Rent the Runway

Haute Hippie

Purple Rage Dress

$65 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Heading to Miami or Vegas for a girl's weekend of fun?! Rent this Haute Hippie party dress and get ready for you and your friends to take over the club! Go with a retro bracelet like the CC Skye's Punk Princess Pave Spike Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fashion tape recommended to secure deep V; can not be worn with a strapless bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is fitted at hips so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh; slit at front causes dress to be very short - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fashion tape recommended to secure deep V; can not be worn with a strapless bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is fitted at hips so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh; slit at front causes dress to be very short - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple jersey(100% rayon). Surplice neckline. Draped body. Tulip hem. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

86 reviews

Fit
Small 7
True to Size 68
Large 11
Photos 53
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 11, 2012

The color really pops on this dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was really flattering on my little bit of a pooch belly. I'm 5'6" and 145 lbs and the Medium fit well, the large hung a little too much. It looks short in length in the photo but it wasn't at all on me. Be prepared with a very low cut bra or pasties. I also had to pin the front together because it was a little too low cut for my comfort. There were also some awkward hanging strings that kept popping out of the dress, but a couple of safety pins helped out. Lots of sexy fun in this one!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 4, 2012

Perfect dress for my trip to Vegas!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
THE perfect dress for Vegas. Saw what others wrote about the cleave situation and agree that it definitely hung too low for someone with a full chest and something needed to be done to fix. Instead of using tape or a safety pin, I just tied the straps at the top in a knot so it would lift the drapey part a bit and it looked WAY better. Huge huge fan of this dress and was such a fun color! Got lots of compliments.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 5, 2012

Feeling sexy.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Rented for a weekend vacation in FL and felt beautiful & sexy, wore it to dinner and out for drinks.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 9, 2012

I kept getting hit on...

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is definitely not for the shy. I ordered the Medium with a Small backup. The Medium was so huge it was falling off of my body. The small took a few pins and some tape due to the straps. I kept having slips as I was getting dressed and knew it would be a nightmare if I tried to wear the dress as is. Anyway the dress is super sexy. I kept getting hit on all night so if you want a lot of attention I seriously suggest this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 11, 2012

loved the color!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this to wear out in Vegas. The color really stands out and the cut is flattering because it hides the tummy. However, as other reviewers have commented, the straps are very long and it was very droopy in the top. I found myself pulling it up all night. It would probably work better on girls with a larger bust, or some fabric tape might help.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 12, 2012

It's the hottest RTR dress I've ever worn!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had such a good experience with this dress that I'm pretty sure I will rent it again. It is simple and sexy. I felt really confident the night I wore it and it is one of those dresses that makes you feel like all eyes are on you! I think it suits just about any body type too.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117 lbs
Jul 20, 2012

I was really happy with the dress, I was unsure of how it would look because I did not try it on before I ordered it, but once it came, I fell in love!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my senior prom, it wasn't very formal, but still somewhat dressy. I really liked how the dress was very sexy but not over the top. I have a small chest, so I would recommend to anyone who rents this dress to invest in some skin tape to use to prevent the dress from moving around too much up top. It was easy to move in and I felt comfortable once I used the tape. This dress is revealing so if you do not like to be showing off, I would not recommend it .
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

After working hard all day to prep for this event, it was so nice to slip into this little number.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a great dress for a summer, not so formal, cocktail party. The material is nice quality, heavier than it looks so that it lays right. . . Having said that, fashion tape is a must if you want to bend over even the slightest bit.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Great service and follow up with emails, very organized and simple process

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this for a date night with my husband. He loved it and I loved the color and fit. Sexy and slinky but still classy perfect for Miami night life.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Aug 25, 2012

I got to get back into the swing of things at college looking amazing!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really love the color of the dress. It also is great for a college party where you want to look amazing but not look too fancy. The only thing was that when I put the dress on for the first time, it didn't fit at all. The overlapping flap in the front was really short and the back of the dress was considerably longer than the front. I used some body/clothing fashion tape to fix the flap in the front from opening up all night. Once I used the tape, the dress was perfect and I didn't worry about it all night. I got a ton of compliments! I really loved it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 29, 2012

Everyone loved the color of the dress and complimented me on how stylish I looked.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my friend's wedding in california. I dressed it up with a big, flashy necklace (also from RTR) and some killer heels. This dress was SO comfortable for the entirety of the 8 hour event.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 11, 2012

Sharing a great night with tons of friends and colleagues. Rooftop party...perfect dress... great time!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress with prefect draping. Color is gorgeous in person - but definitely have to be willing to wear without a bra or with fashion tape. Tons of compliments. Paired with nude peep toes and would definitely rent again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 11, 2012

Disco Diva Birthday Fab Dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
great color. sexy. fun.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 13, 2012

This dress made me feel really sexy and fun! Got many compliments on it! PERFECT Vegas dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was great! I didn't have to wear any fashion tape to hold it up in front. It was short without feeling to revealing. The only confusing part is figuring out the straps when you're getting it on! But overall I LOVED this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

This dress was perfect for a late summer wedding! It was sexy but not too sexy and very comfortable.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The straps were a little long for me so I had to pin them behind my neck. Nothing a little tape couldn't fix in the front either!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

Great wear anywhere dress up/dress down dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress for a trip to the Hamptons but got rained out and ended up wearing it for a day date to the museum with my boyfriend instead. I paired it with simple sandles and minimal jewelry so as not to look too dressed up. A few people stopped me on the street to ask me about the dress and one woman even made me twirl around for her! The one stipulation I would add is that it's impossible to wear a bra (maybe you could get away with stickies) so if you're busty I would steer clear of this style. But overall fit is nice and color is gorgeous!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

Loved it - hugs the body but not too tight, so you can eat!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very flattering dress and got a lot of compliments. It's different and it is well made, The only thing for me was this dress needed more fabric stickers. I wore sticker tape that came with the delivery, but it bunched up too much at the chest so I had to adjust it quite a few times.I ended up tearing off the stickers because my tape started to expose, but it was manageable. Well worth the dress, I loved it and I'm hooked.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

This really is a fabulous dress.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is great. It really shapes to your body and isn't too short.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 9, 2012

The key to having an awesome night is looking awesome and this dress definitely delivered both!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love the draping on this dress! I needed a little double stick tape to keep the neckline in check, but otherwise it was so flattering!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 11, 2012

Love.Love.Love.this dress.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Wore this dress out in Vegas and it was perfect. (Not for the faint of heart, there's no wearing a bra with this dress.) So flattering and sexy, a definite must for a girls' night out!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

Perfect fit, perfect cut - LOVED it.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Took me a minute to figure how the straps went on but once everything was in place I absolutely loved this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Great dress, very comfortable and easy to wear.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
You'll need to go braless... I used some double-sided tape which worked great!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 28, 2012

I loved this dress! I wore it for my 21st and got compliments on it all night.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The top fit great the hips were a little tighter than it looked in the picture but the dress was extremely flattering none the less
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 29, 2012

The dress is beautiful and elegant and was very easy to return!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my homecoming and I really liked it. The low back is beautiful but you definitely can't wear a bra so you need to use the fashion tape it comes with. Overall, it was a pretty dress and I would recommend it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 4, 2012

It fit perfectly!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved this dress. I wore it to a friend's birthday party and it was the perfect dress for the event. It hung very well and was tight enough in the waist and chest, but then fell nicely over my hips and legs. The fabric is also great. I'm a size 26 waist and a 32B chest. The size small is the one I wore and it fit great! Overall, it was very flattering for my hourglass shape and I would even buy this dress to own!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Nov 12, 2012

Absolutely LOVED this, could not have been happier!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I adored this dress. It is one that truly looked like the picture and the color was beautiful - perfect for the summer night party I wore it for. It was very flattering in both the front and back.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 23, 2012

So flattering!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for a sorority function, and everyone loved it! The sizing is a little odd though, the v of the dress came down very low, so I recommend some fashion tape if you rent this dress! Otherwise, so comfy and fun to wear.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 29, 2012

sexy and comfortable and a great date dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
i rented this for a date, and it was a *huge* hit (probably because it's short in the front, tight in the butt, backless, and has a plunging neckline). i ordered both the small and medium, and though both fit fine (the fabric is very stretchy), i opted to wear the medium to give a bit more room in the shoulderblades and then belt the extra fabric -- and i'd definitely classify this dress as running on the small side. if you're busty, you may have some issues with this dress...or at the very least will need fashion tape to keep the neckline secure. but for those with small chests, it's a good pick. overall this dress is very comfortable and could be worn in a variety of situations -- i didn't look overly dressed up for my date, but could've easily gone somewhere more formal.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Dec 6, 2012

