Rent the Runway

Hervé Léger

Contrast Entrapment Dress

$80 rental
$1450 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rock this black and plum colored contrast Herve Leger. A sophisticated style with a touch of edginess. Add a pop of sparkle with the Kara Ross' Stardust Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up; may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up; may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch bandage with burgundy color-block contrast. V neckline. V back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

108 reviews

Fit
Small 8
True to Size 98
Large 2
Photos 56
KC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 2, 2011

The dress compliments your body in every which way. Very classy but sexy at the same time

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit great..got lots of compliments.... enjoy it
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 15, 2011

perfect dress for looking sophisticated and sexy but not enough to outshine the beautiful bride!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress because of the contrast and design on the back. It's very flattering and gives the illusion of a waist and hips for a gal like me: I'm top heavy (32C), have a short torso, and my waist and hips are about the same in width, so there's not much curve there, but the contrast and detail made it appear that way. It holds everything in enough that you don't have to wear a bra, but I do recommend pasties for cold nights... only issue was that the sleeves seemed a bit stretched and I noticed in photos from the side that you almost see the shape of my breast through the armhole. Other than that, it still very suitable and appropriate for a wedding with kids and sexy enough to impress the boyfriend :-)
Jennifer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 16, 2011

I felt amazing in this dress. Received several compliments on the dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress! I'm pear-shaped, so it was a little big in the waist, but fit nicely everywhere else. Fun & sexy...I will definitely rent more from this designer in the future.
Rina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 2, 2012

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress and sinful cinnamon for a NYE party. Both dresses were beautiful & sexy, but this one seemed unique & effortless. This dress will enhance the bust, so your eyes are drawn upward. As a small B, this dress gave me so much cleavage! I was feeling a little shy about that at first, but got over it pretty quickly. The color blocking, subdued colors, and length of the dress, give it an even balance between sexy, modern, and classy. I accepted the offer to have one of the RTR stylists surprise me with a matching accessory rental for $15. They surprised me with the "Through the Looking Glass bracelet by Badgley Mischka. I did not wear it, because I didn't think it matched well with this dress. I ended up wearing darker, gunmetal jewelry, chandelier earrings & chunky bracelet.
Krystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 19, 2012

The fit was AMAZING!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVE this dress. I wore it to my 30th birthday dinner (which included friends and family). All eyes were on me the entire evening. It had the perfect amount of sophistication and super sexy all wrapped together. Love Love Love It! I hated to send it back:(
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Jul 24, 2012

I received so many compliements, and my boyfriend loved this dress on me!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits like a second skin. It's hugs to every curve and holds you in where you need a little help! :)
Marcella
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 21, 2013

This dress is beautifully made

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I chose to wear my backup dress though because my backup dress had long sleeves(it was chilly on the Atlantic City boardwalk). I would definitely order this dress for another event in the future,
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 3, 2013

I would wear this every day if I could!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This hugged all the right places and made me look like a bombshell. I can't wait to rent another HL dress again!
Maia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 21, 2013

Amazing dress !!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits and is flattering & makes the bust area look great!
AJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 6, 2014

Renting was so easy. Dress fit great, Simple to send back.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was amazing!! Got so many compliments.
vanessa
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Jan 31, 2014

Beautiful

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful
tracy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132 lbs
Jan 31, 2014

This would look great on anyone! Very flattering dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
a little long since I am only 5'0", but still totally worked without any modifications!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 7, 2014

Hot dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Super fitted and slimming. The small was a little snug on my bust which is a size 34D. I went with out a bra but still felt like the medium may have looked better in the bust area (just so that it didn't push everything flat). ;)
Mel
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Feb 16, 2014

This was for my long time boyfriend's twin sister's wedding. THIS was a big deal!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
If you are large chested, beware that you will be showing quite a bit of cleavage, if you can sacrifice the tight fit, opt for one size up with your one other free size offered. This fit perfect and I felt very comfortable in it all evening. It was snug but did not suffocate you like a corset. Just snug enough and I received so many compliments! I definitely recommend this dress. If I were not going to be seeing so many familiar faces at this upcoming wedding in June, I would order it again!
Tea
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Mar 3, 2014

Amazing dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress git me perfectly. I was surprised. Got compliments all night and once it was one (you will need help) it as very confortable.
Jaqui
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Gorgeous dress - Sexy sophistication

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had to try on three other dresses before finding one that fit, but this one fit practically perfectly. It looks just like the photo and hugs curves well. I bought spanx to go with it, but in retrospect it wasn't necessary. Not sure what to say other than this dress is phenomenal and I can't wait to find an occasion for another Hervé Léger item! *Keep in mind that if you have a larger bust you will definitely be showing some cleavage.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 6, 2014

Beautiful contrast!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for my law school formal! The black is very slimming and the purple contrast slims the waist. I rented the small and the medium; the small fit but was a bit too tight for me so I went with the medium, which was comfortable all night! I wore a regular bra with the dress; next time I would probably use some fashion tape to make sure it doesn't peek out. The purple photographs nicely and the photo of the model accurately reflects the color. Very happy with this rental!
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

I felt like a million bucks!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was VERY nervous that the dress would not fit because I have hips, and I rented another dress as a backup. However it definitely made me look great and I wish I could own it! It was a very classy dress and I would recommend it to anyone!
HoustonMM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
Apr 11, 2014

Great Vegas dress!!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Very flattering and fun! Loved it!
Kelli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Post pearl jam concert wedding rehearsal party...

