Licorice Dress

$59 to buy
$470 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This combo dress by Helmut Lang mixes silk and satin for a sophisticated update to the classic LBD.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - front pleat on skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fabric highlights and flatters backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - front pleat on skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fabric highlights and flatters backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Aubergine silk and black satin combo dress. Surplice neckline. Cap sleeves. Peplum detail and front pleat on skirt. Back satin paneling. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
88 reviews
Fit
Large56
True to Size29
Small0
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
October 7, 2012
Really nice quality dress that's classy, sexy, unique, and easy to wear.
This dress is great for comfort, style, and quality: the cut and detailing are unique and flattering, the material (silk/satin) feels luxurious and comfortable, both sizes arrived in excellent condition, you can wear a regular bra, the fabric has a bit of stretch so you can move around (and eat) freely, the neckline is conservative yet interesting, and the back is nicely fitted and looks hot. While the size 2 would've been fine and not baggy or anything, the 0 fit perfectly. (I usually wear dress size 2 or 4.) It came to 2-3" above my knee. I styled it with long gold/black stick earrings, sheer black tights, hair in a neat side bun, and black booties for a fall wedding. i was about to give it 4 stars instead of 5 because it didn't totally wow and isn't a "look at that dress!" kind of dress. But I am giving it 5 because not every dress needs to make a huge statement, and this one is perfect at being understated yet still amazing.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 28, 2012
Felt great!
Could have worn a size 2, but I was at a conservative wedding, so I had to wear it a little longer. I have a large bust, small waist, and big hips for my short size so this dress was perfect for concealing those voluptuous parts of me for the conservative wedding I had to attend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 26, 2012
Beautiful fit, but a little bit longer than it looks!
I loved this dress because it fit quite well and was very flattering- but on my 5'2 frame, was just a bit too long for a fun wedding. Tall girls, go for it! It's beautiful and very well-made.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
September 26, 2012
Great crossover between cocktails and a black tie affair
As others have said, this runs very large. For example, I wore the 0 in this and a 4 in my backup dress of another brand. Also, much like the other Helmut dress I have borrowed, it sort of got longer as the night went on. The fabric sort of settles. That being said, I loved the neckline and the detailing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 23, 2012
Easy to wear, slightly edgy.
Was a little big and should have worn the smaller size. A classy dress with a slight edge. Perfect for a cocktail party.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
September 13, 2012
I got a lot of compliments on the fit and style of this dress.
The dress runs large as other reviewers have said, I usually wear a size 2. The pros: comfortable, I like the contrast that the two types of fabrics offers, unique draping. The cons: not really any!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
September 4, 2012
Great LBD
I wore this to a benefit for the Lower Manhattan Cultural Council in NYC. It's a great LBD without being boring. The different fabrics create a nice texture and some verge towards gray rather than black, which I actually liked. It was very flattering, without being inappropriate for work. The front is cool but modest with a more fitted back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
August 25, 2012
Classy and elegant
I felt gorgeous and elegant in this dress. It is classy and sophisticated and fits like a glove. I prefer dresses with a little stretch, and this was perfect and hugged my curves in all the right places. It is perfect for a formal affair, dressy work function or anywhere you need to wear an LBD that is professional and sharp yet sexy and fun!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 24, 2012
Very pretty but...
It looks so edgy on the model. It wasn't as sassy as I expected and ran really large to get any sort of figure out of it. I haven't been a size 0 since I was 12 but I got to be for one night! It was also very long on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2012
Birthday dress!
I rented this dress for my 30th birthday party! It was great and I felt super sexy! Its stretchy though... so I would've gone with a smaller size.. oh well, still looked great.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 115lbs
August 13, 2012
cute dress, poor fit
cute dress but a weird fit. puffy at the stomach. definitely one you'd want to try on first. runs large
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
July 25, 2012
This was a replacement dress that customer service helped pick out & it was a great choice. Fit better than the original dress I wanted.
I wore this to a Fashion Week event. This replaced the original dress I ordered. I'm usually a 6, but I received a 4 & it fit well. I received many compliments on this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 19, 2012
Runs really large--not kidding
I rented this for a wedding, but didn't end up wearing it. When they say it runs large, they are not kidding! I'm usually a 10 in dresses, 12 in pants (my measurements are 36-30-40) and after reading the reviews, I ordered a 10 and an 8. The 8 was so loose in the waist, it was sagging. Also, the length on me was just about to my knees, rather than cute-flirty-mid-thigh length, like I was hoping for. After I got to the wedding, I realized this dress would've been too formal anyway, even if it had fit--on the model, it looks like it straddles that line between 'cocktail' and 'party', but in person, it was all 'formal cocktail'.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 8, 2012
Great dress! Runs very large.
This dress is beautiful. For short people like me, it hits just above the knee and is very flattering all around. Definitely order down a size, or even two sizes. I usually wear a 6 and even the 4 was a bit loose in the waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 2, 2012
Girls Night Out
I rented this in a 6 and 8 for a girls weekend in New York City. I am large busted and usually fluctuate between a 6-8 because of that. The 8 was baggy and the 6 fit like a dream. Unfortunately, even though the dress was really flattering, I didn't end up wearing it. The 6 was just a bit too tattered and worn - I was expecting better quality than this. I think the sash and sides are made of satin and they had little snags and pulls. Nothing major, but it didn't make me feel like a million bucks. I'd still recommend this dress to others - it really is a great cut!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
March 1, 2012
Sexy
Very flattering, kinda sexy and different. Husband loved it. At least I had a hot dress on, the party was a dud.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 27, 2012
Great dress!
