Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

Twist Of Fate Dress

$85 rental
$485 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rock this body con Halston Heritage twisted sheath for the party. A figure flattering style that you can strut your stuff in all night long. Shown here with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Emerald Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - bust area is very fitted and does not have any stretch
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow and is very form fitting
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - bust area is very fitted and does not have any stretch
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow and is very form fitting
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Shiny jersey (100% polyester). Short sleeved. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

125 reviews

Fit
Small 79
True to Size 44
Large 2
Photos 53
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

This dress runs super small. I was unable to wear the 6 or 8 - But its really cute!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved it - wish it would have fit
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

great "little black dress" for fall wedding

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
great dress and super flattering--but i do think it runs a little small. i normally wear about a size 6-and there was no way i was getting that zipped. the 8 fit well--except the arms were a little tight. i do admit i have kind of a chunky arm for my size--but i don't normally have arm-fit problems. great dress to rent, but i would never actually buy it. perfect length-not too short, but just short enough.
A
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 24, 2012

This dress fit like a glove!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was so incredibly comfortable, I didn't want to send it back. I got this dress as a free rental and ordered a size smaller than what I normally wear. I probably could've worn the next size up but the ruching on this dress hides any lumps and bumps and is incredibly flattering. I highly recommend this dress to all sizes!
Trena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114 lbs
Sep 27, 2012

Gorgeous LBD

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was phenomenal- with all of the ruching, it accentuated all the right spots! I didn't end up wearing this bc the one problem I had was that the left arm sleeve was extremely tight at the opening. It was very uncomfortable and I kept tugging at it. Thank goodness I ordered a back-up dress!!
tamra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Sep 28, 2012

Wish i owned it! so GORG

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress does run small ... Order a size up. It is beautiful!!!!! you will NOT regret it
cc
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Weight: 123 lbs
Oct 6, 2012

Runs very small!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress has potential in regards to the material, style, and the ruching. However, this dress runs very small!!! I typically wear any where from 2-6 for dresses. I read the reviews and ordered a 4 and 6. I could fit in the 6, however, it was not very flatttering. The dress is super tight (not in a flattering way), and similar to the other reviews, the sleeves are abnormally small. The length of the dress was perfect though! If you choose to rent this dress, def. order 1-2 sizes from what you normally wear.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

Disappointed

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The midsection was too big and bunched up. Especially on the side with the zipper. It would not lie flat and did not look flattering at all. Unfortunately I was unable to wear.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

Sending back for return

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I am returning this early. the dress ran small, and the zipper ran straight up to the armpit which made it seriously uncomfortable to raise my arm
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 16, 2012

Great material, great fit!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
a little snug but form fitting with great contrasting lines to keep you looking thin!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 18, 2012

Cute dress but didn't work for my body type.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very tight at the bottom and then very loose at the top in the bust area. Luckily, I got a second back-up dress that worked perfectly.
Teresa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Runs small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Would agree with the other reviews, this dress does run small. I fit comfortably in a size 6 for most things, but the size 8 in this fit snug. I didn't have the arm problem that others mentioned, however that could be because the 8 ended up fitting. I did not wear the dress - it was a little tighter than I wanted for the party I was attending. Would be a great dress for a night out with the girls!
Lindsay
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Did not wear the dress : (

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Unfortunately I ended up returning the dress without getting the chance to wear it. Based on the reviews of it running small, I got a 4 + 6, i'm normally somewhere in the 2-4 range. The dress bunched in all the wrong places and where the zipper ended at my hip it made me look lumpy, definitely not flattering. I normally don't have a problem wearing tight dresses but the ruching on this just wasn't working for me. Sad because it looked so cute in everyone elses pictures! Just wasn't for me
janea
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Only reason it doesn't get four stars was that both sizes (2 & 4) bunched a little at the zipper so I ended up messing with it a bit throughout the night. The 2 was a little less bunchy, but I imagine if i had gotten a smaller size, it would've been too small.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Oct 25, 2012

I felt gorgeous at my engagement party! Super comfortable, but gorgeous.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect to feel a a little sexy and glam, while being family appropriate. The material is stretchy, but rich looking. It definitely runs small. I usually wear a 4 and went with the 8. The 6 fit, but being tight, it felt more like a night out on the town than a family party. All in all a great dress - I might even rent again for another occasion!
bnh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 27, 2012

Fun, simple dress for a fall wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The shoulders and sleeves on the 0 were too tight, so I wore the 2. Both fit more or less, but I wanted to be able to lift my arms above my head. The zipper down the side bunched a little on me, but I think it is because I am fairly short-waisted. Overall, I liked the dress, and I got compliments on it throughout the night.
AM
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

Great for the price!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a little longer than I wanted but I am only 5'2'' so that's probably the difference. Also, the arms are very tight and not as stretchy as the rest of the dress. Got a ton of compliments tho!
Sonia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 31, 2012

Very sexy little dress... looks very expensive!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is TINY... I'm usually a 0-2 (25 waist, 32D bust) and the 6 was tight and fit a little strangely around the breasts based on the cut of the fabric. I still loved the way it looked and got lots of compliments. Best part was that it was short without being slutty and jewelry really jazzed it up.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 1, 2012

Runs small.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great little black dress. It ran a size small. I normally wear a 6 or an 8. I ordered an 8 and a 10 and ended up wearing the 8. I was a little unhappy with the rouching on the mid section, didn't make my stomach look flat. Very plain, so needs some great accessories to jazz it up a bit.
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 1, 2012

