Haute Hippie

Try Not to Stare Dress

$75 rental
$425 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Wanting to make that lasting impression? Wear this sexy little red dress by Haute Hippie to the party and get ready to take some numbers. Pair with feminine earrings like the kate spade accessories' Crystal Kate Chandelier Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - Bust area runs large and fashion tape is highly recommended to secure deep V.
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs slightly narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red jersey(100% rayon). Surplice neckline. Wrap body with tie waist. Deep V back. 36''from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
83 reviews
Fit
Large
(19)
True to Size
(42)
Small
(22)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 23, 2012
Terrible fit
This dress didn't work for me at all. I ended up not wearing it. The top half was huge. I think it would have worked if I were 6 inches taller. Bottomline: not great if your short
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
July 23, 2012
Great Dress: A little big
I absolutely loved this dress, but the top was way too big. I had to pin it and use tape to make it fit. I would recommend the dress because it very flattering and fun!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2012
didn't fit
the dress didn't fit and i couldn't wear it. it was way too big on the side and there was no way i could keep it from opening up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
August 29, 2012
Received tons of compliments on this hot little dress.
Loved this dress! Made me feel like a supermodel. Runs a bit large and very plunging neck line so modest ladies beware
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 9, 2012
Two great dresses. Cant wait to rent again!
I rented this dress for a vacation in Jamaica. I wanted something bright and spicy... Its a beautiful dress, but modest ladies be warned. When the dress first arrived, I was a little surprised by the lack of material on top. I tried another reviewers suggestion of wearing a lace bra, but felt like it just didnt look great. In the end, I opted for lots of tape and went for it. I love the back of it. The slits on the side are fairly high. I normally wear a 4 on the bottom, and was sent just the XS which made me nervous since I should have received a S as a back up, but didnt. The bottom of the dress has some give to it, and it fit perfectly. I wouldnt recommend this dress for the larger chested ladies. Over all its a beautiful dress, but I'd prefer a little more fabric.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 9, 2012
Awesome night out at Miami clubs with a stress-free getting ready/ outfit picking process!
This dress was very fun for a night out and it was very helpful that RTR included fashion tape - it is 100% needed unless you want to give a peep show! This dress also runs large, especially in the top - I wished I had safety pins all night. I usually would never wear an XS due to my height but I should have sized down for this dress. The material is also extremely thin so I was unable to wear any undergarments. Obviously, none of the above bothered me though as I wore it out all night, was comfortable and the thin fabric was perfect for a hot and humid night out in Miami in August. I received so many compliments that night and still when people browse through my photos!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
November 12, 2012
I ended up having to send this dress back because it just didn't fit right.
There was too much fabric in certain places like the front skirt, but not enough in other places. It is impossible to wear a bra and you would definitely need some sort of tape to make sure the sides and neckline do not open up and reveal everything. Also, the sash/bow was WAY too long.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 26, 2012
.
I rented this for a school formal. I was really excited about the color and what looked like a casual fit. I ended up not being able to wear the dress at all because it was so baggy in the chest area. It came down in the armpit area way too far and showed off far too much in the chest area, making it impossible to even wear anything underneath.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
December 6, 2012
I have never felt sexier.
This dress is called "Try Not To Stare" for a reason. It definitely draws attention in a sexy yet classy way. I felt like a million bucks in this dress. It's a little revealing, but in all the right places. I wore a size large because of my booty, but the large was huuuuge in the top. I had to use a lot of reinforcements/tape! I had to tape my boobs so I had a bit of cleavage and shape, and I used fashion tape to secure the dress, but the flow and draping of the dress is to die for!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 11, 2012
Fun color for the Summer!
This dress is very big on the top regardless of size and very tight on the bottom. The color is stunning and it is very flattering. My only issue with the dress is that it is TOTALLY open on the sides. I had to use fashion tape to make sure everything was kept in place, which worked for me because I am a small B cup (larger chests might have trouble with this dress). I received many compliments on the dress, and loved wearing it. Its a statement dress! Also, there are slits on both sides of the bottom (you can't see on the model)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 29, 2012
Dress looked great!!!
Very low cut on the sides, but the tape rtr sends fixes it easily
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
July 26, 2013
Attention getter! Great for Vegas!
The top part of this dress was A LOT more revealing then the photo on the model reveals. I had to use a ton of tape to keep this dress in place. I got the S in a back up size, and even though the skirt was a bit tight in the XS, the S top was more difficult to drape correctly. You can not wear a bra with this dress. I used adhesive petals as the fabric is pretty thin. I almost didn't wear it, but I figured I was in Vegas so I might as well go all out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 1, 2012
Disappointed
I was quite disappointed in this dress. I love RTR but this dress was not a perfect fit. I was expecting to wear the small but the XS was even a bit big. Also, this is a VERY revealing dress. The back, sides, and front was completely open and the only way to wear it would be to seriously tape it up, which never looks that great. I didn't even end up wearing this to my event because it was inappropriate and just didn't look good. It fits very different in real life than it did on the model.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 4, 2012
Very revealing dress!
Loved the look of this dress, unfortunately it was completely exposed all around. The sides of the dress do not attach so it just has two pieces that run from front to back. This made the dress very unwearable unless you are very tall or plan on wearing a full tank or bandeau under. May also need to tape upperhalf in or else it will move around too much! Loved the color and the look of the dress though--wish it had worked
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 17, 2012
Very sexy dress!
You must be confident to wear this and small chested or it could look cheap on you. I wore this on a girls trip to Miami and got tons of compliments! The color is more of an orangy-red than red.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 118lbs
October 16, 2012
See-Through
This dress is better suited for Vegas than any other event. The dress is so shear you could see my tattoo under my dress - Probably would not wear this even to Vegas b/c it's so shear. Great tomato color and very sexy. I normally wear a Size 4/Small and it was too big. The XS I got too was a little too small. Just not for me - I had to return immediately.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
November 18, 2012
sexy!
THe dress seemed perfect for my bachelorette last summer but come to find out, it's a a much lower neckline than the photos show on the website. Definitely need some double-sided tape!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 25, 2013
40th bday party
Could not figure out how to wear it. Very bad design.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
June 7, 2013
Beautiful color but not the right vibe for a wedding
This dress was fun and flirty - and a great color! - but it wasn't as fitted as the picture and showed a lot of skin. This was my backup dress so I didn't end up wearing it, but I could certainly imagine it with some double sided tape for a girls night out or bachelorette.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
June 12, 2012
revealing
This dress is completely open on sides and front. The material on top only connects at waist band and requires extensive taping or pinning. I did not wear because I felt like I would be adjusting all night or worrying about wardrobe malfunction.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
July 23, 2012
disappointed...
rented this dress due to an error in rentals and original dress was not available the week of my rental. rent the runway very kindly offered me any available dress. i unfortunately did not wear this dress. sides are open which made it very difficult to wear with any undergarment...same goes for the entire dress. this dress is not lined making spank even impossible to wear.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 8, 2012
cute but daring
This dress is very cute on! The color is fabulous and I got many compliments. Things to know before wearing- Items you will need: fashion tape (for under the arms & the chest area), sticky boobs or nipple covers, commando underwear. Hanky panky's show through. It's definitely not "parent or wedding friendly". I typically wear a 0-2, XS in dresses but I went with the small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 15, 2012
Gorgeous Dress, Order Up!
Loved the dress and absolutely recommend it. I usually wear a small but the Medium backup I ordered was perfect. I'd also recommend double stick fashion tape to keep things "in check"
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 13, 2012
Make sure it's the right occassion!
where this dress works: South Beach, Vegas, late night in a fun city. Where this dress doesn't work: any kind of reunion, showers, any event before 10pm. It's a cool dress and you will need all the fashion tape the other reviews mentioned. I'd rent it again, for the right occassion. It was totally inappropriate for what I had in mind. it doesn't run small but it may be good to have the extra material to um, cover yourself and tape it up. Not for the timid but if you're up for it then you can totally rock it. It will be in my bag for my next South Beach trip.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 16, 2012
This is not for an hourglass shape; there is no way I could have worn this it looked to risque.