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit like a glove and was so sexy.
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

Boyfriend's 30th!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress, looked exactly like you'd expect. I've been trying to find it online to buy it.
Breanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 6, 2014

Perfect dress for night out! Sexy, but still classy.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a fight and the after-party in Vegas. I could not have asked for a better selection! The fit was absolutely perfect and it was so flattering. There was a bit of cleavage, but not so much that I was uncomfortable (36D). I received compliments on the dress all night. My boyfriend absolutely loved it on me. Will definitely consider this dress for future events. My only regret is we were on the go so much, we didn't stop to take a picture.
kathy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 8, 2014

Va-va-vooom

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to an early fall work gala. Accentuates your curves in all the right places. I really love how thick the banded material is, very flattering.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
May 19, 2014

Flattering fit!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was great. The plum detailing really accents your waist and the signature Herve fit sucks you in in all the right places. The one thing I noticed about this dress was either it was a bit stretched out, or I should have rented the XS since the waist area was a little baggy. Everywhere else fit very well.
Soon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 113 lbs
May 20, 2014

Definitely a head turner

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Oh my gawd. This dress. It almost made me feel like I was turning all the attention away from the bride. I'm a petite pear and the S fit me like a glove. Not very stretchy sideways which tucks you in, but very stretchy vertically, making it a breeze to sit comfortably and to dance in (and feel sexy while dancing). I folded and hem-taped the bottommost "section" in since I didn't want it so close to my knees and it stayed all night. I wore nubra with it since I have small boobs. The dress just barely covered it and I taped it down, but you could still see the bra from the side. I didn't care too much since I would rather flash my bra than to have no boobs visually, but I still felt a little insecure. Pretty much all the guys were checking me out left and right (and front and probably back lol)! My boyfriend had a hard time pretending not to notice those stares. Photographs like an ordinary dress but in person it's definitely a show stopper. I would rent it again.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

Great for a night out

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was awesome!!! I got so many compliments!
V
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 6, 2014

Sophisticate!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress as a backup for a date night w/ my husband in Vegas. I end up wearing both... Cause I love both. It's tight but not out of control. I feel sophisticated and curvy... Highly recommended!
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Elegant dress perfect for a wedding.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is a bit long, but the purple and black combination are very flattering. Received lot of compliments. Love the back of the dress as well.
Klo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 30, 2014

Fabulous and sexy

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I felt great in this dress. It holds you in and pushes you up and makes you feel confident and sexy, but not trashy. The most sophisticated Herve I have ever worn.
Vernell
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Compliments all night. RTR customer service was excellent. Dress arrived two days before my event

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect fit. Easy to get into,
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 30, 2014

Loved this dress! :)

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress! I didn't pick this dress initially, but the dress I originally ordered was damaged so I had to pick another one out. I ended up liking this dress even more then my original one!! Fits like a dream, good combo of classy and sexy, and actually comfortable! Totally loved it! Would love to own it!!
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 15, 2014

Tight in all the right places

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
As others have stated this dress is super thick but in a good way. Its like a built in corset and even helps give the ladies a lift. The length was great for me, long enough to not creep all night but short enough to not feel stuffy. I will say the dress did bunch a bit at my butt, otherwise I barely even noticed it was on as it felt like a second skin. I will definitely rent another Herve Leger!
Kelly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 7, 2014

Delivery company wouldn't drop it off so I had to chase ups to get it for my next day flight :(

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit well, a little long for a bachelorette party. Cute and comfortable though!
Martha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Dec 6, 2014

dress is beautiful, and very elegant.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was a little long for me since im 5,2, fits very well though. This is an elegant and sophisticated dress, and is true to the colors.
Michelle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Back up dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit well and looked nice on my body, but it was very plain and just didn't have that standout quality.
Allison
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

I received so many compliments!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful and flattering dress.
Nicole
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 27, 2015

This dress was amazing! Fit like a glove and was PERFECT for our friend's wedding! Highly Recommend!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfect, could move around with no problem. No cons!
SL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Apr 13, 2015

A work event

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I didn't end up wearing this because the neckline was a bit too low cut and sexy for a work dinner. Also, I usually wear 0 or XS but the last Herve Leger I got in 0 was SO tight I couldn't breathe. But this one seemed stretched out or something because it wasn't as tight as the other one. Also hits at the knee, so longer than I expected. Still, such a gorgeous dress and colors. Maybe I'll get it for next time I have a big event like a wedding or cocktail party!
PinkMartini
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Apr 16, 2015

Very sexy for a date night!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is very sexy and the back is really beautiful. It has fun criss-cross detail.
LC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
May 10, 2015

Gorgeous, flattering, sexy dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
LOVED LOVED LOVED!!!!! This was one of the most flattering dresses I've ever worn. Also surprisingly comfortable. I would definitely recommend.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×