Haute Hippie

Salsa Dance Dress

$75 rental
$475 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Light a fire his heart with this red hot dress from Haute Hippie! Perfect to take a twirl in at a holiday party or spice up that special date. Go with the Judith Leiber's Gold Fortune Cookie Clutch to finish your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes P,S,M,L. Size P=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fashion tape is recommended to secure deep V, and exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection with elastic band and tie sash
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length- slit in front goes to mid-thigh and the back of the dress hits at knee length (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at waistband
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes P,S,M,L. Size P=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fashion tape is recommended to secure deep V, and exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection with elastic band and tie sash
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length- slit in front goes to mid-thigh and the back of the dress hits at knee length (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at waistband
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red silk crepe de chine(100% silk). Halter neckline. Wrap body with ruffle trim. Tie waist. Asymmetric hemline. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

73 reviews

Fit
Small 0
True to Size 58
Large 15
Photos 54
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 12, 2011

Perfect dancing dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a company Christmas party and it was perfect! I felt great, the fit was just what I wanted, and the color was true to the picture so I knew what I was getting. It has a great shape and is adjustable so you can get everything fitting just right. I would highly recommend, it's a fantastic dress to dance the night away in!
Katherine
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101 lbs
Dec 31, 2011

Excellent Christmas dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress looked beautiful, helped by Fashion Tape (a definite must order for this particular dress), and wowed everyone at my Christmas party. I loved it! True to size...I am someone who, being petite, sometimes has a hard time frinding the right size for me. This XS was perfect!
JV
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 19, 2012

Awesome NYE dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress and got a lot of compliments. I usually wear a 0 or 2 and I wore a small in this dress because the XS was sold out - I definitely could've used the XS, but the S looked nice. Had to use double sided tape in the front but overall its a beautiful dress, comfortable and very forgiving!
Lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 25, 2012

Va-va-voom!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress knocked my boyfriend off his feet!! Gorgeous, comfortable, silky soft, and no risk of a nip-slip! And it is RED (like fire engine red). Loved it!
Christine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 14, 2012

Hated to return it

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is lovely and fun. I normally wear a 4 so I expected the Small to fit and it did. The only down side to the rental was sending it back.
KBoss
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 24, 2012

Best Dress Ever!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Hugs in all the right places
Lachlan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 30, 2012

Hot Valentine's Dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this for Valentine's Day. It's very comfortable and sexy.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 11, 2012

Pretty dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented the XS and ordered the S as a back-up. Unfortunately, I had to wear the S because there was a snap along the bottom of the XS. Still, it's a very pretty dress, very comfortable and fun to wear. The color is exceptional and the fabric is wonderful.
janine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 27, 2012

So fun and flirty!!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVED this dress. I rented it last minute to wear to a party I originally had a totally different for. I'm so glad I rented it. The color is gorgeous and it was so comfotable I danced all night long in it. I would definitely rent it again in the green color next time!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 25, 2012

Great service, cute dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The service was great and the packaging and timing of the shipment was incredible. I ordered it for my engagement pictures, but unfortunately, the dress just wasn't right for my body. It was just not doing anything for me. I called and was able to return it right away and since it wasn't worn, I was able to get a credit. The customer service is outstanding and I've already ordered two more times!
Allison
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 28, 2012

Loved it...

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this dress for a summer wedding. I ordered the small and the medium. Unfortunately I had to take off a star, because RTR did not ship my backup size and I had to call and have them send it. They did it..no problem, but certainly a hassle I could have lived without. Anyway, the small was the original size, medium was backup. I ended up wearing the medium because the small seemed just a tad short on my long legs. The one downside with the medium was the back was a little loose and slipped somewhat. I was wearing a bandeau bra underneath and i had to make sure it stayed covered. That wasnt a problem in the small. Overall got a ton of compliments and the color was vibrant and gorgeous! Extremely comfortable and I loved that you could adjust it so many ways to show more cleavage or less, more legs or less. Great dress! Would love to add my photo but can't from my apple product. RTR...please fix that. :-)
KS
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 1, 2012

Great party dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding and got lot of compliments on it. It's very comfortable and for me was nice to have something that I didn't have to feel like I had to suck in my tummy all night.
shopgirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

amazing color

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
the color is AWESOME-- bright, bright red, not like the tomato color in the picture. comfy and flowy, great for an outdoor event in such hot weather! love it
castba85
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 15, 2012

Beautiful dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a friend's engagement party and received a lot of compliments. The dress is very romantic and flowy, and very flattering. I typically wear a 4 or 6 depending on the cut of the dress, and the M fit well. I think I could have gone with a Small too, given the flowy-ness of the dress, but with this type of silhouette I think it's best to err on the side of slightly large than too tight. I will say that fashion tape and/or safety pins are a must to keep the front of the dress in place.
B
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 15, 2012

It worked!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I really liked this dress but felt a little uncomfortable in the church :/ the front is a little on the short side - I also had to go sans bra but the top is strong enough to hold the girls up. Got the small and it was able to work even though i could have probably fit into the medium too. It was fun, flirty and nice and light for a summer wedding. I'd totally wear again - maybe i'll try the navy for another wedding!
Corinne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 16, 2012

Hot enough for Carmen

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this dress for a performance on Valentine's Day of Carmen's Habanera. The dress was perfect! Comfy even! I had many comments about the dress after the concert. I looked and felt smoking' hot. If you cannot go braless, you'll need adhesive cups, since the back is very low. You may want some anti-static cling spray as well.
MV
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

Perfect!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a summer wedding. It fit perfectly and I felt comfortable in it all night even though I decided not to wear a bra. The dress came with the belt and fashion tape (which I did use). I was a little worried about how the length would look on me because I'm so short, but with heels it looked great! Definitely wish I owned this dress!
CD
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 19, 2012