Cute dress, missing the extra "umph"

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was expecting more from this dress. Loved the style. Thought it would accentuate my curves in the right ways but ended up not quite flattering enough for me. I also expected the material to be better quality/thicker. Ended up returning this dress and not wearing it.
cr
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132 lbs
Nov 8, 2012

very nice fabric, and flattering

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Nice fit, very comfy
Mia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Nov 8, 2012

Cute Dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I just received the dresses today.. Unfortunately 1 dress I received has so many pulls on the bust area I have to make the smaller size work.. This dress is just Cute
Kathleen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

Amazing experience!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was the first time I used RTR. This dress was not my first choice, but it was perfect anyway. The dress fit like a glove and I felt like a princess all evening. I even got asked by a stranger when my photo shoot was going to be. I have already ordered my next dress for a holiday party in December. I love RTR!!!!
cindy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 18, 2012

nothing

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I couldn't even wear the dress. I read it was smaller then usual so I ordered a size bigger size 4 and 6. It was so tight I couldn't even wear it. I just sent it back.
Leemarie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 26, 2012

Ultra tight! But flattering!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Order one size up! But ultra flattering since it's tighter than it looks.
Mandy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133 lbs
Nov 30, 2012

na

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Zipper is in a strange position.
Staci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 95 lbs
Dec 4, 2012

Not the best choice for petite body types.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress, but if you are on the petite side this dress will be long on you. I did not end up wearing the dress because it was long and just a smidge too big in the hips (the side with the zipper didn't lay completely flat).
OliveOyl1125
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 6, 2012

Beautiful dress, just ran too small. I had to keep pulling the dress down.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The side zipper kept bunching up.
Feresheteh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

It is very flattering and hugs the curves

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The arms in this dress run very very small.
Georgia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

Besutiful dress, very stylish and chic but all covered up!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The side zipper did not lay toally flat, but maybe because it was snug, not sure.
Therese
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

Too tight under the sleeves

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
One should consider sizing up two sizes on this one. The 8 was OK but lifting my arms would have been a challenge at the fundraising dinner for which I rented the dress.
r
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

It runs small. Side zipper seemed to not lay flat to curve my body....looked 'snake-like'

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I am a 'DD' and the bust was extremly tight. In fact, so tight that it was hard to get off and on. The zipper was on the side and did not lay to the curve of my body. So other than making me look like a size 'B', one side of the dress looked good, and the side with the zipper poked out in different areas. However the hip area and the bum are looked really good. So I think I just needed to order the next size up. Although, if i did that, it may seem a little longer...to my knees. The other dress that I wore was a size 6 which is the size that i normally wear.
Allie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

I was unable to wear the dress. Both sizes were too large.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The reviews said it ran small so I ordered two sizes up and a size up for the backup side. I was unable to wear the dress because both sizes were just too large. The fabric has stretch so I could have ordered my size and been fine.
Cameron
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 13, 2012

So Disappointed

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was so excited about this dress, b/c all the reviews were awesome. When I received my package, I found out that my second size in the dress did not arrive. Of course that was the size that I needed. I would have absolutely loved to wear this dress, but unfortunately I won't get to.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Great dress that turns heads without trying too hard

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved wearing this dress--I'm so glad I saw the reviews beforehand and knew to order a size up, it is VERY tight but amazingly draped so any imperfections are totally hidden. I was worried my chest would be too big for it, but I was able to wear it just fine, it fit like a glove. It is subtely sexy and the quality is really rich, I am going to keep my eye out for it to buy for myself if it ever comes up at a reasonable price! Only little thing that bothered me was that the side zip buckles a bit so you do find yourself pulling the dress down every now and then to smooth that out, and the sleeves are a bit tight, but overall none of that held me back. Would definitely recommend. So mad I was having too much fun to get a good photo!
BigRTRFan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 13, 2013

The dress was perfect for a winter cocktail party!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit great! It's form-fitting while still being classy. My only complaint is that the zipper made the fabric on my side poke out. I had to keep pulling the end of the dress to straighten it out.
Alyson
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 14, 2013

Great dress but runs small

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Shorter than I was hoping but very cute
Bekah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Jan 15, 2013

Unexpected arrival

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I didn't actually intend to rent this dress, but it came with my order for some reason. It was kind of a struggle to get into- I felt like I was going to rip something. Yet when it was successfully on, it was both too long and too baggy in the shoulders and bottom. The fabric was also looked heavy and overwhelming on my small frame. Definitely better for taller girls!
Suzanne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

I ordered 2 sizes - ran too small for me. Got me to start exercising hard pre-holidays.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was beautiful - the fabric travels well. Unfortunately both sizes were way to small.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 28, 2013

Lovely dress, good for a corporate/office party

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Nice dress, lovely ruching across the along the front and sides. The neckline is quite high, which I normally love, but I rented this for a Saturday night party and felt it was a bit conservative. I rented this option as a back up, but ended up wearing the black Dolce & Gabbana dress from RTR, which was my first choice. Also important to note that the size zipper on this dress did not lay perfectly flat, there was a bit of a bump which did not lead to a perfect silhouette at the waistline. If that is something that would bother you...it is noticeable on the dress.
Tawaina
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 4, 2013

Sexy Dress!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a 10, but the 8 was great for a night out. This dress hugged every curve. My only complaint was the arm area didn't stretch as much, so if you have big arms like myself, It may be a little uncomfortable. I pushed the fabric around the arm area up a little more towards my shoulder- everyone thought the dress was made like that because of the twist and crinkle in the fabric.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×