Haute Hippie

Salsa Dance Dress

$75 rental
$475 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Light a fire his heart with this red hot dress from Haute Hippie! Perfect to take a twirl in at a holiday party or spice up that special date. Go with the Judith Leiber's Gold Fortune Cookie Clutch to finish your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes P,S,M,L. Size P=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fashion tape is recommended to secure deep V, and exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection with elastic band and tie sash
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length- slit in front goes to mid-thigh and the back of the dress hits at knee length (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at waistband
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red silk crepe de chine(100% silk). Halter neckline. Wrap body with ruffle trim. Tie waist. Asymmetric hemline. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
73 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(58)
Small
(0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
December 26, 2012
This was a great dress, eye catching and sexy, yet very comfortable. I loved it!
It fit TTS. Good for evening, because it is a little low cut. I added my own belt. Perfect for a date, wedding, or party.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
December 29, 2012
...
The frills on the model's photo make it look kind of strange whereas I loved the dress in person. The color is also a lot brighter, which was another plus.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
January 5, 2013
Red RED RED! Caliente dress, but not for actually Dancing. :(
First let me start out. I liked this dress, but not as much as one of the other dresses I have rented from here. It was beautiful and super red, the material was light and flowy and looked great when I was just standing there. However, I did have problems with this one. The tie I had was rather wrinkly and I had debated ironing it, but was so scared I would hurt the fabric that I decided to leave it wrinkly rather than risk scorching the fabric. The other problem..I'm not sure if it was because I am tall and skinny? But when I would use this "Salsa dress" for Salsa dancing....HELLO! the people in the chairs around definitely got a good look at the panties I was wearing! 0_0 The front is so light and flowy that it easily lifts up and parts all the way to your waist when you are spun. It kind of killed my Salsa dancing mood. I asked one of my frieinds to confirm my suspicion by sitting while I spun and she said "yes" she could see exactly what I was wearing underneath my dress. So overall, gorgeous for sitting, good fit, true to size, good if you aren't too fancy with your dancing, but very very bad if you live in a windy place or are tall and like to spin while dancing salsa!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 28, 2013
Wore all night in complete comfort, with lots of compliments!
I wore this for a humid July wedding, and it was just perfect. The material didn't crease when sitting, and the loose fit was perfect for the weather. The movement of the dress was great for dancing, and looked great in pictures.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 29, 2013
Fun and flirty
but both sizes were way too big for me
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Apple
June 13, 2013
Great birthday dress! You really stand out!
This dress was sexy and fun! It fit perfectly and was the perfect length. I absolutely loved this dress for the color and the flowy feel to it. The cinched waist made the dress very flattering and I would recommend this dress for so many occasions!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
July 18, 2013
Fun dress to wear and move in!
I ordered this dress as an option for my senior homecoming. I ended up wearing another dress, but wore this one out to dinner with friends. It was fun to wear, but the back was super low and impossible to wear a bra. I won't recommend for anyone with a larger chest.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 8, 2013
the bottom is fun and flirty, i wore it for valentines day party
top is fitted no room for stretch like the dress might suggest, so around the arms it kind of chafed me a bit. So if you're torso isn't proportional to average size i would suggest getting and extra size to make sure its comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 16, 2013
Fun dress!
This dress was different, yet I really liked it. I got lots of comments all night! It was large in the chest area so I used body tape to make sure it did not gap. Overall it was a very fun and comfortable dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 14, 2013
Loved the dress. Great for dancing!
Careful with the top. It tends to slide open
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 30, 2013
Just okay!
Was just okay. Wasn't really flattering and hung loose on top. Fun to dance in though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
January 30, 2014
Perfect for Valentine's Day
I wore this to a little red dress party. Great fit! I have a shorter torso so the adjustable straps were great for making the dress look perfect! It was frilly, girly, and super comfortable! You may want to get some tape for the crossover part of the dress in the front, especially if you have a larger chest.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
March 12, 2014
Such a fun, flattering dress!!
I wore this dress to my Senior Prom and I LOVED it! I felt sexy and playful in the dress, and it was so much fun to dance in. I did have to tape the front together, and to my chest, and I didn't wear a bra, but I didn't mind that. I love the color and the hemline. If I ever get the chance to buy this dress, I'm going to jump on it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
July 4, 2012
The dress was incredibly comfortable and super flattering. The reviews were all very accurate & helpful! I'll continue to order from the RTR!
I rented this dress for a night out on the town in Las Vegas and I couldn't have been more happy with the dress! It fit wonderfully and was incredibly flattering. The halter top allows you to adjust where the dress falls (length & cleavage). The material was super soft, flowy and all around comfortable. I received tons of compliments. My only complaint is that the two sizes that were sent didn't include the belt/sash, so I had the belt loops hanging out all night. Other than that, the dress was perfect!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 31, 2012
The feel of the dress. Sexy yet stunning!
I rented this dress for a summer wedding when I couldnt seem to find any other dress at the time. I am SOOO glad I did. It was so beautiful and I received compliment after compliment! The back dips a bit low so plan accordingly with that (I had to wear petals). I would say the color is more red than orange. This dress was fabulous and I would rent it again & again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 29, 2012
RTR is completely reliable... I've rented a few times and I have never had any problems!
I rented this dress for a summer city wedding and it was perfect! Very comfortable, fit true to size, and the color is vibrant. I would recommend wearing tape at the chest area if you are going to be outside. I felt so romantic and feminine in the dress, especially when the wind would blow, however I felt somewhat self conscious in the chest area-- so tape is a must :) I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat- I'd love to try out the green!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
September 14, 2012
Would recomend this dress!
I was able to get away with a strapless bra. I would suggest going a size smaller with your 2nd option. Loved the fabric.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 24, 2012
Very easy to rent as this was my first time and about to drop off in blue USPS box.
Loved the dress online, looks so pretty, flowey, sexy and was easy enough to order. During check out it asked if I wanted a second outfit for $25 so I ordered a jumper for fun however this replaced my free second size dress. I ordered this in an XS and S but the S went away after I got the jumper. It all ended working out because even the XS was too big! The dress hung on my like a hungry baby, did not define my tiny curves and was so light that any small gust of wind and your dairy aire was on display! Only wear this dress indoors! I have long legs and it covered everything well otherwise, def need fashion tape and chicken cutlet bra. This dress is very red, i should have faked tanned before wearing it. Wouldn't rent this one again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 25, 2012
It was awesome!!!!!!!!!!
I want this dress so bad! I'm for sure going to rent again!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 3, 2012
This dress was perfect for being a sexy Señorita.
This dress is an easy fit, I imagine it flattering all body types. My only con is that the belt was a deeper red than the dress, probably due to dry-cleaning. I got plenty of compliments and felt very sassy in this little red number.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
December 31, 2011
Excellent Christmas dress
This dress looked beautiful, helped by Fashion Tape (a definite must order for this particular dress), and wowed everyone at my Christmas party. I loved it! True to size...I am someone who, being petite, sometimes has a hard time frinding the right size for me. This XS was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 19, 2012
Awesome NYE dress!
Loved this dress and got a lot of compliments. I usually wear a 0 or 2 and I wore a small in this dress because the XS was sold out - I definitely could've used the XS, but the S looked nice. Had to use double sided tape in the front but overall its a beautiful dress, comfortable and very forgiving!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 14, 2012
Hated to return it
The dress is lovely and fun. I normally wear a 4 so I expected the Small to fit and it did. The only down side to the rental was sending it back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 10, 2012
amazing color
the color is AWESOME-- bright, bright red, not like the tomato color in the picture. comfy and flowy, great for an outdoor event in such hot weather! love it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
August 15, 2012
It worked!
I really liked this dress but felt a little uncomfortable in the church :/ the front is a little on the short side - I also had to go sans bra but the top is strong enough to hold the girls up. Got the small and it was able to work even though i could have probably fit into the medium too. It was fun, flirty and nice and light for a summer wedding. I'd totally wear again - maybe i'll try the navy for another wedding!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 17, 2012
Perfect!
I wore this dress for a summer wedding. It fit perfectly and I felt comfortable in it all night even though I decided not to wear a bra. The dress came with the belt and fashion tape (which I did use). I was a little worried about how the length would look on me because I'm so short, but with heels it looked great! Definitely wish I owned this dress!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 24, 2012
Amazing
This dress was amazing!!! I received so many compliments!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
September 10, 2012
Luxe fabric
Loved this dress! The fabric feels so rich and luxe to the touch that you cannot wait to put it on. I would buy this dress in a store if I found it on sale!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
Runs large, size down.
Ordered this dress for a wedding in Small & Medium. I never received the small (which Im sure would have fit great) because whoever rented it before me did not send it back in time. The Medium was swimming on me. The dress was beautiful though. The color was more vibrant in person than photographed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 4, 2013
Beautiful!
great material, loved this dress! fits true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
January 16, 2013
A bedsheet a rope might have been better...
The fit is pretty true to size, as it is supposed to be flowing and loose. I found it too be almost TOO forgiving and drowned out my curves. I had people tell me that the dress was nice, but I did not feel as sexy as the picture. I felt like that part in the Little Mermaid where she just becomes human and washes up on the beach and makes a dress out of an old sail and some rope. Unless you are built like a twig and have a supermodel body, I wouldn't suggest it. Maybe my full bust had something to do with it too? I did have a very good strapless bra on though. The only reason I wore it was because I had it shipped down for my cousin's wedding and didn't pack a back up and HAD to wear it, I didn't have time to get a different one or go shopping. I'd upload a pic for you to see, but I hated it so much I hid behind people in pictures :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
March 18, 2013
Too much fabric on a small frame.
Better for someone taller and maybe with a bigger bust. It swallowed me, even in the smaller size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
July 31, 2013
LOVED
I wore this beautiful dress to a wedding. I fell in love with this dress so badly, that I purchased one in teal a few days later. It is stunning, romantic, and very comfortable. I give it 4 stars instead of 5 only because the delicate fabric had some pulls and signs of wear. Be ready to steam it when it arrives.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×