I ordered this dress as my "backup" dress and ended up wearing it because it was so comfortable and really a dress you could wear anywhere. It can be worn dressed up or down depending on the heels and jewels. I thought the blacks looked black (unlike other comments) but it is clearly two separate fabrics, a silk and a satin, which appear different. I really liked the look.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
January 4, 2012
Great dress!
Loved, loved, loved! Great dress and super comfy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 27, 2011
Fit like a glove
I wore this dress to a casual company party. It was perfect because it looked dressed up and festive, but not over the top. Conservative because of the length and high neck line, but still sexy and elegant. I would not recommend it if you want to make a big statement. It is understated. I loved the fit. It has the right amount of spandex to conform to your curves in a flattering way. I wore it with black tights and black patent platform heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 18, 2011
I needed to be a bit thicker
I am a hard to fit 0 to size 2 and I ordered this in "0" and it was too baggy on me. I'm almost 5'4" 114 lbs, no chest, with wide hips. Pretty dress, but I had a Doo Ri back-up that worked, so all was well!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 14, 2011
Very cute!
The dress does run big so be sure to order a size down. I'm glad I did. A 0 probably would have been a better fit, but the 2 worked. Swimming in the 4. Especially with my full bust. Got lots of compliments on the dress. I wore it to a company holiday party. It felt sexy, yet conservative, since it covered any cleavage. Really comfy and you can wear a typical bra with it (which is a must for the busty gals).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
December 12, 2011
Great Dress!
This dress was very figure flattering and perfect for my holiday party for work. I got tons of compliments. The dress definitely runs large, so order a size down, at least.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2011
Totally luxurious- Love it!
This dress does run large, I normally wear size 4, but the size 2 that I wore was a bit big in the waist. Other than that, I loved the dress. The fabric was quality and you could tell that the designer had put thought into the details. I wore this for a wedding rehearsal, which also included a night out in NYC, and it worked perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 27, 2011
Sooo Disappointed
I originally ordered this dress for my best friend’s very chic / very photog-friendly event, and was REALLY excited to wear it but I ended up grabbing something from my own closet. This dress was not AT ALL what I expected. Maybe I was thrown off by the distant picture provided by the site but this dress is actually a two-toned/ dual-material- part black, part dark purple. The back was super sexy- hugged my curves, but the front looked very frumpy although it has an A-symmetrical sleeve. As the other reviews mentioned, the dress does run large, so order your size AND the size under (I only tried on the smaller size). This was my first big miss with RTR. Oh well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
November 25, 2011
too big, but very cute dress!
I loved this dress, but I was disappointed that it didn't fit me how I would have liked it to. I chatted w/ a stylist who suggested a size 0 and a 2 as a backup, but even the 0 was too big on me. I wore a belt around the waist, which actually looked really cute, but the dress was still too big overall, especially in the butt!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
October 24, 2011
I adore this dress! I'm normally between an 8 and 10, and the 8 fit great. It was comfortable and sexy without being over the top.
HanneloraMay 7, 2012
was this dress too short?
RTRMay 9, 2012
Hi Hannelora, this dress is 37'' from shoulder to hem so it will be a mini on heights 5'9 and above!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 12, 2011
This dress was phenomenal! I received a ton of compliments! It is very comfortable, and flattering! It does run large though, I would say it runs about one size too big. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
October 7, 2011
According to the size chart I am a size 12. I rented the 12 and 10 as backup. The 12 was way too big and the 10 was still too big. Looks frumpy. It's a shame because it's a cute dress and if I had the smaller size I think I would love it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 5, 2011
Great for those that are a little curvy! Very flattering fit and has a little stretch to it, so very comfortable dress. Would definitely rent this one again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 23, 2011
Very flattering dress. Wore to dinner at a fancy restaurant and got compliments. I got size 0 which fit well except the top was a bit large.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
September 14, 2011
I love this dress & want to keep it! I thought it ran true to size & was flattering. It is more of a charcoal grey vs black & the fabric feels great! I am so glad I got this rental & cannot wait to wear it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
September 9, 2011
I took the advice of the all the other ladies and took a size 2, which fit perfectly. I still ordered a size 4 just in case. Service was great and chatting with the stylist also helped.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
August 27, 2011
Order your backup size a size down from normal. I have hips and was happy with the fit, so even though it runs large I'd rather not have super tight thighs and a little more room up top. This dress is super sexy and very forgiving. Thought the length might be a problem from the model, but it was just right.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
August 23, 2011
This dress lovely but does run large. Go against your instincts and get a size smaller than your usual size. It needs to fit a bit tighter to hang properly. Otherwise the front won't wrap across your chest and will shlump!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 31, 2011
This dress was so comfortable and flattering! I'm usually a size 8 but fit comfortably into a size 4. Got many compliments. A great rental!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 112lbs
May 18, 2011
I enjoyed wearing this dress - pretty and comfortable, no fuss. The detailing is much more subdued than pictured, and I actually liked it better in person. Fits true to size.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 10, 2011
Thank goodness I rented a backup dress, because this dress was HUGE. The 2 was waaaay too big, and made me feel very frumpy. I don't even think a 0 would have worked for me. Loved the detail on the back and was super bummed to not get to wear it. I weigh about 130 and wear a 34B.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Body type: Full Bust
April 12, 2011
This dress had a large stain on the left breast which was too bad because the fit was great!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2011
I love it, this dress was amazing, it fits very well.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
February 2, 2011
Rented this for a pageant event I was judging; paired with my own costume earrings and the Montecarlo Bangle Set; it looked amazing.  I am 5'3" and very curvy with a smaller waist (typically I wear a 10 in Regular Sizes, but found the 8 in this dress was perfect (found it very helpful that RTR allows you to order an addtl size just in case).  The dress hit just below my knees and I found the length really worked well.  Great dress; would certainly rent again.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×