Helmut Lang

Bondage Exit Dress

$68 to buy
$460 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Helmut Lang presents an edgy take on the LBD that channels your inner femme fatale. Signature minimalist luxe flatters any silhouette. Pair with colored accessories for a superb contrast.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- slits in back do not allow for a standard or strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips so curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric Is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black mid-weight jersey. Built-in shelf bra. Double strap closure in back with exposed zipper. Asymmetric hem. V-neck. Seaming detail. 35" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
102 reviews
Fit
Large
(23)
True to Size
(74)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 3, 2010
Oh.my.goodness. Sexy without being overdone, this dress is wildly flattering, showing off your clavicle, back, and the prettiest part of your legs.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 14, 2010
Quite sexy without being slutty (kind of a business in the front, party in the back dress). I felt so good in this! It barely requires a necklace, and the fabric is really nice. Super flattering. Kinda wish I owned it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 16, 2010
Really liked but too big in the butt - I taped it to my lower back and it looked fine.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
September 28, 2010
OMG! I want this dress! It is gorgeous on! I was scared when they only had a zero available in case it ran small but it fit perfectly! I wear a large b-cup in the bust and the top of this dress made the most beautiful and sexy cleavage! I agree with the other reviewer, it is a total mullet dress all business in the front and party in the back, making you a total siren and attention grabber but still classy! I wore this to a wedding and I turned more heads then the bride! ;) I didn't wear it with a necklace and I don't think I would, instead with a bling bling diamond bracelet and some great earring and cocktail ring! For the price you can't go wrong! I chose it over the Herve Leger Chocolate Addiction Dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 13, 2010
Loved the dress, sexy without baring too much and the back cutout looks great. I thought the front looked more flattering if I wore a bra (I wear a C-cup) so I was able to wear a black bra with thin bands/straps and hide it under the dress. You will need the styling tape to make sure your bra doesn't show in the back and I recommend asking a friend to help as it is difficult to tape alone. An adhesive bra like nubra may work too. Dress material is stretchy so it hugs curves and the thicker fabric weight means lines don't show.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
October 20, 2010
This dress fit me perfectly. It hugged my curves and I received many compliments in it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 1, 2010
LOVED. IT. It fit perfectly, and was definitely sexy without being too much. I have a pretty standard hourglass figure (32/27/32), and the fabric hugged all the right places!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
November 3, 2010
True to size, but if you're between sizes, I would order a size down so it's not loose in the back -- stretchy comfortable material, great zipper detail.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 17, 2010
Sexy sexy sexy, LOVED this dress! Great for girls with smaller busts, and the built-in-support really did the job. True to size and had a little stretch in it, so it was comfortable all night!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 10, 2011
The dress was simple but very pretty. As mentioned before it is a little shorter then it appears on the model. Not too short by any means, it hit at my mid thigh. It also ran a bit big. I wore the size 0 which usually fits well and it could have been more fitted. Overall the dress was very pretty and I am glad I rented it.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
February 2, 2011
This dress is awesome- I was a little nervous at first because it is recommended for a small/medium bust, and I am a 36D, but it worked perfectly. The dress is very flattering, and I can see it working on any body type. very sexy and stayed up all night.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
March 24, 2011
This dress was great! It was comfortable and flattering on all accounts. Some dresses look different when they arrive, but this dress was exactly what I expected- and more! The detailing made it look special and elegant and the back was a sexy surprise when I turned around. I have a smaller chest (size B) and the front fit perfect so I would order a back-up size if you have a bigger top.
raOctober 16, 2012
So what size did you end up wearing?
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
July 25, 2011
I loved this dress! I was a little concerned because the dress appears to flare towards the hem and curve upwards in the middle; however, it did not do that, at least when I wore it and it looked just as fabulous on as it does in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
August 8, 2011
Felt so sexy in this dress, without being slutty. :)
Loved this dress! It was my first rental, and I was a bit worried about fit, but it was perfect. I'm not exactly pear-shaped, since I have wide shoulders, but I do have a very flat chest. The dress maximized what I have, and wasn't too tight across the shoulders. It was a bit shorter than I was expecting, but not indecent. I got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157lbs
September 14, 2011
Only four stars because negotiating the bra situation was a challenge. As a 34DD, I couldn't go bra-less, so I bought a Natori bra that had a very thin back strap, and used a lot of double-sided tape to secure it. The dress ended up working out really well, though.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 24, 2011
Unfortunetly, I had to return this dress when I rented it. I have had my eye on this dress for over a year and was excited to rent it for my birthday party. However, when I received the dress it clearly had been quite popular; the dress looks well used and had no stretch left to the fabric so it kinda hung instead of hugged my body. I think it is time to retire this one RTR.
