Hervé Léger

Cyclone Dress

$186 to buy
$1,450 retail
Stylist Notes

Move your body like a cyclone on the dance floor wearing this stunning Herve Leger. Looks great with a pair of black pumps or even edgy booties and tights for the fall/winter season!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Black and white stretch bandage. One shoulder neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
183 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(133)
Small
(36)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
October 28, 2012
The dress was perfect for the night. Great body-con dress!
The dress fit perfectly. I was worried about my shoulder looking like a sausage (back fat hanging over the side w/o a shoulder strap). I probably think i'm bigger than I am because there was none of that. When I first put the dress on, there appeared to be rippling where the fabric lifted from my leg. That all evened out a few minutes after having the dress on. The material takes a minute or two to adjust to your body but it's def a body-con dress and does what it's supposed to. Everyone said I looked great. I wore them with black booties.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
November 2, 2012
Great dress
I got this as a backup dress for my rehearsal dinner. It's a lovely dress, but a tad too long for me. I ended up going with another dress.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
November 13, 2012
nnn
mmm
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
November 25, 2012
I wish I had gotten this a size larger...
This is a gorgeous dress but it was a size too small for me. I have rather ample thighs and behind and not only was it too tight, the stripe across the middle looked strange and stretched because of that. If you're a pear, size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 25, 2012
Super classy!
After some Hurricane Sandy maddness, this was the dress I received instead of the one I ordered (RTR was very nice and only charged me the price of my original dress but sent me this one, which was much more expensive, because they couldn't get the original one to me due to the Hurricane-great customer service!). I loved it, though! But DEFINITELY size up for your backup. I did not and ended up in a dress probably too small for me, but you couldn't tell. Go for this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 6, 2012
Little black dress with an off-the-shoulder, geometric twist
Fit was flattering and true-to-size. It was a bit longer than I had hoped, but the length made the look more sophisticated.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
December 14, 2012
feel like a million bucks dress!
I loved this dress but couldn't actually wear it. :( The L fit great everywhere but the chest for me. I'm small up top but needed the bigger size for my hips. The dress gaped a bit coming across from the one shoulder. I'm 5' 2" and it went a little to far below my knee even with heels to be flattering in the length. Overall though I LOVED trying on this dress - just wish my proportions were a little better to get the best fit possible.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 3, 2013
The dress was great! I got a ton of compliments from everyone.
The dress hugs all the right curves and you feel like a movie star in it. I've had a lot of people ask to borrow after seeing it in pictures!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 5, 2013
How well the dress fit.
This was a great dress for a wedding. It fit well and it was flattering. I would definitely rent this again for another event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
January 10, 2013
wore it for my 25th birthday. I felt truly amazing.
Fit was very snug, per a Herve. But it looked totally great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 11, 2013
A bit disappointed
Maybe it was the holiday weight gain trying to wear this for New Years Eve, but I just could not bring myself to like this dress. It wasn't at all flattering. Luckily it was just a backup, so it wasn't a big deal and I had something I loved to wear. However, I think the biggest thing to note is that the secondary color on this is definitely NOT white as I thought from the color. It's not even really off white. It's more of a tan and gray color. So be aware of that if you're planning to match shoes!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 29, 2013
Fancy livin!
This dress was very comfortable and it fit really well although it took my husband and I both some time to zip it up while sucking in...actually kind of amusing! I'm 5'9 and it came to the perfect length, right at the knees. The only negative is I don't have the tiniest waist and I felt like the way the white stripe runs across the middle made my stomach look even bigger than it is. Would definitely rent a Herve Leger again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 13, 2013
I loved wearing this dress! I received so many compliments...couldn't help but feel great!
The dress is VERY fitted so if you have anything to hide, this might not be the dress for you. It does suck you in and Spanx can help/ Even though I am short, it still hit my leg at a good length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 19, 2013
I loved this dress, it looked so hot I cannot wait to rent it again!!!
I loved this dress, it looked so hot I cannot wait to rent it again!!!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
October 22, 2012
Amazing dress, I would rent it again.
