Salsa Dance Dress

$75 rental
$475 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Light a fire his heart with this red hot dress from Haute Hippie! Perfect to take a twirl in at a holiday party or spice up that special date. Go with the Judith Leiber's Gold Fortune Cookie Clutch to finish your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes P,S,M,L. Size P=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fashion tape is recommended to secure deep V, and exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection with elastic band and tie sash
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length- slit in front goes to mid-thigh and the back of the dress hits at knee length (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at waistband
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes P,S,M,L. Size P=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fashion tape is recommended to secure deep V, and exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection with elastic band and tie sash
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length- slit in front goes to mid-thigh and the back of the dress hits at knee length (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at waistband
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red silk crepe de chine(100% silk). Halter neckline. Wrap body with ruffle trim. Tie waist. Asymmetric hemline. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
73 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(58)
Small
(0)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 24, 2012
Ran very large
I was so excited to receive the dress for a formal dance, but unfortunately I was pretty disappointed. I normally wear range between an XS and a S, and got my first choice of XS. It ran huge through the back and came wrinkled in the mail (not RTR's fault, the fabric seems to naturally wrinkle). I didn't have time/worried about getting it pressed so I had to wear something else, and immediately shipped the dress back.The dress is gorgeous though! I think on a curvier girl, the dress would look great. I would definitely suggest a size down. The RTR customer service rep I talked to was really kind and understanding about the dress. I definitely look forward to renting again in the future and hopefully finding a better fit. Unfortunately this one ended up running a lot bigger than I anticipated.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
August 21, 2012
I couldn't have picked a more perfect dress for my event!
I wore this dress to a Mexican themed engagement party and absolutely loved it! I had to safety pin the top of the dress because it is very flowy on top, but it's a very flattering dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 19, 2012
Not my fave
I have to admit I was a little disappointed by this dress. It looked a lot cheaper than in the picture and wasn't the best fit. I didn't end up wearing it.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 17, 2012
Perfect!
I wore this dress for a summer wedding. It fit perfectly and I felt comfortable in it all night even though I decided not to wear a bra. The dress came with the belt and fashion tape (which I did use). I was a little worried about how the length would look on me because I'm so short, but with heels it looked great! Definitely wish I owned this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 16, 2012
Hot enough for Carmen
Wore this dress for a performance on Valentine's Day of Carmen's Habanera. The dress was perfect! Comfy even! I had many comments about the dress after the concert. I looked and felt smoking' hot. If you cannot go braless, you'll need adhesive cups, since the back is very low. You may want some anti-static cling spray as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
August 15, 2012
It worked!
I really liked this dress but felt a little uncomfortable in the church :/ the front is a little on the short side - I also had to go sans bra but the top is strong enough to hold the girls up. Got the small and it was able to work even though i could have probably fit into the medium too. It was fun, flirty and nice and light for a summer wedding. I'd totally wear again - maybe i'll try the navy for another wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 15, 2012
Beautiful dress
I wore this to a friend's engagement party and received a lot of compliments. The dress is very romantic and flowy, and very flattering. I typically wear a 4 or 6 depending on the cut of the dress, and the M fit well. I think I could have gone with a Small too, given the flowy-ness of the dress, but with this type of silhouette I think it's best to err on the side of slightly large than too tight. I will say that fashion tape and/or safety pins are a must to keep the front of the dress in place.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 10, 2012
amazing color
the color is AWESOME-- bright, bright red, not like the tomato color in the picture. comfy and flowy, great for an outdoor event in such hot weather! love it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
August 10, 2012
Running into some old friends and feeling great!
This dress is spectacular. The color is a true red (brighter than RTR pic depicts). It fit well but had room to grow...ie if choosing between two sizes, pick the smaller of the two. Stick on boobs are a must, as I tried a strapless and found that it showed, too sheer to go without. Fashion tape would have been helpful too, as it's a bit breezy. Overall, it was very comfortable - a statement dress for sure!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 1, 2012
Great party dress
I wore this to a wedding and got lot of compliments on it. It's very comfortable and for me was nice to have something that I didn't have to feel like I had to suck in my tummy all night.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 31, 2012
The feel of the dress. Sexy yet stunning!
I rented this dress for a summer wedding when I couldnt seem to find any other dress at the time. I am SOOO glad I did. It was so beautiful and I received compliment after compliment! The back dips a bit low so plan accordingly with that (I had to wear petals). I would say the color is more red than orange. This dress was fabulous and I would rent it again & again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 28, 2012
Loved it...
Rented this dress for a summer wedding. I ordered the small and the medium. Unfortunately I had to take off a star, because RTR did not ship my backup size and I had to call and have them send it. They did it..no problem, but certainly a hassle I could have lived without. Anyway, the small was the original size, medium was backup. I ended up wearing the medium because the small seemed just a tad short on my long legs. The one downside with the medium was the back was a little loose and slipped somewhat. I was wearing a bandeau bra underneath and i had to make sure it stayed covered. That wasnt a problem in the small. Overall got a ton of compliments and the color was vibrant and gorgeous! Extremely comfortable and I loved that you could adjust it so many ways to show more cleavage or less, more legs or less. Great dress! Would love to add my photo but can't from my apple product. RTR...please fix that. :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 27, 2012
My first RTR experience left me raving. Gorgeous, fun to wear, and so easy to return.
Although the Medium was probably a better fit in the bust and skirt, I am tall so the Medium seemed a tad too short. I went with the Large and a padded strapless bra. Super comfy. Beautiful. Flowy on the dance floor.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
July 26, 2012
Everyone loved how bright and unique this dress was, really stood out!!
I rented this dress for a Christmas formal, and the color was amazing - so bright and perfect for the Holidays! There was a lot of fabric, so it was a little larger than I expected, but I would rent this dress again without hesitation! It's very fun and unique!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 25, 2012
Great service, cute dress
The service was great and the packaging and timing of the shipment was incredible. I ordered it for my engagement pictures, but unfortunately, the dress just wasn't right for my body. It was just not doing anything for me. I called and was able to return it right away and since it wasn't worn, I was able to get a credit. The customer service is outstanding and I've already ordered two more times!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 23, 2012
I received so many compliments in this dress, I wish I owned it!
I absolutely loved this dress. It really stood out and was gorgeous - perfect for the East Coast wedding I attended. I have a small rib cage and bust and this was really flattering and showed off my arms! I had so much fun in this dress and my boyfriend loved it too. You will not be disappointed in this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
July 13, 2012
The customer service was top notch and took care of missing items in time for my event.
This dress arrived on the date I expected, in both sizes small and medium. I am smaller on top, so I chose this dress because of the halter on top, and flowy bottom. I realized that there were no belts included for the tie waist, contacted Rent the Runway, and they sent two replacements overnight - the customer service here was fantastic!!! I received the belts the next day which completed the look. You CANNOT wear a strapless bra with this dress because of the low back, so be prepared to either order the NuBra or have something else on hand (I had something else here). The fit otherwise was perfect - adjustable top, able to cinch the waist a little more, and a nice flowy skirt. I am 5'4" and the length was perfect! I had so many compliments on the dress on the night we went out for my birthday!!! I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
July 10, 2012
Everyone kept telling me how great the color looked on me. It's very RED!
I rented this dress for a friend's after wedding celebration at a bar/lounge type place. It was a fun dress, definitely not my usual style, but still awesome. I was able to wear strapless bra with it and just tied the halter high and wore the bra low. I am between a 6/8 and order a S and M. The S fit, but I went with the M based on where the waist fell. I am pear shape and all the layers at the bottom on the small draped funny and made my hips look bigger. My only gripe that BOTH dresses were arrived without the belt so I had to add in my own belt (I work a skinny black patent leather belt). It would have been fine without it, but something to pull it in at the waist made it much more flattering. I didn't use fashion tape since I was able to wear a strapless bra, but I would recommend it at the bust.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
July 4, 2012
The dress was incredibly comfortable and super flattering. The reviews were all very accurate & helpful! I'll continue to order from the RTR!
I rented this dress for a night out on the town in Las Vegas and I couldn't have been more happy with the dress! It fit wonderfully and was incredibly flattering. The halter top allows you to adjust where the dress falls (length & cleavage). The material was super soft, flowy and all around comfortable. I received tons of compliments. My only complaint is that the two sizes that were sent didn't include the belt/sash, so I had the belt loops hanging out all night. Other than that, the dress was perfect!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 1, 2012
So easy and I felt great all night in this dress! Didn't want to take it off or return it!
This dress is phenomenal and I wish I owned it! Got so many compliments and felt gorgeous all night. Great for so many body types -- the tie top alllows you to adjust how low the dress sits in front and in back. The fabric is so soft and the draping is gorgeous.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 27, 2012
So fun and flirty!!!
I LOVED this dress. I rented it last minute to wear to a party I originally had a totally different for. I'm so glad I rented it. The color is gorgeous and it was so comfotable I danced all night long in it. I would definitely rent it again in the green color next time!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
April 11, 2012
Pretty dress!
I rented the XS and ordered the S as a back-up. Unfortunately, I had to wear the S because there was a snap along the bottom of the XS. Still, it's a very pretty dress, very comfortable and fun to wear. The color is exceptional and the fabric is wonderful.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
April 9, 2012
How easy the process was :)
I had my eye on this dress for months--the salsa style is so feminine and pretty--and I finally tried RTR for the first time and wore this dress to a good friend's wedding last weekend. I usually wear black, creme and light colors, but with my blonde hair I realized the red of this dress really complimented my skin tone! I have a curvy, athletic shape and this dress was true to size; the length was also perfect and the longer length in the back gave this dress a unique look as well. I wore it with my nude Christian Louboutin heels and a 70s style bag. I few people stopped me at the wedding to tell me how much they loved this dress too--I felt amazing the entire night! The only downside was having to return it. I do plan on buying this dress however when it goes on sale :) Renting this dress was a great decision.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 30, 2012
Hot Valentine's Dress
I rented this for Valentine's Day. It's very comfortable and sexy.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 26, 2012
Amazing service as always.
I wore this for a Havana Nights themed benefit and it was perfect! It was also great for dancing. I received so many compliments and the accessories I rented were amazing as well. I rented the Kate Spade navy clutch that looked like a steamship - so many compliments on that, too.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
March 24, 2012
Best Dress Ever!
Hugs in all the right places
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
February 26, 2012
This dress was so fun to dance in!
I ordered this dress for a friend's wedding that was cocktail attire and it was perfect. The red is REALLY RED and is a beautiful color that stands out from the crowd. It fit very well and was great to dance in. I had to use a little fashion tape to hold the top closed, but it was a quick fix. This dress is really fun and flirty, while classy at the same time. I got many compliments. I would absolutely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 14, 2012
Hated to return it
The dress is lovely and fun. I normally wear a 4 so I expected the Small to fit and it did. The only down side to the rental was sending it back.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 25, 2012
Va-va-voom!
This dress knocked my boyfriend off his feet!! Gorgeous, comfortable, silky soft, and no risk of a nip-slip! And it is RED (like fire engine red). Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 19, 2012
Awesome NYE dress!
Loved this dress and got a lot of compliments. I usually wear a 0 or 2 and I wore a small in this dress because the XS was sold out - I definitely could've used the XS, but the S looked nice. Had to use double sided tape in the front but overall its a beautiful dress, comfortable and very forgiving!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
December 31, 2011
Excellent Christmas dress
This dress looked beautiful, helped by Fashion Tape (a definite must order for this particular dress), and wowed everyone at my Christmas party. I loved it! True to size...I am someone who, being petite, sometimes has a hard time frinding the right size for me. This XS was perfect!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 16, 2011
Amazing dress. Amazing night! It was great to wear such a great dress and spend time with people I really love!
It was a great dress. The adjustable halter made it fit perfectly. I am a size 4, 5ft 9.5 inches and wore a small. The medium fit too, but the small was shorter and cuter on! The bottom is a bit full...so some of the pictures I noticed made me look like I had quite a behind....but I guess that is not a bad thing! The color was so pretty and bright, tons of complements!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2011
Perfect dancing dress!
I rented this dress for a company Christmas party and it was perfect! I felt great, the fit was just what I wanted, and the color was true to the picture so I knew what I was getting. It has a great shape and is adjustable so you can get everything fitting just right. I would highly recommend, it's a fantastic dress to dance the night away in!
Miss FernMarch 22, 2012
Could you wear a bra with it? I'm wondering if it's harder to wear for big chested girls.
MelissaJuly 24, 2012
I am 5'3 will I look to short in this dress?
RTRJuly 24, 2012
Hi Melissa, this dress is 37'' from shoulder to hem, so it will be knee length in the front and tea length in the back.
See more reviews:
2 / 2
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×