Try Not to Stare Dress

$75 rental
$425 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wanting to make that lasting impression? Wear this sexy little red dress by Haute Hippie to the party and get ready to take some numbers. Pair with feminine earrings like the kate spade accessories' Crystal Kate Chandelier Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - Bust area runs large and fashion tape is highly recommended to secure deep V.
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs slightly narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - Bust area runs large and fashion tape is highly recommended to secure deep V.
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs slightly narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red jersey(100% rayon). Surplice neckline. Wrap body with tie waist. Deep V back. 36''from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
83 reviews
Fit
Large19
True to Size42
Small22
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 11, 2012
absolutely loved it
under the low V top it is tight around the butt and stomach but still so flattering. stunning dress, had a blast in it! make sure you wear fashion tape though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 22, 2012
An unforgettable dress for a night you shouldn't remember!
I rented this dress for my twenty first birthday. I ordered both a medium and a large because I was worried the small would be too tight around my butt. I knew the medium would fit though. The dress itself does not have sides under the arm which i knew from reading the reviews. I wore sticky boobs and used fashion tape on the shoulders to hold the dress up tighter as it was very loose. I also used a piece of fashion tape at the 'vneck' to keep the strips of fabric together and to conceal my sticky boobs. I did not need to fashion tape the sides as I am very small busted and taping the shoulders was enough. The dress was not as short as I thought it would be but the material is very thin so you need seamless underwear. Customer service was fantastic when I thought they had forgot the belt, they overnighted me new ones (even after I found the original ones...oops). I loved the dress and it was perfect for the occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 118lbs
October 16, 2012
See-Through
This dress is better suited for Vegas than any other event. The dress is so shear you could see my tattoo under my dress - Probably would not wear this even to Vegas b/c it's so shear. Great tomato color and very sexy. I normally wear a Size 4/Small and it was too big. The XS I got too was a little too small. Just not for me - I had to return immediately.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 9, 2012
Awesome night out at Miami clubs with a stress-free getting ready/ outfit picking process!
This dress was very fun for a night out and it was very helpful that RTR included fashion tape - it is 100% needed unless you want to give a peep show! This dress also runs large, especially in the top - I wished I had safety pins all night. I usually would never wear an XS due to my height but I should have sized down for this dress. The material is also extremely thin so I was unable to wear any undergarments. Obviously, none of the above bothered me though as I wore it out all night, was comfortable and the thin fabric was perfect for a hot and humid night out in Miami in August. I received so many compliments that night and still when people browse through my photos!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 4, 2012
load up on fashion tape and have fun!
wore this awesome dress in Vegas and had a blast. As others have said this one is not for the shy. I used a lot of fashion tape to keep the dress securely on my boobs since you can't wear a bra with this obviously. The back will drape but it looks amazing. The bottom of the dress is fitted and the fabric is a medium weight. You'll need t wear a thong with this. I would rent this one again!
View photos (0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 4, 2012
I wish I could have worn this dress :-(
Unfortuantely, I wasn't able to wear this dress :-( The color is fantastic and the bottom of the dress was great but I ended up being too busty to wear this. The sides are completely open and so is the back. If you have a small chest then some double sided tape would be all you need. If you are a busty girl, beware!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
October 2, 2012
This dress did NOT work at all.
This dress shows too much skin, and I usually don't mind doing that. Not only that, but it is very small in the butt and overall fits awkwardly. I wouldn't recommend this unless you're an absolute stick.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2012
The size did not fit.
This dress was not very flattering and the material did not look expensive. In person it looked nothing like the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
September 23, 2012
Beautiful dress, not for me
I have sold Haute before and they normally run quite large. I did the medium and the large backup size. They both fit but were tight and loose in the uneven parts, just making the look not up to par on myself. My friend tried it on and it was the same problem. I would say this is for someone with smaller hips and butt. Also the to is quite risque, so make sure you have a plan on keeping your lady bits in place : ) otherwise, this dress is well made and is a beautiful color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Great great color! But tight on the bottom
Very low cut on the side, and the bottom was a tight on me. But I liked how the top half fell on me of the small, but the bottom was too tight... it shows everything
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
September 19, 2012
Way too revealing!!
I am very tall and thin but have a full bust and this dress is one I would only wear in Vegas. The top is incredibly revealing and there was no amount of tape/safety pins that could have remedied the problem! I was headed to a party at a country club and, if I had worn this dress, I'm quite sure they might have keeled over. I would wear this dress only to a casual, fun, and club like atmosphere.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 19, 2012
Birthday Party
The fit was very slinky but flattering. The top is completely open on the sides through to the tie around the waist so a lot of fashion tape is necessary. The color is beautiful and it hangs just right.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 18, 2012
What a dress!
Rented this dress for my bachelorette party. Absolutely loved it! It's stunning but definitely revealing! I wore double sided tape to help keep the straps in place. Gorgeous color & gorgeous dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
September 17, 2012
I did not wear this because it showed more skin than I was expecting
You can't tell from the model photos (and I did not look at enough of the user photos), but this dress hangs very low in the front and the back, and is very open on the sides- the two straps that go over the shoulders must be tied in a creative fashion to keep it all closed up-- it would have been amazing for a super hot date or a different night- but I had picked this out for a party that my parents were attending, I am glad I got a 2nd dress. It has great potential, but it was not for this event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
September 17, 2012
Wear a tank top underneath
Not for a pear shape. Very big and loose up top; very tight and too small in the hips. The sides of the top are deep open v's under the arms. There is a slit on either side of the skirt that prevents you from being able to wear spanx. Adhesive bras that need to tape on the sides didn't work. I was ready to give up on the dress because you cannot wear a bra and I wasn't having luck with fashion tape or pinning (just too much loose fabric on either and the deep V in front). A friend suggested I throw a tank top underneath and it saved the day. Give a very different look than the model, but got plenty of compliments on the outfit. Just be cautious what you are getting into.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 17, 2012
Very sexy dress!
You must be confident to wear this and small chested or it could look cheap on you. I wore this on a girls trip to Miami and got tons of compliments! The color is more of an orangy-red than red.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 16, 2012
This is not for an hourglass shape; there is no way I could have worn this it looked to risque.
The ideal body type for this dress is someone extremely thin with a flat chest. What you don't see in this photo is that there are no sides to this dress; only the areas that drape over the front and back. If you have say a C size cup then it leaves your sides and much of your bust exposed. I was completely unable to wear this dress.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 13, 2012
Make sure it's the right occassion!
where this dress works: South Beach, Vegas, late night in a fun city. Where this dress doesn't work: any kind of reunion, showers, any event before 10pm. It's a cool dress and you will need all the fashion tape the other reviews mentioned. I'd rent it again, for the right occassion. It was totally inappropriate for what I had in mind. it doesn't run small but it may be good to have the extra material to um, cover yourself and tape it up. Not for the timid but if you're up for it then you can totally rock it. It will be in my bag for my next South Beach trip.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 9, 2012
Two great dresses. Cant wait to rent again!
I rented this dress for a vacation in Jamaica. I wanted something bright and spicy... Its a beautiful dress, but modest ladies be warned. When the dress first arrived, I was a little surprised by the lack of material on top. I tried another reviewers suggestion of wearing a lace bra, but felt like it just didnt look great. In the end, I opted for lots of tape and went for it. I love the back of it. The slits on the side are fairly high. I normally wear a 4 on the bottom, and was sent just the XS which made me nervous since I should have received a S as a back up, but didnt. The bottom of the dress has some give to it, and it fit perfectly. I wouldnt recommend this dress for the larger chested ladies. Over all its a beautiful dress, but I'd prefer a little more fabric.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
September 5, 2012
Super sexy
This dress is super cute but make sure you are ready for the open sides of this dress. Like other reviews said you defiantly can't wear a bra with this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 4, 2012
Very revealing dress!
Loved the look of this dress, unfortunately it was completely exposed all around. The sides of the dress do not attach so it just has two pieces that run from front to back. This made the dress very unwearable unless you are very tall or plan on wearing a full tank or bandeau under. May also need to tape upperhalf in or else it will move around too much! Loved the color and the look of the dress though--wish it had worked
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
August 29, 2012
Received tons of compliments on this hot little dress.
Loved this dress! Made me feel like a supermodel. Runs a bit large and very plunging neck line so modest ladies beware
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 23, 2012
Only for the daring...
This dress is super sexy but you have to be comfortable not wearing a bra. I rented it for an after party and was totally held in place and comfortable using a few pieces of fashion tape. One thing I would recommend is wearing commando underwear - with any other pair you could totally see my undie lines through the material. I would definitely recommend this dress for a party if you want to stand out!! I've never received more compliments in my life!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
August 21, 2012
No dress disaster
I received my dress on Friday, 8/17, and was prepared to wear it to a wedding that night but was unable to b/c BOTH dress sizes I ordered came WITHOUT the wrap around belt. Without the belt this dress is unwearable. Upon further inspection of the size small dress, i found a cigarette burn near the shoulder of the dress. I understand we're able to return the dresses and not have to worry about dry cleaning but maybe RTR should examine the dresses more closely before accepting the returns. I immediately called customer service when I realized I wouldn't be able to wear either of the dresses, and I'm still waiting on my FULL refund. I will not be ordering from this website again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 21, 2012
Would not rent again.
I rented this for a high school reunion and this dress was not appropriate. The sides are completely open and without fashion tape you would expose yourself. If you are renting this dress for Las Vegas or a runway event you can get away with it--otherwise, too much skin is exposed.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
didn't fit
the dress didn't fit and i couldn't wear it. it was way too big on the side and there was no way i could keep it from opening up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
Doesn't look like photo
This dress is far more scandalous than it appears in the picture. For starters, the sides are completely bare (which you cannot see in the photos) and the skirt is much shorter. It also runs extremely small, especially for a high end brand. The medium fit me as though it was an extra small and I would normally wear a 6 (2 or 4 in some brands). This dress is probably only appropriate for a bachelorette party!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
August 16, 2012
Sexy dress!
This was a really sexy dress - need to use a lot of tape as others mentioned.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 15, 2012
Gorgeous Dress, Order Up!
Loved the dress and absolutely recommend it. I usually wear a small but the Medium backup I ordered was perfect. I'd also recommend double stick fashion tape to keep things "in check"
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 10, 2012
Flashy Dress
You definitely will need double sided tape to wear this one! The bottom fits a bit snug, but I have a pretty round behind compared to the rest of my body. The slits on the side go up pretty high and the top obviously drapes low, so don't wear it to a classy event. It's a great color and I received lots of compliments. Very fun to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 9, 2012
Not like the picture
This was my inital rental and when I got it, I coudn't believe they didn't show/tell that the sides were open all the way down to the waist! I thought this was going to be a nice, V-neck dress but it shows waaaay more skin than in the picture. I'm a 34D and coudn't go without a bra and didn't want to wear a bra and have it show. Luckily I LOVED my back up dress but be warned of this dress if you 1.) must wear a bra & 2.) renting for a conservative affair.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 8, 2012
cute but daring
This dress is very cute on! The color is fabulous and I got many compliments. Things to know before wearing- Items you will need: fashion tape (for under the arms & the chest area), sticky boobs or nipple covers, commando underwear. Hanky panky's show through. It's definitely not "parent or wedding friendly". I typically wear a 0-2, XS in dresses but I went with the small.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
August 1, 2012
I got to skip the line a few times and I think the dress had something to do with it!
I rented this dress in an XS for my birthday party and it was perfect for the occasion! The color looks great with a nice tan and the dress itself is really flattering. I do have to warn you, fashion tape is necessary! The front, back and sides are really low cut so some adjustments were needed. I didn't wear a bra because of the style but if you're uncomfortable with that, this dress may not be for you. Overall, get it! I received so many compliments on this dress! PS. It took less than 24 hours for the dress to get to me which is so so so awesome!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
July 23, 2012
disappointed...
rented this dress due to an error in rentals and original dress was not available the week of my rental. rent the runway very kindly offered me any available dress. i unfortunately did not wear this dress. sides are open which made it very difficult to wear with any undergarment...same goes for the entire dress. this dress is not lined making spank even impossible to wear.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
July 23, 2012
Great Dress: A little big
I absolutely loved this dress, but the top was way too big. I had to pin it and use tape to make it fit. I would recommend the dress because it very flattering and fun!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 16, 2012
The quality of the dress was amazing and so was the color. And as always RTR is so simple to use.
This is the third dress I've rented from Rent The Runway - and so far the best! I felt like a million bucks in this dress. And as always, using this service was so simple. The dress is not for the shy - It cuts low to the waist on the sides and low in the front and back. Nothing a few strategically placed peices of fashion tape couldn't fix to make sure it stayed in place. This dress fits true to size. I ordered an xs and s - the small was a bit tight around the hips so if your concious of that go with the medium.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
July 10, 2012
Beautiful dress
I was a wee bit nervous to actually wear this dress because of so much doctoring (taping) I would have to do to prevent any peekaboo mishaps. You also have to have a pretty wicked body to pull it off. I'm 5'8, 138 lbs, and I ordered a small and it fit great..but very short! I decided to wear something else because I was just too nervous about the the shoulders sliding down and showing my business. The color is beautiful and the material makes you feel so sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
June 12, 2012
revealing
This dress is completely open on sides and front. The material on top only connects at waist band and requires extensive taping or pinning. I did not wear because I felt like I would be adjusting all night or worrying about wardrobe malfunction.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 12, 2012
Very fun and sexy
This dress fit great on my petite athletic A-cup frame. I used double-sided tape and petals and felt a little nervous, but it looked great. It's a very fun dress, and the skin-baring nature provides just the right amount of sexy if you are in shape and have a smaller chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 23, 2012
Terrible fit
This dress didn't work for me at all. I ended up not wearing it. The top half was huge. I think it would have worked if I were 6 inches taller. Bottomline: not great if your short
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×