You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Kiss of Death Gown
Rental $85 Retail $520
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Be mysterious with this insanely sexy Helmut Lang gown. With the front slit and cowl neck style, this dress is perfect for any black tie affair. Shown here Rodrigo Otazu's Insanely Chic Crystal Cuff and Erickson Beamon Chrysler Earrings.
Chat with a Stylist
Black jersey. Cowl neckline. Cut-out back. Front slit.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection - thin jersey hugs curves - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
.

Chat with a Stylist
This style is currently unavailable.
Shop all dresses
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos22

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Jayme
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6544
Feb 25, 2014
Gala-Worthy!
Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to the 25th Anniversary Gala for the National Museum of Women in the Arts in Washington, DC. It was an amazing night since I was invited personally by the Director of the museum to represent one of their artists. I love Helmut Lang for it's modern, sleek silhouettes - and I knew I could pull of wearing black with just a pop of color. (especially in the more conservative climate of Washington) This dress highlights your figure, and I especially love the slit in the front - added bonus: showing a little leg! I'm busty, and curvy and the L worked perfectly. Perfect for a black-tie affair if you're looking for understated elegance. -- It must be, because I had my picture snapped for Washingtonian Magazine!
brittanie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2333
Oct 2, 2013
This Dress is Definitely a Stunner!
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore the dress for a Fraternity Banquet, I felt gorgeous all night long and got multiple compliments on the dress. It does have a slim fit, so if you are a self conscious about your tummy I would suggest a size up. The slit was a nice touch of sexy, and definitely made it a little easier to move around in! I highly recommend this dress!
Alisha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5424
Aug 23, 2013
This dress was perfect for a black tie wedding affair!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect! Some may think it's a little snug, but definitely shows off those curves. I was worried about the slit being too high from reading others reviews, but it was just fine. I wore it to a black tie wedding and wasn't sure if I'd be too under dressed or over dressed, so this was a good medium. It was easy to dress up with gold and silver accessories. I would absolutely rent this dress again!
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Jul 30, 2013
This dress was extremely flattering and sexy, but no too sexy!
Size worn: XSL
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Runs large so I would order true to size and one smaller. I did not have to wear a bra which was nice. I am only 5'5, but the majority of my height is in my legs, so for me, the longer size worked better. The ONLY annoying thing - there is a built in slip underneath, and it kept running up all night - causing me to constantly pull it down. Next time, I would simply tape it down. Otherwise, GREAT DRESS~!
Amanda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3331
May 28, 2013
This is a amazing dress, that made me feel absolutely beautiful for my senior prom.
Size worn: XSL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked this dress because it was simple, comfortable, and could easily be added to with some fab accessories. I did just that, and added a colorful pair of wedges along with a bracelet and matching earrings. I'm 5'7 and 130" and ordered my dress in the size XS Long. Ideally I would have liked to order this dress in a size Small Long, but it wasn't available, but based on other reviews it seems like it could be kinda baggy. My dress fit just right though. I would suggest though, that if you are taller then to order the dress in a Long, I thought the dress could have been a bit longer personally, but the length also makes it really easy to walk in. I received many complements on this dress and loved how it made me stand out with still being simple. I would recommend this dress for all shapes and sizes. It does show of curves, but it also does a great job at hiding curves at the same time.
Dorothea
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
May 17, 2013
I wore this for a summer wedding and LOVED it!!
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was exactly how RTR described. The slit was a sexy yet sophisticated touch and the low back was my fav!
caliope
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4333
Apr 15, 2013
very happy with this dress and the overall service of RTR.com!!!!!!!!!<3
Size worn: XSL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
i rented this dress for my first high school prom and was extremely happy with it!! i got the XSL and the MR. the xsmall fit perfectly and wasnt too tight but showed off everything i wanted it to, i wore 5 inch heels and the dress came to the top of my heels:)) the medium regular was pretty short and came to the middle of my calf... i am 5'6 and 130 lbs with an athletic body. this dress is super comfortable, i was able to really get down and dance in it. only problem i had was the second layer slip underneath kept riding up to my hips and over my butt and id have to pull it down constantly. since the dress was pretty thin i didnt sweat too much. i choose not to wear a bra with it and that was a mega plus i also recieved so many compliments on it!! definitely recommend
Caroline
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3432
Mar 10, 2013
This dress is so classy and comfortable!
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore the XS in this dress and it fit like a glove. I loved the cinched front and the modest slit. I received so many complements throughout the night on this dress! I normally wear a S so I would recommend sizing down or else the dress can be a little baggy. This dress is so versatile with accessories! I totally recommend it!
Jamie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6431
Dec 8, 2012
Comfortable and Classy
Size worn: MR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Such a great dress! would recommend it to anyone! rented the jade earrings to top off the look!