Gorgeous and fun dress. Great color. Sexy yet comfortable fit.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The XS dress fit; however, I chose to go with the S dress since I have larger hips/butt, which made the smaller size shorter and snugger. If I was 10 years younger, I would have totally gone with the XS. Dress tape is definitely needed to keep the top in place. The dress felt super comfortable (no fidgeting required) yet it shows off your body shape without giving the appearance of a larger middle.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

This dress was everything I was hoping for! Loved it!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my grandmother's surprise 70th birthday party. From the moment I tried it on, I fell in love!! The color was amazing, especially with my dark hair and the dress was so comfortable! The drape of the dress was my favorite. It was sexy but still appropriate for a family get together and everyone from my boyfriend to my grandma loved it! I'm only 5'2 so it's difficult to find a dress that I don't need to hem but this dress is perfect for shorties. My only issue was that I only ordered a XS for some reason and because of my slightly larger chest and the dresses' low cut in front, I was a bit concerned I might have a wardrobe malfunction on the dance floor. A size Small would have been better overall, especially because it's difficult to wear a bra with this dress. I ended up not wearing one at all (risky I know) but I used fashion tape to keep the top in place and crossed my fingers. I highly recommend this dress!!! I'll be renting it again (in a Small) soon! :)
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Dec 20, 2012

I have never received so many compliments in my life!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was asked unexpectedly to junior prom and was freaking out about trying to find a dress, especially because I'm a little bit of a perfectionist. I saw the dress and instantly fell in love. It came in the two sizes I ordered, M and L I'm tall, so I was a little nervous but the medium fit beautifully. Throughout the night I was getting compliments, some even saying I was the best dressed. It was a complete success!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

Great customer service

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was wonderful! Very forgiving in the middle and played up my top curves. Not too short so a great dress for dancing.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 11, 2013

Sooo many compliments!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Everything was great except for that it was a bit too low cut. In most pictures I got lucky, but I was nervous that not everything would stay in place. Other than that it worked out perfectly!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 16, 2013

This dress was GREAT.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'd wear this dress again. I'm usually a size medium, but my boobs weren't big enough to fill it out so I ended up wearing the small and it adjusted to the rest of my body perfectly. It was very flattering and the material was great! I received compliments all night and it photographed amazing.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

A sexy little dress for Valentine's with my new husband!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The color is truly gorgeous - a rich, gorgeous purple - and the ruching is really intricate and pretty, which keeps it from getting too sexy. However, one strap was really stretched out, so without a little tape the already low neckline could have gotten pretty scandalous, and the hemline in front crosses over, which when you sit down can get a little scandalous as well, but I wore tights which solved that problem. But generally, it's flattering, sexy, and comfortable, with a few flaws that can be overcome pretty easily.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Feb 28, 2013

Great for a fraternity formal! Just very low cut...

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I initially placed an order for a small with a medium as a backup. They did not have a medium so I put all my eggs in one basket - and thank god it worked out! Fit like a charm - just was very low cut so I used a pin and fashion tape to hold it and it worked pretty well. Danced the whole night without any reveals (: Was very flattering as well!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

Sexy pick for a clubby night out

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very low, sexy dress worn for a bachelorette party (Im a 34C and it showed well... a lot!) It was great for Miami, but probably wouldn't work outside of a very clubby scene. I'm 5'2 and felt like the dress was a little long in the back, but overall a decent fit.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 10, 2013

Wore this to a charity event, looked great.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Had to use fashion tape to keep everything in place, but otherwise it was great.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
May 3, 2014

Sexy hit Vegas !

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I got this for a bachelorette weekend in Vegas. I was a bit concerned about the draping between the front slit at the hem and the cleavage. But neither ended up a problem. This is definitely a low drape, so if you don't like showing too much cleavage you may want to pin it, but it was perfect for me. The color is a deep, beautiful shade of purple, and the material just swirled around me.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

Wore this for my birthday!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love this dress and the way it drapes across the body. Would rent again!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×