Haute Hippie

Try Not to Stare Dress

$75 rental
$425 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Wanting to make that lasting impression? Wear this sexy little red dress by Haute Hippie to the party and get ready to take some numbers. Pair with feminine earrings like the kate spade accessories' Crystal Kate Chandelier Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - Bust area runs large and fashion tape is highly recommended to secure deep V.
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs slightly narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red jersey(100% rayon). Surplice neckline. Wrap body with tie waist. Deep V back. 36''from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
83 reviews
Fit
Large
(19)
True to Size
(42)
Small
(22)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 29, 2012
Got in for free :)
I knew going into it that this dress, well, didn't have much to it. I wore it to a party in AC for my 21st birthday, because of my brand new ID the bouncer at the club we wanted to go to gave me a really hard time getting in and we missed the time for free admission but were told to speak with some guy. Found the guy, he looked me up and down and not only let me in for free but we got in through the VIP entrance :). I got the XS and the S, the XS fit, but for some reason the back straps seemed a lot thinner on the XS than the S so I ended up going with the S to add a few inches of fabric for a little more comfortable fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 29, 2012
Dress looked great!!!
Very low cut on the sides, but the tape rtr sends fixes it easily
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 19, 2013
Too revealing
I ordered this for Vegas and this dress was STILL too revealing, as you're unable to wear a bra or underwear without it showing (it's completely open on the sides). Fashion tape would help, but overall it was a little too much of a good thing. I love RTR, but this was a definite disappointment.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 8, 2013
Fun Dress, but hard to wear
This is a really great dress, but as others have mentioned, it's completely open on both sides and low in the front. If you don't need to do much, it's workable. But I was in Vegas and it was cold so everytime we went outside and I had to put a coat on, we had to make sure I wasn't exposing myself. And unless you are extremely flat-chested, it would be impossible to dance in this dress. So, for those reasons, I would not rent it again, although I loved it just standing there. :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
August 16, 2012
Sexy dress!
This was a really sexy dress - need to use a lot of tape as others mentioned.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 27, 2013
Pretty small!
If you are the least bit curvy I would recommend going a size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 25, 2013
All eyes will be on you in this dress
I am in love with this dress! I wore it in Vegas, which is probably one of the only places where it is appropriate because it is VERY revealing. There is quite a bit of sideboob exposed, so use double-sided tape to avoid a wardrobe malfunction. This dress will work well on more flat-chested women. The bottom part fits a little bit tighter than the top, so if you have bigger hips, I would size up.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 3, 2013
Wore this in Vegas for girls weekend. My friends loved this dress! I received so many compliments!
I read the reviews, so I was prepared for the low cut. This dress is pretty revealing. It cuts low on the sides and the front. Tape is a must in the dress!! Without it, I wouldn't have felt comfortable in it. It was a great dress to dance in all night! I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 27, 2013
Sexy hot
Loved the dip in the back and on the sides. Exposed just enough skin. I didn't like the tie though, it was too long and hung in an unflattering way in my opinion so I tied it around and my waist a couple times and tied a smaller bow in the back and it was super cute. Wish I owned this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 16, 2013
LOVED the dress. Perfectly tight in all the right places!
The color was a nice bright red and it fit nice and tight throughout the bottom but a little loose on the top. Would definitely wear it again. Since it cut very deep in the front I have to wear stickies incase.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 18, 2013
Bachelorette Party Dress
I wore this dress out for my bachelorette and loved it. It's definitely low (and a bit open on the sides), but it hangs extremely well, so I was able to wear it without double-sided tape when I forgot to pack it and didn't have any mishaps!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 23, 2013
Sexy but major side boob!
I'm a size 10 and the large was definitely snug around the waist and hips. It made undergarments tricky because you should see everything. I was prepared for the low cut in the front, but should have paid more attention to the reviews to know about the major reveal on the sides. Used almost an entire roll of double stick tape!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 29, 2013
Pretty dress, fun color and very sexy!
