You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Licorice Dress
Rental $40 Retail $470
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
This combo dress by Helmut Lang mixes silk and satin for a sophisticated update to the classic LBD.
Chat with a Stylist
Aubergine silk and black satin combo dress. Surplice neckline. Cap sleeves. Peplum detail and front pleat on skirt. Back satin paneling. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - front pleat on skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fabric highlights and flatters backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11". )

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos10

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

AK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 4524
Dec 12, 2011
Great Dress!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was very figure flattering and perfect for my holiday party for work. I got tons of compliments. The dress definitely runs large, so order a size down, at least.
Melanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Nov 30, 2011
Totally luxurious- Love it!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress does run large, I normally wear size 4, but the size 2 that I wore was a bit big in the waist. Other than that, I loved the dress. The fabric was quality and you could tell that the designer had put thought into the details. I wore this for a wedding rehearsal, which also included a night out in NYC, and it worked perfectly.
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7424
Nov 27, 2011
Sooo Disappointed
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I originally ordered this dress for my best friend’s very chic / very photog-friendly event, and was REALLY excited to wear it but I ended up grabbing something from my own closet. This dress was not AT ALL what I expected. Maybe I was thrown off by the distant picture provided by the site but this dress is actually a two-toned/ dual-material- part black, part dark purple. The back was super sexy- hugged my curves, but the front looked very frumpy although it has an A-symmetrical sleeve. As the other reviews mentioned, the dress does run large, so order your size AND the size under (I only tried on the smaller size). This was my first big miss with RTR. Oh well.
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3523
Nov 25, 2011
too big, but very cute dress!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress, but I was disappointed that it didn't fit me how I would have liked it to. I chatted w/ a stylist who suggested a size 0 and a 2 as a backup, but even the 0 was too big on me. I wore a belt around the waist, which actually looked really cute, but the dress was still too big overall, especially in the butt!!
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6444
Oct 24, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I adore this dress! I'm normally between an 8 and 10, and the 8 fit great. It was comfortable and sexy without being over the top.
Jamie
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 1431
Oct 12, 2011
Overall fit: Large
This dress was phenomenal! I received a ton of compliments! It is very comfortable, and flattering! It does run large though, I would say it runs about one size too big. I would definitely rent this dress again!
KSD
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1521
Oct 7, 2011
Overall fit: Large
According to the size chart I am a size 12. I rented the 12 and 10 as backup. The 12 was way too big and the 10 was still too big. Looks frumpy. It's a shame because it's a cute dress and if I had the smaller size I think I would love it!
Anna
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8524
Oct 5, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Great for those that are a little curvy! Very flattering fit and has a little stretch to it, so very comfortable dress. Would definitely rent this one again!
Dee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 2631
Sep 23, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Very flattering dress. Wore to dinner at a fancy restaurant and got compliments. I got size 0 which fit well except the top was a bit large.
Kellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7531
Sep 14, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I love this dress & want to keep it! I thought it ran true to size & was flattering. It is more of a charcoal grey vs black & the fabric feels great! I am so glad I got this rental & cannot wait to wear it!
divamom
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3623
Sep 9, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I took the advice of the all the other ladies and took a size 2, which fit perfectly. I still ordered a size 4 just in case. Service was great and chatting with the stylist also helped.
Lise
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1431
Aug 27, 2011
Overall fit: Large
Order your backup size a size down from normal. I have hips and was happy with the fit, so even though it runs large I'd rather not have super tight thighs and a little more room up top. This dress is super sexy and very forgiving. Thought the length might be a problem from the model, but it was just right.
mstrex
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1531
Aug 23, 2011
Overall fit: Large
This dress lovely but does run large. Go against your instincts and get a size smaller than your usual size. It needs to fit a bit tighter to hang properly. Otherwise the front won't wrap across your chest and will shlump!
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
May 31, 2011
Overall fit: Large
This dress was so comfortable and flattering! I'm usually a size 8 but fit comfortably into a size 4. Got many compliments. A great rental!
RTR732
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 4533
May 18, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I enjoyed wearing this dress - pretty and comfortable, no fuss. The detailing is much more subdued than pictured, and I actually liked it better in person. Fits true to size.
A. Lauren
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 1431
May 10, 2011
Overall fit: Large
Thank goodness I rented a backup dress, because this dress was HUGE. The 2 was waaaay too big, and made me feel very frumpy. I don't even think a 0 would have worked for me. Loved the detail on the back and was super bummed to not get to wear it. I weigh about 130 and wear a 34B.
Emma
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 1521
Apr 12, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress had a large stain on the left breast which was too bad because the fit was great!
Gigi
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1521
Mar 4, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I love it, this dress was amazing, it fits very well.
Issa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8523
Feb 2, 2011
Overall fit: Large
Rented this for a pageant event I was judging; paired with my own costume earrings and the Montecarlo Bangle Set; it looked amazing.  I am 5'3" and very curvy with a smaller waist (typically I wear a 10 in Regular Sizes, but found the 8 in this dress was perfect (found it very helpful that RTR allows you to order an addtl size just in case).  The dress hit just below my knees and I found the length really worked well.  Great dress; would certainly rent again.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3443
Jan 9, 2011
Overall fit: Large
This dress is AHmazing, it was perfect for NYE. I got compliments from about everyone I saw...I really didn't want to send it back!! Order a size down as it runs large and won't look great if it's not snug enough.
NYC
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5541
Dec 29, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
Ordered size 4 & 6 and the 4 was perfect. Great fit and even looked good with tights.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Dec 22, 2010
Overall fit: Large
Dress looks great on. I got many compiments. Very comfortable and easy to move in also.
LM
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1431
Dec 22, 2010
Overall fit: Large
This dress runs VERY large. I read some reviews and knowing it was large ordered a 6 and a 4 (I would normally order an 8 in designer dresses) The 4 was even too big. Luckily, I was able to have a 2 sent to me same day and it was so much better. It was fitted in the right places and the bunching in the waist was very flattering. I think the more conservative top balanced out the snug hips. I loved this dress so much and got so many compliments that I'm renting it again for new years. I Paired with the Lovely Bouquet earrings which totally worked- also from RTR.
Lacey
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1421
Dec 10, 2010
Overall fit: Large
I ordered a size zero, and unfortunately, it was too big. I would say the dress runs two sizes too big! The color and neckline are lovely, but I wouldn't order the dress again.
Barbara
Top Contributor
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 58
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1621
Nov 23, 2010
Overall fit: Large
This dress is a pretty color of Gray. It is still form-fitting. And you do need to order a size down.I wore it with simple drop jet blk. earring and a gorgeous bracelet- all from RTR!
Kate
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1531
Nov 18, 2010
Overall fit: Large
This dress looks amazing on the model, but was definitely not designed for us ladies with hips for days. I ordered down a size, and it fit the hips but I still had several inches of extra fabric around my waist. Sadly, it looked really frumpy on and I sent it back without wearing it.
Jennie
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 1541
Oct 27, 2010
Overall fit: Large
Such a pretty dress, but looks better on the model than it did on me. I ordered a 2 (I'm 5'8" & 123 lbs) with a size 4 as a backup. As soon as I took the 2 out of the bag I knew it was too big! It looked a bit frumpy on instead of sexy :( but I wore it anyway! I recommend ordering a size down as backup.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress