Halston Heritage

Twist Of Fate Dress

$85 rental
$485 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rock this body con Halston Heritage twisted sheath for the party. A figure flattering style that you can strut your stuff in all night long. Shown here with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Emerald Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - bust area is very fitted and does not have any stretch
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow and is very form fitting
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black Shiny jersey (100% polyester). Short sleeved. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
125 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(44)
Small
(79)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 16, 2012
Super flattering dress!
Loved this dress! It's easy to wear to work and then right out at night! However, it runs VERY small. I am usually a size two and the four was still quite snug. I would recommend going one, if not two, sizes up for your order. Love the dress though! Will rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
August 23, 2012
I felt like a stood out from the crowd...sexy but classy!
Perfect dress for a night out with family.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 29, 2012
Classy yet sexy dress
This dress fit perfectly and looked fabulous. I wore it for a wedding and it was perfect "cocktail attire". I was receiving compliments all night! It definitely gives the illusion of curves with all of the draping, so if you're already curvaceous and don't want to highlight that aspect of your body, this dress isn't for you. If you're petite (like me) and want to pretend like you have Kim Kardashian's tush for evening, you will love this dress. It was a little longer on me than it is on the model but it still hit above the knee - the perfect length for dancing. This dress made me a lover of Halston Heritage & RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 9, 2012
More Body, Less Con
This dress is very flattering and compliments a woman's body perfectly. Due to the overlapping fabric and ruching, this dress is a body con with training wheels, taking away the "conscious" and making you feel completely confident. The material has little stretch and def runs small. I agree with another reviewer that the tightest part were the arms. I usually wear a 4 and sized up to a 6 which was still snug in parts (hips/arms). I wore this dress with Badgley Mischka Showstopper earrings and fuschia and black pumps which completely turned this LBD out!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 10, 2012
Cute dress but poor fit for me
It ran pretty small in my opinion. I didn't even bother trying on the 0 which is the size I normally wear. The 2 fit fine but the side zipper buckled in a weird way that made me look like I had a love handle, especially when I was sitting down. It just didn't have the slimming effect I was hoping for. Also, I thought the dress looked comfortable but it reality it was very constricting. The construction of the upper part of the dress make it difficult to move my arms freely and the arm holes very small. I have 10" biceps and the 2 was very snug on my arms. Almost too snug. Anyway, loved it but thank goodness for the backup dress which fit perfectly. Thanks RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
September 10, 2012
Small Sleeves!
I received the dress right on time but unfortunately the arm holes/sleeves were wayyyy too small on both of the sizes. The body of the dress fit great and the styling is beautiful, but I couldn't get my arms into the sleeves (I have an athletic body with fairly muscular arms, but they were too tight to wear!).
MelanieSeptember 24, 2012
I have the EXACT same body type - what sizes did you order?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
September 14, 2012
It made me look like I had curves!
I usually wear a dress, but this dress runs small! However, the ruching is very flattering! I only gave the dress 4 stars because it was too long for me. On the model, the dress looks like a mini, it was not a mini on me. It hit me just above the knee. Maybe it's a better dress for someone taller, or for a more formal affair. One definite plus, it made my usually not-so-curvy body look like it had some curves :)
ashleyOctober 5, 2012
Is the color black or greyish like the model's picture?
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
Flattering dress, comfortable, size up
A flattering dress that, assuming you get the right size for you, is comfortable and easily accessorized and dressed up. Based on previous reviews that it ran small I ordered an 8 and 10 (typically wear a 6 at JCrew, Banana Republic, etc.). Decided to wear the 8 as the 10 was a bit too long and too big in the bust. I'm 5'4" and quite hippy and it hit about 4 inches above my knee - not as short as in the picture but a decent length for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
September 24, 2012
great "little black dress" for fall wedding
great dress and super flattering--but i do think it runs a little small. i normally wear about a size 6-and there was no way i was getting that zipped. the 8 fit well--except the arms were a little tight. i do admit i have kind of a chunky arm for my size--but i don't normally have arm-fit problems. great dress to rent, but i would never actually buy it. perfect length-not too short, but just short enough.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
September 24, 2012
This dress fit like a glove!
The dress was so incredibly comfortable, I didn't want to send it back. I got this dress as a free rental and ordered a size smaller than what I normally wear. I probably could've worn the next size up but the ruching on this dress hides any lumps and bumps and is incredibly flattering. I highly recommend this dress to all sizes!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
September 27, 2012
Gorgeous LBD
This dress was phenomenal- with all of the ruching, it accentuated all the right spots! I didn't end up wearing this bc the one problem I had was that the left arm sleeve was extremely tight at the opening. It was very uncomfortable and I kept tugging at it. Thank goodness I ordered a back-up dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
September 28, 2012
Wish i owned it! so GORG
This dress does run small ... Order a size up. It is beautiful!!!!! you will NOT regret it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Weight: 123lbs
October 6, 2012
Runs very small!
This dress has potential in regards to the material, style, and the ruching. However, this dress runs very small!!! I typically wear any where from 2-6 for dresses. I read the reviews and ordered a 4 and 6. I could fit in the 6, however, it was not very flatttering. The dress is super tight (not in a flattering way), and similar to the other reviews, the sleeves are abnormally small. The length of the dress was perfect though! If you choose to rent this dress, def. order 1-2 sizes from what you normally wear.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 13, 2012
This dress made me feel really confident for once! <3
Its really tight around the bust but other than that it fits well. If you've got junk in the trunk it may be hard. I wore this to my homecoming and everybody loved it. It was a great night
desi6boomNovember 9, 2012
Love the turquoise belt!
MarleenDecember 3, 2012
ditto on the belt! Did you have turquoise shoes, as well?
MarleenDecember 3, 2012
btw...you can't possibly be 45!? lol...you look fabulous!
SamJanuary 24, 2013
Noo I had nude shoes, and yeahh im not 45 lol im 15 :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
October 16, 2012
Great material, great fit!
a little snug but form fitting with great contrasting lines to keep you looking thin!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 18, 2012
Cute dress but didn't work for my body type.
Very tight at the bottom and then very loose at the top in the bust area. Luckily, I got a second back-up dress that worked perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 22, 2012
Runs small
Would agree with the other reviews, this dress does run small. I fit comfortably in a size 6 for most things, but the size 8 in this fit snug. I didn't have the arm problem that others mentioned, however that could be because the 8 ended up fitting. I did not wear the dress - it was a little tighter than I wanted for the party I was attending. Would be a great dress for a night out with the girls!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 22, 2012
The dress is absolutey stunning on!
I wear a size 8 in everything! maybe a 6 if it runs big!! I am a 36 DD. I am larger chested and little waisted and it fit perfectly around both! it was a little tight around the bicep! not in the shoulders or back! The zipper is on the left side of the dress and it kept poking out as the dress cinched up. I just non chalantly pulled the dress down occasionally. everyone at the wedding was complementing me!!
MarleenDecember 3, 2012
you look great , Terra. You are about the same size as me. How tall are your heels and could you wear a regular bra with this dress?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
October 22, 2012
Did not wear the dress : (
Unfortunately I ended up returning the dress without getting the chance to wear it. Based on the reviews of it running small, I got a 4 + 6, i'm normally somewhere in the 2-4 range. The dress bunched in all the wrong places and where the zipper ended at my hip it made me look lumpy, definitely not flattering. I normally don't have a problem wearing tight dresses but the ruching on this just wasn't working for me. Sad because it looked so cute in everyone elses pictures! Just wasn't for me
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 24, 2012
loved it!
Only reason it doesn't get four stars was that both sizes (2 & 4) bunched a little at the zipper so I ended up messing with it a bit throughout the night. The 2 was a little less bunchy, but I imagine if i had gotten a smaller size, it would've been too small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
October 24, 2012
Perfect LBD for wedding! Great silhouette and fabulous fit! Felt sexy, but modest in stylish dress!
This dress was not my first pick, but definitely was the best choice. RTR stylist and customer service was fabulous. They recommended after Rosette Strapless Dress missed the mark. I had passed on this dress and was skeptical, but very pleasantly surprised! It has a great stretch to the material, but also hugs your body in all the right places! I gave 5 stars because it created curves and hit at the perfect length for wedding. It was great to be able to dance the night away and not have to tug at the dress. I felt comfortable, sexy and confident in my RTR moment!
MarleenDecember 3, 2012
love the shoes, as well as, the dress on you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
October 25, 2012
I felt gorgeous at my engagement party! Super comfortable, but gorgeous.
This dress was perfect to feel a a little sexy and glam, while being family appropriate. The material is stretchy, but rich looking. It definitely runs small. I usually wear a 4 and went with the 8. The 6 fit, but being tight, it felt more like a night out on the town than a family party. All in all a great dress - I might even rent again for another occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 27, 2012
Fun, simple dress for a fall wedding
The shoulders and sleeves on the 0 were too tight, so I wore the 2. Both fit more or less, but I wanted to be able to lift my arms above my head. The zipper down the side bunched a little on me, but I think it is because I am fairly short-waisted. Overall, I liked the dress, and I got compliments on it throughout the night.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 29, 2012
Great for the price!
It was a little longer than I wanted but I am only 5'2'' so that's probably the difference. Also, the arms are very tight and not as stretchy as the rest of the dress. Got a ton of compliments tho!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 1, 2012
Runs small.
Great little black dress. It ran a size small. I normally wear a 6 or an 8. I ordered an 8 and a 10 and ended up wearing the 8. I was a little unhappy with the rouching on the mid section, didn't make my stomach look flat. Very plain, so needs some great accessories to jazz it up a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 1, 2012
Sophisticated Sexy
I chose this dress to show off my backside and small waist, and when I tried it on, it definitely did! My husband couldn't stop telling me how much he liked it, but I didn't feel over-exposed at my husband's professional award banquet, which my in-laws also attended. I fit into the 4, but the 6 actually fit well. I was concerned that the sleeves wouldn't fall right on my wider-than-normal shoulders, but I had no problems there. Shapewear was not necessary, even with my belly from having two babies in the last 2 1/2 years. My only complaint is that the zipper area rode up a little around my hip, leaving a weird lump if I didn't keep pulling the skirt down. I highly recommend this for any time you want to feel a little sexy, but lots of skin isn't appropriate.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 5, 2012
I felt sexy.
The fit was nice, but I would love that the zipper would be in the Center back , rather than the side seam, because it tends to form a small pump.
erikaNovember 6, 2012
this looks amazing on you. what necklace are you wearing? its perfection.
KateNovember 9, 2012
Please tell us what necklace you are wearing!?!
kaleighNovember 30, 2012
Really! that necklace works so well~
MarleenDecember 3, 2012
you look great Elynora~ Is that an RTR rental necklace or your own...please do tell!
MarleenDecember 3, 2012
btw...the dress on the other woman is pretty fab, as wll...is it an RTR rental?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
November 8, 2012
very nice fabric, and flattering
Nice fit, very comfy
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
November 8, 2012
Cute Dress
I just received the dresses today.. Unfortunately 1 dress I received has so many pulls on the bust area I have to make the smaller size work.. This dress is just Cute
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
November 11, 2012
Amazing experience!
This was the first time I used RTR. This dress was not my first choice, but it was perfect anyway. The dress fit like a glove and I felt like a princess all evening. I even got asked by a stranger when my photo shoot was going to be. I have already ordered my next dress for a holiday party in December. I love RTR!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2012
A classic dress
This dress was perfect for the charity gala I helped plan. The draping on the dress was very flattering. I found the other reviews were helpful, because this dress does run small. I am normally a 6, and I wore the 8. This dress is great for curvy women. The one downside was the level of comfort because of it running small, it was tight around the arms and a little around the legs (was good for a seated dinner but I wouldn't want to dance the night away in this). I paired this with strappy black shoes that mimicked the draping of the dress and chunky cascading earrings. The dress wasn't over the top, but very simple and elegant. I would recommend this dress and would rent it again. If it were a little more comfortable I would give it 5 stars.
LaurenMarch 26, 2013
I love your shoes! Where did you get them?
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
November 17, 2012
Everyone loved the dress. It was sexy and sophisticated!
The dress is very flattering, however, it runs small, so make sure you get a second larger size.
NoraAugust 2, 2013
what kind of necklace are you wearing with this?
AndreaAugust 8, 2013
I'm wearing the TULESTE MARKET Golden Petal Necklace
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 18, 2012
nothing
I couldn't even wear the dress. I read it was smaller then usual so I ordered a size bigger size 4 and 6. It was so tight I couldn't even wear it. I just sent it back.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2012
Great dress for fall evening wedding!
Classic LBD worn to a fall evening wedding. The material and ruching are really beautiful. As with the other reviews, the dress runs small. Great experience renting with RTR...dress arrived when promised, packaged very nicely and return process simple.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
November 19, 2012
Perfect fit!
This dress fits true to size and is beautiful on! The only con is that the zipper is down the side which makes it difficult to get on and off. The length was perfect for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 95lbs
December 4, 2012
Not the best choice for petite body types.
Beautiful dress, but if you are on the petite side this dress will be long on you. I did not end up wearing the dress because it was long and just a smidge too big in the hips (the side with the zipper didn't lay completely flat).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 7, 2012
It is very flattering and hugs the curves
The arms in this dress run very very small.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
December 10, 2012
LOVE THIS DRESS worn for company xmas party cocktail attire, this number was perfect !!!
This dress is amazing at helping to hide tummy bulge just wear your spanx and control top pantyhose and your set, the many layers or folds of the dress help mask any flaws, only thing I was disappointed in was the end of the zipper on the side had a bulge that made me keep pulling that side down !! not enough to not wear it but it is there or maybe because I knew it, but not that noticeable to others or that anyone said anything if they did notice, I felt very good in wearing this style even at my age !!! Probably the last time I could show off figure hugging dresses !! I usually never wear this tight of one but went for it and was extremely pleased once I did !!! and this was my back up dress !!!! I wore jewelry of diamonds and pearls, which did not take away from the dress but felt they looked fantastic with the black, gave the outfit an conservative look of which being a company party it was perfect without distracting from the dress. Once again RTR you made the day for another satisfied customer !!!!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 10, 2012
Great dress to celebrate my birthday in!!
I wore this dress for a holiday party & a girls night out to Atlantic City!! Partied the night away at the Pool After Dark with DJ Pauly D and the dress worked fabulous!! The only con was that the arms were a little tight but other than that it fit great everywhere else. I took everyone else's advice and ordered a size up. The necklace I rented as well and it added a bit of sparkle which was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 10, 2012
It runs small. Side zipper seemed to not lay flat to curve my body....looked 'snake-like'
I am a 'DD' and the bust was extremly tight. In fact, so tight that it was hard to get off and on. The zipper was on the side and did not lay to the curve of my body. So other than making me look like a size 'B', one side of the dress looked good, and the side with the zipper poked out in different areas. However the hip area and the bum are looked really good. So I think I just needed to order the next size up. Although, if i did that, it may seem a little longer...to my knees. The other dress that I wore was a size 6 which is the size that i normally wear.
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×