A litte big up top, I ordered the small for a back-up and it wasnt available so I only had M to choose from. I do not have much up top, so it was very revealing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
July 9, 2013
Love the look but hard to wear
I wore this dress in Vegas (the only place you can get away with it!) It's cut to there! I had read the reviews and it only stayed on by the magic of fashion tape which took me a while to get right. I had to make adjustments all night. I was able to get some spanx skinny britches under there because the material of the dress is so thin but it required lots of tugging and folding so I don't recommend it if you have cellulite. Yes everybody stared at me and I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
July 26, 2013
Attention getter! Great for Vegas!
The top part of this dress was A LOT more revealing then the photo on the model reveals. I had to use a ton of tape to keep this dress in place. I got the S in a back up size, and even though the skirt was a bit tight in the XS, the S top was more difficult to drape correctly. You can not wear a bra with this dress. I used adhesive petals as the fabric is pretty thin. I almost didn't wear it, but I figured I was in Vegas so I might as well go all out!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
August 16, 2013
The fabric was not the quality I thought it would be.
...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 166lbs
November 4, 2013
Smaller than it appears
The side cut outs of the dress went basically to my waist! Much more of a sexier dress than pictured and the fit seemed quite small to me.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
August 29, 2013
na
na
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 28, 2013
Not what I expected! EEK!
The sides of this dress were essentially non existent. It was my birthday bash, and since I had done RTR before, I didn't even think to try the dress on before heading to our hotel to get ready. And I mean, it was a wrap dress..... what could go wrong?!? I was pretty dismayed when the fabric was thin and the dress was so low cut on the sides, I couldn't wear either size. We had to stop at a store downtown and I had to run in and buy another dress! Oh well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 5, 2014
unfortunately, I did not wear it.
This dress looks so cute on the model, but I am curvy and it just looked inappropriate. This is a fabulous pic for a night out on the town and if you have a straighter body type.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 15, 2014
VEGAS!
This dress was perfect for vegas - it is much more revealing than the picture portrays! the sides are basically completely open.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 24, 2014
Sexy!
Really fun, sexy dress that I wore to my senior sorority formal. If you have bigger hips/butt that I would size up considering the dress is tight on the bottom. Also, fashion tape and nu-bra were both definitely needed- worked great when I used these, otherwise the dress is too revealing for another type of bra. Really loved wearing this dress- its a sexy, party dress so don't try to wear it to anything super formal or work-related. Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 153lbs
May 29, 2014
Comfy, Gorgeous, Fun
Two pieces of fashion tape to keep the girls in place. Dress was super fun and breathable for a night of dancing. Returning the dress while carless in Vegas was kind of a headache (hotels charge a handling fee for sending it off even though shipping is prepaid), but the dress was amazing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 21, 2015
Sleek, sexy & fun!
Great dress. Low cleavage...tape will be needed, however the color is fabulous and dress is jersey / slinky huffing and draping in all he right places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
September 17, 2012
Wear a tank top underneath
Not for a pear shape. Very big and loose up top; very tight and too small in the hips. The sides of the top are deep open v's under the arms. There is a slit on either side of the skirt that prevents you from being able to wear spanx. Adhesive bras that need to tape on the sides didn't work. I was ready to give up on the dress because you cannot wear a bra and I wasn't having luck with fashion tape or pinning (just too much loose fabric on either and the deep V in front). A friend suggested I throw a tank top underneath and it saved the day. Give a very different look than the model, but got plenty of compliments on the outfit. Just be cautious what you are getting into.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 17, 2013
Not appropriate for a company holiday party
I was very disappointed with the dress. The model makes it look very classy and conservative but when I tried it on, it was way too inappropriate in every way possible. The dress is very open. I had to pin the sides, pin the cleavage area (and I have barely B cups!), and tape the straps from falling off my shoulders. I had no other option so had to wear it to the holiday party, but I would only suggest a dress like this for a Vegas or Miami night out.....
