Helmut Lang

Kiss of Death Gown

$78 rental
$520 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be mysterious with this insanely sexy Helmut Lang gown. With the front slit and cowl neck style, this dress is perfect for any black tie affair. Shown here Rodrigo Otazu's Insanely Chic Crystal Cuff and Erickson Beamon Chrysler Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection - thin jersey hugs curves - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection - thin jersey hugs curves - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Cowl neckline. Cut-out back. Front slit.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

57 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 46
Large 8
Photos 22
Chrissy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 5, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
No offense to the model, but she does not do this dress justice. It is a very sexy dress! If you have curves in all the right places, it will show! I loved it! I received tons of compliments all night. The dress was very comfortable. My only suggestion is to keep your heel height in mind when you order this dress. I ordered a regular size dress, but I probably could have gotten away with a long since I wore 3" platform shoes.
Marie H.
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 8, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was a perfect fit for someone with my height and weight. 5'6'' 107 lbs. It was super comfortable because the fabric is a little forgiving which was a nice change from the uncomfortable dresses we sausage ourselves into. Very sexy, very feminine, very modern. Loved it.
Cmyaus
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 22, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented the size 4 which is my typical size and it fit perfectly with a pair of 3" heels. I added a crystal brooch at the waist where the draping is and it really took it up a notch. The slit on the leg is much lower than pictured. I felt beautiful in this dress.
PromQueen
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Pear
Mar 25, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for my senior prom along with some extremely classy, silver earrings and bracelet (different from the ones pictured, but from rent the runway), and I loved it. The slit is in just the right place, so I don't show my whole leg, and the way it hugged my lower body made me feel really confident all night! I followed an above suggestion by putting a brooch where the fabric wraps around your middle and it made me look like a very classy, svelte princess.
yyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Mar 27, 2011

Would rent again.

Size worn: XSR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress in XSR is 150 cm / 59 inches long. As with most Helmut Lang, it is cut slim. I am 5'2", and with a pair of 3" heels, the hem lightly brushes against the floor (very elegant, just the perfect floor length). The slit back is a great detail: from the side, the bottom edge of the slit creates a subtle drape. And unlike the photo, the front slit does not cut as high as it looks (it hit an inch above the knee for me, in heels). I felt great in this dress and will definitely rent it again for the next black tie occasion.
TMKRR
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 21, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Stunning dress. Understated, very flattering. The jersey is comfortable and drapes wonderfully. The slit is lower than pictured, but is still provocative.
Mama Bass
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
May 4, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was a HIT at a black tie event for work. It was appropriate for the occasion, and the slit ended just above my knee... way less revealing that the picture. Also took the advice and added a sparkly broach to the knot at the waist. No necklace as the cowl neck was perfect. I rented the large having just had a baby 9 months ago and (I'm 165 and 5'6") and this accentuated all the right spots... with spanx and a sticky cup bra! I felt glamorous and comfortable in this gown... not always easily combined!
KLJ518
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Aug 31, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved the draping in the back, and as others have said, the slit in front is not nearly as high as it appears in the photo. My only complaints that kept this from getting 5 stars are the following: first, it was very hard to get the drape in the front to sit correctly. It kept looking like a bulge of fabric that needed to be tucked somehow. Once I got it in the right place, the short lining kept riding up until there was a bunch of fabric at my hips and I had to go to the ladies room several times to "adjust". Also, the drape at the neckline has a raw edge that kept flipping over so that it was visible and did not look very neat. Overall, I liked the dress, but I probably would not rent it again. This was my first experience with RTW, and I was totally happy with them. I will definitely rent again, just not this dress.
Crystal E
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Sep 12, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Unfortunately my rental did not fit and I could not wear. The Xsm was way too small and too short. The Small was enormous - I was literally swimming in it. XSM must be better on a petite woman 5'2 and under.
drea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved the style of the dress - but it is not exactly as pictured: my rental was worn out with hanging seams, a torn in the front that had been repaired and the gathering over the stomach also showed signs of heavy use. The leg slit ends at the knee. Again, loved the style but this model should be retired.
Natalia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Oct 17, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This is the worst dress that I have ever tried on. It looks great on the model but on me it was horrible. The quality of the dress was very poor and it was super stretched out. The draping on the front is not flattering one bit.
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 22, 2011

Felt Beautiful

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a beautiful dress. The only reason I didn't wear the xs was the length. I am usually between a 2/4 and it was just about 2 inches too short without heels. The slit was not too high and the dress was formal enough for an event that I was unsure of.
Antoinette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 12, 2011

Size worn: SL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely LOVED this dress! I interned with UNICEF and wore it to their West Coast Ball in LA. It was a black tie event and this dress was perfect--formal, sexy, but not too over the top! I'm 5'9-5'10 and I would have liked it to be a bit longer, but overall it was perfect. My only complaint is that the slip attached to the dress rode up pretty often, but it was easy to adjust.
Z
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 24, 2012

super satisfied

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this guy for a formal black tie wedding in San Francisco City Hall. Big hit - I felt very comfortable and received many compliments. I'm a street size 6...rented both a S and M and chose the wear the S - it hugged my body in all the right places despite not being floor length.
Girl19
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124 lbs
Apr 23, 2012

Not as SEXY as it seems

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is OK really, its not as SEXY in person as it seems on the model. The slit is not as high, and its very black, so all of the form fitting knots on the top of the dress are not very visible in person. Really a little blah, i didnt even wear it.
Danielle
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
May 21, 2012

lang

Size worn: XSR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have to say this dress was gorgeous but I could not believe RTR sent me a dress in such horrible condition, the back was ripped as well as the top of the slit in the leg. I did not have time for them to send me out another dress so I wore any how. It runs true to size - I had to wear 5" heels for the length to be correct.
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122 lbs
Jun 4, 2012

Perfect for me

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was excellent! It was a little on the short side but I don't know if a long would be too long. I wore it for prom and it was unique and I got a lot of compliments on it. I would recommend it to anyone.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×