Fits true to size.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 3, 2013
Amazing that's all I have to say I love Herve
Great fit true to size great for big bust and curves
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 21, 2013
Nice dress
I rented this as a back up to another Herve and didn't end up wearing it. I rented a Large which I normally wear but it was a little big and I find with Herve you want it to be snug which is must more flattering! It is also longer than in the picture. I am 5'7" and it fell just below my knees. A great dress though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
April 13, 2013
Gorgeous Dress!
I received this dress in a XS & S. The XS took a bit more effort to zip up, but kept my girls in place without a bra. No need for spanx with the XS. The S required a strapless bra, was a lot easier to zip up, and I wore spanx with it. I bought some new butt boosting spanx, so I really wanted to wear them. They weren't the ones with optional pads in them, as listed on the site, but they were still fabulous. I went with the larger size because I wanted to wear the spanx, and there was the possibility of dancing. I highly recommend this dress. It's a hit with everyone, especially guys.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 26, 2013
DAMN! WOW! Seriously felt like like a million bucks!
I wore this dress to an art benefit in NYC. I loved the cool black and white design and sculptural cut... it made me feel like a piece of modern art myself! Herve Leger is very flattering, I felt like this dress did great things for my figure. I received a million compliments on it that evening and on Instagram... most liked photo ever!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
April 26, 2013
Tiny, tiny, tiny!
Unbelievably small!! I am about a 25" waist, 32d bra at 117 pounds (athletic build)-usually take a size 0. I could not get the zipper to close on the xs and could not wear it. I think it would have been cute if it had fit. The "white" stripe is more of a champagne color which I think is beautiful and makes the dress look less severe and more modern (white would have looked too truly vintage 80's for my tastes.)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 6, 2013
Va Va Voom!
The dress was so flattering. Hugged in all the right places. No need for Spanx! I ordered it in medium and large, ended up wearing the larger size. It runs a little small. The color of the dress is not black and white. It is light beige and black. Love renting from RTR! Will do it again and again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 13, 2013
Tons of compliments!
I absolutely loved this dress. I think it works well for curvy types (I have big hips and even bigger boobs), but it would probably look amazing on a smaller frame too because it accentuates whatever you DO have. The small wouldn't even close once it hit my rib cage (though I attribute most of that to my 34D boobs), but the Medium was perfect. If you're smaller chested, you probably don't even need a bra because its so tight, but I wore a strapless because I felt the tightness of the dress flattened me a little. The flattening effect is great for hips and stomach though! Everyone thinks the tightness of Herve Leger dresses is bad, but it really sucks you in. I didn't even wear spanx or anything under it. Everyone said the dress looked great and kept asking me where I got it. I would 100% order this dress again. Hell I'd even buy it if I could afford it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 16, 2013
I did not wear this dress. Not impressed.
I ended up returning this dress and now wearing it. I did not like the way it fit, nothing special about this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 28, 2013
such a fun and flattering dress! Herve has yet to disappoint
The dress is very flattering due to the amazing Herve bandage fabric and the lines created by the pattern of the dress. I originally rented for a wedding and decided that it may be too "sexy" because of the fit and the one shoulder style. I wore it instead to the rehearsal party in a swanky, urban rooftop setting and it was a perfect fit. The only cons would be that it's a little tough to really boogie since the length went to my knees (I'm short though) and was so tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
June 2, 2013
Not my favorite Herve dress
The zipper is on the side and it was really difficult to zip up. I couldn't do it alone - my boyfriend had to help! The dress also began to chafe as the night went on. The last time I wore Herve, I got tons of compliments. Not in this dress :(
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 4, 2013
It was very flattering - the top two hooks were broken (one missing other hanging on)
Great party dress - large had some serious wear and tear where the hooks were but they are under the arm. I normally wear a size 6-8 pant and medium-large top so I went with the large dress instead of the medium so my chest didn't looked mashed - both were gorgeous.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 15, 2013
Exceeded all Expectations!
Being my first RTR experience, I knew it was risky going for this Herve; hugging every curve & I'm 40+ with far from a perfect figure, but really appreciated all of the detailed reviews & went for it. This dress is stunning, classy, subtly sexy & lives up to it's hype. Paired it with nude heels and minimal jewelry. Normally a size 8/10, I only ordered the L after reading the reviews to size up. Was able to almost zip it by myself but have help on hand. Super comfortable & everything stays in place. Wore a strapless bra & spanx and nothing showed. Want to share to encourage other hourglass figures to try it! Really felt comfortable & confident in this dress, my husband LOVED it, lots of compliments but most of all I felt great & loved it too! Can't wait to use RTR again!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 16, 2013
I have never felt so stunning!
If only all my dresses could fit like this! Truly nothing less then expected from Herve. Orginally This was my backup dress, but as soon as I laid eyes on it was love at first sight! This dress fit like a glove. (No need for spanx ) it was snug enough to hug every curve (in a good way) but comfortable enough to dance the entire night away. So many compliments on the dress and how it fit. i felt like a shinning star. this dress photographs white, but in person the it's a creme beige. Only downside was I didn't want to return it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
July 30, 2013
My husband loves this dress on me so much he wanted to buy it!
I wore this to a dance party and it was a perfect dress for the occasion. This dress really does magic on your figure. My husband and I love this dress so much we are thinking about buying one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 5, 2013
Wasn't for me
I'm a fan of HL dresses, but when I tried it on this just wasn't right for me. Luckily I had gotten the Chocolate Addition as a backup dress and loved it!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 4, 2013
not exactly unforgettable
Material was a little bit stretched out. Go one size lower. Also, I'm 5'5, dress hit right at my knees, maybe a little lower.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
September 20, 2013
Herve Leger does not disappoint!
I really didn't know if the Herve Leger would fit at all. On most of the pics of the models the dresses seem so short. This one is definitely a little longer. Most of the reviews were from people who are size 0 or 2. I am a 8 and probably really a 10 in "designer" brands. Needless to say I was very happy the dress fit and was so so flattering! I wore this to a bachelorette party and it is a great party dress. I didn't wear a bra with it and like other reviewers say, the dress really holds you in like spanx!
JoslynOctober 30, 2013
You look awesome!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2013
Amazing & Comfortable!
The only reason I did not give this dress 5 stars is because it had been worn one too many times and some of the stitching was loose. Otherwise, perfect! Comfortable, hugs everything in perfectly. No need to wear a bra, even if you have a large chest.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 16, 2013
Incredible!!!!
It made me feel super sexy and amazing. Hugs your body in all the right places and showcases what you have. All you need to wear with this dress is some killer heels and a killer clutch. Never thought a dress could make me feel like a million bucks, but this dress did. Super happy I used rent the runway, genius concept for sure. Will most definitely rent from rent the runway again for all my part attire needs.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156lbs
October 25, 2013
Sexy and sleek!
Beautiful, classy, sexy, interesting! Great dress, hugs all the right curves and evens out imperfections. I rented both the M and the L and had trouble zipping up the M. The L was still very fitted, but a bit more comfortable. Can absolutely be worn without bra/spanx, but I liked having the extra support of my undergarments. My husband wanted me to buy the dress the moment he saw me in it! Definitely a winner!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
November 6, 2013
Great dress and very flattering
Love this dress and received many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 7, 2013
This dress was a hit!
This dress literally fit like a glove! I felt super sexy all night! Although it does run small the fabric hugs you like a pair of Spanx. Would definitely recommend this style for curvier women.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 18, 2013
I looked great and felt comfortable the entire night.
The dress is definitely snug, but really comfortable for an entire event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 8, 2013
Universally flattering
Beautiful fit throughout
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2013
Elegant and Sexy
I can't wait to rent this dress again. It was a little longer than the other Herve Leger dress I rented, which was perfect for a show on my birthday weekend. Snug, but elegant. I got tons of compliments.
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×