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
June 5, 2013
Skipped every line I walked up to in Vegas :-)
Ohhhh I LOVE THIS DRESS! It is not for the shy, but I have been obsessing over renting it for awhile. My bachelorette/birthday in Vegas seemed like the perfect time. It was SO comfortable and fun. The small isn't available to rent anymore, and I wish it had been, because the XS was a little too tight in the bottom, and the M was pretty loose in the chest. But nothing that a little double-sided tape doesn't fix! I felt hot hot hot! (Also pictured: me trying on the dress in TJ Maxx! This way you get an idea of what the side looks like. :-) I almost bought it, but they, too only had the Medium)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Apple
January 10, 2014
Party Ready
I rented this dress for a night out in Vegas. While it is very sexy, it was a very high maintenance dress - you need special bra and also need to tape yourself in as the top runs very, very loose. Overall I enjoyed wearing it and thought the color was beautiful; however, just be prepared that it won't arrive ready to wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 1, 2012
Disappointed
I was quite disappointed in this dress. I love RTR but this dress was not a perfect fit. I was expecting to wear the small but the XS was even a bit big. Also, this is a VERY revealing dress. The back, sides, and front was completely open and the only way to wear it would be to seriously tape it up, which never looks that great. I didn't even end up wearing this to my event because it was inappropriate and just didn't look good. It fits very different in real life than it did on the model.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
Doesn't look like photo
This dress is far more scandalous than it appears in the picture. For starters, the sides are completely bare (which you cannot see in the photos) and the skirt is much shorter. It also runs extremely small, especially for a high end brand. The medium fit me as though it was an extra small and I would normally wear a 6 (2 or 4 in some brands). This dress is probably only appropriate for a bachelorette party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 21, 2012
Would not rent again.
I rented this for a high school reunion and this dress was not appropriate. The sides are completely open and without fashion tape you would expose yourself. If you are renting this dress for Las Vegas or a runway event you can get away with it--otherwise, too much skin is exposed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 4, 2012
Very revealing dress!
Loved the look of this dress, unfortunately it was completely exposed all around. The sides of the dress do not attach so it just has two pieces that run from front to back. This made the dress very unwearable unless you are very tall or plan on wearing a full tank or bandeau under. May also need to tape upperhalf in or else it will move around too much! Loved the color and the look of the dress though--wish it had worked
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 17, 2012
Very sexy dress!
You must be confident to wear this and small chested or it could look cheap on you. I wore this on a girls trip to Miami and got tons of compliments! The color is more of an orangy-red than red.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 18, 2012
What a dress!
Rented this dress for my bachelorette party. Absolutely loved it! It's stunning but definitely revealing! I wore double sided tape to help keep the straps in place. Gorgeous color & gorgeous dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Great great color! But tight on the bottom
Very low cut on the side, and the bottom was a tight on me. But I liked how the top half fell on me of the small, but the bottom was too tight... it shows everything
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 118lbs
October 16, 2012
See-Through
This dress is better suited for Vegas than any other event. The dress is so shear you could see my tattoo under my dress - Probably would not wear this even to Vegas b/c it's so shear. Great tomato color and very sexy. I normally wear a Size 4/Small and it was too big. The XS I got too was a little too small. Just not for me - I had to return immediately.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 22, 2012
An unforgettable dress for a night you shouldn't remember!
I rented this dress for my twenty first birthday. I ordered both a medium and a large because I was worried the small would be too tight around my butt. I knew the medium would fit though. The dress itself does not have sides under the arm which i knew from reading the reviews. I wore sticky boobs and used fashion tape on the shoulders to hold the dress up tighter as it was very loose. I also used a piece of fashion tape at the 'vneck' to keep the strips of fabric together and to conceal my sticky boobs. I did not need to fashion tape the sides as I am very small busted and taping the shoulders was enough. The dress was not as short as I thought it would be but the material is very thin so you need seamless underwear. Customer service was fantastic when I thought they had forgot the belt, they overnighted me new ones (even after I found the original ones...oops). I loved the dress and it was perfect for the occasion.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
November 18, 2012
sexy!
THe dress seemed perfect for my bachelorette last summer but come to find out, it's a a much lower neckline than the photos show on the website. Definitely need some double-sided tape!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 4, 2012
Dress is perfect for a girls night out or a fun event!
Loved the dress - make sure you have fashion tape to hold in place though!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 25, 2013
40th bday party
Could not figure out how to wear it. Very bad design.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×