Hervé Léger

Contrast Entrapment Dress

$143 to buy
$1,450 retail
Stylist Notes

Rock this black and plum colored contrast Herve Leger. A sophisticated style with a touch of edginess.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up; may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black stretch bandage with burgundy color-block contrast. V neckline. V back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
127 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(107)
Small
(10)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 19, 2012
Thank you thank you for saving my Vegas Weekend!
I had rented two other dresses for a weekend in Vegas -- and neither of them fit. But on Friday -- only a few hours before I flew out -- RTR staff helped get me this dress which was a KNOCKOUT. It is like wearing fashionable spanx. Totally comfortable and somehow manages to suck in and push up everything right. I highly highly recommend this dress if you are like me -- tall with curves. I have a size 27-28 waist, but I wear a 34 DD bra. Dresses are sometimes hard to find. As others have said, I took it out of the box and said, "uh-oh." But it slipped right on and was amazing. I got tons and tons of compliments! Herve Leger will definitely be a go-to in the future.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32D+
November 20, 2012
I felt so hot I forgot that I was turning 49!
I rented this for my birthday as a test run with RTR. My original dress pick didn't arrive and this was my backup dress. It turned out to be *the one* anyway, thank goodness. As other reviewers have mentioned, the dress is snug and the fabric does relax a bit after about 30 minutes of wearing. Very comfortable to wear. I had no trouble zipping into the Small by myself. On me, the dress was a little baggy at the waist in the back and once the fabric relaxed it was loose enough to ride up around the hips. I couldn't possibly go smaller, though, due to my cup size (I'm an F). My experience with RTR was overall a good one, even though the original dress pick arrived on Monday and not Friday as planned. I received a credit for the dress that didn't arrive and have just rented 2 different Herve's for a soiree next week! I'm hooked on RTR now AND Herve Leger. I just ordered one of my very own from Nordstrom tonight.
erinDecember 8, 2013
I can't believe you are 50! You don't look a day over 35! The dress looks amazing on you! One of the top reviewers who have worn it! I have decided to rent it myself. I hope I have as good luck as you!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 20, 2012
My boyfriend's reaction when he saw me walk out in it!
I was nervous about this dress because it's entirely skin tight and I'm not exactly model skinny. I was worried that my stomach would stick out and the dress would look too tight. But these herve leger dresses are magical! It sucked me in in all the right places and gave me great curves. I got compliments all night long and the most facebook "likes" I've ever gotten on one picture! I intend to rent another herve leger for my next holiday party!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 26, 2012
Worn to my birthday celebration, loved the attention
Very well made dress, I was impressed by the quality of the material. Fits every curve, and slightly low cut in the front I had to wear a cami to feel comfortable.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 2, 2012
Fantastic!!! Fits very well lots of compliments
Slimming effect around tummy area!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 4, 2012
What a great experience with this dress! Feedback throughout the night was, "Wow, just wow."
How exciting to get the opportunity to wear an Herve Leger dress. The fit was definitely snug. I expected it to hide or "suck in" certain problem areas but was unsure if it was actually that forgiving. But an overall amazing experience. The girlfriends who knew it was Rent the Runway (I spilled the beans to all!) said I needed to OWN that dress. :) Worn with Nicole Miller Southern Plantation earrings.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 7, 2012
Perfect elegance for a British Wedding!
Classy yet sexy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 10, 2012
This dress looked and felt AMAZING!
The dress was super flattering, a great color combo, and classy enough for my work holiday party. The only critique I have is that it was a little loose around the mid-section (nice problem to have, I know, but still....maybe I just need more of a booty!). It otherwise fit really well all over, and it was nice to be able to wear a normal bra for a formal event. It was comfortable, fun, and definitely made me feel amazing all around. Will definitely be renting Herve again!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2012
Sexy yet tasteful
I was nervous about the dress fitting too tight, but it had plenty of stretch. I received many compliments throughout the night. I would definitely rent Herve again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 17, 2012
Cute but it rode up!
So, I think I got the right fit, but it ended up riding up on me throughout the night. Very flattering and super form-fitting!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 21, 2012
i loved this dress and felt great in it!
fit well, didn't need bra which was great.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 20, 2012
Love it... Sucked it all in!
I just felt really good in it... Renting another one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 2, 2013
An Herve Leger makes any night unforgettable and any woman a sex kitten!
Herve Leger -- fantastic. Max Azria knows how to make a sexy dress! I own a few Herves, but (devastatingly) they are all size XXS. When my boyfriend and I had a date at a very fancy restaurant a couple of days before NYE, I decided to go with my favorite standby designer. The dress is amazing, and the specific dress I received was in very good condition. Both the XS and the S fit really well, and going a size up in Herve doesn't sacrifice the fit, so if you're really worried, order the size you think you'll wear plus the next size up. Even a M would've looked great. The V-neck wasn't quite as low as I thought it would've been. Overall: LOVE!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
January 16, 2013
Perfect fit, great dress.
I thought it was pefect for the wedding I attended, great fit, wasn't too tight. Long enough and didn't show off too much cleavage. The dress actually held me in around the chest and waiste - I could dance and not have to worry about any wardrobe malfunctions!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
February 5, 2013
Unforgettable!
This dress is the only dress ever that gave me cleavage. I was shocked as soon as I put it on. It fits great and pulls you in where you need it yet pushes you up in the chest. I was comfortable and confident all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 13, 2013
Love this dress, was perfect for a winter wedding!