RTR CustomerNovember 28, 2011
Hi Elle, we are so sorry to hear the dress arrived in less than perfect condition. We have retired the dress you ordered, and we are quality checking every unit to make sure it is in perfect condition.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
November 4, 2011
Loved the dress! Runs a little large so maybe order a smaller size. The dress was definitely sexy and flattering! A little more low cut and shorter than I expected, but was still a great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 21, 2011
loved it!
This was such a great dress! I wore it to a sorority formal and it worked perfectly! It fit great and accentuated my curves in a sexy but not over-the-top way. It is shorter than pictured, but not too short. This was my first RTR experience and it was so great! I ordered a 6 and an 8 and wore the 8 just to be more comfortable. It worked out great despite having a large chest (36D) and there were no issues.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
December 15, 2011
Fit Well
Wore it to a holiday party and received many compliments. One complaint -- the zippers for the top two bands do not have hooks so the zippers split at the top. The bottom zipper has the hook and eye. Not sure why the designer didn't add the hooks to all. Very comfortable and didn't have to worry about undergarments as the fabric is thick and the strap acts as a bra would.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 5, 2012
Nice, different dress
I wore this to an NYE party. At first, I was skeptical since this is a little more hooch than my typical attire. But, I figured it was NYE and why not go all out! The back is very sexy and I got so many compliments. Probably a little much for a regular party, but for the right occasion I would definitely recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
January 20, 2012
loved it
I loved the fit, the lenght was also perfect! I thought it would be too long for a 5'2" person like me, but it just landed about 4" above my knee. The center zipper was the only thing odd... it just did not wanted stay put even before I put it on!. It kept on slidding half way down, but no wardrobe malfunction!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 1, 2012
Great dress! Poor RTR quality
This dress is just as pictured. Very flattering and looks great on. I'm disappointed in RTR quality control as I ordered sizes 2 & 4 and the hems on both dresses were completely ripped to the point where the length was uneven! Since RTR only delivers the day before the event I had to tape up the hem and was worried about it coming undone all night. This has happened with other RTR dresses before, one time I rented a dress that had a hole on the butt just below the zipper and another time I rented a dress with a belt, but it arrived without the belt and looked like a smock! Beware of the RTR quality control.
WhitneyMarch 31, 2012
Is RTR responding to this issue??
RTRApril 5, 2012
Hi Whitney and Kate, if a customer ever reports an issue with a dress we are sure to notify our warehouse to make sure the dress is repaired immediately upon return and before shipment to another member. If the dress cannot be repaired, it is then retired. We often order more stock in popular dresses as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2012
such a fun, unique dress!
I ordered this dress for my University's annual Fancy Dress Ball and absolutely loved it! It was super comfortable, it fit well, and it held up to 3 hours of dancing. I accessorized it with fun color-block heels and turquoise earrings and it was a hit. Everyone loved the dress- I definitely recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 12, 2012
My boyfriend loved it!
This dress was a total win for an black tie gala I attended. The back was a bit more revealing than I realized, and I got a little nervous that I was with executives. However the dress is sophisticated and I think it worked over all. Great stretch in the hips for us curvy girls. WARNING, you will want to turn around for every photo to show off the sexy back
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
April 16, 2012
Very easy to work with-- great customer service and dress came right on time! I've convinced lots of coworkers to begin using RTR!
I absolutely loved this dress, and received so many compliments on it. I normally go up a size in fitted dresses because I have bigger hips, but the 4 fit perfectly. My only issue was the top zipper, anytime I moved the zipper came down but we luckily had double sided tape to hold it up. In the picture, my sister is always wearing RTR (Pinch Of Pink Flare Dress by Z Spoke)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
April 19, 2012
I heard from everyone how perfectly it fit and sexy it was. Yay!
I wore this to a fraternity date party at my school, and absolutely loved it. It was dressy enough for a date party without the material being too formal that I looked over-the-top. The back was not quite as plunging on my as the model in the photo, but it was definitely sexy and all. I got tons of compliments. I didn't have to wear a bra-- I'm like a B cup-- but I ended up tossing in some nuBra cups to plump up the girls, which made it look awesome. It was my first time renting and I really loved it!
HajungOctober 29, 2012
You said you didn't have to wear a bra - could you have if you wanted to? would the strap show in the back?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 24, 2012
Two different women asked where I got the dress. Second woman actually asked bartender for napkin and pen to write down web address!
