Kiss of Death Gown

$78 to buy
$520 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be mysterious with this insanely sexy Helmut Lang gown. With the front slit and cowl neck style, this dress is perfect for any black tie affair. Shown here Rodrigo Otazu's Insanely Chic Crystal Cuff and Erickson Beamon Chrysler Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection - thin jersey hugs curves - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection - thin jersey hugs curves - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Cowl neckline. Cut-out back. Front slit.

Share
57 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(46)
Small
(3)
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 18, 2012
Felt great in this dress at a gala
I ordered both the small and the medium in this dress and ended up going with the medium simply because of the length but it actually made for such a comfortable night! I am 5'9 and had to wear pretty short heels, which again added to the comfort. I got SO many compliments on this dress and adding colorful earrings really pulled together the whole outfit together. I highly suggest this dress, just be careful about the length if you are on the taller side!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 24, 2012
super satisfied
I rented this guy for a formal black tie wedding in San Francisco City Hall. Big hit - I felt very comfortable and received many compliments. I'm a street size 6...rented both a S and M and chose the wear the S - it hugged my body in all the right places despite not being floor length.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
February 8, 2012
It is great to be able to rent a $800 dress for $75. I would have worn it only once anyway. Great idea.
I loved the dress. It is simple but classy and chic. I combined with a green necklace and green sandals. See the picture.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 12, 2011
I absolutely LOVED this dress! I interned with UNICEF and wore it to their West Coast Ball in LA. It was a black tie event and this dress was perfect--formal, sexy, but not too over the top! I'm 5'9-5'10 and I would have liked it to be a bit longer, but overall it was perfect. My only complaint is that the slip attached to the dress rode up pretty often, but it was easy to adjust.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 1, 2011
A wedding guest I didn't know approached me to tell me I looked stunning.
Dress was perfect for a black tie wedding - very classic conservative, but the form-fitting shape and cut out back give it the perfect edge. Received very nice compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
November 22, 2011
Felt Beautiful
It was a beautiful dress. The only reason I didn't wear the xs was the length. I am usually between a 2/4 and it was just about 2 inches too short without heels. The slit was not too high and the dress was formal enough for an event that I was unsure of.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
October 17, 2011
This is the worst dress that I have ever tried on. It looks great on the model but on me it was horrible. The quality of the dress was very poor and it was super stretched out. The draping on the front is not flattering one bit.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 12, 2011
I loved the style of the dress - but it is not exactly as pictured: my rental was worn out with hanging seams, a torn in the front that had been repaired and the gathering over the stomach also showed signs of heavy use. The leg slit ends at the knee. Again, loved the style but this model should be retired.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
September 12, 2011
Unfortunately my rental did not fit and I could not wear. The Xsm was way too small and too short. The Small was enormous - I was literally swimming in it. XSM must be better on a petite woman 5'2 and under.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
August 31, 2011
I loved the draping in the back, and as others have said, the slit in front is not nearly as high as it appears in the photo. My only complaints that kept this from getting 5 stars are the following: first, it was very hard to get the drape in the front to sit correctly. It kept looking like a bulge of fabric that needed to be tucked somehow. Once I got it in the right place, the short lining kept riding up until there was a bunch of fabric at my hips and I had to go to the ladies room several times to "adjust". Also, the drape at the neckline has a raw edge that kept flipping over so that it was visible and did not look very neat. Overall, I liked the dress, but I probably would not rent it again. This was my first experience with RTW, and I was totally happy with them. I will definitely rent again, just not this dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 4, 2011
This dress was a HIT at a black tie event for work. It was appropriate for the occasion, and the slit ended just above my knee... way less revealing that the picture. Also took the advice and added a sparkly broach to the knot at the waist. No necklace as the cowl neck was perfect. I rented the large having just had a baby 9 months ago and (I'm 165 and 5'6") and this accentuated all the right spots... with spanx and a sticky cup bra! I felt glamorous and comfortable in this gown... not always easily combined!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
April 21, 2011
Stunning dress. Understated, very flattering. The jersey is comfortable and drapes wonderfully. The slit is lower than pictured, but is still provocative.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
March 27, 2011
Would rent again.
This dress in XSR is 150 cm / 59 inches long. As with most Helmut Lang, it is cut slim. I am 5'2", and with a pair of 3" heels, the hem lightly brushes against the floor (very elegant, just the perfect floor length). The slit back is a great detail: from the side, the bottom edge of the slit creates a subtle drape. And unlike the photo, the front slit does not cut as high as it looks (it hit an inch above the knee for me, in heels). I felt great in this dress and will definitely rent it again for the next black tie occasion.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Body type: Pear
March 25, 2011
I rented this dress for my senior prom along with some extremely classy, silver earrings and bracelet (different from the ones pictured, but from rent the runway), and I loved it. The slit is in just the right place, so I don't show my whole leg, and the way it hugged my lower body made me feel really confident all night! I followed an above suggestion by putting a brooch where the fabric wraps around your middle and it made me look like a very classy, svelte princess.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
November 22, 2010
I rented the size 4 which is my typical size and it fit perfectly with a pair of 3" heels. I added a crystal brooch at the waist where the draping is and it really took it up a notch. The slit on the leg is much lower than pictured. I felt beautiful in this dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 8, 2010
This dress was a perfect fit for someone with my height and weight. 5'6'' 107 lbs. It was super comfortable because the fabric is a little forgiving which was a nice change from the uncomfortable dresses we sausage ourselves into. Very sexy, very feminine, very modern. Loved it.
catalinaDecember 20, 2011
What size did you order and heel length did you wear?
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 5, 2010
No offense to the model, but she does not do this dress justice. It is a very sexy dress! If you have curves in all the right places, it will show! I loved it! I received tons of compliments all night. The dress was very comfortable. My only suggestion is to keep your heel height in mind when you order this dress. I ordered a regular size dress, but I probably could have gotten away with a long since I wore 3" platform shoes.
See more reviews:
2 / 2
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×