Not my fave

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have to admit I was a little disappointed by this dress. It looked a lot cheaper than in the picture and wasn't the best fit. I didn't end up wearing it.
Chloe
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Aug 24, 2012

Ran very large

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was so excited to receive the dress for a formal dance, but unfortunately I was pretty disappointed. I normally wear range between an XS and a S, and got my first choice of XS. It ran huge through the back and came wrinkled in the mail (not RTR's fault, the fabric seems to naturally wrinkle). I didn't have time/worried about getting it pressed so I had to wear something else, and immediately shipped the dress back.The dress is gorgeous though! I think on a curvier girl, the dress would look great. I would definitely suggest a size down. The RTR customer service rep I talked to was really kind and understanding about the dress. I definitely look forward to renting again in the future and hopefully finding a better fit. Unfortunately this one ended up running a lot bigger than I anticipated.
Mely
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 24, 2012

Amazing

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was amazing!!! I received so many compliments!!!
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Salsa Sexy

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a salsa themed party and it was perfect....was a little low cut but very sexy and very comfortable.
LNF
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Sep 10, 2012

Luxe fabric

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! The fabric feels so rich and luxe to the touch that you cannot wait to put it on. I would buy this dress in a store if I found it on sale!
AmyS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Some hiccups, but a nice dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress in XS and S, but I decided to wear the S as the XS came with makeup stains on the bodice area. I used some fashion tape to make sure the front didn't open up since I had to wear the larger size. Both dresses also didn't come with the belts (as pictured on the model) but I wore it without and it still looked great! It really highlighted my toned shoulders and hung very nicely on my curvy hips! I got so many compliments!
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Attention getting dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress got huge attention, mostly because of the color but also because it is a vavavoom type of dress. The XS was just small enough. I am not super small(usually a two or four) so a really tiny person might find this a bit big. Also to get the top to fit right I had to really tie it tight which in turn caused the straps to cut into my neck and annoy a bit through out the night. A small price to pay for a wonderful dress. No bra can be worn so I had to wear pasties.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Hot, hot, hot!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I cannot tell you how much I loved this dress. Perfectly flattering, comfortable, and incredibly sexy. My husband exclaimed, "Ohhh, geez! Now THAT is a hot dress" when he walked into the room. Haha. Unfortunately, I ordered the dress in turquoise and due to a warehouse snafu, only the red was available. Suffice it to say, the red was a bit too spicy for a wedding, so I went with another dress that RTR overnighted to me (very quickly and in two sizes, I might add- wonderful customer service). I had no issue with the side of the dress revealing too much as others have mentioned-- you can tighten or loosen the halter as you please. It is a bit short in the front, but not enough to be distasteful. I fairly certain I will be re-ordering this dress for my first anniversary or Valentine's Day.
laurennthony1
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Runs large, size down.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Ordered this dress for a wedding in Small & Medium. I never received the small (which Im sure would have fit great) because whoever rented it before me did not send it back in time. The Medium was swimming on me. The dress was beautiful though. The color was more vibrant in person than photographed.
Veena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

I rented this dress for a black tie charity event on Cince de Mayo.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought this dress was fabulous! It was comfortable and fit exactly like the reviews said. This is definitely a must-rent.
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Dec 26, 2012

This was a great dress, eye catching and sexy, yet very comfortable. I loved it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It fit TTS. Good for evening, because it is a little low cut. I added my own belt. Perfect for a date, wedding, or party.
Sue
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 4, 2013

Beautiful!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
great material, loved this dress! fits true to size
Ann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Jan 5, 2013

Red RED RED! Caliente dress, but not for actually Dancing. :(

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
First let me start out. I liked this dress, but not as much as one of the other dresses I have rented from here. It was beautiful and super red, the material was light and flowy and looked great when I was just standing there. However, I did have problems with this one. The tie I had was rather wrinkly and I had debated ironing it, but was so scared I would hurt the fabric that I decided to leave it wrinkly rather than risk scorching the fabric. The other problem..I'm not sure if it was because I am tall and skinny? But when I would use this "Salsa dress" for Salsa dancing....HELLO! the people in the chairs around definitely got a good look at the panties I was wearing! 0_0 The front is so light and flowy that it easily lifts up and parts all the way to your waist when you are spun. It kind of killed my Salsa dancing mood. I asked one of my frieinds to confirm my suspicion by sitting while I spun and she said "yes" she could see exactly what I was wearing underneath my dress. So overall, gorgeous for sitting, good fit, true to size, good if you aren't too fancy with your dancing, but very very bad if you live in a windy place or are tall and like to spin while dancing salsa!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

A bedsheet a rope might have been better...

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit is pretty true to size, as it is supposed to be flowing and loose. I found it too be almost TOO forgiving and drowned out my curves. I had people tell me that the dress was nice, but I did not feel as sexy as the picture. I felt like that part in the Little Mermaid where she just becomes human and washes up on the beach and makes a dress out of an old sail and some rope. Unless you are built like a twig and have a supermodel body, I wouldn't suggest it. Maybe my full bust had something to do with it too? I did have a very good strapless bra on though. The only reason I wore it was because I had it shipped down for my cousin's wedding and didn't pack a back up and HAD to wear it, I didn't have time to get a different one or go shopping. I'd upload a pic for you to see, but I hated it so much I hid behind people in pictures :(
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

Too much fabric on a small frame.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Better for someone taller and maybe with a bigger bust. It swallowed me, even in the smaller size.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

Fun and flirty

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
but both sizes were way too big for me
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×