Both sizes fit wore the smaller size and was happy I did. Looked great all night long!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 11, 2013
Herve Leger does it again!
This is the second Herve Leger dress that I rent and this designer does not disappoint. I rented this dress for a wedding reception. I couldn't bring my three kids so I decided to make the most out of a night with just me and my hubby. I was nervous that the medium wouldn't fit and a large is not available but I went for it anyway. I'm so glad that I did. Paired with a pair of Spanx stockings, the baby pudge that I carry was barely noticeable. It even gave me the cleavage that I only see with special bras. My friends gave me great compliments and I didn't feel self-conscious around the younger girls. I felt like I held my own. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 1, 2013
Easy, sexy, a stunner
Body conscious classic Leger dress, I am 5' 4" and this hit me at the knee. A must rent
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 2, 2013
!!!
It was a little big in the lower back, but overall it was great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
April 14, 2013
Great contrast dress.
Nice dress. This one was a S size. A little on the long side for me, unable to wear since the event was cancelled.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 17, 2013
Perfect Bump-Friendly Fit!
LOVED this dress!! Was actually a substitute for my 2nd choice, but I think I've found a new favorite designer! The dress fits like a glove. The bandage design was perfect for highlighting my baby bump and slimming the rest. It is a body-hugging design, but not at all too tight. The heavier fabric obviously makes it wear well, as the dress did not look at all like a pre-worn rental. Bonus-could wear a normal bra with no problem at all.
AmyJanuary 13, 2014
Obviously I needed to update the "straight and narrow" in my profile during my pregnancy!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 13, 2013
This dress not only made me feel extremely sexy but it was very comfortable and it fit like a glove.
The fit of this dress was perfect and it hugged me in all the right places. It enhaced my breasts, accentuated my waist and didnt flatten out my behind, which is exaclty what I look for in a dress. Needless to say, my date could not take his eyes off me and the complements kept pouring in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 5, 2013
Wish I owned this one!
I loved the dress so much that I scheduled it for rental twice more right off the bat. I would buy this dress if I could! It's perfect for fall and the holiday season and easily can be dressed up or down with accessories.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
September 30, 2013
gorgeous it was my backup!! wished I had two functions! ill definitely rent it again!!!
fit like a glove!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 21, 2013
This dress is beautifully made
I chose to wear my backup dress though because my backup dress had long sleeves(it was chilly on the Atlantic City boardwalk). I would definitely order this dress for another event in the future,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
November 3, 2013
I would wear this every day if I could!
This hugged all the right places and made me look like a bombshell. I can't wait to rent another HL dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 21, 2013
Amazing dress !!
Fits and is flattering & makes the bust area look great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 25, 2013
Great dress!
I wear a 32DD so it was awesome that you could wear a normal bra with this. It is rather low cut but the hem line is fairly long (I'm almost 5'8''). Hervé Léger dresses always fit like a glove and squeeze you in all the right places. I would highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 6, 2014
Renting was so easy. Dress fit great, Simple to send back.
Dress was amazing!! Got so many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
January 31, 2014
Beautiful
Beautiful
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
January 31, 2014
This would look great on anyone! Very flattering dress!
a little long since I am only 5'0", but still totally worked without any modifications!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
February 7, 2014
Hot dress!
Super fitted and slimming. The small was a little snug on my bust which is a size 34D. I went with out a bra but still felt like the medium may have looked better in the bust area (just so that it didn't push everything flat). ;)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 26, 2014
Perfect Vegas dress
Excellent fit, very snug, no need for Spanx. Enough sexy without being too revealing and super comfortable. Would not be great for big busted ladies as it is too snug to wear a bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
March 3, 2014
Amazing dress
The dress git me perfectly. I was surprised. Got compliments all night and once it was one (you will need help) it as very confortable.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 11, 2014
fun, flattering and flirtatious!
I had originally rented another Herve Leger dress but due to a previous renters damage issue I had to "settle" for this one. I was a bit disappointed but the RTR contact, Toni, was very helpful. The dress was awesome, I added a little cami underneath for a bit more coverage (was a family wedding!). The cut was excellent, pulled me in at all the right places and the shoulder area didn't make me feel like a linebacker. Would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 7, 2014
I felt like a million bucks!
I was VERY nervous that the dress would not fit because I have hips, and I rented another dress as a backup. However it definitely made me look great and I wish I could own it! It was a very classy dress and I would recommend it to anyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
April 15, 2014
Post pearl jam concert wedding rehearsal party...
Fit like a glove and was so sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
April 17, 2014
Boyfriend's 30th!
Great dress, looked exactly like you'd expect. I've been trying to find it online to buy it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 22, 2014
Herve Leger makes dresses that look good for any occasion!
The dresses are form fitting. You barely need to wear anything underneath, because the bodycon sucks you all it. Sometimes the Herve Leger dresses can be a bit stretched out, but this one was perfect and true to size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
April 27, 2014
More compliments than I could handle.. Almost ;)
I was told the small might be too small but it fit perfectly! My date (and his friends) couldn't keep their eyes off me! This dress pulls everything in and the way the material is sewn is slimming. Even if you don't have a large chest, just wait. Va-va-voom cleavage is nearly unavoidable hah. I was a little doubtful when I ordered this dress (the ones I truly wanted were unavailable on short notice) but I'm so happy I did!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×