Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

Twist Of Fate Dress

$85 rental
$485 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rock this body con Halston Heritage twisted sheath for the party. A figure flattering style that you can strut your stuff in all night long. Shown here with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Emerald Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - bust area is very fitted and does not have any stretch
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow and is very form fitting
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - bust area is very fitted and does not have any stretch
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow and is very form fitting
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Shiny jersey (100% polyester). Short sleeved. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

125 reviews

Fit
Small 79
True to Size 44
Large 2
Photos 53
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Aug 16, 2012

Super flattering dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! It's easy to wear to work and then right out at night! However, it runs VERY small. I am usually a size two and the four was still quite snug. I would recommend going one, if not two, sizes up for your order. Love the dress though! Will rent again!
Sam
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 13, 2012

This dress made me feel really confident for once! <3

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Its really tight around the bust but other than that it fits well. If you've got junk in the trunk it may be hard. I wore this to my homecoming and everybody loved it. It was a great night
Terra
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

The dress is absolutey stunning on!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wear a size 8 in everything! maybe a 6 if it runs big!! I am a 36 DD. I am larger chested and little waisted and it fit perfectly around both! it was a little tight around the bicep! not in the shoulders or back! The zipper is on the left side of the dress and it kept poking out as the dress cinched up. I just non chalantly pulled the dress down occasionally. everyone at the wedding was complementing me!!
Kimberlee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

Perfect LBD for wedding! Great silhouette and fabulous fit! Felt sexy, but modest in stylish dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was not my first pick, but definitely was the best choice. RTR stylist and customer service was fabulous. They recommended after Rosette Strapless Dress missed the mark. I had passed on this dress and was skeptical, but very pleasantly surprised! It has a great stretch to the material, but also hugs your body in all the right places! I gave 5 stars because it created curves and hit at the perfect length for wedding. It was great to be able to dance the night away and not have to tug at the dress. I felt comfortable, sexy and confident in my RTR moment!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 1, 2012

Sophisticated Sexy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I chose this dress to show off my backside and small waist, and when I tried it on, it definitely did! My husband couldn't stop telling me how much he liked it, but I didn't feel over-exposed at my husband's professional award banquet, which my in-laws also attended. I fit into the 4, but the 6 actually fit well. I was concerned that the sleeves wouldn't fall right on my wider-than-normal shoulders, but I had no problems there. Shapewear was not necessary, even with my belly from having two babies in the last 2 1/2 years. My only complaint is that the zipper area rode up a little around my hip, leaving a weird lump if I didn't keep pulling the skirt down. I highly recommend this for any time you want to feel a little sexy, but lots of skin isn't appropriate.
elynora
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 5, 2012

I felt sexy.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was nice, but I would love that the zipper would be in the Center back , rather than the side seam, because it tends to form a small pump.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

A classic dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for the charity gala I helped plan. The draping on the dress was very flattering. I found the other reviews were helpful, because this dress does run small. I am normally a 6, and I wore the 8. This dress is great for curvy women. The one downside was the level of comfort because of it running small, it was tight around the arms and a little around the legs (was good for a seated dinner but I wouldn't want to dance the night away in this). I paired this with strappy black shoes that mimicked the draping of the dress and chunky cascading earrings. The dress wasn't over the top, but very simple and elegant. I would recommend this dress and would rent it again. If it were a little more comfortable I would give it 5 stars.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 17, 2012

Everyone loved the dress. It was sexy and sophisticated!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress is very flattering, however, it runs small, so make sure you get a second larger size.
Marie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 18, 2012

Great dress for fall evening wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Classic LBD worn to a fall evening wedding. The material and ruching are really beautiful. As with the other reviews, the dress runs small. Great experience renting with RTR...dress arrived when promised, packaged very nicely and return process simple.
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

Perfect fit!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits true to size and is beautiful on! The only con is that the zipper is down the side which makes it difficult to get on and off. The length was perfect for a wedding.
Lia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 27, 2012

In love with this dress!!! and excellent customer service at RTR!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am usually a size 6 but now with the baby weight the best thing to do was to rent a dress since I am up to a size 10. This dress is beautiful!
Angelina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

Super sexy but classy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I normally wear a 0, but the dress was snug since you have to put it on over your head. Even in the 2 the arms were a little tight, but overall it fit well. It is very form fitting and flattering. I wore a chunky necklace and patent peep toe heels. Lots of compliments on this one!
virginia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

LOVE THIS DRESS worn for company xmas party cocktail attire, this number was perfect !!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is amazing at helping to hide tummy bulge just wear your spanx and control top pantyhose and your set, the many layers or folds of the dress help mask any flaws, only thing I was disappointed in was the end of the zipper on the side had a bulge that made me keep pulling that side down !! not enough to not wear it but it is there or maybe because I knew it, but not that noticeable to others or that anyone said anything if they did notice, I felt very good in wearing this style even at my age !!! Probably the last time I could show off figure hugging dresses !! I usually never wear this tight of one but went for it and was extremely pleased once I did !!! and this was my back up dress !!!! I wore jewelry of diamonds and pearls, which did not take away from the dress but felt they looked fantastic with the black, gave the outfit an conservative look of which being a company party it was perfect without distracting from the dress. Once again RTR you made the day for another satisfied customer !!!!!
Cherise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

Great dress to celebrate my birthday in!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a holiday party & a girls night out to Atlantic City!! Partied the night away at the Pool After Dark with DJ Pauly D and the dress worked fabulous!! The only con was that the arms were a little tight but other than that it fit great everywhere else. I took everyone else's advice and ordered a size up. The necklace I rented as well and it added a bit of sparkle which was great!
Leslie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding rehearsal dinner and everyone commented how much they loved it! I'm glad I read other's comments and went a size up. The dress definitely runs small, plus the side zipper makes it run tighter. Depending the designer, I usually wear a 4 or 6 but I opted for the 8 in this dress. It hugged all the right spots but wasn't so tight I couldn't breathe.
Ashley
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 99 lbs
Dec 13, 2012

Perfect Dress for an Office Christmas Party!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I normally wear petite sizes, and this dress fit perfectly. The length was conservative but not too long, and the cut was very flattering. I received compliments all evening long! The zipper did bulge a bit at times but it wasn't as much of an issue for me since this party was a sit-down dinner. And, this dress paired perfectly with the Kenneth Jay Lane Emerald Drop Earrings. Overall, I loved it!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 14, 2012

Great LBD.... awesome fit!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a corporate Christmas Party and, of course, the entire expreience was seemless. The fit is as great as it looks on the website. I received compliments all night long and it was super comfortable. It is a little bit longer than it looks on the model. I am 5'6" and it came almost all the way down to my knees. All in all, an awesome dress!
Jaclyn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 18, 2012

Classy and elegant!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Ladies, there is NO STRETCH, I repeat, NO STRETCH in this fabric. It looks beautiful on and is a nice length but definitely size up for your extra size. I'm a 2/4 and the 4 was snug. Also, the sleeves are also on the tight side. Love the dress, but just be careful about the fit.
lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

Felt Gorgeous in this Dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit was perfect, did not rise up as expected, loved the ruching! Wore the drifting leaves necklace with the dress and received so many compliments!
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 21, 2012

Feel sexy and confident!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loooved this dress. It does run small - I usually wear a 6 in clothes and rented an 8. I only gave it 4 stars because the only thing that I did not like was that I felt like it kept twisting on me during the night, especially with dancing. If you are going somewhere to look good and not dance, then for sure I'd give it a 5 star rating, but the twisting part was just annoying. Others complained about the zipper on the side, but as long as the dress is pulled down and taught, it's not an issue. I would definitely rent this dress again and I received many, many compliments on how "hot" and "sexy" I looked in the dress and also asked where the dress was from. Definitely rent this dress!!!
Kaitie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Dec 24, 2012

This dress fit me perfectly and made me look and feel like a million bucks!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress material is so comfortable. It's a jersey-like feel so I felt comfortable, yet it didn't feel cheap. I got a size 4 and 6. I only wore the 6 because the 4 was a little snug and I knew I'd feel more comfortable with a little room. It wasn't too short. Overall, an amazing dress!
marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 18, 2013

Extremely flattering.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It was slimming but not tight. Very classy and I would like to rent it again for another occasion. It could be dressed up or down. I rented a 4 which is my usual size but would go up to a 6 if I rented again. The dress road up a little bit...
veronica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Feb 13, 2013

PERFECT SLEEK BLACK DRESS AND EARRINGS!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered size 4 and back up size 6. The 6 fit better however it would scrunch up on the side where the zipper was and it made the dress look weird. I went with the 4 which fit fine except for the arms - it was a bit tight. The earrings I rented were sooooo GLAMOROUS. I thought they would be a bit heavy but they weren't. They were the perfect length as well!
Rachel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

Love Halston!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
fit wonderfully, the arms were a little tight but overall happy!
Marisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Feb 21, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Runs small, there is no give to the fabric so order a size up! But very flattering and I got many compliments!!
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

Lovely Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a girls night out. My friends absolutely loved it. The dress fit great! It hugged all my curves in the best possible way!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 24, 2013

This dress made me feel sexy and it was super comfortable. Interesting asymmetry.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Runs small. I'm a definite size four and the four was really tight in the arms but fit everywhere else (i.e. I would not have been able to stretch above my head). Easy to wear. I wore it to a garden party in New Orleans on a hot night of dancing and it was really comfy. Also, super sexy and short. Loved it! I never wear black, I usually go for color but the asymmetrical cut on this caught my eye.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Apr 12, 2013

loved the dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
glad I got one size bigger than I thought i was, ran small!
Devon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

This dress was incredible! I got so many compliments on how it fit and I felt so beautiful in it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a size 0 and a size 2 as my back up. The size 2 was a little more comfortable, but I ultimately ended up going with the 0 because the tighter fit accentuated the beautiful draping more. I'm 5'3" and the length of this dress hit me much lower than where it hit the model in the image - it came down to just above my knee, which was fine because I was at a business event, but something to be aware of if you're under 5'5" and are hoping for a short dress. Overall, I loved the dress and wished I could have kept it!!
China
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 6, 2013

Many many compliments!!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great Dress. Fit like a glove.
Natalia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
May 7, 2013

It looked great, and was so comfy!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Hugged my bod perfectly, the material was amazing!! Loved it!!
christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 1, 2013

Loved it. Super cute and sexy!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore it to my school's alumni homecoming party. I received tons of compliments. The dress runs small. I requested a size 2 and 4. The 2 was so small I couldn't even get it on. I definitely recommend going a size up.
NBM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 3, 2013

Dress was perfect for a party that required "Chic Club Attire"

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was comfortable and definitely ran small, thank god I listened to the reviews. Additionally, if you have are going to be dancing alot the dress will ride up. Because of the ruching, it really accentuated my hour glass curves and I received a lot of compliments.
Nikkole
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 14, 2013

I felt like a million bucks in this outfit! The emerald earrings were the perfect finishing touch!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered 2 sizes (4,6) and ended up wearing the 4 because the loose pleated material fit my body better. This dress is absolutely stunning. I wore it to an awards show and was comfortable the whole time and for the after party.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 6, 2013

Sleek and sexy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very glad I sized up to a 6 because there was no way I was going to be able to pull off my regular size 4. The only problem I had otherwise was the skirt rides up as you walk due to being fitted and the zipper on the side would bulge out a little. Wore this to a wedding rehearsal dinner and felt comfortable but sexy. The Pirate Treasure necklace was a great addition as well.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 6, 2013

Definition of a LBD!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! The texture paired with the crisscross design made for a super slimming look. Usually wear a 6 and ordered 6 and an 8 after reading comments and went with the 8 after trying to squeeze with no give in the 6. Fits like a glove once you get it on and very comfortable. Arms a little snug but wasn't a problem. The only annoying thing was the zipper on the side of the dress bunched. My friends didn't notice but I know it was there the whole time. Definitely would rent again :)
LC
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 24, 2013

Great Dress!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit like a glove. Comfortable. Felt great! The picture does not show all the twists of the dress. I am fairly petite and this dress hugged me in all the right spots. My back up size was not available last minute, so another dress was sent to me as well (but I did not wear that dress).
Ney
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 18, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved this dress. I had gain some weight so wanted something that would be flattering and this dress was all of that and more. It fits true to size and very comfortable. I received compliments all night long and would definitely rent again for another occasion.
Angel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

This dress is super flattering and takes the LBD a step further!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Definitely recommend Spanx with the very fitting material on this dress and found that I pulled skirt down quite a few times but overall the dress received compliments all night! Apologies hadn't taken a full-on photo of the dress.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

Great dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding 2 months after giving birth to my son. It hid my baby belly really well. People were shocked that I just had a baby. The dress fit so well and hid all the trouble zones.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×