This is a very sexy and incredibly comfortable dress! It technically runs true to size, but I felt that a size smaller would hold everything in place/pushed up better. It stretched in a flattering way over my curvy figure, but my DD's could have used more support! I felt sexy in it, but some pictures make my chest look too heavy (almost droopy) unless I had EXCELLENT posture! Hubby loved it, so I have no complaints.
MarleenJune 4, 2012
I'm trying to find something sexy and flattering for my birthday in Sept. I have been looking around this site for a lady within my age range and size as well. lol. I think I have found my dress.Thanks for posting the pics, Suzanne!
MarleenJune 4, 2012
I should state that I was looking for comments and pics about particular dresses to wear on my birthday. My previous comment seemed somewhat questionable...lol.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
July 23, 2012
Loved it!
Due to an error in rental i was only sent a size 4 bc the 2 became unavailable. determined to wear this i wore the 4. a bit larger than wanted but the dress still fit:-) loved the fit. loved the open back. dress comes just above knee balancing out the open back and low cut front. would definitely rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
August 19, 2012
Classic LBD turned up a notch
This is by far my favorite dress that I've rented on RTR. I rented this for my sorority's winter formal and got compliments all night! The material is super soft and hugged my body in all the right places. It is such a beautiful LBD with an amazing neckline and back as well! (I recommend the sticky boobs, because you definitely can't wear a normal bra with this one)
View photos (0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
August 21, 2012
tight
This dress was really tight on the bottom. I wanted to love it but just didnt.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
August 28, 2012
inbetween sizes, tough to fit
I rented the 0 and the 2 sizes. If there was a "1" it probably would have fit! I have small shoulders and the 2 was falling off and a little baggy. The zero was too tight in the waste but perfect on the shoulders....also, it would've been tough to find a bra to fit with the unique cut in front. However, without something to push you up the dress made you look pretty flat chested.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2012
The dress fit wonderfully and looked chic and sexy.
Well tailored and great detail, exactly what you want from a LBD. The fit was perfect and looked amazing. I received multiple compliments walking down the street on a perfect NYC night. There was one issue - the top zipper would not stay up no matter how many adjustments I made. It originally stayed up, but by the end of the night it would not stay. I did contact RTR about this issue and they were very responsive and helpful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 24, 2012
This dress got me backstage at the pretty lights concert!!!
So sexy- Loved the way it hugged my curves. Also love the different neckline... had girls telling me how amazing my dress was all night long! I love looking sophisticated instead of trashy at raves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 29, 2012
Pretty dress but not for me
The dress is very fitting and flattering from the front. I ended up not feeling comfortable in the dress. The back was very open and I didn't feel like I had a toned enough back for it. I also am busty and felt like I was always one dance move away from falling out of the top. If you are big on top and have body issues don't rent the dress, it will increase your insecurities. There are so many other options, I wish I stuck with my usual style.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
October 4, 2012
Loved the dress. Perfect for a bachelorette in Sin City.
Went a size down and fit like a glove.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 14, 2012
Form-fitting dress is super sexy.
I originally ordered a 2 and a 4. But since my body type is ruler straight (33-26-34), I was worried that I might be swimming in this dress. Luckily the RTR customer service folks (they are awesome!) were incredibly helpful and changed my order to a 0 and a 2!! I ended up wearing the 0--it was form-fitting! But had the 0 been even a smidge bigger it would have been too big. I'm very small-busted, so though it looked good on me, I think it would be hotter on someone with a bit more on top. The fitted form, the silky detail on the bust, and the sporty straps on the back make this a very sexy dress... perfect for my New Year's Eve party in Vegas.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 14, 2012
Looked Awesome!
Great Dress for going out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 7, 2012
In LOVE with BDay DRESS! Club had the mirror and couldn't resist taking this photo for you gals!
I was right in between a 2 and a 4. You can see in one pic a little extra fabric. The 2 was too tight around my arms so i went with the 4. Its shorter than on the model which I liked from the other gals who have rented this dress. I would rent this one again! I felt great and comfortable (didn't spend all night adjusting) and got so many compliments!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 12, 2012
I loved this dress. I wore it for my birthday celebration, and it was hot.
I had heard this ran small, so I ordered a 4 with backup size of 6. I wish I had gone with the 2, as it was a little loose. But overall it was great. I pinned the back in case the zipper came undone. Very attractive on.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
December 27, 2012
Felt sexy all night!
I wore this for my bachelorette party, and it was a hit! The best part of this dress is definitely the back-- it gets a lot of stares when you walk into a room (and every girl should know that feeling at least once in their life)! :) I'm normally a size 4, but the 2 fit perfectly and wasn't too short. I wanted it a little tighter since it's backless and I needed everything to be "held in", but the 2 and 4 didn't make that much of a difference. Highly reccommend!!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×