The ideal body type for this dress is someone extremely thin with a flat chest. What you don't see in this photo is that there are no sides to this dress; only the areas that drape over the front and back. If you have say a C size cup then it leaves your sides and much of your bust exposed. I was completely unable to wear this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
September 23, 2012
Beautiful dress, not for me
I have sold Haute before and they normally run quite large. I did the medium and the large backup size. They both fit but were tight and loose in the uneven parts, just making the look not up to par on myself. My friend tried it on and it was the same problem. I would say this is for someone with smaller hips and butt. Also the to is quite risque, so make sure you have a plan on keeping your lady bits in place : ) otherwise, this dress is well made and is a beautiful color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2012
The size did not fit.
This dress was not very flattering and the material did not look expensive. In person it looked nothing like the picture.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
October 2, 2012
This dress did NOT work at all.
This dress shows too much skin, and I usually don't mind doing that. Not only that, but it is very small in the butt and overall fits awkwardly. I wouldn't recommend this unless you're an absolute stick.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 11, 2012
absolutely loved it
under the low V top it is tight around the butt and stomach but still so flattering. stunning dress, had a blast in it! make sure you wear fashion tape though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 19, 2013
Too revealing
I ordered this for Vegas and this dress was STILL too revealing, as you're unable to wear a bra or underwear without it showing (it's completely open on the sides). Fashion tape would help, but overall it was a little too much of a good thing. I love RTR, but this was a definite disappointment.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 27, 2013
Pretty small!
If you are the least bit curvy I would recommend going a size up!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 23, 2013
Sexy but major side boob!
I'm a size 10 and the large was definitely snug around the waist and hips. It made undergarments tricky because you should see everything. I was prepared for the low cut in the front, but should have paid more attention to the reviews to know about the major reveal on the sides. Used almost an entire roll of double stick tape!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
August 16, 2013
The fabric was not the quality I thought it would be.
...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 166lbs
November 4, 2013
Smaller than it appears
The side cut outs of the dress went basically to my waist! Much more of a sexier dress than pictured and the fit seemed quite small to me.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
August 29, 2013
na
na
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 5, 2014
unfortunately, I did not wear it.
This dress looks so cute on the model, but I am curvy and it just looked inappropriate. This is a fabulous pic for a night out on the town and if you have a straighter body type.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 24, 2014
Sexy!
Really fun, sexy dress that I wore to my senior sorority formal. If you have bigger hips/butt that I would size up considering the dress is tight on the bottom. Also, fashion tape and nu-bra were both definitely needed- worked great when I used these, otherwise the dress is too revealing for another type of bra. Really loved wearing this dress- its a sexy, party dress so don't try to wear it to anything super formal or work-related. Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
September 17, 2012
Wear a tank top underneath
Not for a pear shape. Very big and loose up top; very tight and too small in the hips. The sides of the top are deep open v's under the arms. There is a slit on either side of the skirt that prevents you from being able to wear spanx. Adhesive bras that need to tape on the sides didn't work. I was ready to give up on the dress because you cannot wear a bra and I wasn't having luck with fashion tape or pinning (just too much loose fabric on either and the deep V in front). A friend suggested I throw a tank top underneath and it saved the day. Give a very different look than the model, but got plenty of compliments on the outfit. Just be cautious what you are getting into.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Apple
January 10, 2014
Party Ready
I rented this dress for a night out in Vegas. While it is very sexy, it was a very high maintenance dress - you need special bra and also need to tape yourself in as the top runs very, very loose. Overall I enjoyed wearing it and thought the color was beautiful; however, just be prepared that it won't arrive ready to wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
Doesn't look like photo
This dress is far more scandalous than it appears in the picture. For starters, the sides are completely bare (which you cannot see in the photos) and the skirt is much shorter. It also runs extremely small, especially for a high end brand. The medium fit me as though it was an extra small and I would normally wear a 6 (2 or 4 in some brands). This dress is probably only appropriate for a bachelorette party!
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×