip it by myself but have help on hand. Super comfortable & everything stays in place. Wore a strapless bra & spanx and nothing showed. Want to share to encourage other hourglass figures to try it! Really felt comfortable & confident in this dress, my husband LOVED it, lots of compliments but most of all I felt great & loved it too! Can't wait to use RTR again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 23, 2013

Didn't end up wearing

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had ordered this for a summer wedding, but found out at the last minute that much of it was going to be outdoors. I decided that this tight-fitting, heavy material dress would not have been appropriate. The dress fit nicely, and it does suck alot in. This dress definitely has appeal, but if you're curvy like me, this dress is better for a girls night out rather than a wedding since it is so form-fitting. The dress was pretty long. I'm 5'2" so I expected it to be-- but it was about 3 inches past my knees. If I had worn it, I think I would've used hem tape to bring it up a few inches. The major con that I saw when I tried this on was that it was a bit hard to walk/move in because its so tight. Some people may not mind that but I just felt too restricted. Overall, this dress could look nice on the right person for the right venue- not an outdoor wedding.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 5, 2013

Wasn't for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm a fan of HL dresses, but when I tried it on this just wasn't right for me. Luckily I had gotten the Chocolate Addition as a backup dress and loved it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Sep 4, 2013

not exactly unforgettable

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Material was a little bit stretched out. Go one size lower. Also, I'm 5'5, dress hit right at my knees, maybe a little lower.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 7, 2013

Unfortunately, too tight.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had high hopes for this dress but it ended up being waaaaaaay too tight, and didn't have any give at all. Also, the white is more off-white, and as noted in other reviews, it's pretty long.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 16, 2013

Incredible!!!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It made me feel super sexy and amazing. Hugs your body in all the right places and showcases what you have. All you need to wear with this dress is some killer heels and a killer clutch. Never thought a dress could make me feel like a million bucks, but this dress did. Super happy I used rent the runway, genius concept for sure. Will most definitely rent from rent the runway again for all my part attire needs.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 6, 2013

Great dress and very flattering

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love this dress and received many compliments.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 9, 2013

Very well made and flattering

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Definately sucks you in, but don't expect it to work miracles :-) Very easy experience, will do again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Nov 29, 2013

Great birthday dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to an event in Beverly Hills on my birthday and loved it! Herve Leger is my go to designer when I want to wear something that is form fitting, yet elegant. I loved it and am thinking about renting this dress again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 17, 2013

Elegant and Sexy

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I can't wait to rent this dress again. It was a little longer than the other Herve Leger dress I rented, which was perfect for a show on my birthday weekend. Snug, but elegant. I got tons of compliments.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 4, 2014

Flattering fit and pattern, great party dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was the emergency backup dress that RTR sent when the dresses I had ordered for New Year's Eve didn't work--and it was perfect. I usually wear an 8 or 10 so I tried both the M and L, and thanks to the holidays the L fit a little better. As other reviewers have noted, the design and fabric of the dress is flattering and shaping, and I felt great wearing normal undergarments and did not need spanx.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Jan 10, 2014

This dress was the perfect combination of classy/formal and sexy!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented the S and M, and ended up wearing the M to a Saturday night wedding and the S to the Emmys the following night. The M was definitely a bit too big, but still looked OK. The S fit like a GLOVE and I got lots of compliments from fellow awards-goers...last year I wore a long dress to the Emmys but wasn't a huge fan/ hard to find the right length, and this Herve Leger was the perfect alternative.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 12, 2014

Great fit...sexy without being over the top

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for my bachelorette party and loved it. It fit great and was definitely sexy without being over the top. The bandage look is very flattering. I felt so comfortable the whole night. It is longer than most Herve Leger dresses, but that's exactly what I wanted. I don't normally wear super short dresses so this worked out great.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 23, 2014

Awesome Dress!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fits like a glove - in the good way! You really cannot go wrong with this dress - you can dress it up with heels or like I had to do because of sore feet where it with great boots and a trendy jacket - great for a night out on the town!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 13, 2014

Gorgeous dress, true to size.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved this dress. I received so many compliments. It's a magic dress and really makes you look fantastic. The dress looked better in person than on thie model in my opinion. I was a bit nervous as this was my first rental but received outstanding customer service, THANK YOU! This will be the first of many rentals.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 17, 2014

Did not wear it

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Did not like the side zipper, it was bulky in that location.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 28, 2014

Amazing fit! So sexy!! Classy, too!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit me like a glove! I felt like a million dollars all night! While I felt totally sexy in this dress, I could've worn it to a wedding and still be classy. The length of the dress made it very versatile. I couldn't have been more pleased!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 5, 2014

I had a dress unlike any others. Neutral colors but stunning!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love how it shows all your curves. Tight to the body but still able to move!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 19, 2014

I wore this to one of my best friend's wedding! It made New Orleans even more fun!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was nice, but it did have 2 small holes in it, which worried me at first, but you couldn't see them once the dress was on. I didn't have to wear spanx or weird undergarments or anything. The dress was comfortable and looked really great. I received a million compliments, even from the people who were working at the wedding venue! This is also a great length for a more conservative event. Also, the stripe across the dress is definitely a beige color, not white like it looks online. This was my first experience with Rent the Runway, and it was great! I'd definitely recommend this dress and the site.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Neutral colors great for accessorizing or dressing up for more formal event

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a party in Vegas, and felt good in it. As others have said, Herve will feel super tight but it will stretch out as you wear it just the right amount. I don't think i could add anything that hasn't already been said about this dress. I did not wear a bra with it, and I don't think spanx is needed either. This dress could also potentially be dressed up for a slightly more formal event such as a company dinner party, since the colors are neutral and the length is longer (hit just above knee, so not a mini). I got this dress at the Rent the Runway boutique store in the Cosmo in Vegas, and the experience was fantastic. The girls/guys there were very helpful in helping me pick out dresses, and were patient as I tried on a bunch. If you go kind of later at night there are less people and a better chance at getting a walk in spot.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Age: 42
May 13, 2014

Sexy dress hugging my body and providing good breast support.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
All pros. I love this brand for curvy women.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119 lbs
May 14, 2014

I wore this dress to a charity fundraiser.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The conclusion I've come to is that bandage dresses are for girls that want to create more curves, because if you've already got curves these dresses can be uncomfortable. The fabric is very thick and the dress itself was very heavy. I was uncomfortable in it all night. I got many compliments on the dress and sure it made my body look good, but I wasn't happy in it. I don't think i'd wear another Herve again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
May 14, 2014

Very Form-Fitting!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding. The material is extremely high quality, and sucks you in pretty well. However, it did take a little bit of help to get the zipper up. I even wore spanx to help hold me in. I think I'm on the upper size limit for this dress. The length of the dress is perfect, though. It helped balance out the form-fitting nature of this dress, so it wasn't overly sexy. Overall, I think I would rent a Herve dress again only if I lost a little bit of weight.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 18, 2014

This was my back up dress so I did't wear it but OMG!!! I love HL!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits like a glove!! No bra needed, no spanx, nothing!!! I rented another HL for my Bday so I can't wait for that one to come!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 5, 2014

Great dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
IT fit great and was flattering...i didn't end up wearing it because i felt i was over dressed for the occasion
RTR Customer
Jun 19, 2014

My first rental and I will rent again! Gorgeous dress and got tons of compliments from my husband!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
Fit was perfect, hugged in the right places! Perfect Vegas dress! I wore a medium but am usually a small. Only complaint was I didn't get the 25 off on my first rental.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×