Diana
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Nov 8, 2012
Nice dress
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was just perfect for my Audrey Hepburn costume!! the lengh of the dress is short, (R perfect for me), this dress enhances natural shapes of women's body.
Erica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Aug 12, 2012
Got so many compliments in this dress! Very comfortable.
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! I wore it to the winter ball for a charity event. I was concerned about the length being that I'm only 5'3 but with 4" heels it was a perfect fit. The only thing that might give you some trouble is the hole for your neck. It's snug so it's almost like putting on a turtleneck. It felt fine as far as comfort goes but I had to wear the dress to the hair salon so I didn't have to worry about messing up my hair when I pulled it over my head. The dress was sexy due to the slit but still classy enough to wear to a ball. Overall, GREAT dress!
Corie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 5534
Apr 30, 2012
I wore the dress to a taping of an awards show, the taping was 5 hours long and it was so comfortable.
Size worn: MR
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size, I am 5'4 and the length with heels was perfect. It was super comfortable. Received many complements on the dress.
Margaret
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3442
Mar 18, 2012
Felt great in this dress at a gala
Size worn: ML
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered both the small and the medium in this dress and ended up going with the medium simply because of the length but it actually made for such a comfortable night! I am 5'9 and had to wear pretty short heels, which again added to the comfort. I got SO many compliments on this dress and adding colorful earrings really pulled together the whole outfit together. I highly suggest this dress, just be careful about the length if you are on the taller side!
Isabell
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 2531
Feb 8, 2012
It is great to be able to rent a $800 dress for $75. I would have worn it only once anyway. Great idea.
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the dress. It is simple but classy and chic. I combined with a green necklace and green sandals. See the picture.
PJA
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Dec 1, 2011
A wedding guest I didn't know approached me to tell me I looked stunning.
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was perfect for a black tie wedding - very classic conservative, but the form-fitting shape and cut out back give it the perfect edge. Received very nice compliments.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Jan 16, 2014
Too Short couldn't wear.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I have actually attempted to rent and wear this dress two times now for the same black tie charity event (2 years in a row). Last year, it didn't arrive, RTR did send others to replace....I assume who ever rented it before me didn't return it on time or in good condition because it was suddenly not available. When this year rolled around, I rented it early (mths in advance) and they no longer offered a Long length but, I didn't see this a big problem since I am 5'3". However, both sizes (Small and Med) were too short. The small fit great but, fell mid calf and the medium was a little longer but still too short with a flat foot. I called RTR right away and they were very understanding and over nighted me 2 sizes of another style of my choosing. Fingers crossed that one of them will be long enough since I ordered the regular length and long. After reading allot of reviews on many dresses....it seems that this problem occurs often. I usually have a length problem but, ALWAYS it is because it is too long.
Dawn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4634
Nov 3, 2013
great to have 2 sizes to choose from
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
a bit short, but OK.
Sai
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6434
Sep 25, 2013
Great dress! it is shapy, but the fabic doesn't cling
Size worn: LL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm a curvey 170, 36DD, but I LOVE wearing this dress and got tons of compliments! I was able to find a strapless bra that was low enough in the back, but be ware the back is low! I will say the lining of the dress would go one way and the top layer would go the other!
Alicia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7533
Sep 23, 2013
Get a smaller size
Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is pretty but runs fairly large. I ordered a size 10/Large but my backup size wasn't available and I did not order another dress. I wish I would have. The dress ran so large that the knot which is supposed to be at the waist was hanging at my hip which was very unflattering. It was also very drapey at the top due to the fact it was so large. I definitely suggest sizing down when ordering this dress. I didn't end up wearing this dress to my event but probably would have if it fit.
Kelly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3522
Sep 15, 2013
This dress made me feel amazing. Total class but also incredibly sexy
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt like a model. Wore it for a work charity event where i knew i would be out numbered by men 3 to 1 (commerical real estate in nyc is like that) so wonderful way to "blend into a sea of suits" but still look womanly. I got xs and s andended up wearing the xs. Fit like a glove and im normally a 2. Fabric is forgiving and slit is just the right height/length. (If it werent a male dominated work event, i might have wanted it a little higher). Im 5'3 and the length was ok - but i wore 4.5 inch heels. Would def retn Gain for last minute black tie eventz!
jennifer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6533
Jun 28, 2013
Pretty but too short
Size worn: MR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
pretty dress but not for a formal affair. Also rather short. I'm 5'6 and it was too short even in bare feet. This would be a great dinner dress or a semi formal event for a person 5'3.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Jun 20, 2013
Short! Cute cut
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this cut and it was such a sleek, classy dress, unfortunately it was really short. I'm only 5'5" but even with flats it was short. Order a LONG!
Stefanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3543
Feb 19, 2013
Too Short!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 0R, as I am between a 0 and a 2, depending on the designer. When I received the dress, I noticed that the tag read "Petite," which immediately worried me, as at 5'8, I am definitely not considered petite, though I do fit into a Size 0. When I tried on the dress, my concerns were, unfortunately, validated, as the dress only went down to my mid-shin. I was disappointed, as I would not have ordered the dress had I known it was Petite, rather than 0R. Also, the dress I received had two holes in it, which were fairly noticeable. I've always had a great experience with RTR in the past, so I think this was just a fluke.
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 4443
Feb 6, 2013
Nice fit - open back was great
Size worn: SL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was run ragged and had threads hanging and even a little tear
KATIE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2432
Jan 21, 2013
Wrong size was sent
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wrong size was sent
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Jan 3, 2013
Way too short!!!
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Based on the reviews, I decided to rent an XS so that the dress would fit like a glove. THe only problem was that it fit like a glove in the body area, but it was wayyyyy too short! The dress came up to my mid shin. I was hoping for a floor length dress... Might of been better if I ordered a size S, but then it probably would of been too baggy.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2441
Dec 3, 2012
Classic LBD with a twist.
Size worn: XSL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was great for a formal event; it was snug in all of the right places, but also had a little bit of stretch to it. The ruching in the front and the ever-so-slight cowlneck made the dress interesting, as well. My only problem was that the XSL was still a bit too short on my 5'8" frame.
Cristina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2422
Nov 18, 2012
Edgy, sexy yet classy dress!
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress fit perfectly, very sexy yet classy. As others have mentioned, the dress was fairly short. I am 5'3'' and the dress hit at my ankle. So make sure to wear good shoes with it! Also the slit came to my knee, not nearly as high as the slit shown on the model. Overall looked awesome, just be careful if you are tall as the dress might not be long enough for you.
Meghan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3421
Nov 15, 2012
LOVE!!!
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a formal wedding and it was a hit! Classic and simple, but definitely sexy! I opted for the XS instead of the S (the size I typically fit). This dress could be a bit baggy if you don't size down. Amazing dress and an amazing night :)
Luisa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Nov 14, 2012
Great dress for a formal occasion
Size worn: XSL
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Elegant, yet edgy in the back. The only complain I have was the lining would ride up every now and then... Super comfy and soft.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Oct 31, 2012
Loved the slit and open back!
Size worn: ML
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the ML as suggested for my height, which might have been right but the hem was undone so it was a bit long. I had to hold onto it all night to keep from tripping but still felt sexy with the open back and slit. The criss-cross front fell a little low too and I kept having to adjust it.
Hailey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4333
Oct 20, 2012
This dress was not for me- very underwhelming.
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a Marine Corps Ball. I lean toward simpler styles in solid colors- this was perfect for me! I envisioned my curves wowing in this column dress. Unfortunately, the dress ended up being far less. The fabric was thin and cheap feeling, and the dress hung horribly on my frame. The pleating in the front did not look anything like it does on the model. Overall it was unflattering and I ended up returning it.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Oct 5, 2012
I am obsessed with this dress! It fit perfectly the length
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am obsessed with the dress! It fit perfectly and the length was great with heels as I am 5'3. I felt like a million bucks and received so many compliments. My only complaint is the back was a little ripped so the draping was more than expected and I word a normal bra but nothing fashion tape couldn't fix.
N
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 96 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Sep 19, 2012
This was great, comfortable and fit really well
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
-
R.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Sep 13, 2012
Beautiful how this dress falls.
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Shoulders and top torso area are very narrow. Unfortunately when this dress arrived, it Also looked like one of the straps had been ripping a bit from the dress.I normally wear a 2, but would need a medium in this dress.
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3422
Sep 10, 2012
Perfect Fall Dress
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I picked this dress for a formal evening wedding in Iowa. I ended up wearing the back up size, but it still fit beautifully. At 5'2'' I wore 4'' heels to pull of the length. I would recommend wearing spanx as the material does cling to your body.
Lana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6444
Sep 10, 2012
Ow OW! Elegant and sexy
Size worn: ML
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really loved this dress. It is covered up but still very sexy. The slit came up to an appropriate spot on my thigh without being too showy. I felt like the length was perfect, I didn't trip on myself.
Lori
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4531
Aug 28, 2012
Just ok
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress I rented had several broken seams so I had to use fashion tape to keep it together, which was a little disappointing. Otherwise, the dress was fine.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Aug 10, 2012
Great sexy simple dress
Size worn: MR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was awesome. A great, super comfortable material that was still flirty. I wore it to a summer wedding and got a ton of compliments!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Jul 31, 2012
Pretty good
Size worn: MR
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It runs a little snug and a little short. I would size up just to have the length if you are over 5'5". Overall a very pretty dress. Didn't end up wearing it though.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress